都市生活

在全球最宜居城市安家落戶

緊隨著以下的旅遊心得,從維也納到溫哥華感受這些宜居城市的居民如何享受美好生活

宜居城市有什麼條件?擁有文化景點和星級餐廳固然重要,但嘆息羅馬、紐約或上海被摒諸門外的人都明白,所謂宜居也在乎該城市的實際居住環境,包括可負擔的房屋、有效率的公共交通、安全度和充足的綠色空間,當然還有清新潔淨的空氣。

最新的《Mercer生活質素》調查根據上述及其他標準評估不同的城市,顯示了較細小的都市更遠勝很多聲名顯赫的大城市。維也納連續第十年蟬聯榜首,對本地居民、僑民和旅客等來說都是錦上添花的保證。《經濟學人》也有相若的年度調查,維也納同樣穩佔冠軍,險勝墨爾本。齊來體驗維也納的優質生活,同時了解全球其他宜居城市。

1. 奧地利維也納

Vienna’s Schönbrunn Palace

維也納擁有帝皇宮殿,也有裝飾瑰美的咖啡店,生活方式看來有點可望而不可即。但當地藝術內涵豐富,都市面積和綠色地帶平分春色,加上奉行隨和好客的生活哲學,都令維也納穩守最宜居城市的冠軍寶座。不妨入住Hotel Altstadt酒店的大宅,除了得到例牌的熱情款待外,下午茶時間還可以品嚐自家製的薩赫朱古力蛋糕。或徒步走五分鐘到Tian Bistro餐廳,其豐富早餐教老饕們不離不棄。毗鄰的Neubau區充滿街頭藝術氛圍和獨立小店,值得細意探索。自詡為「出眾當代設計店」的Neubau No. 2,則可以讓你搜羅各式家居用品、裝飾品和時尚產品,令人樂而忘返。市中心的博物館區遊人擠擁,不如到鄰近的Gallerie Hubert Winter藝廊感受一刻清靜;或沿著Breite Strasse街往下走,在傳統維也納庭園風的Glacis Beisl餐廳享受美味的炸牛扒,好好充電。

2. 瑞士蘇黎世

這個瑞士城市是風光優美的金融樞紐,到處可見中世紀的建築和阿爾卑斯山的景致,最適合作周末閒遊。當地採用環保交通系統,並投資再生能源,而且公園處處,是推動可持續發展方面的先驅。此外,這裡也是達達主義的發源地,以藝術挑戰傳統的社會常規,教人意想不到。想繼續感受這股創作風潮,便要到昔日的工業區蘇黎世西區,像當地人一樣騎著單車走一趟。首站便是1890年的釀酒廠 Löwenbräu-Kunst ,現已改裝為網羅了前衛藝廊和藝術藏品的藝術中心。經過重修的19世紀 Im Viadukt 高架橋亦同樣改頭換面,兩旁食堂、餐廳和時裝店林立。然後到由眾多貨櫃改裝而成的Frau Gerolds Garten酒吧及美食攤檔偷得浮生,或在綠油油的大草地徜徉,幻想自己的蘇黎世式重生。

3 (tie). 加拿大溫哥華

South Granville

面貌百變的溫哥華在荷李活電影中充當不少城市的電影替身,簡直是完美化身。在百年歷史街道South Granville蹓躂,那裡的設計師店、畫廊和餐廳如Fiore,與市中心都只是咫尺之遙,走在其中就像參觀不同的物業。位於Granville大街上的時裝店Misch ,可以細意選購Isabel Marant、Vanessa Bruno和Nili Lotan的設計;Bacci別具匠心的家居用品和飾件則可作為時尚獨特的紀念品。滿足了購物慾後,便到Gallery Row感染一點藝術氣質。每年6月,當地都會舉行South Granville 藝行活動,包括多個展覽和藝術家講座,其中最受歡迎的Kurbatoff Gallery畫廊和Ian Tan Gallery畫廊都會參與開放日。走得累了,便需要安坐喝一杯,新奧爾良風格的Ouisi酒吧以威士忌配保樂力加的加拿大雞尾酒最合口味,加上現場爵士樂,為悠悠長夜畫上圓滿句號。

3 (tie). 德國慕尼黑

Street view of Munich

這個巴伐利亞邦的首府,除了是展現德國效率的楷模城市,其以共享餐桌聞名的啤酒文化及傳統歷史民俗節日,亦為其入圍優質生活城市取得不少分數。不妨以沿著伊薩爾河的時尚住宅區Glockenbachviertel為出發點,The Flushing Meadows酒店的超大公寓由不同的藝術家合作設計,旅客可以在戶外露台一邊品味雞尾酒,一邊與本地的創意群體閒話聯誼。如果在慕尼黑時間緊迫,不能像居民般「無拘無束」(城內共有六個都市裸體區域),便可到Ralf’s Fine Garments時裝店搜羅極罕見的男裝品牌,以及到Viu Eyewear眼鏡店選購潮流眼鏡框。在和暖的季節,可在伊薩爾河旁舉行德國香腸燒烤夜,或在毗鄰的Gärtnerplatz投入到花團錦簇的氛圍,誠一樂事。

3 (tie). 新西蘭奧克蘭

Auckland

新西蘭的最大城市奧克蘭以多元共融見稱,城中約40%的居民都是非本地出生的外來人口,因此當地的美食同樣包羅萬有,口味百變。當中的Dominion路以中國菜為主,Sandringham則是印度美饌天堂,飽餐一頓後,乘坐10分鐘渡輪橫越懷特瑪塔港到北岸的海港小鎮德文港。先到19世紀以護牆板鋪建的 Andelin Guesthouse 旅館放下行裝,然後到Corelli’s Café咖啡室享用以蔬菜為主的穀物飯,如果要乘大清早到Cheltenham海灘,也可以先預訂餐點。接著遠足攀上最高的火山維多利亞山,遠眺豪拉基灣,延續健康活力。舒展筋骨後也應該好好慰勞自己,到Vic Road Kitchen餐廳大快朵頤,這裡的菜式天天新款,包括本地墨汁意粉及吞拿魚片伴西瓜及辣椒。遇上風和日麗的日子,居民更會聯群結隊到Windsor Reserve公園欣賞電影。

6. 德國杜塞爾多夫

Dusseldorf’s Medienhafen

杜塞爾多夫位於萊茵河畔,多座河濱公園均有提供單車徑,洋溢了濃厚的村莊氣息(德文dorf就是村莊的意思)。這裡擁有蓬勃而充滿活力的時尚及藝術產業,當地人對時尚的敏銳程度亦可能令你感到驚歎。若想融入他們的格調,先到Flingerstrasse區及 Shadowstrasse區挑幾件設計師服飾,然後到Stadtmitte區培養審美觀;或許在Galerie Zimmermann & Heitmann畫廊或Setareh Gallery畫廊,選購一幅人氣話題之作。回到維多利亞廣場附近的Airbnb民宿稍事休息,之後穿過在萊茵河長廊享受日光浴的居民,前往Altstadt區。你可以在1862年開始生產手工精釀啤酒的Uerige啤酒廠,品嚐傳統啤酒altbier;相對較新的Brauerei Kürzer啤酒廠則供應酒精濃度較低的飲品。杜塞爾多夫擁有大量日裔居民,是歐洲第三大的日本社區,不妨光臨小東京的日式餐廳Waraku,品嚐三角飯糰和日式便當,體驗另一種杜塞爾多夫的本土風情。

7. 德國法蘭克福

Frankfurt’s Römerberg

德國的金融中心不僅是個宜居城市,而且也愈來愈有型,這一點可能必須歸功Bahnhofsviertel區。這裡原本是紅燈區,現已迅速發展為當地的創意樞紐,吸引一眾創意人才進駐。你可以跟當地人一樣,搭乘費用低廉、準時可靠的公共交通工具前往區內的主要大道Munchenstrasse街,然後盡情享受各式美食,從Maxie Eisen餐廳的熏牛肉三文治,到Im Herzen Afrikas餐廳的厄立特里亞式燉菜,附近還有一間邀請客席主廚為客人舉辦私房菜晚宴的Club Michel俱樂部。此外,別忘了去Galerie Rundgaenger畫廊尋寶,這裡展售不少當地藝術學校人才的作品;若想找一間理想的下榻居停,可考慮入住設計出色的25Hours hotel酒店。酒店還免費提供單車租賃服務,方便住客前往法蘭克福舊歌劇院及其他文化景點,亦可租用Mini Cooper,駕車前往巴登-巴登和黑森林等景點。

8. 丹麥哥本哈根

Ulf Svane

米芝蓮星級的熱門餐廳、綠色公共設施,以及照顧周全的醫療保健,丹麥首都提供令人欣羨的生活條件,更以擁有全球最快樂的居民而自豪。別光是羨慕,你也可以入住Hotel Ottilia酒店,體驗一下「快樂」的感覺。酒店位於市中心附近的Vesterbro區,若待在房間時,試試坐在圓窗旁的墊子上,悠閒看著街上行人來往;客房附設太陽能自動噴灑消毒劑系統,讓你隨時呼吸一室潔淨空氣,感覺心曠神怡。清晨時分,只要騎五分鐘單車,即可抵達Absalon社區中心參加瑜伽課程。結束後,再騎五分鐘就到了傳奇麵包店Tartine的前烘焙主廚Richard Hart開設的麵包店Hart Bageri,名廚René Redzepi亦在此購買Noma餐廳的麵包。若想享用一頓豐盛大餐,位於Meatpacking區的海鮮餐廳Kødbyens Fiskebar便可滿足味蕾,在陽光燦爛的日子,餐廳的室外露台氣氛輕快,吸引力絕不亞於引人垂涎的美食。夜幕低垂依然感到意猶未盡?不妨到燈火通明的蒂沃利花園乘坐遊樂設施,或者在上世紀中期成立的音樂表演場所Vega欣賞一場夜間表演。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Make Yourself at Home in the World’s Most Liveable Cities

To appreciate just how good some city dwellers have it, follow these travel tips for liveable cities from Vienna to Vancouver

What makes a city liveable? Cultural sites and star-studded restaurants are important, but anyone who’s lamented the limitations of Rome, New York or Shanghai knows it also depends on less flashy factors – affordable housing, efficient public transit, safety, ample green space and clean air.

The latest Mercer Quality of Living survey, which evaluates cities on all these measures and more, suggests smaller urban areas are outpacing many of the most iconic destinations. For the 10th year running, Vienna has ranked number one, a boon for its locals, expats and short-term visitors alike. (The Economist produces a similar annual survey and Vienna also came in tops, edging out Melbourne.) Here’s how to experience the good life in Vienna and some of the other most liveable cities around the world.

1. Vienna, Austria

Vienna's Schönbrunn Palace
Vienna’s Schönbrunn Palace

With its imperial palaces and gilded coffee houses, the Viennese lifestyle may seem more aspirational than attainable. Yet abundant arts offerings, a one-to-one ratio of urban area to green space and an ethos of gemütlichkeit – convivial hospitality – have helped it secure the most liveable city title. Expect a characteristically warm welcome at Hotel Altstadt, a townhouse where afternoon tea comes with homemade sachertorte. Tian Bistro, a five-minute walk away, inspires a loyal following with its wholesome breakfasts. Take your time getting to know the surrounding Neubau district, full of street art and indie shops. Neubau No. 2, a self-described ‘awesome contemporary design shop’, is indeed a fun place to browse for housewares, accessories and fashion staples. Gallerie Hubert Winter is a worthy counterpoint to the tourist-filled institutions in the adjacent Museumsquartier. Just down the Breite Strasse, refuel with schitnzel at Glacis Beisl, a traditional Viennese courtyard restaurant.

2. Zurich, Switzerland

Zurich, Switzerland
Aerial view of historic Zurich city center

Zurich is a scenic financial hub with medieval architecture and an Alpine backdrop for weekend escapes. It’s also a sustainability pioneer for its green transportation system, investments in renewable energy and plentiful parks. What’s more, Zurich is the unlikely birthplace of Dadaism, an art movement that challenged societal norms. That creative legacy is channelled by Zurich-West, a former industrial district that’s best explored, as the locals do, on two wheels. Your first stop should be Löwenbräu-Kunst, an 1890 brewery housing avant-garde galleries and artist collectives. Im Viadukt hews to a similar concept of reinvention: a food hall, restaurants and fashion boutiques straddle both sides of the restored 19th-century viaduct. While away the rest of the day at Frau Gerolds Garten, a series of shipping containers converted into bars and food stalls, with a grassy area for daydreaming about your own Zurich-style remake.

3 (tie). Vancouver, Canada

Vancouver, Canada
South Granville

A Hollywood stand-in for all kinds of cities, versatile Vancouver looks almost too good to be true. Indeed, you may find yourself checking real estate listings after exploring South Granville, whose design shops, galleries, and restaurants like Fiore are within a quick commute to downtown. Fashion by Isabel Marant, Vanessa Bruno and Nili Lotan fill the racks at Misch, on the main drag of Granville Street, while Bacci’s eclectic housewares and accessories make stylish souvenirs. Retail therapy complete, get your art fix on Gallery Row; favourites like Kurbatoff Gallery and Ian Tan Gallery are participants in the South Granville Artwalk, an open-air festival that hosts exhibitions and artist talks each June. By this point you probably need a drink. Call it a night with a Canadian sazerac (made with whiskey and Pernod) and live jazz at New Orleans–inspired Ouisi.

3 (tie). Munich, Germany

Street view of Munich

The Bavarian capital is a model of German efficiency and also gets quality of life points for its biergarten culture – communal tables are standard – and historical folk fairs. Base yourself in Glockenbachviertel, a hip residential neighbourhood along the Isar River. The oversized lofts at The Flushing Meadows were designed in collaboration with artists, and you can mingle with local creative types over cocktails on the outdoor terrace. If your time in Munich hasn’t yet made you as uninhibited as the residents (there are six urban naked zones), head to Ralf’s Fine Garments for hard-to-find menswear brands and Viu Eyewear for stylish frames. A bratwurst barbecue along the Isar is the dining option of choice during warmer months, when it’s also lovely to soak up the atmosphere among the riotous flowers of nearby Gärtnerplatz.

3 (tie). Auckland, New Zealand

Auckland
Auckland

New Zealand’s largest city is remarkably diverse – almost 40 percent of its residents were born outside the country – with a vibrant food scene to match. After hitting Dominion Road for Chinese dishes and Sandringham for Indian cuisine, head to the residential North Shore village of Devonport, a 10-minute ferry ride across the Waitemata Harbour. Drop your bags at Andelin Guesthouse, a 19th-century clapboard inn, then head to Corelli’s Café for veggie-heavy grain bowls. (Order your meal to go if you prefer to beat the early birds on Cheltenham Beach.) Keep the healthy vibe going with a hike up Mount Victoria, a volcano overlooking the Hauraki Gulf. Reward your efforts at Vic Road Kitchen, where the daily-changing menu features locally sourced squid-ink spaghetti and big-eye tuna crudo with watermelon and chili. When the weather’s fine, residents flock to Windsor Reserve for movies in the park.

6. Düsseldorf, Germany

Dusseldorf’s Medienhafen

Düsseldorf feels rather like a village (dorf) with its bicycle-friendly parks along the Rhine – so you may be surprised by the dynamism of the fashion and art scenes, as well as the heavy dose of stylishness among locals. To fit in, pick up designer duds on Flingerstrasse and Shadowstrasse, and begin your aesthetic education in the Stadtmitte neighbourhood, where you might purchase a conversation piece from Galerie Zimmermann & Heitmann or Setareh Gallery. Take a breather back at your Airbnb rental near Victoriaplatz and then make your way past sunbathing locals on the Rhine River Promenade toward the Altstadt. Traditional altbier awaits at Uerige, an 1862 brewery; but you’ll find less biting drinks at relative newcomer Brauerei Kürzer. For another take on what’s local in Düsseldorf, head to Waraku in Little Tokyo for onigiri and bento, enjoyed alongside the third-largest Japanese community in Europe.

7. Frankfurt, Germany

Frankfurt’s Römerberg

Germany’s financial capital is predictably liveable but also increasingly cool. Much of the credit goes to the Bahnhofsviertel, a rapidly evolving red-light district that is welcoming the city’s creative classes. Join them on the low-cost, reliable public transportation system to reach Munchenstrasse, the main thoroughfare, where you can feast on everything from pastrami at Maxie Eisen to Eritrean-style stews at Im Herzen Afrikas. Nearby, Club Michel hosts underground dinner parties with visiting chefs. You’ll also find works by local art-school talent at Galerie Rundgaenger and a place to rest your head at the design-centric 25Hours hotel. It offers free bike rentals for visiting cultural sites like the Alte Oper concert hall, or a Mini Cooper if you want to explore Baden-Baden and the Black Forest.

8. Copenhagen, Denmark

Copenhagen, Denmark.
Ulf Svane

Michelin-starred hotspots, green infrastructure and good healthcare – there’s plenty to envy about life in the Danish capital, which boasts some of the happiest residents on earth. Set yourself up for a happy stay at Hotel Ottilia in the Vesterbro district, just off the city centre. You can people-watch from the cushions of your room’s round window and breathe easy knowing the hotel is self-cleaning: an engineered disinfectant is triggered by sunlight. It’s five minutes by bike to morning yoga at Absalon community house and another five to Hart Bageri. Opened by former Tartine head baker Richard Hart, it supplies the bread to René Redzepi’s Noma. For something more substantial, the seafood at Kødbyens Fiskebar, in the Meatpacking District, is second only to the lively patio scene outside the restaurant’s entrance on sunny days. Don’t want the night to end? Take a spin on the rides at illuminated Tivoli Gardens or catch a late show at mid-century music venue Vega.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book