餐飲美食

越冬泡菜:韓國家庭年度盛事

最具代表性的韓國習俗非一年一度的冬季泡菜醃製時節莫屬

代代相傳的優良傳統,往往在廚房誕生。每年踏入11月下旬至12月初,全球各地的韓國家庭會聚首一堂炮製「越冬泡菜」,即是為迎接寒冬而將大量蔬菜醃漬和發酵的韓式儲存食品。此時,韓國人碰面不是互相問好,而是問:「你醃好越冬泡菜了嗎?」

我清楚記得那些年的冬天,我的家人擠滿廚房,旁邊是堆積如山的白菜和蘿蔔。這項工夫為期兩天,第一天洗淨和用鹽來醃製新鮮收割的蔬菜,繼而在第二天加入多種醃料,與其他主要食材隨意地攪拌,舉例有鹽、辣椒粉、紅椒絲、大蒜、薑、蔥和醃漬海鮮等。份量可觀的醃菜會儲存在大甕缸裡再埋在地底,任其在隨後數月慢慢發酵。

雖然大白菜和白蘿蔔是最常見的泡菜食材,但韓國各地都對所選蔬菜有不同偏好,醃料以至配方各異。譬如位於北面較寒冷的地區用鹽分量較少;南部地區則偏向多加鹽和辣椒,製成更辛辣火紅的泡菜; 住在東面臨海的居民,還會加入生海鮮和鹽漬鱈魚。

換了是從前,韓國人醃製供整個冬季食用的泡菜自然理所當然,但隨著城市人口在20世紀中期開始膨脹,用來儲存泡菜甕缸的地下空間開始不足。曾經有一段時間,在公寓住宅範圍內的公共空間不難發現一個個大甕缸。這個問題在1990年代前仍然沒有理想的解決方案,直至泡菜雪櫃面世。它不單能夠促進泡菜的發酵過程,將泡菜放在雪櫃專格仍能做出原本獨特的味道,因而在韓國各家各戶廣泛使用。

每年,南韓人於早、午、晚三餐食用大約150萬噸泡菜。而一份2011年的問卷調查指出,超過70%的韓國家庭仍然會每年醃製越冬泡菜,這個習俗更被列入聯合國教科文組織人類非物質文化遺產名錄。有幾間慈善機構每年會舉辦越冬泡菜活動,為國內的貧困家庭製作泡菜。

這個年度傳統已被視為大韓民族身份認同的象徵。只要每逢冬季堅持與家人在廚房對著白菜堆苦幹,製作越冬泡菜的習俗依然會在每個韓國家庭裡生生不息。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Kimjang: When Families Come Together for Kimchi

There’s nothing more Korean than kimjang, the annual ritual of making kimchi

Like all the best traditions, it starts in the kitchen. This time of year, Korean families across the world gather for kimjang – the process of making kimchi, the fermented vegetable dish. In late November and early December, we don’t say ‘Hello’. We ask, ‘Have you finished kimjang yet?’

My own memories of this ritual involve being in the kitchen surrounded by my family and mountains of cabbage and radish. The two-day process starts with washing and salting the vegetables on the first day, followed by adding various seasonings and massaging them into the main ingredients on the second. Salt, chilli powder, red pepper flakes, garlic, ginger, spring onions and jeotgal (cured seafood) are rubbed and liberally sprinkled onto harvested vegetables, stuffed inside large earthenware jars and stored below the ground for the fermentation process to take place over the months that follow.

While napa cabbage and white radish are most commonly used for kimchi, each region of Korea has its own preferred vegetables, as well as different variations on seasoning. In the colder regions up north, for instance, less salt is added, while those in the south add more salt and chilli, resulting in a redder, spicier final product. Meanwhile, residents along the eastern coast also throw in raw seafood and salted cod.

It made perfect sense in a time when produce had to be preserved to last from one season to the next. But as Korea’s cities started to grow in the mid-20th century, finding underground space to store kimchi jars became a major issue. For a while, it wasn’t uncommon to find jars of kimchi buried beneath the common areas of apartment complexes. The perfect solution didn’t arrive until the 1990s, when kimchi refrigerators – designed to facilitate the fermentation process while also containing its funky smell – were introduced and became common in South Korean households.

Each year, South Koreans consume approximately 1.5 million tons of kimchi for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And according to a 2011 survey, more than 70 per cent of Korean families still practise kimjang – it’s even on Unesco’s list of Intangible Cultural Heritage. A number of charities also organise kimjang to make kimchi for the nation’s underprivileged families. Above all, this activity has come to be seen as a reaffirmation of Korean identity. Kimjang continues to thrive as winter comes and we head to the kitchen, surrounded by family – and a mountain of cabbage.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book