都市部族

認識香港的樂高積木達人

探索香港各類有趣文化 專訪樂高積木達人:岑皓祺、洪子健、陳俊傑

相信大家小時候都玩過樂高積木吧。這個歷久彌新的玩意幾乎可說是每個人的童年回憶,但真正的迷戀卻往往是踏入社會,有能力賺錢之後才逐步湧現。以亞洲而言,香港樂高的發展的確數一數二。

樂高高級市場經理岑皓祺表示:「樂高於香港已有30年歷史,這裡的積木達人總是力求完美,造就香港成為區內最成熟的市場之一。」

香港最常見到樂高展品的地方是商場,香港人精益求精的毅力亦令展品質素屢創新高,除了樂高公司外,這一切全賴坊間一班樂高迷的努力。他們因為熱愛樂高而走在一起,除了每星期小聚、拼砌積木外,更會每隔數月舉行大型聚會,推動香港不同規模的樂高迷組織誕生。

香港四大樂高積木組織之一「東方之磚」與樂高公司合作無間,組織前任大使洪子健,現為全球僅14位、也是大中華地區唯一的樂高專業認證大師,地位顯赫。

他道:「2012年,我在時代廣場展出樂高模型,其後便被樂高總監游說應徵大中華區樂高專業認證大師,經歷了多次比賽及面試,再由丹麥總公司挑選,可謂過五關斬六將。樂高專業認證大師的工作包括對外宣傳及拼砌樂高,讓更多人接觸及認識。」

接替洪子健,成為組織現任大使的陳俊傑認為香港的樂高組織地位獨特:「我們組織之間當然也有良性競爭,這樣才會進步。我們歡迎任何人加入組織的Facebook專頁,但若要成為組織一分子則需獲得邀請方可。我們不僅看你對樂高的熱愛程度,最重要的是個人品格。合得來然後一起砌積木,一定會比較好玩吧!」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Tribes of Hong Kong

Meet Hong Kong’s Lego Masters

Exploring the city’s subcultures, Anshel Ma meets Hong Kong's Lego masters Kenny Sham, Andy Hung and Jared Chan

It’s not much of an exaggeration to say Lego is part of everyone’s childhood. But as much as kids enjoy playing with the plastic bricks, real obsessions are usually found in adults, who are able to seriously invest in the hobby of Lego building. And in Hong Kong, the obsession runs especially deep.

‘Lego has been operating in Hong Kong for 30 years now, and local brick masters are always chasing perfection,’ says Kenny Sham, senior marketing manager at Lego Hong Kong. ‘This has made the city one of the most mature markets in the region today.’

Lego exhibits appear often in Hong Kong’s shopping malls thanks to a strong fan base as well as the Lego company’s efforts. Aficionados are drawn together by their passion, meeting every week to build together. And every few months they organise large-scale gatherings, forming a wide community of Lego devotees.

Legend Bricks, one of the four largest Lego fan clubs in Hong Kong, has been collaborating with the brand. The group’s former ambassador Andy Hung is one of the world’s 14 Lego Certified Professionals and the only one in Greater China. ‘The director at Lego invited me to apply for the position after an exhibition of my work at Times Square mall in 2012,’ he says. ‘I went through rounds of competitions and interviews before being appointed by Lego headquarters in Denmark. Our mission is to bring the past-time to a wider audience through promotions and competitions.’

Serious Lego clubs are exclusive, though. ‘There is friendly competition between clubs; this is how we improve,’ says current Legend Bricks ambassador Jared Chan. ‘Everyone can follow us on Facebook, but only those who are invited can join the club. Having a passion for Lego isn’t enough; we also select members based on personality. After all, it’s only fun if you get along with those you build with.’ 

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book