節日和活動

到中國各地即興度聖誕佳期

從三亞海灘到北京滑雪場,以下中國各地的優美勝景都可帶給你一個溫暖熱情或白雪皚皚的聖誕假期,預算較經濟之餘,感覺亦與眾不凡

與其:在夏威夷過聖誕

不如:到三亞慢步怡人的海灘

Credit: shan.shihan/Getty Images

在沙灘過聖誕顯然一反傳統,沒有觀賞雪景或圍坐壁爐喝熱朱古力的指定活動,卻依然值得一試。海南島被譽為「東方夏威夷」,皆因兩者位於相若的緯度,氣候也同樣宜人。而海南島上最南端的三亞市,更有綿延不絕的沙灘,海水溫度全年保持涼快舒適。

Credit: courtesy of Atlantis Sanya

你可遊覽三亞的名勝,如位於南山寺的巨型海上觀音聖像,亦可尋訪著名食府品嚐馳名的椰子雞火鍋,不愁沒行程玩意,但優哉游哉地放空,才是真正的島上度假方式。幸好這裡並不缺乏令人樂不思蜀的豪華度假酒店,如三亞艾迪遜酒店,精緻時尚的風格秉承該精品酒店的傳統,506間客房更全部面向其私人沙灘。酒店既以氣氛浪漫取勝,又能滿足小住客,適合不同度假所需:寬敞的環境讓溫馨依偎的情侶不受打擾,同時足夠讓一家大小共享節日佳餚。

Credit: courtesy of Atlantis Sanya

三亞.亞特蘭蒂斯酒店也可為你締造難忘聖誕。它提供海島度假夢寐以求的水底套房,一共五間套房,讓你躺著便可與游經窗前的海洋生物打招呼。在這裡,與海豚及海獅暢泳,或者潛水探訪鯊魚和魔鬼魚,都是最基本的日間活動;你也可在酒店附設的亞特蘭蒂斯水世界玩水上滑梯。若想加一點聖誕氣氛,酒店在整個12月也會舉辦特備節目,包括為兒童而設的節慶活動,以及聖誕老人潛水表演。

Credit: courtesy of Atlantis Sanya

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往三亞的航班,每周有五班

與其:費神烤火雞

不如:品嚐南京馳名鴨饌

Credit: Getty Images

北京烤鴨雖然遠近馳名,但對鴨肉情有獨鍾的江蘇省首府也做得一手色香味全的烤鴨,而且鴨子料理花款更多。南京人烹煮鴨子的方式五花八門,鴨肉糯米燒賣和鴨血粉絲湯都是名菜,但說到招牌菜則非鹽水鴨莫屬。這道歷史悠久的菜式由經過醃製的鴨肉煨煮而成,放涼後食用,味道鮮美多汁。金陵飯店的梅苑是品嚐鹽水鴨的首選食府,另一好去處是連鎖餐廳南京大牌檔,他們因為地道菜餚做得出色而廣受歡迎,已於全國開設多間分店。

Credit: Regent Taipei

若你對節日手工藝品有興趣,便不應錯過南京市民俗博物館。它位於一座前清朝民宅中,除了展出手工藝品,亦有現場示範木雕、中國繩結、絲花及剪紙等傳統工藝。擁有近1,600年歷史的雲錦工藝,獲聯合國教科文組織列為非物質文化遺產,你可在南京雲錦博物館探索這門傳統技藝,欣賞細緻絕倫的絲織品,並觀看工匠拿手地使用雙人織布機。

Credit: Imaginechina Limited

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往南京的航班,每周有14班

與其:到瑞士阿爾卑斯山滑雪

不如:勇闖崇禮區的雪道

Credit: Alamy Stock Photo

即使你今年的預算未能應付瑞士行程,也毋須放棄滑雪的樂趣。北京正密鑼緊鼓籌備2022年冬季奧運會,氣氛日漸濃厚。河北張家口崇禮區距離北京三至四小時車程,是大部分滑雪項目的主場。北京至張家口的高鐵預計於今個月正式啓用,屆時前往當地滑雪道的車程將大幅縮短至一小時,更方便易達。

崇禮擁有好幾個主要滑雪場,包括萬龍、多樂美地及密苑雲頂樂園。區內設有多個度假村,預計在2022年將有多達271條滑雪道。無論是本地旅館還是國際酒店,當地的住宿均實而不華,皆因大部分旅客大概會將整天時間花在滑雪道上。至於崇禮源宿酒店則提供較豪華的住宿;而鄰近的太舞滑雪場造雪面積約80公頃,共提供34條雪道。

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往北京的航班,每周有56班

與其:裝飾聖誕樹

不如:到訪安吉竹林

Credit: Jakob Montrasio/Getty Images

我們對聖誕的聯想總少不了一片白雪皚皚的常綠森林,位於中國浙江省安吉縣的竹鄉國家森林公園同樣綠意盎然,不只景色蒼翠優美,也能讓你遠離節日繁囂。安吉大竹海距離杭州約一小時車程,縱使因為曾在電影《臥虎藏龍》中亮相而聲名大噪,還是相對地少人到訪。在竹海漫步過後,可下榻環保豪華度假酒店阿麗拉安吉,好好放鬆身心。

儘管華東並非進行冬季運動的熱門地區,你仍可在江南天池滑雪場一顯身手。它設有海拔1,000米的坡道,適合初學者至中級水平的滑雪人士。盡興過後,可於區內多個戶外溫泉舒筋活絡,享受被竹林環抱的動人時刻。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往杭州的航班,每周有26班

與其:逛德國聖誕市集

不如:探索西安美食市集

Credit: Oleksiy Maksymenko Photography/Alamy Stock Photo

捨棄暖香料酒和德國油煎香腸等熱門聖誕美食,轉移陣地到山西首府西安,在北院門夜市品嚐滋味多汁的肉夾饃或羊肉泡饃。

還是想念應節火雞的鮮美?那麼請到曲徑通幽的藝術小街,摸進藏身於傳統庭院中的醉長安本店,品嚐經蒸燙煮熟後炸成金黃色的葫蘆雞,皮脆肉嫩的雞件以葫蘆食器盛載,滋味滿分。

Credit: Getty Images

飽餐一頓後,無須乘坐聖誕老人的雪橇,只管登上懷舊吉普車,在專屬行程旅遊公司Xi’an Insiders的導賞員帶領下,沿路感受西安的古城遺韻。你可參觀當地必訪的兵馬俑,也可在城外黃土高原的古舊村落中欣賞傳統工藝。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往西安的航班,每周有七班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

Last-Minute Christmas Getaways to China

From the beaches of Sanya to the ski slopes of Beijing, these destinations across China offer easy, affordable alternatives to the traditional Christmas getaway

Instead of: Christmas in Hawaii

Head to: Sanya’s beautiful beaches

Credit: shan.shihan/Getty Images

They might be the antithesis of snowscapes and curling up by the fireplace with a mug of cocoa, but Christmas beach getaways are a classic. Nicknamed the Hawaii of the East, Hainan shares the same latitude as the famed Pacific island chain and boasts just as perfect a climate. The city of Sanya, on the island’s southernmost tip, features long stretches of beach and an ocean that stays at entirely mellow temperatures.

Credit: courtesy of Atlantis Sanya

While there’s some exploring to be done (visiting the giant Guanyin statue of Nanshan Temple, sampling the famous coconut chicken hotpot), kicking back and unwinding are really what island life is about. Luckily, plush resorts you won’t want to leave are in no short supply here. With 506 guest rooms all facing the hotel’s private beaches, The Sanya Edition offers the style and polish now synonymous with the boutique brand. As romantic a getaway as it is a kid-friendly destination, it comes with sprawling grounds that allow ample room for couples to cosy up in peace or for families to enjoy to special holiday meals together.

Credit: courtesy of Atlantis Sanya

Or splash out on one of the five underwater suites at Atlantis Sanya, where sea creatures float past your bedroom window. During the day, you can swim with dolphins and sea lions, scuba with sharks and stingrays or shoot down the waterslides at the resort’s Aquaventure Waterpark. For extra holiday cheer throughout December, the resort hosts festive programming, including themed children’s activities and a show featuring scuba divers dressed in Santa costumes.

Credit: courtesy of Atlantis Sanya

Cathay Dragon flies to Sanya from Hong Kong five times a week

Instead of: Roast turkey with all the trimmings

Seek out: Nanjing’s classic duck dishes

Credit: Getty Images

Beijing might champion its Peking duck, but the duck-obsessed capital of Jiangsu province has its own version – and much more. From duck and sticky rice shaomai dumplings to yaxue fensi tang – duck blood and vermicelli soup – Nanjingers use the fowl in question every which way. The city’s signature dish, however, is salted duck. The dish dates back a thousand years: its flavour-packed, succulent meat is marinated, then simmered, then served chilled. Meiyuan Restaurant at the Jinling Hotel turns out one of the city’s finest versions, or try Nanjing Impressions, a popular chain that’s spread across the country thanks to its excellent renditions of local specialities.

Credit: Regent Taipei

If you’re keen for some festive holiday crafting, visit the Nanjing Folk Museum. Set in a former Qing dynasty residence, it houses handicraft exhibitions and live demonstrations of traditional arts such as woodcarving, Chinese knotting, velvet flower art and paper cutting. For a deep dive into the 1,600-year-old tradition of yun brocade, which has made Unesco’s Intangible Cultural Heritage list, stop by the Nanjing Cloud Brocade Museum, where you can marvel at the intricate silk designs and observe master artisans work the two-person loom.

Credit: Imaginechina Limited

Cathay Dragon flies to Nanjing from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Instead of: Skiing the Swiss Alps

Head to: The pistes of Chongli

Credit: Alamy Stock Photo

If your budget this year doesn’t cover a trip to Switzerland, you can still hit the powder. Beijing is gearing up for the 2022 Winter Olympics, and excitement is brewing. A three-to-four-hour drive from the capital, Chongli district in Zhangjiakou, Hebei province, is set to stage most of the skiing events. Its snowy slopes will be infinitely more accessible as of this month, when the Beijing-Zhangjiakou high-speed rail is scheduled to open, cutting travel time down to one hour.

Chongli has several major ski areas, including Wanlong, Duole Meidi and Genting Secret Garden, with a scattering of resorts and an expected 271 ski runs by 2022. Local and international lodging options near the ski resorts are generally no-frills, catering towards travellers looking to spend all day on the slopes. Element Chongli features more polished accommodation, while the nearby Thaiwoo Ski Resort offers 34 slopes covering 80 hectares.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Beijing from Hong Kong 56 times a week

Instead of: Adorning the Christmas tree

Seek out: Anji’s bamboo forests

Credit: Jakob Montrasio/Getty Images

While snow-dusted evergreen forests might shout happy holidays, Anji County’s stunning Grand National Bamboo Forest offers a tranquil retreat from the frantic festive season. Located an hour away from Hangzhou, Anji’s bamboo groves rose to fame as the backdrop for scenes from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon – yet even so, the destination remains relatively hidden. Plan hikes through the ‘bamboo sea’ forest and then head over to eco-luxury resort Alila Anji for some well-deserved R&R.

While eastern China isn’t known for its winter sports, if you do want to hit the slopes, Jiangnan Tianchi Ski Resort offers runs suitable for beginners and intermediate skiers at an elevation of 1,000 metres. Afterwards, soothe your aches and pains in one of the area’s many outdoor hot springs, surrounded by rustling bamboo forests.

Cathay Dragon flies to Hangzhou from Hong Kong 26 times a week

Instead of: A German Christmas market

Explore: Xi’an’s street food market

Credit: Oleksiy Maksymenko Photography/Alamy Stock Photo

After the meal, ditch Santa’s sleigh and hop on a vintage jeep to see the city and its sights with Xi’an Insiders. Choose from itineraries that whirl you through the famous Terracotta Warriors, or give you a peek into traditional crafts in the ancient villages of the Loess Plateau outside the city. 

Credit: Getty Images

Trade Christmas market staples like glühwein and bratwurst for the deliciously juicy roujiamo braised beef sandwiches or paomo bread soaked in lamb soup served by the Shaanxi capital’s street-side vendors at the Beiyuanmen Night Market. Missing a festive turkey? At the original branch of Zui Changan, hidden in a traditional courtyard off the city’s art street, you can feast on ‘gourd-shaped chicken’, a local speciality that’s boiled, steamed and then fried, resulting in a golden bird – served in a gourd – that is crispy yet tender and utterly delightful.

Cathay Dragon flies to Xi’an from Hong Kong seven times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book