藝術與文化

高雄藝術風潮

高雄藝術界蓄勢待發,雖位處台灣南面﹐但峰芒直逼台北。當地風華正茂,正積極蛻變成首屈一指的藝文樞紐

我站在美國當代藝術家James Turrell創作的裝置《科林斯運河──鑽石》前,其幽藍的光線變化多端,令我目眩神迷。有一瞬間,我甚至渾忘自己身在何方,直至低頭瞥見腳下陳舊的馬賽克磚地板,才驀然醒覺我身處的地方,與經常展出Turrell作品的現代展場截然不同。我既非身處邁阿密或紐約,亦非倫敦或香港,而是高雄。

提到台灣的藝術和文化,你大概會首先想起台北或者台中。但只要乘搭高鐵由台北南下,不出兩小時即達高雄,你會發現當地文化界正在大放異彩,而且獲得海外文化界的注視。為了提升它在創意版圖上的地位,當地政府推行政策支援其藝術發展。現時高雄藝文場所林立,告別以往的製造業城市形象,即使與亞洲最頂尖的都會比較亦毫不遜色。金馬賓館當代美術館與其他藝文場所令這個海濱城市擢升為新興文化樞紐,而且並不止於此,高雄以國際交流為先,努力不懈地為發展做勢,叫人刮目相看。

credit: Courtesy of ALIEN Art Centre

金馬賓館當代美術館於2018年11月開幕,前身為金馬賓館,於1960年代曾被用作軍營。這幢建築位於鼓山一路111號,大樓的結構60年來從未變改,正面由多條聳立的柱子支撐,與地址上包含的四個「1」字互相呼應。

原為軍營的內部經過精心整修,保留原有的樓面佈局,而原本鋪設於牆壁和地板上的一磚一瓦亦經仔細修復和保養。除了前身為通訊室的房間保持原狀,向原址的歷史致敬外,其餘房間則用來展出本土和國際藝術家創作的當代作品,典藏常設展更網羅不少罕見而不凡的傑作,例如剛才提到的James Turrell藝術裝置。這個藝術中心的英文名稱,不單取自創辦人邵永添的家鄉阿蓮區(舊有英文拼音為A-Lien),更具有多重意義。金馬賓館當代美術館執行長邵雅曼娓娓道來:「沒錯這裡是我們的家鄉,但我們也希望向本地人介紹國際藝術珍藏。藝術境界無非像飄渺的外星(英語為alien)世界,不是嗎?」

credit: Pier 2 Art Center

邵雅曼本身是知名畫家,她特別欣賞藝術中心得天獨厚的位置:一側朝向熱鬧的大街,另一側面向景色怡人的壽山。她透露,其他城市的藝術中心鮮有能坐享如此優越的位置。高雄更有強大的基建,為當地躊躇滿志的藝發計劃作強大後盾。紐約、巴黎和倫敦有港口和國際機場,高雄亦然,而且這裡更設有可供渡輪和遊艇停泊的碼頭,亦有輕軌和地下鐵路系統。

扎實的交通網絡能夠拉近高雄與鄰近藝術樞紐的距離,延展更廣闊的藝術生態體系。邵雅曼表示:「人們無需限制自己在一個地方欣賞藝術,若欣賞我們的品味,人們亦不計較遠近,專誠來看我們的展品。」

credit: Courtesy of ALIEN Art Centre

若高雄能成為樂於接待四方的藝術平台,邵雅曼便心滿意足。她指出:「單憑優美的建築物並不足夠,所以我們正竭力接洽不同國際背景和多元文化的單位。」

這個美術館並非母公司永添藝術旗下唯一的藝術項目,集團亦為精品酒店晶英國際行館策展藝術品,酒店內每個角落都擺滿藝術品,賓客更可購買客房內的掛畫。酒店的雲垂樓餐廳展示藝術家Olafur Eliasson創作的裝置《月相》,閃閃生輝的水晶銀球體反映多重光影,如夢似幻,令我看得入神,錯過了本來要乘搭的電梯。

論到最能反映高雄市藝術取態的象徵作品,則非擺放於酒店大堂的《舞動的粒子》莫屬。這座動態雕塑由藝術創意團隊ART + COM Studio創作,168顆在小池上懸浮的金屬球,象徵一個星期的總時數及1,000以下的質數數目,藉此表達藝術既有獨特意義,亦是生活的寫照。

稍後,我在酒店大廳候車前往衛武營國家藝術文化中心(簡稱「衛武營」)時,被台灣藝術家郭奕臣創作的新媒體藝術品吸引,再一次渾然忘我,幾乎連車也趕不上。

衛武營前身為軍營,坐落佔地47公頃的衛武營都會公園,面積達9.9公頃,偌大的中心內設有四個大型表演廳,更有一個戶外劇場,是世上同類場地中最大型的建築。衛武營於2018年10月開幕,由創辦Mecanoo Architects事務所的荷蘭建築師Francine Houben設計,靈感取自迎風搖曳的榕樹,因此中心外觀起伏不平。

原來,衛武營外層結構採用的鋼筋數量足以建造三座艾菲爾鐵塔,跌宕有致的外觀教人印象深刻,室內空間同樣令人歎為觀止。四個室內表演藝術場地包括音樂廳、表演廳、戲劇院和歌劇院,合共容納5,861名觀眾。我探頭一窺音樂廳,職員正忙於佈置場地,為明晚門票已售罄的《哈利波特電影交響音樂會》作好準備。這個音樂會系列一面播放《哈利波特》的電影,一面由交響樂團現場演奏電影的配樂。然而,音樂廳真正的魔幻魅力,在於其先進的音響和數碼科技,可因應不同的吸音和共鳴水平而運作。牆上的巨型管風琴更是不容錯過的全場焦點,它合共由9,085枝音管組成,是全亞洲最大型的管風琴。

credit: Courtesy of National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying)

不過,衛武營並非必須花錢入場才可享用的場地。位於地面的榕樹廣場24小時開放,是瑜伽練習、電影晚會和街頭音樂表演的公眾活動場所。公園範圍可供訪客野餐。衛武營融匯藝術,亦是以人為本的休閒空間。在蔚藍晴空下,我信步前往位於海濱的駁二藝術特區。它前身是台灣糖業公司所屬的25所倉庫,沿著輕軌鐵路而建,現時隨處可見漆滿塗鴉的建築物,當中絕大部分已蛻變成商店、咖啡館和展覽空間,另設戲院、音樂表演場地和鐵路博物館。此外有多家藝術工作室進駐這個特區。在我到訪期間,就有兩位藝術家為其三個月的駐場期譜上尾聲。其中一位是來自埃及開羅的Mina Nasr,他透過藝術裝置重新詮釋對不同城市的文化認同。其作品《未來之境》利用立方體和圓錐體來描繪高雄的面貌,藉此重新構想高雄的未來景象。

能夠浸淫本土環境和文化來創作,對Nasr來說很重要。他表示:「我目睹高雄的發展一日千里,而且能求同存異,令我驚歎不已。以首都台北為基地並非必然,我來高雄是為了探索更多事物,較小的城市亦可潛力無限。」

credit: Pier 2 Art Center

第二天,台灣最大型的獨立音樂節「大港開唱」在駁二隆重上演。附近設有一座4,000個座位的高雄流行音樂中心作流行音樂會場館。而距離高雄國際會議中心不遠處,亦將有全新的郵輪碼頭落成。高雄傾盡全力,不單連繫各地,更將人與藝術的距離拉近。

邵雅曼亦表示:「高雄有無限活力成就大事。每個城市都會透過吸收不同的養分而綻放新生面貌;對將來新的高雄而言,藝術和文化正是其養分。」我們看到的只是一切的開始。邵雅曼補充道:「當你獨自在漆黑中點起燭光,難免會感到孤獨。但只要這星星之火能夠吸引遠方的人,即使他們身處世上不同角落,亦會接踵而來。正因如此,我們將可成就更宏大的願景。」

本文原於2019年6月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

credit: Courtesy of Tamas Szvet
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Kaohsiung Ups Its Arts

Move over, Taipei – the southern Taiwanese city of Kaohsiung is blossoming as a leading arts and culture hub

There I stood, mesmerised by the changing bluish glow of James Turrell’s Corinth Canal, Diamond. For a split second, I’d forgotten where I was, until I looked down at the aged, institutional tile flooring – so different from the modern spaces in which Turrell’s art is usually hung. No, I wasn’t in Miami or New York. Neither London nor Hong Kong. I was in Kaohsiung.

When it comes to arts and culture in Taiwan, perhaps you’d think first of Taipei or even Taichung. But Kaohsiung, just an hour or so south of the capital by high-speed rail, is quickly capturing attention on the global cultural radar. No longer just a city known for its manufacturing industry, it’s now dotted with arts establishments that rival those of Asia’s greatest metropolises, supported by a government policy to elevate the city’s status on the creative map. The ALIEN Art Centre is only one of many such venues that have contributed to the coastal city’s recent rise as a new cultural hub. And not just any cultural hub, but one that prioritises international exchanges as it continues to build momentum.

credit: Courtesy of ALIEN Art Centre

The ALIEN Art Centre opened in November 2018. Before that it was the Kinma Military Hostel, a barracks built in the 1960s. The structure of the building hasn’t changed in 60 years; vertical pillars on its facade seem to illustrate its street address: 111 Gushan 1st Road.

Inside, the barracks are beautifully refurbished, with their original floorplan intact, original brickwork and floor tiles recovered and preserved. Apart from the former communications room that pays homage to the site’s history, other rooms showcase contemporary work from both local and international artists, with some as rare and exceptional as Turrell’s, which hangs as a permanent exhibition. The art centre is named after A-Lien, the hometown of founder Shao Yung-tien, but the title carries multiple meanings. ‘We are in our hometown, but we would like to introduce international resources to the land,’ says Shao Yaman, CEO of ALIEN Art Centre. ‘Shouldn’t art feel like it’s from an alien planet anyway?’

credit: Pier 2 Art Center

An established painter herself, Shao appreciates the rarity of the centre’s locale: a bustling street on one side, the idyllic Shoushan Mountain on the other. This kind of location, Shao says, just doesn’t come along in many other cities. Kaohsiung also has the infrastructure to support an ambitious art landscape. New York, Paris and London all have a waterway and international airports; well, so does Kaohsiung, and it also has a terminal and marina for ferries and yachts, and light rail and underground systems.

These transportation networks can bridge the distance between Kaohsiung and its neighbouring arts hubs to create a wider ecosystem. ‘People don’t necessarily need to be based in one place to look at art,’ says Shao. ‘Those on the same wavelength as us won’t mind travelling for it.’

credit: Courtesy of ALIEN Art Centre

Mainly, she hopes that Kaohsiung can become an arts platform where everyone feels welcome. ‘Beautiful buildings aren’t enough, so we are working hard to connect with international resources and diverse cultures,’ she says.

The art centre isn’t the only project under the ALIEN umbrella. The art group also curates pieces for boutique hotel Silks Club, where art fills every corner and guests can purchase works that hang in their rooms. In the hotel lounge, I’m bewitched by Olafur Eliasson’s dreamy Lunar Watch. Distracted by the reflecting sunlight and shadows cast off this gleaming circle of silvered crystal globes, I miss my lift.

And if there’s any piece that can encapsulate the city’s attitude towards art, it’s the hotel lobby’s Dancing Particles by ART + COM Studio. One hundred and sixty-eight floating metal spheres hang above a still pond, representing the total number of hours in a week as well as the number of prime numbers below 1,000. They’re a literal reflection of the role that art plays in our everyday lives.

Later in the lounge, while distracted (again) by a new-media piece by Taiwan artist Kuo I-chen, I almost miss my ride to the National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts.

Kaosiung

Also known as Weiwuying, it is simply enormous. It sits on a 9.9-hectare lot on the 47-hectare Weiwuying Metropolitan Park, formerly the site of a military camp. Housing four full-sized performance halls under one roof (and one outdoor theatre), it’s the largest arts venue of its kind in the world. Dutch architect Francine Houben of Mecanoo Architects took inspiration from billowing banyan trees for the design of the centre, which opened its doors in October 2018.

From the outside, Weiwuying’s undulating shape is impressive; enough steel rods were used in the structure to build the Eiffel Tower three times over. Inside, it’s equally astounding: at full capacity, the indoor venues – the Concert Hall, Recital Hall, Playhouse and Opera House – seat a total of 5,861. I peeked in as the Concert Hall was being set up for the next night’s sold-out performance in the Harry Potter Film Concert Series, in which a film is shown while an orchestra plays the score alongside. The true wizardry here, though, is the state-of-the-art acoustic and digital technology, able to alter the sound dynamics of the room to cater to each individual performance. And the pièce de résistance is the enormous pipe organ, which with 9,085 pipes is the largest in Asia.

Kaosiung
credit: Courtesy of National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying)

But Weiwuying isn’t a venue you need a ticket to enjoy. The Banyan Plaza, at street level, is open 24 hours a day. It hosts public yoga sessions, movie nights and busking events. Visitors can picnic in the park. It’s a centre for the arts, but it’s also intended as a centre for the people.

Blue skies accompanied me along the light rail tracks to the harbourside Pier-2 Art Centre, which is made up of graffiti-strewn buildings. For the most part, the 25 former warehouses of the Taiwan Sugar Company are now shops, cafes and exhibition spaces, with the addition of a cinema, a music venue and a railway museum.

They also house art studios, and during my visit two artists were at the tail end of their three-month residencies. One of them, Mina Nasr, is from Cairo and reinterprets the cultural identity of cities in his installations. With A Possible Environment, he reimagines the future of Kaohsiung, using blocks and cones to represent a cityscape.

‘It surprised me to see how Kaohsiung is super developed and that it accepts all differences,’ he says. It was important for Nasr to immerse himself in the local environment and culture. ‘We don’t need to be in the capital city; I’m here to discover something else. Smaller cities have the potential to grow.’

Kaosiung
credit: Pier 2 Art Center

The next day, Pier-2 was hosting the Megaport Music Festival, the largest indie music festival in Taiwan. Nearby, a new 4,000-seat pop music concert hall is being built. A new cruise ship terminal is also taking shape, just a short distance away from the convention centre. Kaohsiung is not only bridging the gap from city to city – but also from people to art.

‘Kaohsiung has the energy to make it big,’ says Shao. ‘Every city will digest and have new life, and for the new Kaohsiung, that’s art and culture.’ And we’re just at the beginning: ‘You might feel alone when you light a candle in the dark. But if they are attracted by the flame, people will come close, even from all the different corners of the world. So we will be able to form something even bigger.’ 

credit: Courtesy of Tamas Szvet

Cathay Dragon flies to Kaohsiung from Hong Kong 49 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book