馬德里

馬德里:歐洲美食新寵兒

哪裡才是歐洲最炙手可熱的美食之都?巴黎、倫敦及哥本哈根當心了,因為馬德里大膽創新的料理將有望挑戰最新美食王國的寶座

我坐在一間白得刺眼的餐廳中,頭上懸吊著六把剁肉刀,搖搖晃晃的刀鋒令我心神不定。令我無法集中精神的還有一道又一道的美食︰醃仙人掌葉包裹著牛肉他他墨西哥夾餅、幾可透光的薄切生牛肉片對摺圍繞在搗碎的黑松露鋪放,還有擱著原隻蛋黃的鵝肝塊。

我抵達馬德里不足一小時,已馬不停蹄地執行任務,探究當地備受吹捧的新餐廳到底是否名不虛傳。過去半年,食評家、記者、大廚和老饕都將注意力從巴黎、倫敦及哥本哈根轉移到馬德里,令後者成為歐洲現時最令人期待的美食之都。

Adrian Morris

我的首站是餐廳Sala de Despiece,店內燈火通明,反映這裡著重食物質素多於用餐環境的宗旨。食客坐在長吧檯旁,看著多位大鬍子廚師一字排開,施展正宗西班牙廚藝,全神貫注地炮製油香滿溢、鹹鮮撲鼻的西國美食。店內到處都是本生燈,食客最好放下手機,專心品嚐每一道宛如迷你藝術品的菜式。近乎神聖的氛圍容易予人矯揉造作之感,但我卻感受到他們致力炮製美饌的真心誠意,而他們的努力,讓我品嚐到今年最美味的其中一道盛宴。

餐廳老闆Javier Bonet爽朗健談,他侃侃說道︰「一直以來,馬德里都離不開懷舊二字,不斷再現100年前西班牙人喜歡的風格。可是我們想告別老派裝潢和傳統菜式,讓馬德里與時並進。這裡人人都沿用著那套數十年來一如既往的烹調手法,因此我們必須打破成規。」

抵埗前,我對馬德里的餐飲印象,統統來自早已過時的書本和電影。我心目中的馬德里,仍停留在紅衣女郎在鋅板吧檯呷著咖啡,或深宵中紅男綠女在城中鑲滿鏡子的西班牙小酒館內調情的畫面。可是在金融危機後,這座城市洗盡鉛華,相信曾說過「在馬德里,人人都在黑夜已盡時才入睡」的海明威亦會對此感到非常陌生,而尋求享樂和美食的人紛紛捨馬德里而去,改為前往東面的巴塞羅那。

不過,現在馬德里又一次扭轉乾坤,西班牙最享負盛名的大廚從臨海的巴塞撤退,回歸宏偉大道和古老宮殿林立的首都懷抱。雖然馬德里一直是個迷人的旅遊城市,可是那裡的普拉多美術博物館、提森博物館、索菲亞王后國家藝術中心美術館,甚至海明威的足跡,居然不再是遊客必訪的旅遊勝地,這是前所未見的。

Adrian Morris

抵埗第一晚,我選擇前往新派下酒小菜餐館Celso y Manolo用餐,創意與傳統碰撞的火花在碟上和舌尖爆發。所有菜式選用當地出產的時令西班牙食材,我品嚐了empanadillas de mostoles(吞拿魚番茄餃子)、caracolillos(橄欖油浸海螺)及taquitos con salsa de queso(小牛肉配藍芝士)。餐廳亦重新演繹傳統料理,如產自Cantabria區的有機小牛肋骨配阿根廷青醬,以及在切開一半的番茄上鋪滿綿滑的牛油果蓉,再澆上橄欖油和新鮮香草的chuletón de tomate,而新版本更增添了芒果和木瓜,味道令人喜出望外。餐館裝潢時尚,1950年代風格的吧檯及地磚,配合牆上的木製牛頭掛飾,在此拍照上載定能令社交媒體上的網友驚艷。這一切令我流連忘返,直至嚐遍牆架上一整排蜜糖色的雪莉酒才盡興而歸。

我對西班牙絕不陌生,我小時候經常在祖母位於安達魯西亞山區的家中度過暑假,但我對西班牙料理其中一個較深刻的記憶,卻是當年非常難吃的早餐。在Gaucin和Ronda這些山頂城鎮的早餐店內,蛋糕通常硬如石頭,甜點與鬆軟完全扯不上關係,而煎蛋總是吃得人滿嘴油膩。 幸好,我這趟周末美食之旅下榻的Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques酒店,告訴我那些慘痛回憶已成過去。除了十分舒適的床舖和可俯瞰城中褐色屋頂的天台泳池外,酒店亦提供我夢寐以求的早餐自助餐。現場有一位侍應專責為客人手切火腿薄片,另一位則在番茄厚多士刨上大量黑松露。

我對西班牙絕不陌生,我小時候經常在祖母位於安達魯西亞山區的家中度過暑假,但我對西班牙料理其中一個較深刻的記憶,卻是當年非常難吃的早餐。在Gaucin和Ronda這些山頂城鎮的早餐店內,蛋糕通常硬如石頭,甜點與鬆軟完全扯不上關係,而煎蛋總是吃得人滿嘴油膩。

幸好,我這趟周末美食之旅下榻的Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques酒店,告訴我那些慘痛回憶已成過去。除了十分舒適的床舖和可俯瞰城中褐色屋頂的天台泳池外,酒店亦提供我夢寐以求的早餐自助餐。現場有一位侍應專責為客人手切火腿薄片,另一位則在番茄厚多士刨上大量黑松露。

未幾我就明白火腿是全城迷戀的美食,酒店轉角甚至有間火腿博物館,但為了我們的腰圍、荷包、地球、當然還有味蕾(畢竟這是歐洲)著想,不少馬德里廚師已勇闖禁區,將肉類換成西葫蘆瓜和蘑菇等蔬菜。

Floren Domezain是他們當中的表表者。一個星期天,我在他開於Retiro Park公園旁的同名餐廳,品嚐他親手烹調的八道素菜。雅枝竹泛著油光、黑松露片包著煮得恰到好處的韭蔥、豌豆燉菜色澤翠綠;每道菜都令人目不暇給。此外,我跟其他食客更獲贈兩顆產自馬德里山區的心型椰菜作手信呢!

Adrian Morris

穿著金色緊身T恤(這點倒令人出乎意料)的Domezain來到我們桌邊,說道︰「我的家族是納瓦拉自治區的傳統農民,拿鋤頭比拿切肉刀多,因此我亦順理成章以蔬菜入饌。現時健康養生大行其道,大眾追求有機農產品實在合情合理。普遍而言,現時的馬德里是個令大廚磨拳擦掌的地方,因為它的美食潛力終於逐漸甦醒了。」

儘管當地飲食界燃起創新風潮,舊馬德里的一縷精魂仍然縈繞不散。行程最後一天,我去了Plaza Santa Ana廣場的Cerveceria Alemana 餐廳晚膳,神情肅穆的侍應身穿禮服,將一盤盤油膩的莎樂美腸和炸魷魚圈,扔在食客桌上一瓶瓶嗆喉的紅酒旁。餐廳自1904年開幕至今,厚重的紅木壁板和鍍金鏡子,彷彿讓人一下子回到昔日的馬德里。

Adrian Morris

雖然這裡的裝潢和菜式有別於當地的新派餐廳,但我在馬德里光顧的所有餐廳,均彌漫著莊敬自強的氣氛。它們都認真對待烹飪,讓食客享受到回味無窮的美饌體驗。雖然當地增添了純素菜式和燈火通明的餐廳,不過相信就算此時海明威舊地重遊,亦不會對馬德里感到陌生。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往馬德里的航班,每周有五班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Madrid

Madrid: Europe’s new best city for foodies

What is Europe’s hottest culinary destination? Watch out Paris, London and Copenhagen – Madrid’s bold, creative scene is the new contender. Words by MELISSA TWIGG

I was sitting in a blindingly white restaurant at the wrong end of six butcher’s cleavers, which dangled precariously above my head. Equally distracting was the factory roll of food: tacos made of steak tartare and wrapped in marinated cactus leaves; carpaccio sliced to near transparency and folded around crushed truffles; and a single egg yolk perched above a perfect disc of foie gras.

I had been in Madrid for less than an hour and was on a mission to find out if the vaunted new local restaurants lived up to the hype. Over the past six months, critics, journalists, chefs and food lovers have turned their attention away from Paris, London and Copenhagen to Madrid – which is now being called the most exciting place to eat in Europe.

Amazonico, Madrid
Adrian Morris

My first stop was the surgically lit Sala de Despiece, where produce is placed above plushness and diners sit by a row of intensely concentrated, bearded chefs who create oily, salty, pungent odes to Spanish cooking. Bunsen burners are ubiquitous, phones are frowned upon and each course is a mini work of art. It should have been pretentious but it felt endearingly earnest, and all that effort conspired to create one of the most delicious meals I’ve eaten this year.

‘For so long, Madrid was all about nostalgia and recreating the Spain people loved 100 years ago,’ says Javier Bonet, the expansive owner of Sala de Despiece. ‘But we wanted to move away from old-fashioned decor and traditional food, and bring Madrid into the modern age. We had to break the mould, as everyone in the city was following the same path that had been trodden for decades.’

Sala de Despiece, Madrid

Prior to touching down, my image of Madrid’s culinary scene had been fed by admittedly out-of-date books and films. I pictured women in red dresses sipping coffee at zinc bars and beautiful locals flirting over late-night tapas in the city’s gilt-mirrored cafes. But even Ernest Hemingway himself – who once said, ‘Nobody goes to bed in Madrid until they have killed the night’ – would have lost sight of the city post-financial crisis, when it abandoned its party atmosphere and forced those in search of a good time and a great meal to go east to Barcelona.

Now the roles have been reversed and Spain’s most admired chefs have swapped seaside air for the grand boulevards and ancient palaces of the capital. Madrid has always been a fascinating city to visit, but for the first time, the Prado, the Thyssen, the Reina Sofia and even the Hemingway haunts are not the main attraction.

Adrian Morris

On my first evening I ate at Celso y Manolo, a nuevo tapas spot, where creativity and tradition clash on the plate and in your mouth. Everything is locally sourced, seasonal and Spanish. I ate empanadillas de mostoles (tuna and tomato dumplings), caracolillos (sea snails cooked in olive oil) and taquitos con salsa de queso (veal with blue cheese). There were reworked classics like grilled organic Cantabrian veal ribs with chimichurri, and the chuletón de tomate, a luscious layering of avocado, olive oil and fresh herbs on half an heirloom tomato with the surprise addition of mango and papaya. The interior is sleek and Instagrammable – there’s the 1950s-era bar and floor tiles, and a couple of wooden bull-shaped statues on the walls, all of which lured me into an hourlong tasting of the treacle-coloured sherries that line the walls.

I’m no stranger to Spain – I spent many a childhood summer in my grandmother’s house in the Andalusian hills – but one of my more abiding memories of Spanish cuisine is how terrible the breakfasts were. In hilltop towns like Gaucin and Ronda, cakes were rock hard, pastries were the opposite of fluffy and the fried eggs always tasted a little too oily.

Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques, where I stayed for my gastronomic weekend, proved those memories outdated. Apart from wonderfully comfortable beds and a rooftop pool overlooking the russet-coloured roofs of the city, it also had a breakfast buffet of dreams. One waiter’s only job was to slice almost invisibly thin pieces from a leg of ham onto customers’ plates. Someone else grated generous helpings of truffle onto thick tomato toast.

I quickly learned that ham is a citywide obsession; there was even a Museo de Jamón around the corner from my hotel. But for the benefit of our waistlines, our wallets, our planet and of course our palates (this is Europe, after all), a number of Madrid’s chefs have taken the controversial step of swapping meat for marrows and mushrooms.

Floren Domezain is the most celebrated. And one Sunday, he created eight exquisite vegetarian courses for me in his eponymous restaurant on the edge of Retiro Park. Oily artichokes jostled for attention with perfectly cooked leeks wrapped in truffle and emerald green pea stews. We, along with all the other diners, were given two heart-shaped cabbages grown in the Madrid hills to take home as gifts.

Adrian Morris

‘My family is traditional and far more linked to the hoe than the knife, being agriculturalists from Navarra,’ says Domezain, who arrived at our table dressed, somewhat surprisingly, in a tight gold T-shirt. ‘Working with vegetables was a natural extension of this. Given the health drive we are seeing, it makes sense that people are looking to organic and horticultural produce. Generally, Madrid is a very exciting place to be cooking in right now – the city is finally coming alive to its gastronomic potential.’

But amid all this enthusiastic creativity, there are still whispers of old Madrid. On my final evening I went to Cerveceria Alemana in Plaza Santa Ana, where waiters – lugubrious and dressed in drooping penguin suits – plonked plates of oily salami and fried calamari on our table alongside pots of heavy red wine. Open since 1904, the heavy mahogany walls and gilt mirrors of the restaurant immediately recalled the Madrid of the past.

Adrian Morris

While Cerveceria Alemana’s decor and dinner menus set it apart from its more modern sisters, all the Madrid restaurants I visited were infused with a similar sense of gravitas and an endearingly earnest approach to food. The result is a dining scene infused with charm – and one that, for all its vegan concoctions and bright lighting, even Hemingway would recognise. 

Cathay Pacific flies to Madrid from Hong Kong five times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book