澳門特别行政區

澳門新知舊雨:20個去澳門的理由

讓我們為你細數20個前來壕江一遊的好理由

20年來,澳門湧現了眾多豪華酒店、米芝蓮星級餐廳及當代藝術場地,加上歷史悠久的中葡文化、南部海灘的悠閒氣息及土生葡人美食,推動本地旅遊業迅速發展。

全長55公里的港珠澳大橋已於2018年通車,讓遊客利用不同途徑前來澳門,除了從香港乘搭渡輪,亦可從陸路經珠海入境。根據統計,港珠澳大橋落成之後,2018年的訪澳人數為3,580萬人次,相較1999年澳門回歸之前,每年平均僅800萬人次,增長十分顯著。

我們為你搜羅澳門必遊景點中值得探索的新舊面貌,無論你選擇哪條交通路線,都能盡享小城風情。

酒店

新: 美獅美高梅

粉雕玉砌的美獅美高梅於2018年2月開幕,為訪客提供更多適合一家大小的景點。訪客可到戲院觀看以特大4K超高清LED屏幕放映的電影,亦能在星級名廚領軍的餐廳品嚐美食,或欣賞300件藝術珍品,以及視博廣場25個LED屏幕不間斷播放的影片。酒店入口矗立了重達38噸的金獅雕像,表面鋪上24K金箔,氣派不凡。同樣坐落於路氹金光大道的永利皇宮,則是澳門至今造價最昂貴的度假酒店。

舊: 鷺環海天度假酒店

路氹金光大道吸引了腰纏萬貫的豪客,但靜靜躺在最南端的路環卻是喜歡悠閒氣氛的遊客及本地人心儀之處。鷺環海天度假酒店的每間客房均設有寬敞陽台,大部分更擁有無敵海景。若你捨得抽身離開舒服的躺椅,大型室外泳池、18洞高爾夫球場、水療及健身中心、兒童俱樂部、網球場及附近的黑沙海灘等,都在靜待你來享用。

Left: Bartosz Kolonko Photography

新: 摩珀斯

儘管周圍盡是路氹金光大道上金碧輝煌的酒店,摩珀斯依然顯得卓爾不凡。這個新濠天地的最新成員由已故建築大師Zaha Hadid設計,以全球首創的自由形態鋼製網狀結構建造,中間的三個鏤空設計營造出超現實的夢幻感。置身酒店內,踏入高聳深邃、氣派華麗的中庭大堂,令人大開眼界,高速觀光電梯帶你穿梭這座摩天大樓,直達高尚的頂級餐廳,以及772間客房、套房及別墅和位於頂樓的無邊際泳池。

舊: 竹灣酒店

如果你喜歡小巧精緻的風格,由一所豪華的私人莊園改建的竹灣酒店位於澳門最南端,正是遠離城市煩囂的休閒好去處。這所迷人的葡式建築僅設28間海景客房,每間均享有竹灣海灘的美景。酒店洋溢了葡萄牙風情,從藍白色的瓷磚,到房間內的古典殖民地時期裝潢,讓人宛如回到往昔。酒店與著名的法蘭度餐廳僅相距五分鐘車程,方便順道去品嚐葡國料理。

表演

Left: Terence Pang; Right: EyePress News

新: 現場表演

今日的澳門已經成為許多巡迴表演的必到之地。香港樂壇老將林子祥於7月6日在金光綜藝館演出,聯同林德信、胡琳及小肥等歌手演繹他歷來的經典金曲;愛爾蘭男子樂隊Westlife於7月26日至27日,亦在這個場地舉行成軍20周年的演唱會。巴黎瘋馬秀在9月25日至10月5日再度於澳門巴黎人演出《永恆的瘋馬》。來自加拿大的著名唱作歌手Shawn Mendes則於10月13日登上金光綜藝館。

舊: 水舞間

「全球最大型水上匯演」果然名不虛傳。水舞間自2010年起一直是澳門娛樂表演的經典節目,度身訂造的270度圓形劇場,配備可容納高達370萬加侖水(足以裝滿五個奧運規格的游泳池)的舞台泳池,加上90位表演者於水中升起的精緻舞台表演超高難度的芭蕾、高空鞦韆、摩托車特技,以及各種怪趣的跳水雜技等,令人目瞪口呆。

文化

新: 當代藝術

提到澳門,不由而然就會想到數百年殖民與本地融於一體的特殊文化,不過當地亦有持續成長的當代藝術。位於氹仔舊城區一間店屋的藝術空間,是專注於推廣本地和國際藝術家的畫廊。想挑選一些具有創意的紀念品,不妨走一趟澳門設計中心,現址由荒廢的工廠大廈翻新而成,備有畫廊、商店、咖啡店、書店和表演空間。還有澳門藝術博物館,這裡隨時都有不同類型的藝術展,總會讓你找到符合心意的作品。

舊: 龍環葡韻住宅式博物館

由五幢翠綠色葡式建築組成的龍環葡韻住宅式博物館,帶你一窺昔日土生葡人的生活,環境清幽,也是拍照的好去處。這幾座建築於1921年落成,曾是澳門高級官員的官邸,你可以透過館內展示的照片、家居擺設及特色展覽等,了解當時上流社會的生活。有空的話,可以到附近的嘉模聖母堂走走。

地標

新: 澳門巴黎人的巴黎鐵塔

理論上,複製的巴黎鐵塔聽起來很俗氣,但實際上,只要親臨澳門巴黎人,定必會令你改觀。這座全新地標按原有比例的一半興建,細節一絲不苟,設有兩個觀景台,每晚更有燈飾伴隨音樂表演點亮鐵塔。至於鍾情趣怪景點的旅客,不妨乘搭聳立於新濠影滙酒店外牆的影滙之星摩天輪。酒店以荷李活電影為設計概念,而這架全球首創的「8」字形摩天輪,則以17個採用蒸汽龐克風格設計的觀景廂帶乘客攀升至130米。

舊: 主教山小堂

建於1622年的小教堂坐落於西望洋山頂,1935年曾經重建,恬靜氛圍讓人暫時逃離喧鬧。每年5月13日,數以千計的天主教徒特地前來,參與花地瑪聖母瞻禮。教堂環境簡樸,但山頂視野開揚,將澳門旅遊塔和澳門三座大橋盡收眼底,即使要爬上陡峭的斜坡亦不枉此行。此外,壯麗的玫瑰堂亦值得一訪,若嫌大三巴牌坊人潮過於擁擠,可前往這幢屹立於議事亭前地的巴洛克風格建築,鐘樓內的天主教藝術博物館與墓室更是不容錯過。

城區

新: 關前街

大三巴牌坊附近兩條古老街巷:關前街和關前正街,吸引了不少設計小店和咖啡店進駐。在當地公司「81號一人有限公司」大力推動下,整個社區活化起來,遊客可在文藝門黑色金子等型格咖啡店喝杯飲料,抖擻精神,再漫步至以繽紛街頭藝術裝飾的俊秀圍。

舊: 路環村

或許大部分人都是衝著安德魯餅店的葡撻而來,但路環西南角,餅店旁的寧靜村落亦值得尋幽探秘,如呈現巴洛克建築風格的聖方濟各聖堂和毗連的葡式鵝卵石廣場。位於村子北端的荔枝碗船廠區則已荒廢多時,氣氛有點陰森,其中兩座船廠於2016年拆卸之後,當地政府現正評估船廠區的歷史價值,因此趁船廠尚在之際,好好感受昔日澳門造船業的遺痕吧。

餐廳

Left: City of Dreams, Macau

新: 風雅廚

法國廚神Alain Ducasse名下的兩間新餐廳,佔據了摩珀斯一整個樓層。風雅廚以廚神多年來探索泰國、日本、中國等亞洲各地的遊歷為靈感,呈獻時尚的亞洲菜式。另有一間以木質嵌板佈置的酒吧,氣氛溫馨,你可以黃昏時分來享用一杯流動推車供應的Negroni雞尾酒,再前往米芝蓮二星餐廳杜斯卡餐廳享用晚餐。總廚Pierre Marty以當季最優質食材,完美演繹Ducasse擅長的法國高級美饌,加上一系列法國美酒,與餐廳精緻高雅、清新明亮的裝潢互相襯托。

舊: 婆仔屋1601

澳門美饌聞名遐邇,更於2017年獲聯合國教科文組織授予「創意城市美食之都」的美譽。芸芸老牌餐廳當中,我們的首選是位於婆仔屋的Albergue 1601。餐廳呈獻正宗葡國菜及澳門菜,但其優美的環境才是最吸引之處︰餐廳藏身於一幢呈奶黃色的1920年代殖民建築內,門前的庭院有兩棵巨型的古樟樹,十分引人注目。先悠閒品嚐一頓午餐,再移往室外呷一口新鮮調配的西班牙果酒,享受愜意的午後時光,之後更可到旁邊的畫廊及特色小店葡國天地百貨閒逛。若想簡單品嚐地道美食,建議到議事亭前地的澳門咖啡點一個豬扒包。

Left: David Hartung; Right: Stefan Irvine/LightRocket via Getty Images

新: 譽瓏軒

譽瓏軒以精緻美饌而著稱,榮獲米芝蓮三星殊榮,於2019年「亞洲50大最佳餐廳」排名第27位,備受食評家推介,亦深獲饕客喜愛。行政總廚歐陽文彥及他的廚師團隊將粵菜經典推向更高境界,別錯過以荔枝木燒烤,甜味細膩的譽瓏蜜汁西班牙黑豚梅頭叉燒;加入北海道蟹肉,近一步提升味道的酸辣湯及各式點心,均令人再三回味。

舊: 三盞燈

本地人熟悉的氹仔三盞燈是攤販聚集的市場,除了新鮮蔬菜、包裝零食和各式各樣家居用品之外,還可以買到緬甸食品。1960、70年代時,許多緬甸華裔人士移居澳門,帶來他們故鄉的地道美食,其中最受歡迎的是緬甸魚湯粉mohinga。味道濃郁的魚湯米粉,加上水煮蛋和炸豆餅,是緬甸人常吃的早餐,但三盞燈的牛牛小食和雅馨緬甸餐廳全天都有供應。不過,如果你正在氹仔舊城區,亦可前往仰光小館,餐廳位於老虎巷,正在The Blissful Carrot咖啡店的對面。

體驗

Left: City of Dreams, Macau

新: 蝙蝠俠夜神飛馳

荷李活主題酒店新濠影匯耗資2,500億港元興建而成,擁有多項為人津津樂道的景點,包括全球首個以蝙蝠俠為主題的四維模擬飛行體驗。「蝙蝠俠夜神飛馳」(MOP178/HK$172) 以多層屏幕和先進的音響設計,帶來身歷其境的感受,你可以駕駛蝙蝠戰機穿梭葛咸城,或乘坐蝙蝠車展開一連串驚險追逐,打擊超級破壞王小丑、雙面人及班恩等罪犯。

舊: 松山纜車

若以物超所值而論,位於二龍喉公園的松山纜車可說無可匹敵。全程只有兩分鐘,車廂十分小巧,最多僅可容納四人,但來回票價只需澳門幣3元(3港元)。坐在車廂中既可飽覽一望無遺的絕佳景色,亦是登上東望洋山一個省時省力的好方法。到達山頂之後,可參觀東望洋砲台,以及建於1865年的燈塔和可追溯至1622年的聖母雪地殿聖堂。

美食

新: LCM葡式辣魚店

來自里斯本的LCM 葡式辣魚店主要經銷葡萄牙生產的魚罐頭,店內展示了200多種不同種類的魚罐頭。首選當然是沙丁魚,但鱈魚、魷魚、帶子和鰻魚亦值得一試,全部以香料醃製或用橄欖油浸泡。無論罐頭、玻璃罐或紙盒包裝都十分精美,上面印有華麗的復古圖案,買回去當作送給親友的手信最適合不過。

舊: 杏仁餅

從大三巴牌坊往南走大約10分鐘,就可以找到最香餅家。這間餅店於1958年由現任老闆李志勇的父親創立,以現場製作的手工杏仁餅而出名,長期受到本地人和遊客的青睞。店外隨時都有人排隊等候,不過移動的速度頗快,所以不妨花點時間選購一兩盒杏仁餅,順便再挑一盒蛋捲。

本文原發表於2018年5月,於2019年6月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Macao SAR

Macao: 20 Old and New Reasons to Visit Now

In honour of the 20th anniversary of the Portuguese colony’s return to China, we count the reasons why there’s never been a better time to visit Macao

macau

It’s been a booming two decades for Macao, with an influx of luxury hotels, Michelin-starred restaurants and other new draws to complement its colonial history, laidback southern beaches and fusion cuisine.

A new creative energy is bubbling up, too, with local talent celebrated as part of Art Macao, a series of special exhibitions and performances through October 2019.

There are also new ways to reach Macao, namely along the 55-kilometre Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge which opened in 2018 and offers an alternative to the border crossing with Zhuhai and the ferry service from Hong Kong. The bridge helped some of the 35.8 million tourists reach Macao’s shores in 2018 – a huge increase from the roughly eight million annual tourists before the handover to China.

However you arrive, we’ve put together a guide to the best of Macao, old and new.

Hotels

New: MGM Cotai

The lavish MGM Cotai opened in February 2018, with numerous family-friendly attractions. Visitors can check out the enormous 4K LED screen in its cinema, enjoy restaurants by acclaimed chefs, view a collection of 300 art pieces, and watch The Spectacle, an ever-changing display of 25 LED screens in the cavernous atrium. The 38-tonne lion statue outside is gilded in 24-karat gold because – why not? Also new on the Cotai Strip is the Wynn Palace, Macao’s most expensive resort to date.

Old: Grand Coloane Resort

The Cotai Strip may be where the big money flows, but Coloane, on the sleepy southern shores, is where the tourists and locals looking for a relaxing escape flow to. At The Grand Coloane Resort, every room has a sizeable sun terrace, with many offering unbroken ocean views. If you can drag yourself off your lounger, you’ll get to enjoy facilities such as an outdoor pool complex, an 18-hole golf course, spa and fitness centre, kids’ club, tennis courts and the nearby Hac Sa beach.

Left: Bartosz Kolonko Photography

New: Morpheus

Even among the glitzy towers of the Cotai Strip, Morpheus stands apart. The latest wing of the sprawling City of Dreams complex sports a surreal, cage-like webbing structure with three holes punched out, designed by the late British-Iraqi architect Zaha Hadid. The wow factor continues inside with a cavernous lobby, from which a breathtaking lift ride takes you through three holes ‘punched’ through the structure up to fabulous restaurants, 772 guest rooms, suites and villas, and a rooftop infinity pool.

Old: Pousada de Coloane

If you prefer a more boutique feel, Pousada de Coloane – formerly a private retreat for a wealthy Macanese tycoon – is a bucolic hideaway in the south. The charming throwback has just 28 sea-facing rooms facing Cheoc Van Beach below. Around the resort you’ll find blue-and-white Portuguese tiling, while the decor in the rooms is classic colonial reserve, with few frills. An added perk: it’s a five-minute ride to famed Portuguese restaurant Fernando.

Shows

Left: Terence Pang; Right: EyePress News

New: Live Music Powerhouse

Macao has become a must-play destination for many touring acts. On 6 July, veteran Cantopop star George Lam is joined by Alex Lam, Bianca Wu and Terence Siufay for La Musical, a retrospective of his hits at Cotai Arena. Irish boyband Westlife performs over 26-27 July; Parisian cabaret troupe Crazy Horse brings its Forever Crazy show to the Parisian Theatre 25 September-5 October; and Canadian pop music heartthrob Shawn Mendes plays the Cotai Arena on 13 October.

Old: The House of Dancing Water

The ‘world’s largest water extravaganza’ is worthy of the hype. The House of Dancing Water has been a mainstay of Macao’s entertainment scene since 2010, performed in a purpose-built, 270-degree theatre with a pool holding 3.7 million gallons of water (enough to fill five Olympic-sized swimming pools). Ninety performers display their prowess across ballet, trapeze, motorsports (yep, you read that right) and frankly preposterous feats of diving – all among elaborate sets that rise from the watery depths.

Culture

New: Contemporary Art

Think of culture in Macao and its the centuries-old colonial influences that often come to mind, but there’s also a growing contemporary arts scene. Taipa Village Art Space is a gallery set up in a village shophouse with a focus on promoting local and regional artists. For creative souvenirs, head to Macao Design Centre, a converted factory that now hosts galleries, shops, a cafe, bookshop and performance space. And the Macao Museum of Art always has something new on view.

Old: Taipa Houses Museum

The five peppermint-green buildings that comprise the Taipa Houses Museum are a history lesson doubling as an Insta-perfect photo opportunity. Built in 1921 as residences for wealthy Macanese, they now serve as a reminder of the territory’s colonial chapter through recreations of traditional living quarters with authentic furnishings in the Macanese Living Museum house – as well as special exhibitions in the others. Spare a minute to check out Our Lady of Carmo Church next door, too.

Landmarks

New: The Parisian Macao’s Eiffel Tower

Let’s face it: on paper, a replica Eiffel Tower sounds garish at best. But a visit to The Parisian Macao reveals otherwise. This new landmark is built at half scale to the real thing with outstanding attention to detail while incorporating two observation decks. Each evening, the tower is illuminated with a light and music show. Fans of quirky attractions should also take a ride on the Golden Reel Ferris wheel, built into the facade of the Hollywood-themed Studio City hotel. The world’s first figure-eight-shaped Ferris wheel has 17 steampunk-themed cabins that rise 130 metres above the ground.

Old: Our Lady of St Penha Chapel

Take a break from the bustle at this serene chapel on top of Penha Hill, which was constructed in 1622 and rebuilt in 1935. Thousands of Catholics make their way here on 13 May every year for the Procession of Our Lady of Fátima. The chapel is simple, but the panoramic views over the Macao Tower and the city’s three bridges are sensational, making the steep ascent worthwhile. The beautiful baroque St Dominic’s Church, just off Senado Square, is also worth a visit, and makes a great alternative to the busy Ruins of St Paul’s – don’t miss the Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt in the bell tower.

Neighbourhoods

New: Rua de Nossa Senhora do Amparo

Design-forward shops and cafes are springing up along two historic streets near the Ruins of St Paul’s: Rua de Nossa Senhora do Amparo and Rua dos Ervanários. This has to do with a push by local property company Number 81 to boost the area. Visitors can fuel up at stylish coffee shops, including A Porta Da Arte and Black Gold Coffee Corner, before enjoying a wander down Patio de Chon Sau – a small terrace lined with colourful street art.

Old: Coloane Village

While the egg tarts at Lord Stow’s Bakery are the best-known reason to venture down to the southwestern corner of Coloane, the sleepy village also holds a few other draws: the baroque Chapel of Francis Xavier and surrounding Portuguese cobblestone square, and the eerie abandoned Lai Chi Vun shipyards, which you can explore on the northern fringes of the village. The heritage value of the shipyards is currently under consultation after two were demolished in 2016, so check them out while you still can.

Restaurants

Left: City of Dreams, Macau

New: Voyages by Alain Ducasse

The Morpheus hotel has a whole floor dedicated to celebrated French chef Alain Ducasse. Voyages by Alain Ducasse pays tribute to Asian food, with contemporary dishes inspired by his travels in Thailand, Japan, China and beyond. The wood-panelled bar is the perfect setting to start an evening with a Negroni from the cocktail trolley before dinner at two-Michelin-starred Alain Ducasse at Morpheus. Here, head chef Pierre Marty channels Ducasse’s take on haute French cuisine with an emphasis on seasonal ingredients, backed by a list of French wines, served in an exquisite, light-filled dining room.

Old: Albergue 1601

Macao is known for its excellent cuisine and, in 2017, Unesco named it a Creative City of Gastronomy. Our top old-school pick is Albergue 1601. It offers solid Portuguese and Macanese fare, but the real draw is the setting: the restaurant sits in a butterscotch-coloured 1920s colonial building next to a courtyard framed by giant camphor trees. Come for a relaxed lunch, then get an outside table and while the afternoon away over fresh sangria before checking out the art gallery and Portuguese provisions shop Mercearia Portuguesa next door. Alternatively, for a quick and delicious Macanese pork chop bun, stop at Ou Mun Cafe near Senado Square.

Left: David Hartung; Right: Stefan Irvine/LightRocket via Getty Images

New: Jade Dragon

The dining experience at Jade Dragon has been recognised by the Michelin guide (three stars), ranked on Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants (27th on the 2019 list), lauded by critics and loved by diners. Credit goes to executive chef Kelvin Au Yeung and his team for taking Cantonese classics to new heights – don’t miss the barbecued pork (Iberico, barbecued over lychee wood for a delicate, sweet flavour), dim sum and hot and sour soup (lifted by the addition of Hokkaido crabmeat).

Old: Three Lamps District

Locals know the area surrounding the Rotunda de Carlos da Maia in Taipa for market stalls hawking fresh vegetables, packaged snacks, sundry household goods – and Burmese food. In the 1960s and ’70s, Burmese people of Chinese descent emigrated to Macao, bringing along their classic dishes. One of the most popular is mohinga, rice noodles in rich, fish broth topped with a boiled egg and split pea crackers, which is typically eaten for breakfast in Myanmar, but available all day at Ngau Ngau and Restaurante Birmanes Nga Heong. In Taipa Village, make a beeline for Rest Yangon, down the backstreet Travessa Lou Fu, opposite The Blissful Carrot cafe.

Rides

Left: City of Dreams, Macau

New: Batman Dark Flight

The HK$250 billion Hollywood-themed Studio City’s blockbuster attractions include the world’s first ride to feature the Dark Knight. With a multistorey screen and state-of-the-art sound design, Batman Dark Flight (MOP178/HK$172) is an immersive flight simulation that takes you out crime fighting, flying through Gotham City in the Batplane and tearing through its streets in the fabled Batmobile in pursuit of supervillains The Joker, Two-Face and Bane.

Old: Chong San tram

You can’t beat Macau’s Chong San tram for kitschy charm and value for money – just MOP3 (HK$3) for a round-trip ticket. Setting out from Jardin de la Flora, the two-minute ride aboard a gondola (big enough to squeeze in four people) delivers superb panoramic views. It’s also quicker than hiking up Guia Hill if you want to check out the colonial fort and lighthouse, built in 1865, and the frescoed chapel dating back to 1622.

Cravings

New: Loja das Conservas

Loja das Conservas, an outpost of the renowed Lisbon emporium, showcases more than 200 Portuguese producers of canned fish. Reach for the sardines, obviously, but don’t ignore the codfish, squid, mussels and eels; all pickled, drenched in spices or preserved in oil. The packaging – gorgeous retro designs emblazoned on the tins, jars and paper wrappings – is reason enough to pick up a souvenir or two.

Old: Almond biscuits

Venture about 10 minutes south from the Ruins of St Paul, and you’ll reach Pastelaria Chui Heong, a longtime favourite for the almond biscuits made on site. (It was founded in 1958 by the father of current owner Lee Chi-Yung.) There’s usually a queue outside, but it moves quickly and is worth the wait to snag a box or two – and some egg rolls while you’re at it.

This story was originally published in May 2018 and updated in June 2019

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book