公路旅行

新西蘭公路狂野行

Tiffany Chan與在飛機上認識了才一個月的新朋友,結伴坐上取名「Matilda」的舊客貨車遍遊新西蘭。 她娓娓道來這段大膽輕狂、建立自信的公路之旅(節目包括一條洩氣輪胎和幕天席地的自由露營)

我向來絕非魯莽的衝動派,但竟大膽坐上了陳舊的牛仔藍色四方形萬事得Bongo客貨車,準備開展為期一個月的新西蘭全國公路遊,而身旁的旅伴,是我在飛機上萍水相逢的新相識。

Kerstin和我乘搭同一班由香港飛往珀斯的航機,她是德國舞台設計師,我則是香港作家,彼此來自截然不同的世界,卻一見如故。我和她都是快將步入30歲的90後,剛剛脫離職場,對重獲自由有點不知所措,所以聊著聊著,便計劃來一趟環遊新西蘭的露營車之旅。若稱之為「計劃」也許言重了,我們其實只是「隨便談談」罷了。

事實上,我甚至不懂駕駛,貿然出發著實令人心裡發毛,但亦難掩興奮。我傳訊息給友人,表示自己「嘗試在勇敢和愚蠢之間摸索」,他回覆道:「只要不踰越中間那條界線,自然能玩得盡興。」他說得實在太正確了。

我們在初夏抵達奧克蘭,隨即向兩名年輕的德美混血背包客購入一輛小型貨車,內設床舖、廁所、儲水缸和污水處理系統,撐起車尾板更可變身廚房煮食,保證能「自給自足」,讓我們途中可隨時在公眾地方露營。

我們將座駕取名為「Matilda」,這位小姐其實隱患纏身:行車超過30萬公里、剎車時嘎吱作響,連對汽車一竅不通的我也深知不妙,還有右邊的客座趟門無法打開、左邊的車門則不能鎖上。當我們尚未啟程,已有一條輪胎洩了氣,全部看來都是不祥之兆。

儘管Matilda缺點多多,但我們仍然樂觀面對,認為她只是比較「有性格」而已。

新西蘭由南北兩大主島,以及約600個小島組成,幅員相對細小,卻匯聚了全球最豐富多元的地貌,包括活火山、巍峨的山脈和白雪皚皚的冰川,以至蔥蘢的樹林、清澈的高山湖泊和延綿數里的細沙海灘,短短一星期當然無法悉數「打卡」。由於時間所限,要盡覽千變萬化的風光,最佳方法就是寧缺勿濫,細賞慢遊。

我們從北島出發,一路南下,經陶朗加、羅托魯瓦、陶波和Tongariro Forest Park森林公園,直下西南邊陲的威靈頓,沿途透過Matilda傷痕纍纍的擋風玻璃窺看前路。接著,我們乘坐渡輪橫越庫克海峽,花三個半小時抵達南島的皮克頓,然後再沿西岸前行,穿過Franz Josef和Fox兩大冰川,駛向內陸高速公路,直抵基督城,途經南島四大湖泊瓦納卡、哈威亞、普卡基和特卡波,景色壯麗迷人。

羅托魯瓦因地熱活動(和因此傳出的陣陣硫磺臭味)而聞名,這裡有大量間歇噴發的熱泉、冒泡的泥漿池和嘶嘶作響的火山裂縫。在陶波,我們沿著蜿蜒曲折的小路前行,不知不覺走進了對外開放的溫泉公園,這是懷卡托河耀眼而冷冽的河水與Otumuheke Stream小溪在橋下交匯而成的天然溫泉池。我們整個下午就在冷熱之間的泉水中穿梭,老實說,我極為樂意整個夏天也留在這裡。

而到了新西蘭最古老的國家公園,有人推薦我們到Tongariro Alpine Crossing高山步道「輕鬆散步」,這裡的確景色怡人,只是整條登山徑長達19公里。我們早上在步道起點的停車場弄了乳酪和炒蛋,吃畢後即展開長達七小時的「散步」之旅,走遍各式各樣稀奇古怪的地帶,包括崎嶇起伏的炭黑色岩石、恰似火星地貌的紅土平原、碧綠澄明的火山口湖,以及長滿金色嫩草的山谷。儘管山頂雨雹交加,而我那脹紅的十指亦冷得失去知覺,但這裡的風景美不勝收,令人豁然開朗。

當然,旅程中總有幾天特別難捱。車上的儲水缸經常乾涸,而我們總是不知道怎樣重新注水,或把污水妥善排走。而且,沒有設備完善的洗手間和浴室始終不便,更別說Matilda有時根本無法開動,還有到處肆虐的沙蠅,沒錯,是令人聞風喪膽的沙蠅。我們於黃昏時分來到南島西岸的哈斯特,在杳無人煙的沙灘泊好車輛,然後奔向大海。就在此時,大堆小蟲突然從天而降,牠們看似沒有殺傷力,誰料我的手臂忽爾一陣劇痛,其後痛楚擴散至全身。翌日,我們的手腳有如火燒般灼痛,長滿紅腫硬塊,痕癢感覺足足持續了數星期。

在聖誕節那個星期,我們在普卡基湖旁邊停靠,這個碧綠的高山湖依傍著背後巍峨的庫克山,秀色可餐。我們在平安夜那天準備了葡萄酒、芝士和梳打餅,Kerstin則整個下午忙著搓肉丸和炸鷹嘴豆餅,並邀請了古靈精怪的比利時鄰居和一名法國青年共晉聖誕晚餐。這位小男生徒手爬下15米高的陡峭懸崖,取回他利用冷冽湖水冰鎮的飲品,果真膽識過人,他還貢獻出母親從家鄉布列塔尼寄給他的特產小龍蝦醬。我們盡情吃喝,在聖誕歌曲的經典旋律下載歌載舞,度過開懷一夜。

我碰巧在除夕前離開新西蘭,而Kerstin則打算在此多留半年,大雨為我們道別的時刻添上一絲離愁。我們駕車到森林,利用手上有限的食材,炮製了賣相欠奉的鬆軟香蕉班戟,佐以鄰居慷慨捐贈剛成熟的蜜桃,背後響起樂隊Bon Iver哀怨曼妙的音樂。

在整個行程中,我體會到最令人難以忘懷的,並非吸引我們接連拍照「打卡」的碧綠湖水或是壯麗山巒,而是一些簡單瑣碎,卻又不能略過的點滴:例如在滾滾的浪濤聲中徐徐入睡;一覺醒來看到如詩如畫的旖旎景致;在渺無人跡的沙灘中央放上「私家椅」,享受一杯沾滿細沙的黑咖啡;又或是在悠閒的下午一邊任由洗過的衣服在風中晾乾,一邊讀畢全本小說。每天,我們也不知道晚上將在何處就寢,這樣的生活反而較日常來得更豐盛,亦更為有趣。

這趟旅程到底算是勇敢還是愚蠢,誰能說得準?

國泰航空設有由香港飛往奧克蘭的航班,每周有七班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Road trips

A Mad, Empowering New Zealand Road Trip by Van

They met on a plane. One month later, they made their way across New Zealand by way of an old van called Matilda. Here's what happened next (flat tyres and freedom camping included)

I’ve never been the reckless type. Yet there I was: sitting in an old, boxy, denim-blue Mazda Bongo van, about to embark on a month-long road trip around New Zealand with someone I’d met on a plane.

Kerstin and I were on the same flight to Perth from Hong Kong. We lived worlds apart – she was a set designer from Germany, I was a writer from Hong Kong – but we became instant friends. We were both in our late twenties, recently unemployed, and quite unsure of what to do with this newfound freedom. So, naturally, we planned a campervan trip around New Zealand. Though ‘planned’ is perhaps an exaggeration: ‘talked about’ is more accurate.

The uncertainty was terrifying (hell, I couldn’t even drive!) but also exhilarating. ‘I’m trying to navigate the line between bravery and stupidity,’ I wrote to a friend. ‘Stick to the line and you will have fun,’ he advised. How right he was.

We arrived in Auckland on the cusp of summer, and bought a van from two young German-American backpackers. The vehicle was certified ‘self-contained’ – outfitted with a bed, toilet, kitchen that extended out the back, water tank and greywater waste system – and allowed us to ‘freedom camp’ (camping on public land) around the country.

We named the van Matilda. She had a disconcerting number of issues. She’d already driven over 300,000 kilometres; the brakes squeaked (I didn’t know anything about cars but even I knew that was not a good sound); the sliding passenger door on the right was stuck; the left door didn’t lock. We had a flat tyre before we’d even hit the road. Despite her imperfections, we optimistically decided Matilda had ‘character.’  

New Zealand is made up of two main islands – North and South – as well as about 600 smaller islands. Within the relatively small country, you’ll find some of the most diverse terrain in the world: from active volcanoes, soaring mountains and snow-capped glaciers to lush forests, crystal alpine lakes and powdery beaches that go on for miles. It’s not a country that can be ‘done’ in a week. Time permitting, the best way to experience its wildly varied landscapes is to go slow and do very little.

To start, we headed south. The roads were just visible through Matilda’s streaky windshield. We cut through the length of the North Island via Tauranga, Rotorua, Taupo and Tongariro Forest Park down to Wellington, on the southwestern tip. A three-and-a-half-hour ferry ride across the Cook Strait carried us to Picton on the South Island, where we cruised along the west coast, past Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers, and onto an inland highway connecting the stunning Southern Lakes of Wanaka, Hawea, Pukaki and Tekapo to Christchurch. 

In Rotorua – a region known for its geothermal activity (and consequent stench) – there were pockets of erupting geysers, bubbling mud pools and hissing vents. In Taupo, we walked down a winding road to find a public thermal park, where under a bridge, the natural hot springs of Otumuheke Stream intersected the icy, glittering Waikato River. We spent an afternoon alternating between the two. I could have stayed all summer.

In the country’s oldest national park, we were told that the Tongariro Alpine Crossing would make for a ‘nice little walk’. And it did, except that it was a 19-kilometre hike. After a breakfast of yoghurt and scrambled eggs prepared at the trailhead parking lot, we set off on a seven-hour ‘walk’ up and across all kinds of dramatic terrain, ranging from jagged, ashy-black rocks and flat, red Martian plains to emerald crater lakes and valleys cloaked in golden grass. Never mind that it rained and hailed at the top, or that I lost feeling in my now jumbo-sized sausage fingers. The scenery was astonishingly beautiful. 

Some days were challenging, of course. Our water tank was always empty. And we never seemed to know how to refill it, or get rid of the greywater properly.

Not having access to a proper toilet or shower was inconvenient. Some days, Matilda wouldn’t even start. And then there were the sandflies. The dreaded, awful sandflies. On South Island’s west coast, at Haast, we parked on a deserted beach at dusk and ran towards the water. Swarms of gnat-like insects descended upon us. They seemed harmless enough, until I felt a sharp pain on my arm, and then all over. The next day, the entire lengths of our arms and legs were on fire, covered in hard, red bumps that itched for weeks.

We spent Christmas week parked at the edge of Lake Pukaki, with a sweeping view of Mount Cook behind the stunning turquoise alpine lake. On Christmas Eve, we laid out wine, cheese and crackers on the table and Kerstin spent the afternoon kneading meatballs and falafels. We invited our eccentric Belgian neighbours and a teenage boy from France to join our dinner. The boy proved to be quite resourceful: climbing 15 metres down the rocky cliff to retrieve a six-pack he’d left chilling in the freezing lake. He also contributed a jar of langoustine pâte – a speciality from his hometown in Brittany that his mother had posted to him. That night, we ate, drank, sang and danced to retro Christmas tunes.

I left New Zealand just before New Year’s Eve, while Kerstin would stay for another six months. It rained on our last day together. We drove into the woods, and with our limited resources, made fluffy, misshapen banana pancakes with just-ripe peaches donated to us by our charitable neighbours. In the background, Bon Iver crooned in that sad but beautiful way that they do.

I realised it was not the intensity of the emerald lakes or the grandeur of the mountains we stopped every few metres to photograph that would prove to be the most memorable aspects of the trip. It was the simple, sacred (and often trivial) moments: falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves; waking up to a view that could easily be mistaken for a screensaver; setting up our chairs in the middle of an empty beach to enjoy two sandy mugs of black coffee; reading an entire novel in one afternoon while the laundry dried in the wind. We never knew where we were going to sleep that night, and life was richer and far more interesting for it.

Was it bravery or stupidity? I’m still not sure.

Cathay Pacific flies to Auckland from Hong Kong seven times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book