機上娛樂

在椅背上的屏幕收看現場直播體育節目

國泰航空的機上現場直播體育賽事讓A350客機乘客不必再於飛行途中對賽果充滿懸念

你是否曾經碰巧在世界盃總決賽時正身處準備起飛的客機上,錯過球隊互射12碼的緊張時刻?又或在抵達後發現,與溫布頓決賽最後一局的關鍵ace球擦身而過?

乘客於登機一刻便與世隔絕,大家亦對此習以為常。隨著國泰航空採用先進的空中巴士A350客機,乘客現在可以安坐於座位上觀賞英超聯賽事。

即日起至6月底,所有乘搭國泰航空A350客機的乘客均可於機上收看體育直播頻道Sport24及Sport24Extra,觀賞現場直播的籃球、足球、欖球及板球等賽事。這項服務特別為全港最盛大的體育賽事國泰航空/匯豐香港國際七人欖球賽而設。

國泰航空今年致力增強機艙娛樂節目的陣容,除了增加荷李活賣座大片及獲獎藝術電影、電視劇集與音頻節目之外,更加入了體育賽事直播。

娛樂及媒體銷售產品發展經理Simon Cuthbert表示:「國泰航空的乘客層面廣闊多元,對娛樂節目有不同的期望,我們要盡量滿足他們的需要。」

他補充說:「今年我們會增加新媒體的種類,包括播客、短片、紀錄長片及網絡劇集等,同時也會不斷增添新上映電影及整季電視劇集,以擴充現有核心娛樂節目的內容,令節目更豐富,選擇更多。」

「引進空中巴士A350讓我們有機會在航機上提供更多娛樂內容,包括廣受歡迎的直播電視節目。機上娛樂節目從未如此豐富和多姿多采。」

對航空業及國泰航空來說,於機上播放直播節目並非新鮮事物。早在十多年前推出的衛星通訊技術,已令航機上可以串流影音節目。現時國泰航空的空中巴士A350已有三個新聞直播頻道:有線電視新聞網CNN、英國廣播公司BBC及歐洲新聞台EuroNews。

國泰航空目前只能在空中巴士A350提供Sport 24及Sport 24 Extra兩個體育頻道;不過亦同時評估是否可以將這兩個直播頻道在其他航機上推出。

要在航機上直播影視節目,牽涉很多技術上的問題。首先,必須以無線網絡來作串流。串流的內容被轉換成新形式並加密,再透過衛星傳送至獲得播映權的飛機上。而播映權亦要事前申請,才可將賽事播放給乘客觀看。

不過,以上這些事情全部都不勞你費心,現在你只需安坐於座位上,就不用擔心會錯過那場精采的英超聯足球賽了。

LeBron James
圖片:Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

本月精采賽事一覽

於5月登場的重大賽事包括歐洲聯賽冠軍盃、世界摩托車錦標賽、美洲盃帆船賽及法國公開賽。以下是本月Sport24及Sport24 Extra頻道重大賽事的直播日期,全部均為格林威治標準時間。

 

2、3、9及10日:歐洲冠軍聯賽準決賽

4、11日:歐足聯歐洲聯賽準決賽

24日:歐足聯歐洲聯賽決賽

整個5月份:歐洲甲級足球聯賽

整個5月份:英超聯足球賽

8至14日:ATP網球大師賽馬德里站

15至20日:ATP 網球大師賽羅馬站

29至31日:法國網球公開賽巴黎大滿貫

21日:世界摩托車錦標賽法國站

25至28日:BMW PGA高球歐洲巡迴賽錦標賽

26至31日:美洲盃帆船賽

13日:歐洲欖球冠軍盃決賽

整個 5月份:國家冰球聯盟季後賽

整個 5月份:國家籃球總會季後賽

 

(請留意:所有賽事日期或會更改)

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Inflight entertainment

Live sports on your seat-back screen

A350 passengers will no longer be left in suspense as live sport comes to Cathay Pacific

Have you ever taken off during a World Cup final, only to miss the penalty shoot-out? Or landed to find that a last-minute ace snatched the Wimbledon final?

Until recently, passengers have been used to being cut off from the rest of the world while in the air. But for Cathay Pacific customers, the arrival of the state-of-the-art Airbus A350 aircraft means you can now watch that crucial Premier League game from the comfort of your seat.

Until the end of June, passengers can watch live sports – including basketball, football, rugby and cricket – on the dedicated Sport 24 and Sport 24 Extra channels, available on all A350 flights. It was added specially for the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, the biggest sporting event in the Hong Kong calendar.

Adding live sports is part of a wider move to enhance Cathay Pacific’s entertainment offering this year, as the airline adds more blockbuster Hollywood films, award-winning arthouse cinema, TV shows and audio programmes to its line-up.

It’s part of a move to ‘stay ahead of the airline’s diverse passenger base’, says Simon Cuthbert, product manager – entertainment and media sales.

He adds: ‘This year we are increasing the amount of new media, such as podcasts, short films, feature documentaries and web series, while maintaining our strong core basics by expanding the number of new-release films and TV boxsets available.

‘The introduction of the A350 allows us to have more content onboard than ever before, as well as live TV, which has proved very popular.’

Broadcasting live isn’t a new thing for airlines, or for Cathay Pacific. The airline currently has three live news channels, CNN, BBC and EuroNews, which are available onboard the A350. Satellite technology – which facilitates the live streaming – was first rolled out over a decade ago.

Currently, Sport 24 and Sport 24 Extra are only available on the A350, although Cathay Pacific is currently assessing whether it could be introduced to other aircraft.

A lot of technological trickery is required. First, live streaming requires a Wi-Fi connection. Content is converted into a new format and encrypted before being sent to authorised aircraft via satellite; licensing matters also have to be cleared in advance before the material can be viewed by passengers.

But you don’t need to think about this. Instead sit back, check for details of the live sport streaming this month – and forget about missing that Premier League clash.

LeBron James
Credit: Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

What’s on this month?

Major sporting events in May range from the UEFA Champions League and MotoGP to the America’s Cup and the French Open. Here’s a rundown of the live sports available on Sport 24 and Sport 24 Extra during May 2017. All dates correspond to GMT.

2, 3, 9, 10: UEFA Champions League
Semi-Finals

4, 11: UEFA Europa League Semi-Final

24: UEFA Europa League Final

Throughout May: Bundesliga

Throughout May: Premier League

8-14: ATP Masters Tennis Madrid

15-20: ATP Masters Tennis Rome

29-31: French Open Paris Tennis Grand Slam

21: MotoGP France

25-28: BMW PGA European Tour Golf Championship

26-31: America’s Cup

13: European Rugby Champions Cup Final

Throughout May: NHL Playoffs

Throughout May: NBA Playoffs

(Note: all dates subject to change)

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book