香港特別行政區

到鯉魚門感受香港舊漁村風情

把守維多利亞港東岸的鯉魚門並非主流景點,但她貨真價實的即煮海鮮餐廳、有數百年歷史的天后廟和數個新建設施,令人不可低估她的魅力

在啟德郵輪碼頭以南,把守維多利亞港東面狹長水域的鯉魚門,數百年來一直受天后廟守護,現今仍保留著昔日漁村的古樸風貌。

到訪鯉魚門的遊客,大多是為了品嚐琳瑯滿目的海鮮而來,但在櫛比鱗次的海鮮餐廳以外,你會發現該區猶如一幀泛黃的照片,讓人窺探舊時的香港情懷。

前往鯉魚門有多個方法,論到最寫意的交通,當然是乘搭由珊瑚海船務營運、來往港島西灣河至鯉魚門的渡輪。登上改裝自木製漁船的雙層渡輪,你便可悠閒地循海路抵達三家村碼頭,船費只需港幣九元。登岸後,步行片刻即可到達鯉魚門,你便可漫不經心地感受舊社區的氛圍,在眾多香港遊路線中別有一番樂趣。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

這裡的景色跟香港繁華的國際金融中心形象大相逕庭。多間單層寮屋圍繞沿岸的花崗岩而建,一路向上延伸是地勢險要、高222米的魔鬼山。舊村內的佈局儼如迷宮,讓城市規劃人員大傷腦筋。在這裡,長者一邊乘涼,一邊逗弄掛在枝頭的鳥籠,暗地裡透過愛鳥的歌聲互相較勁。他們的孫兒和子姪擺出一副愛理不理的模樣,半裸著精壯的身軀,在一旁來回推著裝滿貨物的手推車,順道展示身上的紋身。學童在人群中穿梭。偶爾遇上送嫁隊伍,新娘和姊妹團把裙襬拉高至膝蓋、緊握手機步往遠眺鯉魚門燈塔的宴會廳。

Credit: Moses Ng

美食一向是鯉魚門的賣點,生猛海鮮尤其馳名。蜿蜒的海濱小徑開滿餐廳,幾乎每一間旁邊都開設了海鮮檔,一個個魚缸擠滿不同種類的漁獲,包括油甘魚、蝦、蟹、龍蝦、海參、鱔魚,甚至是像極從北太平洋馬里亞納海溝深處打撈出來的奇珍海產。這裡的點菜過程是這樣的:客人先選擇心儀的海鮮,再經過有可能頗漫長的議價過程,成交後再將海鮮交給其中一家餐廳(他們將酌收烹煮費用)。建議選擇可盡覽海景的餐廳;若天氣許可,在有蓋室外場所用餐更佳。

Credit: left:Derry Ainsworth; right: Moses Ng

在品嚐海鮮美食之外,這個遠離繁囂的社區其實還有許多樂趣。走過綴有英國皇家王冠徽章的綠色郵筒,重溫昔日的殖民地風情,再路經權充海味曬場的籃球場,看看一籃籃的海味;然後你便來到這裡最著名的景點一座前身是村校、經翻修後煥然一新的建築物。

這所村校陪伴鯉魚門差不多一個世紀的美好時光。1959年,當香港人平均周薪只有約42元時,生產虎標萬金油的慈善大亨胡文虎的夫人胡陳金枝女士,捐出港幣15,000元擴建學校。全盛時期,該校的學生人數一度高達500人,但隨著年輕一代的家庭相繼遷出,村校最終於2008年關閉。兩年後經過翻新,搖身一變成為賽馬會鯉魚門創意館,一方面作為博物館,紀念昔日在鯉魚門石礦場工作的客家文化,另一方面身兼活動中心,並設有逢周末開放的天台咖啡室。

Credit: Moses Ng

現於創意館擔任陶藝導師的司徒健,是位退休工程師,他表示:「學校迎來第二春令人感到振奮。小朋友和成人都可以來這裡學習新手藝。陶土跟人一樣有其個性,他們在這裡都學懂細心和溫柔地捏出泥塑的作品,盡現心機。」

如果說創意館是鯉魚門的頭、海鮮美食村是肚,那麼俯伏於岸邊錯落岩石之間的天后廟,就是這區的心臟和靈魂。

走過有求必應的百年許願樹,再途經昔日客家工人開山劈石的舊礦場,迎面就是氣氛略帶深沉的天后廟。輕煙裊裊,數十個蜂巢般的檀香垂吊在天花板下,圍攏著大小神像,包括守護海洋的天后、慈悲為懷的觀音和其他神祇。

Credit:

廟祝劉名發說:「天后古廟於1753年落成,庇佑居住在這裡的漁民。200年後,前任的廟祝獲天后報夢,示意重建廟宇,初時村長認為他為了歛財而杜撰夢境,拒絕了他的建議。但後來天后再向廟祝報夢,村長因而改變主意。」

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

天后古廟至今共整修過兩次,在無數夏季颱風吹襲下依舊屹立不倒,是鯉魚門多代人的廟堂。

「這裡每天都有很多人來參拜,每逢農曆新年期間更是遊人如織,甚至有人從海外遠道而來。四月的天后誕也是香火鼎盛,為期數天的慶典包括粵劇戲棚的表演,遊人總會在遊覽後飽嚐海鮮盛宴。」

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

廟宇後的小石灘旁,有一塊刻上四個紅色大字「海角潮音」的巨石,既讚頌這個優美的香港隱世角落,也灑下神秘詩意,為這趟漁村之旅刻下完滿句號。

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

你知道嗎?

鯉魚門曾經是石礦場,由於政府管制爆破工程,打石業便日漸式微

延伸行程

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

魔鬼山

魔鬼山臨近鯉魚門,是入門級的遠足勝地,行畢全程約需一小時。山頂有兩個廢棄的炮台,分別名為歌賦炮台及砵甸乍炮台,見證著1941年12月的香港保衛戰。

衛奕信徑

衛奕信徑於1996年1月啟用,全長達78公里,其中一段由鯉魚門以北一路延伸至西貢清水灣,是香港其中一條最迷人的遠足徑。

香港海防博物館

位於香港島的舊鯉魚門炮台(於1887年落成)現為海防博物館的所在地,偌大的展館設有內容詳實的展覽,細訴著香港過去600年的海防歷史。臨海的魚雷發射站是必到的景點,萬勿錯過。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

How the Lei Yue Mun Waterfront Reflects Old-Time Hong Kong

On the eastern end of Victoria Harbour, sleepy Lei Yue Mun charms with its no-frills fresh seafood restaurants, a centuries-old Tin Hau temple and a few newfound attractions

South of the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and overlooking the narrow stretch of water that marks the eastern approach to Victoria Harbour, at Lei Yue Mun – a sprawling hamlet anchored by a centuries-old Tin Hau temple – Hong Kong takes a step through the looking-glass.

Most visitors come here to revel in the raggle-taggle strip of seafood restaurants, but exploring Lei Yue Mun (‘Carp Gate’) a bit further grants a window into a way of Hong Kong life that might have sprung from a sepia-tinted photograph of yesteryear.

The merriest way in is aboard the Coral Sea ferry, a two-decked converted wooden fishing smack that putters back and forth from Sai Wan Ho on Hong Kong Island. Nine dollars and as many minutes lead to the pier at Sam Ka Tsuen. Once ashore, it’s but a brief walk to Lei Yue Mun itself: gloriously higgledy-piggledy, endlessly entertaining and bursting with character.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

The scene is far removed from Hong Kong’s received image of a high-rise global financial hub. Single-storey houses seem to wrap themselves around the bulky granite boulders that festoon the landscape, rising up to the 222–metre escarpment called Devil’s Peak, and the maze-like layout is enough to make urban planners contemplate a different career. Old men loiter in the shade comparing the relative merits of their pet birds that are suspended in cages in the branches overhead; their grandsons and great-nephews – nonchalant, brawny youths stripped to the waist, the better to show off their tattoos – propel trolleys groaning with merchandise back and forth; schoolchildren hurtle in and out of the throng and an occasional wedding party, bride and bridesmaids holding their gowns up to the knee while keeping a firm hold of their smartphones, makes its way to the banqueting hall that stands hard by Lei Yue Mun’s bonsai lighthouse.

Credit: Moses Ng

Food has traditionally been the prime draw here, specifically seafood. For pretty much every restaurant along the zigzag alleyway that runs parallel to the shore, there’s a fishmonger’s stall, with an array of tanks filled with veritable academies representing all the bounty of the ocean: yellow tail, prawns, crab, lobster, sea cucumber, eel and even more exotic creatures that look as if they could have been hauled out of the furthermost recesses of the Mariana Trench. The modus operandi runs as follows: find some fish that take your fancy, agree on a price – a sometimes extended and seemingly over-elaborate process – and then take it to a restaurant (who’ll charge a modest cooking fee), preferably one with a marine panorama and – assuming the weather’s cooperating – an outdoor terrace.

Credit: left:Derry Ainsworth; right: Moses Ng

But there’s a great deal more to enjoy in this secluded corner of Hong Kong. Past the green-hued pillar box adorned with the royal cipher – a happily eccentric memento of colonial days – and the basketball court that often as not is carpeted with circular wicker trays containing drying seafood – the hamlet’s most redoubtable structure, once the village school, has taken on a new lease of life.

Lei Yue Mun has hosted a school for the best part of the last 100 years, and in 1959 (when average weekly wages were HK$42) Chan Kam-chi, the wife of Tiger Balm founder and philanthropist Aw Boon-haw, donated HK$15,000 for its expansion. Pupil numbers swelled to 500 at one stage but after young families moved away, the school closed in 2008. Two years later it reopened as Jockey Club Plus – part museum commemorating the Hakka folk who once worked Lei Yue Mun’s granite quarry, part activity centre, all capped by a neat rooftop cafe that opens at weekends.

Credit: Moses Ng

‘It’s heartening to see the building has taken on a new role,’ says Szeto Kin, a retired engineer who now runs Plus’ pottery classes.

‘Now it’s both children and adults who come here to learn, to work with their hands and try something new. Clay, like humans, has a character, and they learn how to shape it with gentleness and care.’

If Jockey Club Plus is Lei Yue Mun’s head and the seafood strip its belly, then the Tin Hau Temple that crouches by the water’s edge between looming phantasmagorical rocks is its heart and soul.

Beyond the 100-year-old Wishing Tree that promises succour for lost causes and a short way from the quarry where once Hakka labourers blasted and hammered, the temple’s ambience borders on the eerie, with eddies of smoke from the dozens of beehive-like coils of incense strung from the ceiling wafting around the effigies of Tin Hau, goddess of the sea, Guanyin, goddess of mercy, and other deities.

Credit:

‘The temple was built in 1753, as many fishermen lived here then and they wanted the protection of Tin Hau,’ says Matthew Lau Ming-fat, the temple’s custodian.

‘But 200 years later my predecessor dreamed the goddess had told him to rebuild her temple. The village chief thought he was making it all up for his own ends, and refused to believe him. But then the custodian had a second vision, and the chief changed his mind.’

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

The temple’s been twice renovated since, defying the worst havoc threatened by summer typhoons and acting as a focal point for all of Lei Yue Mun and its extended family.

‘A lot of people come here every day, but thousands come at Lunar New Year, even from overseas, and again on Tin Hau’s birthday in April,’ says Lau. ‘The celebrations last for several days with Cantonese opera performances and a lot of feasting – seafood, of course.’

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Immediately behind the temple, four bold red characters are inscribed on a rock beside a small pebbly beach. They read ‘hoi gok chiu yum’ – which might be translated as ‘The Cove That Dances to Music’. Blending the enigmatic with the poetic, and set against one of Hong Kong’s loveliest vistas, they’re an apt endnote to an excursion to Lei Yue Mun.

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Did You Know…

Lei Yue Mun was once a thriving granite quarry: but when the government banned explosives, business dried up

Go Further

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Devil’s Peak‭ ‬

A relatively easy hour-long hike from Lei Yue Mun, atop this hill two long-deserted gun batteries – named Gough and Pottinger – furnish a bleak reminder of the Battle of Hong Kong in December 1941.

The Wilson Trail

Opened in January 1996, the 78-kilometre Wilson Trail is one of Hong Kong’s best hikes, and a part of the footpath runs north from Lei Yue Mun towards Clear Water Bay.

Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence

Located on Hong Kong island, Lei Yue Mun fort (built in 1887) is now home to this airy, well-interpreted museum, with displays covering the past 600 years. Make sure to check out the torpedo slipway that opens out onto the harbour.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book