建築

推動中國新派建築美學的精英

新一代建築設計人才推動新風潮,銳意將中國傳統文化、歷史和美學淬煉成自成一派的風格

論設計法則,郭錫恩如是說:

「重新演繹傳統元素,自由把玩時空、比例和典型的形式,營造耳目一新而出其不意的感覺。」

Credit: Andrew Rowat

這正是他處理最新項目上海艾迪遜酒店上海素凱泰酒店的手法,兩者均於2018年開業。菲籍華裔建築師郭錫恩和拍檔胡如珊扎根上海,在2004年創立「如恩設計研究室」,是現時中國內地最炙手可熱的建築及設計事務所之一,他們以現代感和簡約風而饒富概念的設計而打響名堂。

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute; Dirk Weiblen/Linehouse

除了他們,當然還有其他領導潮流的生力軍。環顧中國許多一線城市,都可發現新派的住宅建築、辦公大樓和酒店,甚至建立起整個時尚的社區,見證愈來愈多建築師及設計師將周遭環境的獨特美學元素融入作品中,造就一種創新的現代中國建築設計風格。

陸皓是杭州建築事務所「大象設計」的總裁,他眼中的當代中國建築設計,是「集傳統民居文化之大成,並以此為起點來潛心設計」。陸皓解釋說:「中國的建築經過數千年的整合和發展,形成我國獨有的地理面貌,亦左右著國民的美學取態,故此甚有參考價值。」換言之,這是一套借古鑑今而不斷演化的設計學說。

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Edition Shanghai

上海「聯圖建築設計」的聯合創辦人莫秀曼認為,關鍵在於體現融合古今的元素。位於上海M50創意園的廷泰茶空間是聯圖公司的作品之一,他們為這所茗茶間築起時尚的玻璃幕牆,令店子恍似懸浮於工廠空間之上,將傳統茶室變得異常前衛。

莫秀曼的團隊首先還原了本身的空間以保留工廠的特徵,再在茶室添加木材這種溫暖的視覺元素,又不忘加入玻璃這種素材來帶出時尚感。她表示:「最重要是將舊有的結構和新的建築元素融合並存。」

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Aranya Art Center

除了新舊對比,人工與自然的對照也成為當代中國的建築語言。在中國各大城市的市郊,一眾建築師正積極地將自然景觀融入作品中。以烏鎮阿麗拉酒店為例,大象設計便藉著豪華現代的酒店空間,向中國的自然景物及文化歷史致敬。

大象設計的陸皓解釋此舉源自「以營造體驗為本的設計理念。」烏鎮阿麗拉酒店呼應中國古代農村恍如迷宮的佈局,儘管完成作「是利用抽象的建築元素所勾勒的簡化版本。」

Credit: Dirk Weiblen/Linehouse/Tingtai Teahouse

另一個拉近人與大自然的例子是如恩設計研究室主理的阿那亞藝術中心,位於河北省的港口城市秦皇島。這個新落成的多用途藝術空間線條乾脆利落,驟眼看與周遭柔和的環境格格不入,其實內有乾坤。棱角分明的網格外牆,跟中庭的露天圓形劇場相映成趣,而且,劇場的中央部分更可注水,製造泉水淙淙的池景,甚具古典中式美。

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Tsingpu Yangzhou Retreat

同樣由如恩設計的揚州青普瘦西湖文化行館亦埋藏著巧妙的空間佈局,利用借景手法將四周景物融入改建後的建築群當中,營造出一氣呵成的效果,背後靈感源自傳統四合院的結構。

Credit: Courtesy of GOA

毫無疑問,中國正經歷建築上的文藝復興。但郭錫恩強調中國幅員遼闊,我們必須提防任何對國內建築發展一概而論的觀點。他又說中國的消費者容易被國際的設計潮流過度影響。

郭錫恩解釋:「大眾對所見及所用的建築物未有作出批判性的反思,不管好壞美醜,恰當與否,他們也照單全收。消費者正在消化所有的新興美學設計,並處於嘗試找尋自我定位的階段。」

Credit: Courtesy of GOA

如恩設計研究室另一位創辦人胡如珊補充道:「話雖如此,國內的新一代設計師正努力探索不同議題和素材,又結合先進科技,優秀作品源源不絕。」

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Aranya Art Center

閱覽更多:

國泰航空每周由香港出發飛往北京的航班共60班次,由香港出發飛往北京的航班共96班次

國泰港龍航空每周由香港出發飛往杭州的航班共28班次,由香港出發飛往南京的航班共14班次

國泰假期備有機票連酒店套票

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Architecture

Meet the Creatives Remaking the Chinese Design Aesthetic

A new breed of architects and designers is crafting a Chinese design language rooted in the national culture, history and aesthetics

‘An unexpected spatial moment, a sudden shift of scale, a unique twist on a classic form, a new interpretation of a traditional element.’

That, says Lyndon Neri, is how to design.

Credit: Andrew Rowat

He’s talking about how he approached two of his latest projects: the Shanghai Edition and Sukhothai Shanghai hotels, both of which opened in 2018. The Filipino-Chinese architect is the co-founder of Shanghai-based firm Neri&Hu, one of China’s hottest architecture and design practices. Formed in 2004 by Neri and his partner Rossana Hu, the pair have made a name for themselves with their modern, minimalist, concept-led approach.

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute; Dirk Weiblen/Linehouse

It’s not just them, of course. Take a look around any first-tier city in China and you’ll find apartment complexes, office towers, hotels and even whole neighbourhoods being created. Increasingly, architects and designers are injecting distinct aesthetics and elements from the surrounding environment into their work – crafting a brand new architectural design language.

Lu Hao, president of Hangzhou-based architecture firm GOA, describes contemporary Chinese design as ‘an integration and development of traditional residential culture, accumulated over thousands of years of history, and which conforms to the geography of our country and shapes the aesthetic psychology of our people.’ In other words, it’s an evolution on what’s come before, a school of design referencing its own past.

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Edition Shanghai

For Alex Mok, co-founder of Shanghai-based Linehouse, that interplay of old and new is vital. Her firm is behind Tingtai Teahouse in Shanghai’s M50 arts district, a cutting-edge take on a traditional teahouse featuring slick glass-walled rooms that seem to float in the middle of a factory space.

For this project, her team stripped down the space completely to reinstate its original industrial identity, before adding warm wood and cool, contemporary glass. ‘It’s important to make the existing structures and new architectures flow together,’ says Mok.

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Aranya Art Center

Besides old versus new, there’s also man versus nature. Outside China’s major cities, architects are integrating natural landscapes into their work. At Alila Wuzhen, GOA integrates elements of nature and Chinese cultural history into a luxurious, modern hotel space.

‘Our design philosophy is always about shaping the experience,’ says GOA’s Lu. Alila Wuzhen’s layout reflects the maze-like lane structure of classical Chinese villages – albeit ‘simplified by using abstract architectural elements.’

Credit: Dirk Weiblen/Linehouse/Tingtai Teahouse

Neri&Hu’s Aranya Art Centre in the port city of Qinhuangdao, Hebei province, is another merging of nature and mankind. The newly opened multifunctional art space appears at first to form an uncompromisingly solid silhouette in softer surrounds. But that structured, latticed exterior contrasts with a round, open-air amphitheatre on the inside – including a central section which can be flooded to form a water feature.

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Tsingpu Yangzhou Retreat

Clever compositions like these are also found in the firm’s design for the Tsingpu Yangzhou Retreat, which incorporates the surrounding landscape and structures to unify repurposed buildings in a formation inspired by traditional siheyuan courtyard homes.

Credit: Courtesy of GOA

As such, it would be easy to conclude that China is in the grip of an architectural renaissance. But given the country’s vast size, making any sort of generalisation about the state of Chinese architecture is tricky, warns Lyndon Neri. He says that Chinese consumers run the risk of being overly influenced by global design trends. ‘People are not being critical about what they see and use,’ says Neri. ‘So regardless of good or bad, appropriate or inappropriate, it is all being taken in. We are now at a stage where consumers are digesting all of these new influences and trying to find an identity of their own.’

‘Having said that,’ Neri&Hu co-founder Rossana Hu adds, ‘there is a new generation of creatives here who are doing amazing work by exploring issues, materials and working with technology.’

Credit: Courtesy of GOA

Linehouse’s Mok agrees. ‘Here, possibilities are so open for what you can do,’ she says. ‘From the suppliers to the artisans, the amount of customisation is great. You don’t get that anywhere else.’ Scale, customisation and the imagination can run wild in China. The hunger is real: for new interiors, new architectures – and a new Chinese aesthetic.

Credit: Pedro Pegenaute/Aranya Art Center

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon flies to Beijing from Hong Kong 60 times a week, to Shanghai from Hong Kong 96 times a week

Cathay Dragon flies to Hangzhou from Hong Kong 28 times a week, to Nanjing from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book