結伴同遊

追隨不屈不撓的旅行家Isabella Bird的步伐

這位維多利亞時代的冒險家抱著大無畏精神,打破社會傳統及地理疆界,足跡踏遍全球,更遺下惠澤他人的善行

生於19世紀的旅行家Isabella Lucy Bird一生大部分時間都在旅行,她前往世上最偏遠的角落,不斷寫出暢銷的遊記,以無比的耐心和高超技巧,運用笨重的攝影機拍照,還創辦了多家醫院和孤兒院。即使不斷飽受坐骨神經痛及脊骨疾患所苦,旅途上不時遇到意外及受到懷有敵意的原住民襲擊,她依然不屈不撓,繼續前行。維多利亞時代的名門淑女,大部分人的終生志業不外乎為人妻母,但她卻成為卓爾不群、極受人敬佩的旅行家與作家。

Left: Royal Geographical Society / Getty Images; Right: The Picture Art Collection / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

她父母都是非常博學的人,父親是律師,後來成為神職人員,同時也是業餘植物學家;受父母的影響,她興趣廣泛,有無窮的求知欲。她曾經結婚,嫁給一位愛丁堡外科醫生John Bishop,可惜婚後五年丈夫逝世,但給她留下非常豐厚的遺產。她回復單身後,決意再次追求自己喜歡的事物。

她大部分時間都是獨自旅行。旅途上她當然會僱用傳譯員、挑夫等協助,但她不覺得需要朋友相伴。只有一次,她帶備了藥箱和左輪手槍,加入英國軍隊作遠征之旅,從巴格達橫越沙漠前往德黑蘭。但這並不是因為她渴望與人作伴,她只是喜歡冒險。

無論Bird前往美洲、亞太區還是阿拉伯旅行,從來都不是件輕鬆的事。我想像當年若有幸與她同行,大概也幫不上什麼忙。她在拉達克騎馬涉水過河時,從馬背上跌下來弄斷肋骨,我也許可以用繃帶替她包紮。但她在中國四川時,一群暴民想放火將她住的房子燒掉,我當時定會嚇得魂不附體(幸好有士兵及時趕到,將事件平息)。她憑著個人魅力說服喀什米爾王公捐出土地,興建醫院,這件事我應該也幫不上忙。即使我能操韓語和日語,相信也未必有耐性為了興建孤兒院而去開那些冗長的會議。她在科羅拉多州遇上熱愛詩詞歌賦的獨眼亡命之徒Rocky Mountain Jim時,曾一度為他傾倒(幸好尚能保持理智),相信我亦不是這位好漢的對手。

我想像自己與Bird晚上一同坐在營火旁,她一面織毛衣,我則努力想找個話題打破悶局。因為這個女子曾經講過一句非常辛辣的話:「我仍然認為文明是非常麻煩討厭的,社會(指英國中產階級保守古板的風氣)上都是偽君子,而墨守成規則是罪惡。」

Bird天生是個不喜歡跟隨主流的人,揚帆出海,航行至半個地球以外的日本還不足夠,她還要往北走前往北海道,探訪島上的原住民阿伊努族。而她又確實言出必行,難怪她於1892年獲邀請加入皇家地理學會,這個當時已有62年歷史的學會向來只接納男性會員,而她因此成為該會首位女性會員。

Royal Geographical Society/Getty Images

1904年,她騎著蘇丹送給她的黑馬,獨自在摩洛哥的荒野馳騁一番之後,回到蘇格蘭後不久與世長辭,享年72歲。她一生活躍,永不言休。她去世後留下33,000英鎊遺產,約等於今天的400萬英鎊(4,100萬港元),證明她的遊記十分暢銷。這些遊記文字生動活潑,今天讀來仍然充滿新鮮感,為人帶來啟發;閱讀這些遊記,有如隨著她一起去旅行,讓我稍為滿足與她同行的願望。

對了,除了遺產之外,她還留下一間醫院惠澤世人。這就是位於喀什米爾Anantnag區的John Bishop Memorial Hospital醫院,這家醫院現在仍然存在,由落成後收容首位病人至今,已有超過一世紀的歷史。

Travels with

Keeping Up with Formidable Traveller Isabella Bird

This fearless Victorian adventurer wasn’t restricted by boundaries – of social convention or otherwise – as she hopped the globe leaving good deeds in her wake

For much of the 19th century, Isabella Lucy Bird sought out the furthest corners of the world, dashing off bestselling travelogues, wielding her cumbersome photographic equipment with patience and skill, and founding hospitals and orphanages, all the while undaunted by persistent sciatica and spinal complaints and shrugging off accidents and occasional attacks by hostile natives. She was a supremely eminent and highly admirable woman at a time when well-born English ladies were supposed to have few ambitions beyond matrimony and motherhood.

Left: Royal Geographical Society / Getty Images; Right: The Picture Art Collection / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

She did marry – Edinburgh surgeon John Bishop – but he died five years later, leaving her well-off. Single, full of fancies and with a boundless thirst for knowledge inherited from her polymath mother and her father, a barrister turned clergyman and keen amateur botanist, she set forth in earnest once again.

Most of the time she travelled solo. Interpreters, porters and the like were a necessity, but she didn’t feel the need of a chum. Once – armed with medicine chest and revolver – she joined forces with a British military expedition across the desert from Baghdad to Tehran, but this wasn’t because she thirsted for human company: she just fancied the adventure.

Wherever Bird travelled – America, Asia Pacific, Arabia – it would not have been easy going. Even assuming that I’d have been allowed to tag along, I’m not sure how much use I’d have been. I could have strapped up her broken ribs after she fell from her horse fording a river in Ladakh, India, but I’d have been quaking in my boots when a mob tried to set fire to the house where she was staying in Sichuan, China (a posse of soldiers turned up in the nick of time). I doubt I could have added much to the charm she exercised on the Maharajah of Kashmir to donate the land she wanted for a hospital, nor would I have had the patience to sit through the meetings to set up orphanages – even if I had been able to speak Korean or Japanese. I certainly wouldn’t have proved much of a rival to the one-eyed, poetry-loving desperado Rocky Mountain Jim, to whom she briefly lost her heart (but not her head) in Colorado.

I picture myself and Bird sitting across the campfire at night, her knitting, me trying to think of a good conversational opener. After all, this was the woman who tartly declared: ‘I still vote civilisation a nuisance, society [specifically Britain’s stuffy middle-class milieu] a humbug and all conventionality a crime.’

Bird’s default setting was ‘off the beaten track’. It wasn’t sufficient to sail halfway round the world to Japan – she wanted to visit the archipelago’s original inhabitants, the Ainu, in northern Hokkaido. And she did. Small wonder that in 1892 she was invited to join the Royal Geographical Society, which had been chaps-only since its establishment 62 years earlier.

Royal Geographical Society/Getty Images

In 1904, aged 72, Bird died pretty much as she had lived – not quite in the saddle, but in Scotland following a solitary jaunt riding a black stallion (a gift from the Sultan) across Morocco. She left £33,000 in her will – about £4 million today (HK$41 million) – testament to the popularity of her books. Still fresh and inspirational, reading them is pretty much like travelling beside her, which is probably as close as I should ever aspire to get.

Oh, and it’s worth noting that the John Bishop Memorial Hospital she founded in Anantnag, Kashmir, still stands today, more than a century after admitting its first patient.   

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book