藝術和文化

華埠新守護者

新一代海外華人為曼克頓、倫敦和三藩市的唐人區注入朝氣

唐人街是昔日華僑在充滿敵意的環境中,為保存身份群聚而居之地,結果成為華人文化地標。然而,隨著華人移民逐漸融入主流,他們已不需要這種「一站式」匯集華人養分的地區。今天的唐人街不再是逃離壓迫的避難處,也不是社會低下階層的容身之所,卻依然免不了充滿偏見的目光,被視為了無生氣、陳舊俗套,只是提供廉價中菜或售賣庸俗紀念品的地方。華人對身份認同仍存懸念,唐人街處於中外文化的夾縫之間,進退維谷。

然而,近年全球各地的唐人街都施展華麗變身,出現一番新氣象。

最明顯的轉變是各種風味的佳餚美食紛紛湧現。由第一波移民潮廣東家庭經營的傳統餐館,與新開業並反映多元特色的競爭者共冶一爐。隨著為數不少的中國內地留學生及商務旅客帶來的影響,加上正宗口味的地方菜式大受歡迎,令唐人街的餐館更如百花齊放。現在,川菜、陝西菜及湘菜館均門庭若市;新加坡及馬來西亞佳餚亦備受饕客追捧。與此同時,韓流席捲全球,上千間韓式炸雞店也攻佔一席位。

三藩市的陳繼錕於2017年在當地開設高檔美食天地「明店」,他表示:「現在是時候洗脫中餐館被視為『狹窄小店』的印象,扭轉只可在骯髒、低級的小館吃正宗中菜的觀念。」他的美食天地集餐廳與零售商舖於一身,每天款待近千名賓客,包括順道品嚐鮮製上海生煎包的過路者,以至預訂高級私房菜餐廳「陳家八桌」的高消費客人。他說:「來自亞洲的訪客總是對美洲華人的成功故事感到好奇,而富裕的旅客又認為美國的中菜不值一哂,我們正致力改變這些想法。」

對於老字號餐廳來說,威脅不僅來自市場生力軍的競爭。隨著移民政策收緊,許多餐廳都無法從亞洲聘請廚藝了得的廣東廚師。為求適者生存,結果他們推出火鍋、自助餐或街頭小吃,既無需精心炮製,又可以賺取高利潤。此外,餐廳老闆都傾向投資年輕人追捧的珍珠奶茶及包子這些潮流小吃及飲品。

社區「中產化」亦是推動改變的力量。這些曾經髒亂不堪、遭人唾棄的地區急速重建,私人發展商急不及待搶佔高級物業,將原有居民擠出區外。請看看溫哥華的豪宅發展項目,又或是切爾西的藝廊陸續遷往曼克頓唐人街。這些新來者大部分與當地社群並沒有真正的聯繫,有時更因此而加劇種族矛盾及社會的緊張關係。

我們試試以複雜的二分法思考這個現象,會發現社區「中產化」猶如一把雙刃劍,有利亦有弊。它既為全球唐人街帶來人們樂見的多元特色,卻造成千人一面的倒模發展,把非物質文化遺產趕上絕路。為了讓家族傳統得以傳承下去,新一代華人紛紛接手打理家族生意,借助美麗的包裝重塑品牌,換上時尚裝飾,並針對千禧世代宣傳,爭奪追趕潮流的顧客。

在倫敦,大廚潘偉廉創辦的潘記於1970年代以革新手法經營中餐館,贏得米芝蓮星級殊榮。現在他的女兒Amy Poon「浪子回頭」接手家族生意,不僅要令餐廳趕上時尚潮流,更認為自己有責任令父母建立的事業重新煥發光芒。她相信傳訊宣傳是成功的秘方,利用她們這一代人已融入當地社會,掌握在地語言的優勢。她說:「我相信自己的地道英語,可以輕易解釋中國的理念。其實中國的美食文化引人入勝,在這裡卻一直沒有好好演繹。」她希望把中菜推廣成為當地的餐飲特色,引入小酒館及熟食店模式,就好比是中國版的意大利Eataly美食市場。

Credit: Lerone Pieters/Unsplash.

在大西洋彼岸的紐約,鄧偉於十年前從叔父手上接棒,負責打理百年老店南華茶室。他引入休閒快餐的經營理念,令家族品牌聞名全球,更推出招牌產品如自製辣椒油以至復古型格的街頭服飾系列。南華茶室更「回歸故里」,於去年在深圳開設分店,把美式點心帶回中國。鄧偉說:「我們的餐廳代表美籍華人的點心口味,並把這種風格帶回中國,真是難以想像而又非常圓滿的回歸旅程。」

Credit: Patti McConville/Alamy Stock Photo

同樣位於紐約唐人街內,一些數代經營的老店都幸得年輕家族成員及時接手,才險險逃過結業的厄運,例如瓷器古玩店永安和(1890年開業時是雜貨店)及於1933年創立的鮮製豆腐店宏安。永安和由26歲的女孫林美虹打理,她把古玩店變身為舉行商業論壇、政治講座及藝術展覽會的社區空間;宏安則由家族中的孻孫伍啟芳主理,他購入先進的設備及採納新的市場推廣策略,令家族生意更上一層樓。

Credit: Andria Lo.

保存文化是振興唐人街的其中一股力量。老一輩陸續離世,全球各地唐人街的歷史亦瀕臨湮沒的邊緣。倫敦慈善團體「中國站」行政總裁Freya Aitken-Turff解釋:「區內的建築滿載歷史,但在倫敦唐人街隨意閒逛,並不能深刻感受華人的聲音、歷史或移民故事。」中國站透過組織巡迴展覽和出版故事選集,全面保存唐人街的歷史,同時還舉辦漫步唐人街的導賞遊。

Credit: Andria Lo.

與此同時,Chinatown Pretty以影像講述歷史故事,吸引Instagram世代的關注。創辦人Andria Lo及Valerie Luu在北美各地華埠,採訪衣著時尚的長者,以他們的花俏打扮吸引注意,然後敘述各人的生平故事。Lo說:「我們在唐人街留意到一些神奇的魅力,完全是隨心而發,出奇不意。來自不同年代的事物互相衝擊,卻又和諧融合,可說獨一無二。這些元素編織成一段段移民歷史,代表了他們的價值觀。」

個人經歷和地方發展如出一轍。美國華人博物館策展人兼展覽部主任譚海俊說:「唐人街活力盎然,變幻不息,同時又充滿張力及矛盾。對於現代華僑的身份認同或者何謂華人精神,並沒有單一詮釋。」唐人街的新掌舵人正擁抱此種特色,他們不會把目光局限在社區內,還致力發揚華僑精神,向世人敘述華人的移民故事。

深度遊:三個唐人街的推介行程

Credit: Mandy Marks/Alamy Stock Photo.
  • 永安和瓷器古玩店發掘寶藏,尋覓心頭好。26 Mott St
  • 到紐約最古老的中式茶樓南華茶室享用滋味香酥春卷。‭ 13 Doyers St
  • 前往藝術家Margaret Lee精心經營的47‭ ‬Canal藝廊欣賞當代藝術品。291 Grand St
  • 宏安品嚐每天鮮製的豆腐花。81 Division St
  • 參觀美國華人博物館,探索華裔移民的歷史。‭215 Centre St
  • 晚上到享負盛名的溫娜卡拉OK酒廊引吭高歌。‭ ‬58 E Broadway
Credit: PjrTravel/Alamy Stock Photo.
  • Hung’s美食軒享用倫敦最美味的粥品作早餐。‭ ‬27 Wardour St
  • 參加華埠社區導賞遊,行程包括免費午餐。
  • 保留「食」力,到文興酒家品嚐遠近馳名的燒鴨。12 Gerrard St
  • 在1930年代風格的許儒華苑台灣茶室用餐。‭30 Rupert St
  • 預留容納甜點的空間,到「甜品巷」覓食,尤其不要錯過Mamasons Dirty Ice Cream的美味雪糕。Newport Court
Credit: Judy Bellah/Alamy Stock Photo
  • 先到金門餅家排隊購買那裡的馳名蛋撻,為新一天帶來滋味的開始。‭ ‬1029 Grant Ave
  • 參觀金門幸運餅乾工廠。它自1962年開業以來便以人手製作幸運曲奇。‭ ‬56 Ross Alley
  • 到市內最漂亮的巷弄之一天后廟街觀光。‭ ‬Waverly Pl
  • 盡早訂座,到米芝蓮星級餐廳「周先生」,品嚐融入加州特色的經典粵菜。28 Waverly Pl
  • 晚上在太白亭雞尾酒吧,淺酌其招牌美酒Mai Tai,圓滿結束一天行程。916 Grant Ave
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Meet the New Guardians of Chinatown

How a new generation is revitalising the Chinatowns of Manhattan, London and San Francisco

Chinatowns emerged as symbolic cultural enclaves; a way to retain identity in a hostile world. But as Chinese communities gradually assimilated, their need to seek out a cultural one-stop shop lessened. No longer a refuge from persecution, nor the seedy underbelly of society, Chinatowns settled with a somewhat unfair reputation as tired and tacky; somewhere to find cheap Chinese food or kitsch souvenirs. Floating in an identity limbo, Chinatowns have been caught between two cultures.

But more recently, Chinatowns across the world have found themselves in a simmering hotpot of change. 

The transformation is most evident in an explosion of flavour. Traditional family-run restaurants, started by first waves of mainly Cantonese immigrants, jostle against new upstarts that reflect the diversification of the Chinese diaspora. The changing flavour of Chinatown has also been impacted by numerous Mainland Chinese students and business travellers, as well as a widening appreciation for authentic, regional food. Now, foodies flock to restaurants specialising in provincial cuisines like Sichuan, Shaanxi or Hunan, as well as the food of Singapore and Malaysia, while the unstoppable influence of Korean culture has launched a thousand fried chicken shops.

In San Francisco, George Chen opened upmarket food hall China Live in 2017. ‘It’s time to get out of this “hole in the wall” syndrome that Chinese food is only good in dirty, cheap places,’ he says. His dining-retail hybrid serves nearly 1,000 guests per day – from passers-by grabbing fresh Shanghainese shengjianbao to high-end customers booking the exclusive Eight Tables private dining experience. ‘Asians are always curious about ethnic success in America. And the wealthy traveller always thinks Chinese food in America stinks – we are changing that perception,’ he says.

It’s not just new competition that challenges the old-guard restaurants. Tougher immigration policies complicate hiring skilled Cantonese chefs from Asia. Survival requires adaptation: simpler menus like hotpot, buffet or street food concepts return higher margins; restaurant investors prefer to back youth trends such as baos and bubble teas.

Then there are the forces of gentrification. As these once-seedy, undesirable areas undergo rapid redevelopment, private developers are swooping on prime real estate, edging out old residents. Witness the luxury condo developments in Vancouver, or art galleries leaving Chelsea for Manhattan’s Chinatown. Few of these newcomers are connected to the community, and that can exacerbate racial and social tensions. It’s a tricky dichotomy. Gentrification is a doubled-edged sword that provides welcome diversification for Chinatowns all around the world – but with it comes a global homogenisation that eradicates intangible heritage. In the fight for survival, a wave of next-generation Chinese residents are taking up the reins of their family businesses and driving them forward for a modern audience with a lick of art school branding, hipster decor and millennial-focused marketing.

In London, Amy Poon is the prodigal daughter taking on the mantle of Bill Poon, chef-founder of the Michelin-starred Poon’s London, which revolutionised Chinese dining in the 1970s. She sees her responsibility not so much as modernising, but as re-couching what her parents established. For her, communication is the secret ingredient – using a language acquired through a generation’s worth of social integration. ‘I think my Britishness just makes it easier for me to explain the Chinese part. I find the language of Chinese food fascinating, yet the translations are so lacking,’ she says. Amy hopes to inject Chinese food into the culinary vernacular by launching a bistro-deli concept, much like a Chinese version of Eataly, the Italian food hall.

Credit: Lerone Pieters/Unsplash.

Meanwhile in New York, Wilson Tang took over the century-old Nom Wah Tea Parlor from his uncle a decade ago and pushed the family brand into global consciousness with fast-casual concepts, signature products such as their house chilli oil and retro-chic streetwear collections. And now, Nom Wah has exported its Chinese-American take on dim sum back to China, with a new opening in Shenzhen. ‘Our restaurant is a representation of the Chinese-American taste in dim sum—and we’ve taken that aesthetic back to China. It’s wild, coming full circle like that,’ says Tang.

Credit: Patti McConville/Alamy Stock Photo

Just around the corner, multigenerational operations such as porcelain store Wing On Wo & Co (founded as a general store in 1890), and tofu manufacturers Fong On (founded 1933), escaped extinction when young family members stepped in. At Wing On Wo, the founder’s 26-year-old granddaughter Mei Lum has reimagined the antique shop as a community space for business forums, political talks and art exhibitions, while Paul Eng, the youngest grandson of the Fong On dynasty, is rebooting his family’s legacy with modern equipment and updated marketing.

Credit: Andria Lo.

Preservation is part of the revival effort, too. The histories of the world’s Chinatowns are in danger of being lost as the older generations die off. ‘The buildings drip with history, but a casual stroll around London’s Chinatown will not reveal any Chinese voices, histories or migration stories,’ says Freya Aitken-Turff, CEO of China Exchange, a London-based charity focused on archiving Chinatown’s history with a touring exhibition and anthology of stories, as well as guided walking tours.

Credit: Andria Lo.

Meanwhile, projects like Chinatown Pretty visualise history for the Instagram era. Founders Andria Lo and Valerie Luu document fashionable seniors across northern American Chinatowns, using their outfits as launchpads for their life stories. ‘Some of the magic we observe in the Chinatown style is that it’s quite effortless and unexpected. Pieces that clash or are from different eras end up having their own unique harmony,’ says Lo. ‘It weaves together a story of their immigration journey and their values.’

It’s true for the places as much as the individuals. ‘Chinatown is alive and ever-changing. It is filled with tensions and contradictions,’ says Herb Tam, curator and director of exhibitions at the Museum of Chinese in America. ‘There is no singular definition of the modern Chinese diaspora identity, or Chinese-ness.’ The new guardians of Chinatown are embracing exactly that. They’re taking Chinatowns beyond their physical postcodes, turning them into evolved expressions of the Chinese migrant story.

Go Further: 3 Chinatown Itineraries

Credit: Mandy Marks/Alamy Stock Photo.
  • Get lost in the porcelain treasure trove that is Wing On Wo & Co (26 Mott St) 
  • Order the OG Egg Roll at NYC’s oldest dim sum restaurant, Nom Wah (13 Doyers St)
  • Check out contemporary art gallery 47 Canal, curated by artist Margaret Lee (291 Grand St)
  • Snack on Fong On’s yummy tofu pudding (81 Division St)
  • Swot up on history at the Museum of Chinese in America (215 Centre St)
  • Sing the night away at legendary dive Winnie’s Karaoke Bar (58 E Broadway)
Credit: PjrTravel/Alamy Stock Photo.
  • Have breakfast at Hung’s – home to London’s best congee (27 Wardour St)
  • Join a community-led Chinatown Stories Walking Tour – free lunch included
  • Make room for the legendary roast duck at Four Seasons (12 Gerrard St)
  • Dine at 1930s-style Taiwanese teahouse XU (30 Rupert St)
  • Save room for a ‘Dessert Alley’ crawl – don’t miss out on Mamasons Dirty Ice Cream (Newport Court)
Credit: Judy Bellah/Alamy Stock Photo
  • Start the day right by queuing for Golden Gate Bakery’s legendary egg custard tarts (1029 Grant Ave)
  • Visit the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Factory, which has been hand-making fortune cookies since 1962 (56 Ross Alley)
  • Soak in the atmosphere of picturesque Waverly Place (Waverly Pl)
  • Book ahead at Mister Jiu’s for Michelin-starred Cantonese classics with a Californian twist (28 Waverly Pl)
  • Finish the evening with Li Po Cocktail Lounge’s signature Mai Tai (916 Grant Ave)
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book