老撾

老撾豪華遊船

乘坐豪華遊船由泰國出發,沿著湄公河航行至老撾,體驗機會難得的當地人傳統生活風貌

我優哉游哉地倚在船上的沙發,眼前一艘小艇掠過。艇上的遊客擠作一團,全部穿上救生衣,看上去就像在艇上困了大半天。我雀躍地朝他們揮手,換來的卻是一道道羨慕又妒忌的目光。為何他們這麼生我的氣?揮手回應或報以微笑並非難事。最後我只好裝作沒看見,繼續呷著冰凍啤酒,欣賞前方壯麗的日落,我的船沿著迷人的湄公河,由泰國的金三角地區前往老撾的琅勃拉邦。

其實我也明白他們的心情,易地而處,如果是我擠在那艘小艇上,碰到如此愜意的遊客也會不期然心生怨氣。與其說我身在遊船上,不如說是一間浮游在河上的巨型別墅來得更為貼切。這棟別墅共有兩間大型睡房,各有淋浴間及空調,另外還有供人享受日光浴的甲板、餐桌和客廳,當然還有Wi-Fi無線網絡。此外,我不但擁有私人管家、廚師和一個身兼按摩師的房務員為我效勞,而且更能全天候享用美酒佳餚,簡直猶如天堂般享受。

Taylor Weidman

這艘名為Gypsy的豪華遊船,由河上遊船豪華公司Mekong Kingdoms營運,它專營湄公河的水上遊覽行程。自古以來,湄公河上不乏沿河遊覽泰國、老撾、越南、中國、柬埔寨及緬甸六國的遊客。今日的旅客則主要乘搭快艇和人頭湧湧的大型遊覽船,而像我享受如此私人和奢華的遊河之旅,實屬難能可貴。

我這次三天遊的導遊Tou表示:「這確實是史無前例的體驗,因為一般遊船約有20個船艙,Gypsy就只有兩個而已,所以我可以為遊客提供更個人貼心的服務。」湄公河陪伴著Tou成長,因此他十分清楚這條水道的重要性,畢竟河水不但提供食物、水源及航運路線,更養活了沿岸過百萬居民。

Taylor Weidman

在泰北的清萊就是個好例子。這裡是我展開河上之旅的起點,旅客可由清邁乘車或在曼谷乘搭短途飛機前往當地。清萊是通往接壤泰國、老撾和緬甸的金三角的大門。1920年代,這裡有大量農地種植鴉片,收益佔當時泰國國內生產總值的兩成半。當時鴉片交易以公斤為單位換取黃金,令這個地方惡名昭彰,更被冠以金三角之名。後來,已故國王普密蓬決定禁止鴉片,並於1960年代成立了Royal Project Foundation計畫,鼓勵山區部落和農民栽種蕃茄及蘑菇等糧食,由此展開持續多年的有機食物運動。

在展開河上之旅之前,我下榻於金三角安納塔拉度假村,度假村經理Gauderic Harang表示:「Royal Project計畫空前成功,培育出質素超群的有機農產品,我認為清萊絕對有潛力成為下一個烏布。」烏布在印尼峇里,被群山圍繞,是以瑜伽旅遊見稱的度假勝地。

Taylor Weidman

度假村同時與非牟利組織合作,營救於非法伐木場、街上或大象表演團的大象,並支持馴象師及其家人的生計。住客在此可以與獲拯救的大象散步,以及幫牠們洗澡。Gauderic Harang表示:「這裡有一頭特別愛在河裡洗澡的大象,有次牠決定沿河游至緬甸,我們需要費一番功夫,才能把牠帶返營地。不過作為遊客,就可以利用我們安排的交通,在一天內體驗金三角三國文化,非常便捷。」

離開度假村後,我正式登上遊船。湄公河沿岸有很多村落,如水位許可的話便可以靠岸,到訪當地感受風土人情,而部分村落早已習慣接待遊客,更有攤販售賣蠟染紡織品、服裝和老撾威士忌等。可幸Tou亦樂意向我介紹其他鮮為人知的景點。一晚,我受到Ban Khoc Kham農村村民的熱情招待,他們不但向我誦唱和送贈許多手繩,更讓我品嚐炒田雞和跟村內老人競飲烈酒。

Taylor Weidman

不過最有趣的還是嘗試使用當地的魚網,親手捕捉早餐。村民捕魚看上來好像很輕鬆,只需迅速撒網就是了。不過很明顯,我沒有當漁夫的料子,但這個活動讓我親身體驗到當地人生活和傳統習俗。

當我繼續行程時,看到湄公河上有不少工程正在興建橋墩、堤壩、甚至是賭場,而當遊船慢慢駛近寺廟林立的世界文化遺產琅勃拉邦鎮時,工程的規模更見浩大。這些堤壩工程逼使部分村民離開世代居住的家園,而老撾政府為了鼓勵部落遷徙,在新發展區興建不少醫院和學校,不論此舉是好是壞,亦象徵著老撾正積極發展。

Taylor Weidman

琅勃拉邦安凡尼臻選酒店總經理Andrew Jansoon表示:「老撾的堤壩為區內多個國家供電,因此被譽為『亞洲發電廠』。在你接近琅勃拉邦時途經的鐵路大橋,將連接中國和老撾的首都永珍,一直延伸至曼谷和新加坡。鐵路將會在明年竣工,屆時會為我們帶來更多商機。現時,我們仍需要經山路才能到達泰國,前往永珍也需要八個小時的車程。鐵路開通後將縮減交通時間,為我們帶來服務、貨物和遊客,前景一片光明,我們喜聞樂見。」

安凡尼臻選酒店在19世紀初曾是法國官方軍營,到1960年代成為當地人經營的酒店,直至去年安凡尼臻選酒店品牌接管這裡。現時這間河畔酒店為這個被視為背包客樂園的城鎮,增添一份尊貴的格調。Jansoon表示:「琅勃拉邦擁有巨大的發展潛力,而老撾亦慢慢成為東南亞新興的旅遊勝地,因為到訪過泰國、柬埔寨和越南的遊客,都開始尋找新的旅遊體驗。」

Taylor Weidman

佛教國家老撾有一個關於水龍那伽的傳說。相傳這條水龍居住在湄公河底,為村民帶來食物、水源和幸運,因此老撾每年都會慶祝Boun Ok Phansa節慶。期間當地人會在河上點燈,希望燭火順著水流漂至鄰近的佛窟,祈求好運降臨,而如果發展順利的話,老撾更將於2024年從聯合國「最低度開發國家」的名單中除名。

記得之前在Ban Khoc Kham農村暢飲時,我問過村內一位老人Phaie對這個國家有什麼盼望,他表示:「我當然希望老撾繁榮,因為這裡畢竟是我的老家呢!」看來,傳說中的水龍真的實現了他的願望。

Taylor Weidman

遊船假期

Minor Hotel Group集團除經營「Gypsy」遊船之旅外,旗下還有不同類型的物業,包括安納塔拉和安凡尼酒店品牌,以及營運遊覽湄公河定制行程的Mekong Kingdoms遊船公司。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往清邁的航班,每周有七班;國泰航空設有飛往曼谷的航班,每周有63班

Cruises

A Luxury River Cruise to Laos

An intimate two-cabin boat sails from Thailand to Laos, offering rare opportunity to experience everyday traditions along the Mekong River

I am lounging on a sofa on my river cruise when a boatload of tourists, all wearing lifejackets and looking like they’ve been cramped on their longboat for hours, casually speeds past me. I wave enthusiastically, but every single one of them seems to be giving me a death stare. Why are they so angry at me? Surely a simple wave back or a smile can’t be that difficult. I proceed to ignore the hostility and get back to my ice-cold beer and the stunning sunset ahead of me, continuing on my way from Thailand’s Golden Triangle region to Laos’ Luang Prabang, here on the Mekong River.

I don’t really blame them, as I would probably be muttering profanities if I saw myself as well. It would give the wrong impression to say I’m on a boat. It’s more like a giant floating villa with two massive bedrooms, each including a shower and air conditioning, a sun deck, a dining table, a lounge area and, of course, Wi-Fi. I have my own butler, while other staff include cooks and a housekeeper who doubles as an onboard masseuse. Throughout the day, I enjoy all-inclusive alcohol and delicious food.

View of Mekong and Gypsy, Laos
Taylor Weidman

This is the Gypsy, the latest deluxe boat from Mekong Kingdoms, a luxury river cruise company that operates trips along the Mekong River. Throughout history, travellers have been making trips between the six countries the river passes through: Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, China, Cambodia and Myanmar. Nowadays, river transport is mostly on speedboats or crowded river cruises, so to have the space and opulence that I now enjoy is a rare experience.

‘This really is the first of its kind, as normally cruises have about 20 cabins; Gypsy has only two, which allows me to provide better service to my guests,’ says Tou, my guide for the journey’s three days. Growing up along the river, he understands the importance of the waterways: the river provides food, water and a transport route to the millions who live along it.

Fishing, Laos
Taylor Weidman

This is evident in the northern Thai city of Chiang Rai – reachable by car from Chiang Mai or on a short flight from Bangkok – where my river cruise began. It’s the gateway to the Golden Triangle, an area where the borders of Thailand, Laos and Myanmar meet. In the 1920s, opium fields sprawled over much of the farmland here and accounted for 25 percent of Thailand’s GDP. Gold was used to purchase opium by the kilo, giving the area a notorious reputation – and its name. But the late King Bhumibol Adulyadej was determined to rid the opium and established the Royal Project Foundation in the 1960s, encouraging hill tribes and farmers to grow food crops, from tomatoes to mushrooms. This initiative produced an enduring organic food movement.

Before I began my journey on the river, I stayed at the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, where the manager Gauderic Harang gave me the lowdown. ‘The Royal Project is very successful, and the quality of organic produce here is second to none. Chiang Rai definitely has the potential to be the next Ubud,’ he says, referring to Bali’s mountainous, yogi-friendly enclave.

Entrance, Laos
Taylor Weidman

The Anantara works with a non-profit group to rescue elephants from illegal logging camps, the street and elephant shows, and support mahouts and their families. Guests can now take walks with the rescued elephants and help bathe them. ‘There is this elephant who loves to bathe in the river, and once it decided to take a little detour and cross over to Myanmar,’ says Harang. ‘It was quite a mission to get it back to camp. But for travellers, you can experience three cultures in one day by transportation provided by us – it’s very convenient.’

From there, I head out onto the river. There are many villages along the waters, and you’ll be able to visit them depending on the water levels. Some villages are more used to tourists than others, with stalls selling batik textiles, clothes and Lao whisky.

Vendor, Vendor
Taylor Weidman

But Tou gladly shows me more obscure sites. I am welcomed to the Ban Khoc Kham village one night with chanting, and many pieces of string are tied to my wrists, followed by tastes of fried freshwater frog and a drinking competition with the elders.

But the most fun I had was trying to catch my own breakfast with the local fishing nets. They make it look so easy, casting nets with one swift motion. I would need a lot more practice as a fisherman, but nevertheless it was a great way to see the local way of life and traditions.

Greeting ceremony, Laos
Taylor Weidman

As I continue on my way I can’t help but notice the many construction projects on the river. Bridges, dams and even casinos are being built, and as I get closer to the temple-filled, UNESCO-listed town of Luang Prabang, the scale of the construction only grows. Dam projects have forced some villagers to move away from their ancestral lands. The Lao government has created incentives for the tribes to relocate by building hospitals and schools in new areas. For better or worse, it’s a sign of Laos’ eagerness to move forwards.

‘Laos is known as the battery of Asia, as the dams here generate power for different countries in the region,’ says Andrew Jansoon, general manager of the Avani+ hotel in Luang Prabang. ‘And the bridge you saw as you approached Luang Prabang is a railroad bridge, connecting China to the Lao capital, Vientiane, and then extending to Bangkok and Singapore. The railroad, which will be completed next year, will bring so many opportunities for us. For now, we have to go through mountain roads to reach Thailand, and going from here to Vientiane takes eight hours by car, but with the railroad, it’ll cut travelling time and bring services, goods and tourists, too. The future is bright and it’s going to be fantastic.’

Pool, Laos
Taylor Weidman

The Avani+, located right by the river bank, was a French officers’ quarters in the early 1900s before it became a local hotel in the 1960s. Avani+ took over last year, adding a taste of luxury to the town that’s moving from backpacker favourite into the mainstream. ‘Luang Prabang is definitely up and coming, and Laos is slowly emerging as a preferred destination in Southeast Asia, as travellers who have visited Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam are looking for new experiences,’ says Jansoon.

A Buddhist nation, Laos has a mythology surrounding Naga, a water dragon residing under the Mekong River that provides the people with food, water and fortune. Every year, the country celebrates the Boun Ok Phansa festival, where people put candles on the river in the hope that they float to a nearby Buddhist cave. And it seems that fortune will arrive soon: if all goes as projected, Laos will graduate from the United Nations’ list of ‘least developed countries’ in 2024.

I asked Phaie, one of the elders in Ban Khoc Kham village during our drinking escapades, his wish for the country. ‘Of course I want Laos to prosper; it’s my home after all.’ Wish granted, it seems, by a water dragon no less.

Alms collection in the morning, Laos
Taylor Weidman

Cruise and stay

Journeys on the Gypsy are run by Minor Hotel Group, which operates a diverse portfolio of properties, including the Anantara and Avani brands, and provides bespoke itineraries along the Mekong through Mekong Kingdoms.

Gypsy boat from Mekong Kingdoms, Laos

Cathay Dragon flies from Hong Kong to Chiang Mai seven times a week; Cathay Pacific flies to Bangkok 63 times a week