航空

香港國際機場19周年

位於赤鱲角的香港國際機場開幕,令這個城市與這個地區,還有國泰航空一同邁向新時代。撰文:PHIL HEARD

199876日早上大約630分,國泰航空CX889號班機成為降落全新香港國際機場的首班商業客機。雖然航班準時,但其實是遲了一年。

其實當局早有計劃將擁擠的啟德機場搬遷,並將之作為199771日英國把香港主權移交予中國的其中一個重要項目,但是很多大型基建工程往往未能如期竣工,需要延期才能完成。

新機場延期完成的其中一個原因,是這個項目的規模實在非常龐大。首先,需將大嶼山北岸對開赤鱲角島(機場亦因此得名)上三平方公里,高達100米的山丘夷平,直至只剩高出海面七米為止。另一個較小的島嶼欖洲,則被九平方公里的填海土地包圍。這時,為興建機場及其他往來機場與市區交通網絡(機場與市區相距約30公里)而填海的土地,已將香港的整體土地面積增加了百分之一。

香港藉著這個計劃表明有意於未來成為交通樞紐的雄心壯志。來自亞洲各地的旅客對乘搭飛機的需求急速增長,而香港佔有地利,全球有過半數人口只需少於五小時的飛行時間,就可抵達。

然而啟德機場位處市區,只得一條跑道,發展空間有限。此外,飛機降落時在九龍城低空掠過,雖然蔚為奇觀,但發出的噪音卻為附近的34萬居民帶來極大滋擾。若要進一步發展,就要解決這些問題,因此早於1974年,香港政府就已打算興建新機場。

到了1989年,當時的港督衛奕信爵士終於批准這個計劃。一眾顧問認為,新機場可於1998年投入服務,但香港立法局則將這日期推前一年,希望於主權移交前落成新機場。北京則對這規模異常宏大,造價達1,550億港元的工程愈來愈關注,最終新機場無可避免需延期落成,中、英雙方亦於1991年就新機場的興建工程簽署了諒解備忘錄。

199871日,氣派不凡的新機場由

中國國家主席江澤民主持開幕儀式,成為首位飛離新機場的乘客。八小時後,美國總統專機「空軍一號」降落,克林頓總統亦成為了首位抵達新機場的乘客。

A view of the newly built Hong Kong Inte
圖片:MIKE CLARKE/AFP/Getty Images

儀式和慶典過後,工作人員就要以極為迅速的方式,將所有器材從只有一條跑道的啟德機場移走,搬到這座由Foster Partners建築事務所設計,擁有拱形玻璃屋頂及雙跑道的新機場內,並馬上投入服務。

就在75日午夜前,最後一班離港航機(國泰航空前往倫敦的客機)從啟德機場起飛,以及最後一班抵港航機(港龍航空由重慶抵達的航班)降落後不久,一隊逾1,100輛汽車組成的車隊載著各種設備,駛上九龍多條經已封鎖的街道,準備迎接明早第一班降落的飛機。此外,還有14艘駁船運載其它流動器材,至於其他後勤所需的物料用品,則由31架飛機運送。

翌日早上627分,自紐約飛抵香港的國泰航空CX889班機成為首班降落新機場的商業客機。

赤鱲角機場啟用後的19年來,不論是國泰航空,還是香港都因此而受惠。隨著亞洲及穿梭亞洲區內的旅客對航空服務的需求大增,機場已動工興建第三條跑道。1999年年底,新機場運作一整年後已服務近2,900萬位乘客,到了2016年,數字增至7,000萬,這個數字未來還會繼續增長。

航空業組織國際航空運輸協會(IATA)估計,到了2030年,香港國際機場每年需要額外服務多3,000萬位乘客,總數增至1.02億人。此外貨運量將由400萬噸倍增至800萬噸。

除了新跑道外,機場還會興建新的乘客大堂,由現時二號客運大樓的櫃檯提供延伸服務,並以自動行人道及高速行李運輸系統與二號客運大樓連接。第三條跑道跟現存的兩條跑道一樣,以填海方式興建,並由逾13公里長的海堤保護,新跑道令機場整體面積增加650公頃。

這是另一項重大的工程,將會進一步鞏固香港作為首屈一指的交通樞紐地位。

香港國際機場:資料與數據

跑道:兩條(每條長3,800米)

客運大樓:兩座,面積合共71公頃

行李手推車:超過10,000輛

乘客數目(2016年):7,050萬人

貨運量(2016年):450萬噸

飛機升降量(2016年):412,000架次

機場職員數目:73,000人

國泰航空今昔對照

1997年機隊飛機數目:62

目前機隊飛機數目:202(包括國泰港龍航空)

1997年接載乘客數目:1,020萬人

2016年接載乘客數目:3,340萬人

(包括國泰港龍航空)

20周年紀念活動

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空為紀念香港特別行政區成立20周年,以及兩家航空公司致力服務香港的承諾,以多種不同的方式來慶祝。

機身的新形象

國泰和國泰港龍機隊共有兩架飛機換上新形象。機身髹上一個以雲彩和象徵香港的洋紫荊設計而成的圖案,極為奪目,另外兩家航空公司分別有20架客機貼上20周年紀念的貼紙慶祝。

空中之旅

「空中之旅」(上圖)於5月為100名兒童及他們的家人帶來首次飛行旅程,飛機在空中畫出一個心形圖案作為航道,航程為時90分鐘。飛機由國泰航空的高級機長鄭楚衡駕駛,他在去年以自己親手建造的小型飛機「香港起飛」完成環球飛行之旅,為本地飛行史創下里程碑。

機上購物

乘客於國泰港龍航空機上單次購物滿500港元或以上,可以50港元換購LOQI香港風情環保購物袋。至於在國泰航空機上單次購物滿2,000港元或以上,則可免費獲贈Palomar香港揉一揉地圖一份。

特別優惠

在7月至9月期間,我們會推出多項驚喜優惠及特價機票,敬請密切留意。

Chek Lap Kok, Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Architect Foster And Partners, 1998

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Aviation

19 years of Hong Kong International Airport

How the opening of Hong Kong’s international airport at Chek Lap Kok began a new era for the city, the region and our airlines. Words by PHIL HEARD

ON 6 JULY 1998 at around 6.30am, Cathay Pacific flight CX889 became the first commercial passenger flight to touch down at Hong Kong International Airport – on time, but for the fact it was a year late.

The move from the congested Kai Tak Airport had been planned as one of the centrepieces of the handover from British rule on 1 July 1997. But as is so often the case with big infrastructure projects, things overran.

In part, this was because HKIA was a very big project. It required three square kilometres of Chek Lap Kok (also the airport’s other name), off Lantau Island, to be levelled from its mountainous peak of 100 metres to just seven above sea level. Another smaller island, Lam Chau, was wholly enveloped by the reclamation of nine square kilometres of seabed. At that point, the airport and reclamation projects for transport links to the city 30 kilometres away grew Hong Kong’s landmass by one per cent.

It was an important statement of intent and Hong Kong’s ongoing ambition to be a hub long into the future. Notwithstanding the rapid growth in demand for air travel across Asia, Hong Kong is within five hours flying time of more than half of the world’s population.

The new airport had first been mooted in 1974, when the constraints of Kai Tak as a hub were becoming ever more obvious. As an inner-city airport, development was limited to a single runway, and even then 340,000 Hongkongers were affected by noise as aircraft passed low over built-up Kowloon. It made for great pictures, an exciting landing – but a bad nights sleep.

The new airport project was finally given the go-ahead by Hong Kong’s then-governor Sir David Wilson in 1989. And while consultants predicted an opening by 1998, the Legislative Council pushed for it to be ready a year earlier for the handover. But with Beijing raising concerns about the ambitious scale and cost of the HK$155 billion project, a delay became inevitable after China and Britain finally signed a memorandum of understanding for the airport’s construction in 1991.

After a dedication ceremony on 1 July 1998, Chinese President Jiang Zemin became the first passenger to fly from the new airport. Eight hours later, Air Force One landed, making US President Bill Clinton the first passenger to arrive.

A view of the newly built Hong Kong International Airport
Credit : MIKE CLARKE/AFP/Getty Images

The race was then on to start commercial services, which meant transferring all the equipment from Kai Tak and its single runway to the new twin runway facility and the much-lauded vaulted glass roof terminal designed by Foster + Partners.

Just before midnight on 5 July, within minutes of the final departure from Kai Tak (a Cathay Pacific service to London) and the final landing (a Dragonair flight from Chongqing), a convoy of more than 1,100 airport vehicles emptied into the closed roads of Kowloon to be in place for the first flight of the morning, while 14 barges were loaded with mobile equipment and 31 aircraft ferried back-office necessities.

At 6.27 the following morning, CX889, the Cathay service from New York, entered the record books as the first commercial service to land at the new airport.

In the 19 years since it opened, Chek Lap Kok has been a success story for Cathay Pacific and Hong Kong – but already the ground has been broken on a new project to deal with the burgeoning growth in demand for air travel in and around Asia: a third runway. At the end of 1999, its full year of operations, the new airport handled nearly 29 million passengers; in 2016 it handled 70 million, and there are more to come.

Industry body IATA estimates that by 2030 Hong Kong International Airport will need to handle an additional 30 million passengers a year – up to 102 million, plus a doubling of cargo volumes from four million tonnes to eight million tonnes.

As well as the new runway, a new passenger concourse will be serviced by extended desks in the existing Terminal 2 and linked by a travelator and a high-speed baggage system. As with the existing runways, the third will be reclaimed from the sea, adding a further 650 hectares to the overall airport area, protected by more than 13 kilometres of seawall.

Its another landmark project and one that will seal Hong Kongs importance as a pre-eminent hub.

HKIA: facts and stats

Runways: Two (each 3,800 metres long)

Terminals: Two, with combined floor space of 71 hectares

Luggage trolleys: More than 10,000

Passengers carried (2016): 70.5 million

Cargo handled (2016): 4.5 million tonnes

Flight takeoffs and landings (2016): 412,000

Airport workforce: 73,000

Cathay Pacific then and now

Fleet size 1997: 62

Fleet size now: 202 (including Cathay Dragon)

Passengers carried 1997: 10.2 million

Passengers carried 2016: 33.4 million (including Cathay Dragon)

20th anniversary events

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon livery CX 777-300

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon are marking the 20th anniversary of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and their commitment to the city in a number of ways.

Livery

Two aircraft have received a special livery (above). The designs feature a mix of clouds and the bauhinia, Hong Kong’s flower emblem. Meanwhile, 20 aircraft of each airline are sporting 20th Anniversary stickers.

Community Flight

In May, a community flight (above right) took 100 children and their families on a 90-minute flight – for all of them it was their first time flying. The flight, which followed a heart-shaped circuit, was flown by Cathay Pacific Senior Captain Hank Cheng, who achieved a local aviation milestone last year after completing a round-the-world journey in his home-built aircraft called Inspiration.

Inflight shopping

Passengers on Cathay Dragon who spend HK$500 or more in a single transaction onboard can redeem a LOQI Hong Kong-themed tote bag for just HK$50. On Cathay Pacific, passengers who spend $2,000 in a single transaction will receive a free Palomar Hong Kong Crumpled City Map.

Special offers

Keep your eyes peeled for special offers and fares from July to September.

Hong Kong International Airport

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book