自然和户外

滄海一粟,在水中央

海洋是人類的生命之源,至今我們依然離不開它的懷抱。以下照片捕捉了由柬埔寨以至南非的水上人生百態

Life Aquatic Cape Town South Africa beach surfers
Credit: DNA Photographers

南非開普敦

港口城市開普敦位處全球最繁忙的商貿路線之一,強風亦吸引滑水和風箏衝浪等水上運動愛好者來訪。滾滾波濤之下,有尋求刺激的旅客,他們潛入海中,在觀光籠內欣賞不同種類的大白鯊,亦有其他旅人捨難取易,在花園大道沿途觀賞迷人海景。

Credit: Joanne Murphy

愛爾蘭都柏林

放下健力士啤酒,遠離都柏林Temple Bar酒吧區,啟程前往Howth和Sandycove等寧謐的沿岸村落吧。在這些擁有過百年歷史的漁村內閒晃,尋找古老城堡和大文豪James Joyce的足跡,同時盡情大啖美味海鮮,享受與當地人談笑風生的時光。

Credit: Vivek Kumar/Unsplash

美國加州蒙特雷灣

教船上觀鯨客興奮尖叫的,可能是眼前一大群滿佈藤壺的座頭鯨在水上露露面,或者是一群躍出水面向人打招呼的海豚。海中還有追捕海豹作午餐的殺人鯨,以及在蒙特雷灣茂密海藻間穿梭深潛的海獺。

The Life Aquatic Siem Reap Cambodia Water
Credit: Mike Pickles

柬埔寨暹粒

每年11月,當雨季來臨,洞里薩湖的面積會大增六倍,為16,000平方公里的沖積平原帶來大量淡水及養分豐富的沉澱物,從而成就出世上產量最豐盛的生態系統。此地區被聯合國納入生物圈保護區,為柬埔寨人提供賴以維生的食物來源。

The Life Aquatic Zurich Switzerland Limmat River Water
Credit: Magnus Winter

瑞士蘇黎世

容許遊人在市中心河道暢泳的城市不多,也不是每條河道都讓人有興趣到此一「游」。然而從阿爾卑斯山上流進利馬特河的清澈河水,就令當地人和旅客趨之若鶩,紛紛到此「游」歷古城的浮光掠影。

Credit: Samuel Hesketh

澳洲巴瑟爾頓

提到澳洲的水上景點,大家都會馬上想到大堡礁。不過在澳洲大陸另一邊,綿延1.8公里的巴瑟爾頓碼頭同樣是水上活動勝地,由水底觀景台、水底餐廳到一年一度的鐵人游泳賽,這裡都無一不缺。乘坐遊船,沿瑪格麗特河深入紅樹林、怪石洞穴和風光如畫的酒莊,優哉游哉。

The Life Aquatic Siem Reap Cambodia Water
Credit: Mike Pickles

香港石澳

颱風逼近時,大多數香港人都會急忙趕到室內避風,但衝浪好手則會朝相反方向跑,趕到石澳及大浪灣等沙灘,迎接強風激起達十米高的海浪。大浪減退後,熱愛沙灘的群眾便會重回大海的懷抱,而衝浪人士則會收起衝浪板,回家「望天打卦」。

The Life Aquatic Davao The Philippines Water
Credit: Julian Abram

菲律賓達沃

圖中男孩坐在雙邊架艇獨木舟 (bangka) 的船頭,菲律賓漁夫常用這種船捕撈黃鰭吞拿魚及蝦蟹等漁獲。在菲律賓西南面的蘇祿群島可從達沃乘船前往,那裡的巴瑤族人精通徒手潛水,他們覓食時可潛至200米深的水底,逗留時間更可長達13分鐘。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

The Life Aquatic: Photos of How Humans Live and Play on the Water

Humans came from the sea, and we never really left. These snapshots celebrate life on the water from Cambodia to South Africa

Life Aquatic Cape Town South Africa beach surfers
Credit: DNA Photographers

Cape Town, South Africa

The port city of Cape Town lies on one of the world’s busiest trade routes, but strong winds also attract watersports enthusiasts, from wakeboarders to kitesurfers. Beneath the waves, thrill-seekers cage dive with schools of great white sharks, while others simply admire the views from the Garden Route.

Cathay Pacific operates a direct seasonal service to Cape Town

Dublin Ireland Howth Sandycove fishing seafood
Credit: Joanne Murphy

Dublin, Ireland

Put down the Guinness, step away from Temple Bar, and head to Dublin’s sleepy coastal villages like Howth and Sandycove. In these centuries-old fishing towns you’ll find ancient castles, the legacy of literary genius James Joyce, as much fresh seafood as you can eat and buckets of charming local craic, to be sure.

Cathay Pacific operates a seasonal route to Dublin

Monterey Bay California USA, Humpback whales
Credit: Vivek Kumar/Unsplash

Monterey Bay, California, USA

Barnacle-encrusted rostrums of humpback whales crest en masse – to shrieks of delight from a nearby boat of whale watchers. On another day, it might be a pod of dolphins popping up to say hello, killer whales hunting down a seal lunch, or sea otters diving among the kelp forests in Monterey Bay.

Cathay Pacific flies direct to San Francisco

The Life Aquatic Siem Reap Cambodia Water
Credit: Mike Pickles

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Each november, Tonlé Sap lake swells up to six times in size, as monsoon rains fill some 16,000 square kilometres of floodplains with fresh water and nutrient-rich sediment. The result is one of the world’s most productive ecosystems – a Unesco biosphere reserve and a vital food source for the people of Cambodia.

Cathay Dragon flies direct to Siem Reap

The Life Aquatic Zurich Switzerland Limmat River Water
Credit: Magnus Winter

Zurich, Switzerland

There aren’t many cities where you can – or would want to – swim through the central waterway. But the crystal-clear alpine flow of Zurich’s Limmat river beckons to locals and tourists alike, offering a floating tour of the historic cityscape.

Cathay Pacific flies direct to Zurich

Australia The Great Barrier Reef Busselton Jetty underwater dining
Credit: Samuel Hesketh

Busselton, Australia

The great barrier reef tends to steal most of Australia’s aquatic limelight. But on the opposite side of the country, the 1.8-kilometre Busselton Jetty is a hub of activity, hosting everything from an underwater observatory – with underwater dining – to annual Ironman swims. Meanwhile, leisurely cruises follow the Margaret River inland to mangrove forests, dramatic caves and picture-perfect vineyards.

Cathay Pacific flies direct to Perth, two-hours’ drive to Busselton

The Life Aquatic Siem Reap Cambodia Water
Credit: Mike Pickles

Shek O, Hong Kong

While typhoons send most Hongkongers scurrying indoors, the surfing community rush from their homes to beach spots like Shek O and Big Wave Bay, where the winds whip up ten-metre swells. When the waves subside, the beachgoers return… and the surfers stow their boards and go back to checking the weather.

Hong Kong is the home city of Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon

The Life Aquatic Davao The Philippines Water
Credit: Julian Abram Wainwright

Davao, Philippines

A boy rides on the bow of a bangka, the double outrigger canoes favoured by Filipino fisherman who fill their nets with yellowfin tuna, shrimp and crab. In the Sulu archipelago, a boat ride from Davao, in the southwest of the country, the Bajau people have mastered the art of freediving for their food, and are able to stay underwater for up to 13 minutes, at depths of 200 metres.

Cathay Dragon flies direct to Davao

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book