印尼

完好如初: 科莫多

科莫多國家公園既有原始的海洋風光,亦是史前巨蜥的棲息地,吸引無數遊客慕名而來,不過隨著該區遊人漸多,它是否可以避免由此衍生的保育問題?且看一個極端和一系列小規模的措施能否有所幫助。 撰文 David Cooper

我們乘坐小艇靠岸林卡島時,看到由木頭搭建的碼頭上,豎起一塊飽經風霜的警告牌,寫著:「小心鱷魚出沒」。雖然鱷魚了無蹤影,但我們仍然頭也不回地繼續前行,因為此行的目的,是要探索另一種同樣兇猛的爬蟲:科莫多巨蜥。登島的一刻,導遊已敦促我們緊隨其後,於是一行人匆匆來到一大片瘠土上唯一的一棵大樹前。起初,我們只瞥見一頭水牛身陷泥濘中,但走近後才發現,這頭狀甚痛苦的哺乳類動物,正被三條長達三米的科莫多巨蜥圍攻。

導遊向我們解釋,那頭水牛約一星期前被一條有毒的巨蜥咬傷,毒液慢慢擴散全身,令水牛無法動彈,命懸一線。巨蜥此時才再度出擊,收割捕獵的成果。導遊表示這種情況並不常見,因此能親睹這令人聞風喪膽的獵食者捕殺的過程,實在非常幸運,可是當看到巨蜥的利爪擒向水牛,不免替俎上肉感到難過,不覺何喜之有。

在遊客眼中,這些史前巨獸無疑是印尼科莫多國家公園的最大賣點,但其實園內尚有數之不盡的天然奇觀,巨蜥只不過是其中一樣。這個聯合國教科文組織世界文化遺產及生物圈保護區公園,擁有全球數量數一數二的海洋物種,在1,733平方公里的範圍內,棲息了逾260種珊瑚和超過1,000種魚類、爬行動物及海洋哺乳動物。

此外,這裡亦是世上最美麗的地方之一,在蔚藍的大海上,屹立了29座蒼翠的火山島,是遠足和探索野外生態的好去處,另外還有50多個世界級潛水熱點。在此待上一天,不難找到科莫多巨蜥的蹤影,或是在游泳時遇到巨型魔鬼魚,潛水時有海龜、各種魚類和七彩斑斕的珊瑚相伴,日落時於叢林遙望成千上萬的果蝠在橙紅色的晚霞中飛過。

這裡的野生物種如此豐富,景觀有如畫中仙境般壯麗迷人,尤其科莫多島於2011年躋身New7Wonders基金會「世界新七大奇觀」,難怪遊人數目大幅攀升。此地全年氣候溫和,而且交通便利,從峇里島乘飛機出發,前往納閩巴霍只需一小時,再轉乘小船便可抵達科莫多國家公園。公園主要坐落於科莫多島、帕達爾島和林卡島,三處均是大名鼎鼎的科莫多巨蜥棲身之所,世上再無其他地方能讓你跟這些史前巨獸碰面。

Guenter Guni

去年9月開業的阿雅娜科莫多度假村,坐落在納閩巴霍數公里以外的私人海灘Waecicu Beach,建築風格宏偉奪目。總經理Fernando Arroyo表示:「在科莫多國家公園水域一帶出現的海洋生物,種類和顏色之多,非東南亞其他地區所能及。最吸引之處是旅客可輕易觀賞,他們無須得到潛水員資格或是泳術了得,只需戴上潛水鏡和呼吸管,即可在淺水處盡情欣賞科莫多島壯闊美妙的自然奇觀。」

新近落戶於納閩巴霍的不只有阿雅娜科莫多度假村。這個小鎮過去只是一個寂寂無聞的漁村,如今,潛水用品店、旅館及旅行社卻隨處可見。為迎合觀光客而設的時髦精品店和餐廳紛紛湧現,與家庭式小商店和平民食肆為鄰,港口旁正在興建一間附設小型商場的酒店,其中一扇窗外更掛起預告咖啡店星巴克即將開幕的告示。

不過,這個地區迅速發展後,環境問題亦隨之而來,而影響全球多個海灘及海洋地區的塑膠污染,在這裡更是日益嚴重。幸好,印尼政府已採取措施保護科莫多的生態,當局正研究大幅提升科莫多國家公園的入場費,限制入場人數。更極端的提議是於2020年關閉該島一年,透過增加野鹿數目,令巨蜥重新大量繁衍。但當局至今仍計劃繼續開放公園範圍內其他島嶼。印尼政府同時承諾,每年將投放10億美元,務求在2025年前將海洋廢物減少七成。

在當局採取措施,緩和因旅遊業暢旺所帶來的影響之際,阿雅娜度假村亦採取可持續發展的措施,避免科莫多島這塊天然瑰寶因旅遊業蓬勃發展而遭到破壞。當然,酒店是否能夠成功吸納遊人,亦不免取決於酒店所在的小島能否妥善維繫脆弱的生態系統。因此,度假村在提供先進的水療中心和特別為環島遊而設的觀光船等設施,為賓客締造豪華住宿體驗之餘,亦同樣重視保育和推廣環保意識。

Henn Photography / Getty Images/Image Source

阿雅娜度假村的駐場海洋生物學家Yan Huajing,除了向遊客介紹這個海岸公園各式各樣的生物及珊瑚礁外,更於度假村內的教學活動中肩負重任,讓當地居民明白垃圾必須妥善處置之餘,亦教導他們可重用的器皿勝過用完即棄的塑膠用具。此外,度假村還計劃分階段全面淘汰膠樽。

遊客可在離岸數十米的水域潛水、乘坐玻璃底獨木舟或戴上潛水頭盔在海中「漫步」,無拘無束地欣賞壯麗的珊瑚王國,除此之外,更可於海中特設的專區幫手種植珊瑚。

Yan表示:「我們很幸運獲派駐這個重要的海洋生態區。如想保護我們周遭的自然風光,確保下一代能繼續欣賞這片完整的美景,就必須提高保育意識,並積極推廣各類可持續發展的計劃。」

科莫多國家公園五大動物明星

科莫多巨蜥

Ringo Wong / Getty Images/iStockphoto

大部分人到訪當地的主因,是在這種全球最大型蜥蜴的天然棲息地一睹其風采,而科莫多巨蜥的確能讓人不枉此行。不過,有時看起來溫馴可親的巨蜥,卻有令人喪命的本領,所以請謹遵公園管理員的指示,小心行事。

巨型魔鬼魚

Sergemi / Shutterstock

這種魚類的「翼展」長達五米,優雅的泳姿令人讚歎,鮮有海洋生物能夠比擬。巨型魔鬼魚出沒於科莫多島附近的Manta Point,在這裡游泳,隨時會有五六條友善的巨型魔鬼魚擦身而過。

巽他群島狐蝠

© Patrick Kientz / Biosphoto

每到黃昏時分,總有不少遊客乘坐一艘艘前往卡隆島的小船,觀賞科莫多島的另一絕景:成群的巽他群島狐蝠劃過晚空。這些大型果蝠會於日落西山之際睡醒,隨即成群結隊地飛往鄰島覓食 。

海豚

Carefordolphins / Alamy Stock Photo

根據紀錄,科莫多國家公園的水域有多達18種鯨魚和海豚棲息,你或許無法在一趟旅程中把牠們「一網打盡」,但不難看到飛旋海豚和樽鼻海豚在碧波中暢泳。

儒艮

Megan Weber

運氣好的話,你或許可與儒艮同游海中。儒艮又名「海牛」,顧名思義是草食動物,而科莫多島的水域剛好長滿牠們最愛吃的海草,因此儒艮視之為覓食「後花園」。這種大塊頭的哺乳動物,成年後身長可達三米。

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往峇里的航班,每周有九班

Indonesia

Keeping Komodo Wild

Famed for its prehistoric lizards and idyllic seascapes, Indonesia’s Komodo National Park is booming with tourism. But can the area be protected from its growing popularity? One drastic measure – and many smaller ones – might help. By David Cooper

‘Be careful – crocodile area’, warns the weather-worn sign on the wooden jetty that our small boat is approaching at Rinca island. The crocodiles themselves are nowhere to be seen but we press on regardless, as we’re here to see another deadly member of the reptile family: the Komodo dragon. As soon as we arrive, our guide urges us to follow him, and we hurry towards a large tree standing alone on an otherwise barren stretch of dry earth. On first glance, there appears to be nothing more than a water buffalo bathing in a mud hole. But as we get nearer, we see them: a trio of three-metre-long Komodo dragons advancing hungrily on the distressed mammal.

Our guide explains that the buffalo has been bitten by a dragon about a week before, and that the slow-acting venom has now left it unable to walk and on the verge of death – which is when the huge lizards make their move. This, our guide explains, doesn’t happen very often, and we are incredibly lucky to see one of the most fearsome predators on earth in action – although it’s hard not to feel sorry for the buffalo as the dragons put their powerful jaws to work.

Komodo

These prehistoric beasts are, of course, the greatest draw for visitors to Indonesia’s Komodo National Park, but they are also only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the area’s natural wonders. A UNESCO-recognised World Heritage Site and Biosphere Reserve, Komodo National Park is home to one of the richest marine environments on the planet, with more than 260 types of coral and over 1,000 species of fish, reptiles and marine mammals living within its 1,733-square-kilometre territory.

It’s also one of the most beautiful places on Earth, comprising 29 verdant volcanic islands that rise dramatically out of the sea. It offers plentiful opportunities for trekking and wildlife-spotting, while sheltering more than 50 world-class scuba-diving sites. In the space of one day here, it’s not uncommon to see Komodo dragons, swim with giant manta rays, snorkel with turtles and vast schools of fish amid fluorescent coral gardens, and watch thousands of fruit bats fly overhead as the sunset paints the sky fiery shades of orange and red.

Unsurprisingly, this compelling combination of abundant wildlife and picture-postcard scenery has seen tourist numbers soar, particularly since 2011, when the national park was voted one of the ‘new seven wonders of nature’ in a poll by the New7Wonders foundation. Its year-round temperate climate is another draw, as is its easy accessibility: from Bali, visitors take an hour’s flight to the town of Labuan Bajo, where boats take them on to Komodo National Park. The park’s main islands are Komodo, Padar and Rinca – all are home to the famed dragon, a prehistoric animal only found in the vicinity.

Komodo
Guenter Guni

‘The marine fauna found in and around the waters of Komodo National Park are among the most diverse, varied and colourful in Southeast Asia,’ says Fernando Arroyo, general manager of Ayana Komodo Resort, Waecicu Beach, an architecturally striking property that opened last September on a private stretch of beach a few kilometres from Labuan Bajo. ‘And the best part is, they are very easily accessed. Visitors do not need to be certified divers or experienced swimmers to enjoy and admire the beauty of Komodo’s nature, as these wonders can be observed at very shallow depths. All you need is a mask and snorkel, and anyone can enjoy this marvel.’

Ayana Komodo isn’t the only newcomer to Labuan Bajo. Once a sleepy fishing village, the town is now brimming with dive shops, guest houses and tour operators. Slicker-looking shops and restaurants have begun to appear amid locally owned stores and no-frills eateries, while a hotel with a small shopping mall attached is being built by the harbourside; a sign in one of the windows advertises that Starbucks is coming soon.

Komodo

But with the area’s rapid expansion has come environmental concerns. In particular, it faces growing plastic pollution – a problem that many beach and marine areas around the world contend with. But steps are being taken to preserve Komodo. The Indonesian government has discussed limiting the number of visitors allowed into the national park, raising the entrance fee considerably and, most drastically, closing Komodo island completely for all of 2020 to revitalise its population of lizards by replenishing the wild deer they prey on. (However, so far the plan is for all of the park’s other islands to remain open.) Indonesia has also pledged to spend US$1 billion a year to bring about a 70 percent reduction in marine waste by 2025.

Amid the tourism boom and the efforts to mitigate its effects, the Ayana hotel has adopted a sustainable mindset – one that is necessary if Komodo’s natural treasures are to survive that boom. Mindful of the fact that its success is inextricably linked to the preservation of the fragile ecosystem in which it is located, the hotel places as much emphasis on conservation and promoting environmental awareness as it does on providing luxurious experiences for its guests, including a contemporary spa and a small fleet of custom-built boats for transporting guests around the archipelago.

Komodo
Henn Photography / Getty Images/Image Source

As well as helping visitors understand the biodiversity of the marine park and its coral reefs, the resort’s resident marine biologist, Yan Huajing, is instrumental in the Ayana’s education programmes that teach local residents the importance of proper rubbish disposal and the benefits of reusable containers over single-use plastics. Plans to phase out the use of plastic water bottles throughout the resort are in the pipeline.

Guests can even help to propagate coral on specially designed frames below the waves, or simply marvel at the colourful coral gardens located a few dozen metres from the shore – either by snorkel, glass-bottomed kayak or on a ‘marine walk’, for which participants don dive helmet that allow for a leisurely undersea exploration.

‘We are so fortunate to be located in such an important marine diversity hotspot,’ says Yan. ‘To preserve the beauty of the nature around us and ensure that younger generations will have the opportunity to appreciate it all, it is absolutely crucial for us to provide awareness in conservation and promote sustainability programmes.’

5 animals to spot at Komodo National Park

Komodo Dragons

Komodo
Ringo Wong / Getty Images/iStockphoto

A chance to see the world’s biggest lizard in its natural habitat is the main reason most people come to Komodo. Placid as they sometimes appear, these beasts can be deadly, so be sure to follow the park rangers’ instructions.

Giant Manta Rays

Komodo
Sergemi / Shutterstock

Featuring wingspans of up to five metres, there are few creatures in the ocean more graceful or awe-inspiring than the giant manta ray. At the aptly named Manta Point near Komodo island, it’s not unusual to find yourself swimming among five or six of the gentle giants.

Sunda Flying Foxes

Komodo
© Patrick Kientz / Biosphoto

Every night at sunset, boats head to Kalong island for one of Komodo’s most incredible sights: the flight of the Sunda flying foxes. These large fruit bats awake as the sun goes down and take to the sky en masse as they head to a neighbouring island to feed.

Dolphins

Komodo
Carefordolphins / Alamy Stock Photo

Up to 18 species of whales and dolphins have been recorded in the waters of Komodo National Park, but while you’re unlikely to see all of them on one trip, chances are high that you’ll catch sight of spinner and bottlenose dolphins frolicking in the waves.

Dugongs

Komodo
Megan Weber

If you’re very lucky, you may get the chance to swim with dugongs – also known as sea cows – grazing in Komodo’s aquatic gardens. Lured by the area’s abundance of their favourite snack, seagrass, these portly marine mammals grow up to three metres in length.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Bali from Hong Kong nine times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book