節日和活動

最後一刻的新春出遊大計

2020年的農曆新年來得很早,現在計劃出外度歲還趕得及。我們為你準備了出遊大計,讓你在中國或其他地方迎接金鼠年

忘了計劃農曆新年的旅遊嗎?2021年的大年初一是2月12日,不少有意出門的人士可能都想利用多天公眾假期到外地度歲。

別苦惱。我們早已為你搜羅最後一刻的精采出遊大計,讓你以歡愉的心情迎接牛年。你唯一要決定的,就是到底想走多遠。

(不想舟車勞動?我們也為你準備了在香港歡度農曆新年的賀歲推介。)

中國:溫馨長假期

昆明

當中國大部分地區氣溫寒冷的時候,雲南省的首府昆明依然是「永恆的春城」。昆明茶花節是農曆新年的焦點所在,同場亦有鬱金香和木蘭花互相映襯。昆明雖然一向不乏如雲南石林及翠湖公園等著名地標,但隨著當地成為「一帶一路」的戰略中心,市內亦掀起了一番新景象。2016年新落成的鐵路站,則提供高速鐵路服務往來雲南西北部、貴陽及上海。

牛年賀歲節目︰大觀園度過元宵佳節

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往昆明的航班,每週有七班

南京

Credit: Liu jianhua nj/Imaginechina

南京秦淮國際燈會是中國最大型的同類慶祝活動,燈會於春節前開始,至元宵節結束。屆時,孔廟一帶將成為花燈雕塑的世界,更不乏精采表演、舞獅及多款美食以供享樂。身在南京,自然想探索市內的文化歷史,這裡有大量古城牆、城門、紀念碑及博物館等待你逐一發掘。

牛年賀歲節目︰在孔廟參加秦淮國際燈會

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往南京的航班,每週有14班

廈門

Credit: Shutterstock

位於中國東南海岸的港口城市廈門,是國內最受歡迎的賀歲勝地之一,其中岩石小島鼓浪嶼充滿著殖民時期的建築,加上廈門大學和園林植物園的美景,全是不容錯過的好去處。此外,好動的你亦可挑戰世界最長、全長7.6公里的高架單車徑,單車徑位於廈門快速公交系統(廈門BRT)線下方,貫通北面的BRT縣後站和南面的洪文站。

牛年賀歲節目︰在海滄文化中心廣場參加海滄新春花燈會

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往廈門的航班,每週有28班

衝出亞洲:善用假期,走得更遠

美國洛杉磯

Credit: Marc Flores/Getty Images

即使身在洛杉磯,想必沙灘不會是度歲的理想地方吧,不如趁機一嘗離地300米的密封玻璃滑梯OUE Skyspace LA Skyslide,從而考驗一下膽量。玩畢後再前往壯闊宏偉的The Broad,發掘這座於2015年底開幕的當代藝術博物館。然而,其中一項最吸引家庭和JK Rowling書迷的得數魁地奇;具體點說,就是環球影城的哈利波特魔法世界園區

牛年賀歲節目︰參加有逾百年歷史的唐人街金龍大遊行

國泰航空設有由香港飛往洛杉磯的航班,每週有35班

美國紐約

Credit: Ed Lederman

紐約的農曆新年永遠都是寒風刺骨,亦代表了這是旅遊淡季,適合最後一分鐘才決定出遊的旅客。大家不妨先在大都會藝術博物館的全新當代藝術空間Met Breuer欣賞藝術作品,再造訪於Meatpacking District新開的惠特尼美國藝術博物館,然後再前往世界貿易中心一號大樓,登上頂樓觀景台,以嶄新角度飽覽景色。若你已作好禦寒措施,便可親臨布賴恩特公園的冬季村一起擁抱寒冬,進場入士更可免費在偌大的溜冰場(開放至3月1日)溜冰。最後,到鄰近的中國餐廳如傾城客家山飽餐一頓,溫暖身心。

牛年賀歲節目︰參加Sara D Roosevelt Park的新春炮竹文藝大匯演

國泰航空設有由香港飛往紐約的航班,每週有35班

阿聯酋杜拜

Credit: Nicolas Cornet/Getty Images

杜拜天朗氣清、節目豐富,加上不乏新落成的建築,令農曆新年成為到訪當地的最佳時節。Dubai Water Canal是於2016年落成的特大工程,利用天橋和行人道連接市內最熱鬧的潮人地帶。還有新開設的德拉島夜市,匯聚了5,300間店舖和超過90間海濱咖啡店及餐廳。至於未來感十足的Dubai Opera有多場音樂巨製,包括《小王子》音樂劇(1月23至25日);希望為荷包減磅?杜拜特別為此舉行杜拜購物節,活動由12月26日至2月1日結束。

牛年賀歲節目︰到卓美亞帆船酒店欣賞煙花匯演

國泰航空設有由香港飛往杜拜的航班,每週有14班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

The Procrastinator’s Guide to Last-Minute Travel for Chinese New Year

The Lunar New Year comes early in 2020, but it’s not too late to plan a festive trip. Here’s our guide to celebrating the Year of the Rat in China and beyond

So you forgot to book your Chinese New Year travel? According to the lunar calendar, the new year begins on 25 January in 2020, which may have caught out some travellers hoping to take advantage of the public holiday.

Don’t fret! We have you covered with this roundup of last-minute travel ideas that will ensure a fun-filled welcome to the Year of the Rat. All you need to do is decide how far you want to go…

(Not going away? Skip to our guide to celebrating Chinese New Year in Hong Kong.)

China: Stay Close for the Long Weekend

Kunming

While much of China is freezing, Kunming, the capital of southern China’s Yunnan province, remains the City of Eternal Spring. The Kunming Camellia Festival is a highlight – but tulips and magnolias make an appearance, too. And while Kunming has established landmarks like the Stone Forest and Green Lake Park, it’s the city’s role as a strategic centre for the Belt and Road initiative that has it really changing. Since its 2016 debut, the Kunming South Railway Station has opened the region up to convenient high-speed services to northwestern Yunnan, Guiyang and across to Shanghai.

Where to Celebrate the Year of the Rat: Lantern Festival at Grand View Park

Cathay Dragon flies to Kunming from Hong Kong seven times a week

Nanjing

Credit: Liu jianhua nj/Imaginechina

Nanjing is home to the Qinhuai International Lantern Festival, the largest of its kind in China. Starting before the Spring Festival – as the holiday is commonly known in China –and finishing on Lantern Festival (the 15th day of the new year), the area around the Confucius Temple transforms into a world of lantern sculptures, performances, lion dances and food. While in Nanjing, you’ll probably want to explore the city’s cultural history – there are ancient walls, gates, monuments and museums galore.

Where to Celebrate the Year of the Rat: Qinhuai International Lantern Festival at Confucius Temple

Cathay Dragon flies to Nanjing from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Xiamen

Credit: Shutterstock

This port city on China’s southeastern coast is one of the country’s most popular domestic destinations for the Spring Festival. Gulangyu, the rocky island of colonial architecture, should be on your agenda, along with picturesque strolls through Xiamen University and Xiamen Botanical Garden. For something more active, cycle along the 7.6-kilometre elevated bike path – the longest in the world – which runs beneath the Bus Rapid Transit line from Xian Hou BRT station in the north to Hong Wen station in the south.

Where to Celebrate the Year of the Rat: Haicang District Spring Festival Lantern Show at Haicang Culture Center Square

Cathay Dragon flies to Xiamen from Hong Kong 28 times a week

Beyond Asia: Go Further, Stay Longer

Los Angeles, US

Credit: Marc Flores/Getty Images

The beaches are probably not where you’ll be spending this Chinese New Year, even if you are in LA. Instead, get a vertigo fix on OUE Skyspace LA’s Skyslide, an enclosed glass slide that hovers 300 metres above the ground. Then head to The Broad, a magnificent contemporary art museum that opened in late 2015. But one of the biggest draws for families and fans of JK Rowling’s books is quidditch – or more specifically, The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios.

Where to Celebrate the Year of the Rat: Chinatown’s Golden Dragon Parade, which has been staged for over a century (1 February)

Cathay Pacific flies to Los Angeles from Hong Kong 35 times a week

New York, US

Credit: Ed Lederman

Yes, CNY in NYC is always a chilly affair. That also means it’s an off-peak time to visit, which works in the favour of those booking last-minute travel. Start with some art at the Met Breuer, the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s new contemporary art space, then head over to the Whitney Museum of American Art in the Meatpacking district. Get a new perspective atop One World Trade Center at the One World Observatory. If you’re wrapped up warmly, Bryant Park’s Winter Village is the place to embrace the cold, with free-admission skating on its sprawling ice rink (until 1 March). Then treat yourself to a hearty meal at a nearby Chinese restaurant like Cafe China or Hakkasan.

Where to Celebrate the Year of the Rat: Firecracker Ceremony and Cultural Festival at Sara D Roosevelt Park (25 January)

Cathay Pacific flies to New York from Hong Kong 35 times a week

Dubai, UAE

Credit: Nicolas Cornet/Getty Images

Gorgeous weather, events aplenty and newly minted projects make Lunar New Year about the best time to visit Dubai. The Dubai Water Canal, a megaproject opened in 2016, links some of the liveliest lifestyle districts through bridges and promenades; other recent openings include the Deira Island’s night market, which counts 5,300 outlets and over 90 quayside cafes and restaurants. Elsewhere, catch the musical adaptation of Le Petit Prince (23-25 January) at the futuristic Dubai Opera; or indulge in some retail therapy at the massive Dubai Shopping Festival, which runs from 26 December to 1 February.

Where to celebrate the Year of the Rat: Fireworks at Burj Al Arab (25 January)

Cathay Pacific flies to Dubai 14 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book