自然和户外

倫敦優美花園之最

倫敦是歐洲最綠意盎然的城市之一,不妨前往這些花團錦簇的勝地舒展筋骨

邱園

London Garden
Steve Tulley / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

這個花園位處倫敦西部,佔地極廣,既有經悉心修葺的花圃,亦有生趣盎然的野花,這裡更遍植了珍稀樹木,當中不乏由搜羅自世界各地的樹苗生長而成,產地遠至馬達加斯加、中國、秘魯和南非,而樹下則是英國本土植物的世界,包括毛地黃、玫瑰和紫羅蘭等,爭妍鬥麗。此外,園內有不少聯合國教科文組織保育的建築點綴其中,建築內是培植花卉的溫室和雅致的咖啡館,眼前盡是詩情畫意。被視為園中瑰寶的溫帶植物室,經過耗資4,100萬英鎊(4.13億港元)的徹底翻新後,於近日重新開幕。

切爾西藥草園

VisitBritain/Britain on View/Getty Images

這個倫敦引以為傲的「秘密花園」於1673年建成,種有約5,000種植物,最適合遊學參觀,或是在春夏季的怡人陽光裡悠閒蹓躂,別錯過這裡的藥草圃。

攝政公園St John’s Lodge花園

Nick Harrison / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

攝政公園是倫敦最漂亮的公園之一,每逢夏季和費里茲藝術博覽會期間,往往擠滿遊客。不過,St John’s Lodge裡一系列精心修葺的花園,卻總是人跡罕至,讓你可細意欣賞其絢麗多姿的花圃。

荷蘭公園的京都花園

京都花園位於荷蘭公園內,是另一個「園中園」,景點包括梯級式瀑布、錦鯉池,以及在雅致的小徑裡昂首闊步的孔雀。沿池塘上的石頭走至對岸,更可在日式涼亭下感受寧謐氛圍。

西辛赫斯特花園

D Zielske / LOOK-foto / Getty Images

這個著名的白色花園位於根德郡的西辛赫斯特城堡內,雖與倫敦有一段距離,但春季總是吸引世界各地的遊客到訪,觀賞幾乎所有英國本土白花品種的盛放美景。它是作家兼詩人Vita Sackville-West的故居,她於1930年代購入這個莊園,並將本來破舊的大屋和荒蕪的土地,改造成根德郡最廣為人知的地標之一。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往倫敦的航班,每周有42班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

London’s Most Beautiful Gardens

It’s one of the greenest cities in Europe – so stretch your legs in these flower-filled spots. Words by MELISSA TWIGG

Kew Gardens

Temperate House, The Royal Botanic Gardens, London
Steve Tulley / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

A mixture of wild, floral abandon and meticulous planning, these vast west London gardens are filled with extraordinary trees – many of which were brought as saplings from as far afield as Madagascar, China, Peru and South Africa. Nestling below them are very English banks of foxgloves, roses and violets. Dotted everywhere are UNESCO-preserved buildings filled with hothouse flowers and pretty cafes. The gardens’ crown jewel is the Temperate House, a Victorian-era glasshouse that recently completed a £41 million (HK$413 million) refurbishment.

Chelsea Physic Garden

Physic Garden, Chelsea, London, London, England.
VisitBritain/Britain on View/Getty Images

Founded in 1673, London’s self-proclaimed ‘secret garden’ is a haven boasting about 5,000 species of plants – perfect for an educational trip or a relaxing stroll in the spring or summer sunshine. Don’t miss the medicine bed.

St John’s Lodge, Regent’s Park

St John's Lodge Gardens, Regents Park, London
Nick Harrison / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Regent’s Park is pretty but can get rammed with visitors in the summer months and during the Frieze art fair. However, its set of ornamental gardens known as St John’s Lodge is always empty. Except for the riotous flower beds, that is.

Kyoto Gardens, Holland Park

London Garden

Another park inside a park, the Japanese Garden in Holland Park features tiered waterfalls, koi carp in the ponds and dramatic peacocks roaming the pretty paths. Hop on stones to cross the lake and feel serene under the pagoda.

Sissinghurst

Europe, Great Britain, England, Sissinghurst Castle,
D Zielske / LOOK-foto / Getty Images

Not quite in London but this renowned walled white garden, which bursts into bloom each spring with nearly every white flower native to the UK, attracts visitors from around the globe. It was home to author and poet Vita Sackville-West, who bought the then-dilapidated house and grounds in the 1930s and turned it into one of Kent’s most renowned creations.

Cathay Pacific flies to London from Hong Kong 42 times a week