洛杉磯

透過Quentin Tarantino電影鏡頭暢遊洛杉磯

馬樂民實地考察拍出《浪漫風暴》和《從前,有個荷里活》等電影的得獎導演Tarantino拍攝的洛杉磯

大導演Quentin Tarantino喜歡選擇他成長的洛杉磯為多部作品的取景場地,適逢他第九部電影《從前,有個荷里活》本月在機上播映,我們以其光影世界中幾個經典場景作導航,帶領大家漫遊這個「天使之城」的都會區。

Pat & Lorraine’s Coffee Shop咖啡店

Credit: AF archive/Alamy Stock Photo

驚慄片《落水狗》是Tarantino初執導筒之作,巧妙地從一個盜竊大計牽引出峰迴路轉的劇情。於電影開場的七分鐘片段,鏡頭集中在一群密謀打劫的不法分子在Pat & Lorraine’s Coffee Shop咖啡店聚首,一邊享用早餐,一邊認真地談論音樂和付小費之道,電影發燒友沒有不到此朝聖的理由。

Eagle Rock Boulevard大道4720號

Melody Ranch Motion Picture Studio片場

©️2012 Columbia Pictures Industires,Inc., All Rights Reserved

在《從前,有個荷里活》中,Rick Dalton(Leonardo DiCaprio飾)花了一天時間在這個如假包換的荷李活片場拍攝西部電視劇。這個由有綽號「牛仔歌手」Gene Autry經營的片場,亦是電視劇《Deadwood》、《西部世界》以及Tarantino執導的《黑殺令》取景的地方。你只需預訂貴賓之旅入場票,便可暢遊這片場和當中的電影藏品博物館。

紐荷爾市Oak Creek區24715號

The Sanctuary Adventist Church教堂

Credit: Alamy Stock Photo

Tarantino的電影向來以非一般暴力馳名,而揭開《標殺令》長篇故事序幕的一場血腥殺戮,便是於莫哈韋沙漠上的西班牙式教堂取景。這座建築原先為社區會堂,後來於1981年拍攝電影《一世人兩兄弟》期間添上教堂的佈景。而在《標殺令》中,製作單位更加鋪一條木板走廊,並把室內裝潢徹底翻新,改建成現在的模樣。現時,這間教堂依然人來人往。

蘭開斯特市East Avenue G街19809號

Safari Inn汽車旅館

Tarantino為暴力愛情片《浪漫風暴》編劇,進一步發揮創作才華,令他在影壇的名聲更響。其中令人印象深刻的一幕是女主角Alabama(Patricia Arquette飾)與James Gandolfini飾演的黑幫駁火,拍攝地點正是這間旅館。這座建築於1955年落成,曾於《阿波羅13號》及《身前身後》等電影及劇集亮相。

伯班克市West Olive Avenue大道1911號

Bruin Theatre戲院

Bruin Theatre Los Angeles Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Quentin Tarantino movies

在《從前,有個荷里活》中,講述Sharon Tate(Margot Robbie飾)掙得免費戲票,到洛杉磯Westwood區的Bruin Theatre戲院欣賞自己參演的《風流特務勇破迷魂陣》。Tarantino表示,他負責編劇的電影《浪漫風暴》在1993年於Fox Bruin戲院上映時,也曾嘗試找門路免費入場。後來,戲院經理發現有《落水狗》的戲迷向Tarantino索取簽名,才恭請他入座。

Broxton Avenue大道948號

New Beverly Cinema戲院

Credit: Alamy Stock Photo

《從前,有個荷里活》的另一幕,講述Sharon Tate跟朋友把臂前往餐廳用膳,途中看到一間戲院正在舉行成人電影首映禮。這間戲院後來成為New Beverly Cinema。2007年,發展商有意把戲院拆卸重建,Tarantino索性把整幢大廈收購,更在2014年親自出任節目總監一職。戲院現時除了放映Tarantino的作品(當然是菲林電影),還把這位大師珍藏的修復版經典名片公諸同好。

Beverly Boulevard大道7165號

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Los Angeles

Los Angeles Through the Lens of Tarantino Movies

Kevin Ma takes a tour of Los Angeles through locations that made memorable cameos in various Tarantino movies – from True Romance to Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Quentin Tarantino has set many of his films in and around the City of Angels, where he spent his formative years. With his ninth film Once Upon a Time in Hollywood playing onboard this month, we’re exploring the Los Angeles Metropolitan Area to trace some of the most memorable locations in the Tarantino universe.

Pat & Lorraine’s Coffee Shop

Credit: AF archive/Alamy Stock Photo

Tarantino’s directorial career started with Reservoir Dogs, a thriller about a heist gone terribly wrong. In the film’s seven-minute opening scene, the group of would-be robbers talk about music and tipping over breakfast in Pat & Lorraines Coffee Shop, earning it a guaranteed place on any movie buff’s list of recommended restaurants.

4720 Eagle Rock Boulevard

Melody Ranch Motion Picture Studio

©️2012 Columbia Pictures Industires,Inc., All Rights Reserved

In Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Rick Dalton (played by Leonardo DiCaprio) spends a day filming a western TV series at real-life Hollywood studio Melody Ranch, owned by ‘the Singing Cowboy’ Gene Autry. The studio – which served as the set for TV series Deadwood and Westworld – was also used in another Tarantino movie, Django Unchained. You can visit the studio and museum of film memorabilia by booking a VIP tour.

24715 Oak Creek, Newhall

Sanctuary Adventist Church

Credit: Alamy Stock Photo

Tarantino movies are known for their over-the-top violence. The bloody massacre that kicks off the entire Kill Bill saga was filmed at the Spanish-style Sanctuary Adventist Church out in the Mojave desert. The structure was originally built as a community hall before church decor was added for the 1981 film True Confessions. For Kill Bill, a wooden porch was added and the interior was completely reworked into its current form. It remains an active church today.

19809 East Avenue G, Lancaster

Safari Inn

Tarantino’s reputation as an up-and-coming talent was further elevated with his screenplay for True Romance. One of the most memorable locations in this violent romantic fairy tale is the Safari Inn motel, in which Alabama (played by Patricia Arquette) faces off against the gangster played by James Gandolfini. Built in 1955, the motel has appeared in numerous films and TV series, including Apollo 13 and Six Feet Under.

1911 West Olive Avenue, Burbank

Bruin Theatre

Bruin Theatre Los Angeles Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Quentin Tarantino

In Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Sharon Tate (played by Margot Robbie) scores a free ticket to see her own performance in The Wrecking Crew at the Bruin Theatre in Los Angeles’ Westwood neighbourhood. Tarantino said that he tried to do the same when his self-penned movie True Romance was playing at the theatre in 1993. It only worked when the manager saw fans of Reservoir Dogs approach Tarantino for autographs.

948 Broxton Avenue

New Beverly Cinema

Credit: Alamy Stock Photo

Also in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Tate spots a cinema hosting an adult film premiere before going to a restaurant with her friends. That cinema eventually became the New Beverly Cinema. In 2007, Tarantino bought the building to save it from redevelopment, before taking over in 2014 as its head programmer. The cinema now screens Tarantino movies (projected on film, of course) and prints of classic films from his personal archive.

7165 Beverly Boulevard

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book