都市部族

認識香港的步賞團導遊

與本地的導遊暢談步賞團近年受歡迎的發展

步賞團近年在世界各地大行其道,香港也不例外。這種遊覽城市的方式讓旅客深入探索,加上行程閒適又富彈性,能透過本地人認識當地,相比之下,大夥兒乘坐旅遊巴走馬看花的旅行團似乎稍為遜色。而對導遊來說,步賞團讓他們有機會向客人介紹自己城市的真實面貌,實為兩全其美。

梁立欣在2012年與姊姊創辦香港首家獲得牌照的美食步賞團公司:香港風味行,她表示:「我們主要帶領遊客造訪全港家族經營的餐廳,務求向他們介紹地道的傳統食店。看到客人在享受美食同時,又能以地道的方式認識新事物,讓我有很大的滿足感。」

Mike Pickles

至於活現香港則推出涵蓋歷史、美食以至性小眾等不同主題的步賞團,介紹香港各種文化,董事鄧彥心表示公司雖小,卻有保育香港文化的使命感,她說:「我城不少歷史遺址已消失,老店亦因昂貴租金落得同一下場,因此我們除了帶團外,也會為保育發聲,讓我們能繼續推廣香港文化。」

香港的自然步賞團組織則展現香港令人驚喜的一面,其中綠恆生態旅遊定期組團遊覽香港的大自然瑰寶,例如沿海火山地貌香港地質公園,客人有不少是本地人。經理謝宇德表示,遊覽自然景點有助提升保育意識,並說:「自然保育非常重要。相比起其他國家,香港在這方面才剛起步,因此我們除了致力舉辦生態遊之外,還會舉辦課程,訓練生態導遊,推廣保育訊息。」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Tribes of Hong Kong

Meet Hong Kong’s walking tour guides

We speak with local guides about the growing popularity of walking tours

In the past few years, walking tours have skyrocketed in popularity in cities around the world, and Hong Kong is no exception. This method of exploring a city is immersive, leisurely and flexible, allowing visitors to learn about a place from a knowledgeable local – a welcome alternative to large, fast-moving groups alighting from tour buses. From the guides’ perspective, their service offers a way to showcase their city with authenticity.

Silvana Leung started the city’s first licensed food-themed walking tour, Hong Kong Foodie Tasting Tour, with her sister in 2012. ‘We focus on taking visitors to family-run restaurants all over the city,’ she says. ‘The goal was to introduce tourists to authentic local eats. For me, it’s gratifying to see visitors enjoying their food while learning something new with a local perspective.’

Walk In Hong Kong offers a variety of themed tours, including ones based on history, food and LGBT interests. Managing director Olivia Tang says the small company sees a duty towards Hong Kong heritage: ‘Some historical sites are gone now, and heritage shops are also disappearing in the face of high rents. So apart from leading tours, we are also vocal advocates for preservation. It’s a way to ensure we will be able to continue to showcase our culture.’

Mike Pickles

Nature tours offer a look at an often unexpected side of Hong Kong. Eco Travel leads tours of places such as Hong Kong Geopark, a site of volcanic formations surrounded by sea, which also attracts local customers. Tour manager Derek Tse says visits to nature sites help raise awareness about conservation. ‘Environmental protection is a top priority in many countries, and Hong Kong is just playing catch up,’ he says. ‘We do our part by organising eco tours as well as training programmes for nature guides.’

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book