機上娛樂

說文解字

由薛曉嵐構思的方法是否能令人以自然而輕鬆的方式學習普通話?Cathy Adams試看她的播客課程是否令她進步神速

對外國人來說,普通話是最難學的語言之一,因為中文的文字系統複雜(中文有超過50,000個單字,而且並非拼音文字),還有四個聲調及成千上萬個同音異義字詞。如果你一直希望掌握普通話的基礎,不妨利用乘搭長途機的時間踏上初階。

Chineasy系列由生於台北、居於倫敦的薛曉嵐在2014年構思出來,為了幫助她的孩子學習普通話,她製作一本書和一套認字卡,利用充滿童趣的象形圖畫解釋中文字詞的意思。可是,即使讀者能認得學懂教材中400個簡體中文字,卻無從得知它們的讀音。

薛曉嵐於是在2017年推出每日一輯的播客節目《Talk Chineasy》,主要幫助聽眾改善口語技巧、辨別四聲及了解中國文化。她於每集簡短的節目中,透過與專家及名人訪談和對話,介紹一個在日常生活使用的中文字詞。節目嘉賓有華語人士和學習中文的人,包括商人Arianna Huffington、索尼影視娛樂財務總監Philip Rowley,還有麻省理工學院多位教授。

聽眾可學習如何自我介紹,跟別人聊聊天氣,最重要的是:學會如何點紅白餐酒。薛曉嵐稱,聽眾收聽節目一年便能掌握365個實用的中文字詞。如果收聽總長110分鐘的節目,並在航班上收看兩套薛曉嵐的TED講座短片,便可更上一層樓,不但學會相當數量的中文字詞,更能知道生肖的基本知識,並了解她研創的Chineasy象形圖畫如何巧妙地將不同文字的意思形象化。

薛曉嵐向《Discovery》表示:「《Talk Chineasy》是為所有充滿好奇心的人而設。這個節目系列的學習旅程由『你好』開始, 是任何有興趣進一步了解中國、中文及其文化的人起步的必然之選。」

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Inflight entertainment

How to learn Chinese by the time you land

Can Shaolan Hsueh make the task of learning Mandarin easy and intuitive? Long-suffering student CATHY ADAMS tries out her podcasts

For non-native speakers, Mandarin is one of the hardest languages to learn. That’s thanks to a complex character system (there are over 50,000, and they’re not phonetic). Add four tones and thousands of homophones. If you’ve always wanted to crack the basics of Mandarin, a long-haul flight is a good place to start.

Chineasy, a concept created in 2014 by Taipei-born, London-residing Shaolan Hsueh to help her children learn Mandarin, started life as a book and flashcards explaining Chinese characters using a series of childlike pictograms. There was a problem: while users could recognise 400 simplified Chinese characters and their pinyin spelling, there was limited instruction on how to pronounce them.

Enter Talk Chineasy, a series of daily podcasts Hsueh created in 2017 that focus on improving oral skills, recognising the four tones and learning about Chinese culture. In each short podcast, Hsueh introduces a Chinese word or phrase, designed to be useful for daily life, through interviews and conversations with experts and influencers. Guests – both Mandarin speakers and learners – include businessperson Arianna Huffington; Philip Rowley, CFO of Sony Pictures Entertainment; and professors from MIT.

Listeners will learn how to make introductions, talk about the weather and – most importantly – how to order red and white wine. After a year, Hsueh claims, listeners will have mastered 365 useful Chinese phrases. If you listen to all 110 minutes of the podcast and watch both of Hsueh’s TED Talks onboard, you will have learnt at least a handful including the basics of the Chinese zodiac, and understand how her Chineasy pictograms convey meaning.

‘Talk Chineasy is for everyone with a curious soul,’ Hsueh tells Discovery. ‘The journey begins with ni hao (hello), and Talk Chineasy is the first natural step for everyone who is interested in knowing more about China, the Chinese language and its culture.’

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book