柬埔寨

柬埔寨的雨林桃源

在柬埔寨的熱帶雨林深處,有一座全國矚目的新酒店。不過,奢華設計只是包裝,保育才是精粹

環顧同行各人均一身充足裝備,再回望自己身穿的恤衫和窄牛仔褲,我感到懊惱,我這才記起酒店曾寄電郵建議我穿上「探險裝束」。很明顯,我無法跟《人在野》主持人兼探險家Bear Grylls相提並論。奈何飛索在前,我唯有抓緊它,硬著頭皮朝度假村的方向滑過去。

Shinta Mani Wild度假村位於柬埔寨南部的豆蔻山脈國家公園,距離首都金邊西南方數小時路程。名稱中的「Wild」(野外)名副其實,這裡的確洋溢原始野趣。度假村外圍有貨真價實的越南戰爭吉普車列隊歡迎,令身在野外的感覺更加強烈,而一條長達353米的索道,更宣示著度假村的野外探奇哲學。遊客可沿著這條索道飛越山谷,途徑樹林、石澗溪流、瀑布和橋樑,然後直衝至度假村的Landing Zone Bar酒吧。在那裡,有雞尾酒和冰凍毛巾侍候。

雖然這種浮誇的迎賓方式世間絕無僅有,但卻毫不教人詫異,因為度假村是美國炙手可熱的建築師Bill Bensley的傑作,東南亞多間豪華酒店,均出自這位名家之手。他跟Shinta Mani集團攜手合作,在柬埔寨構建出一系列以其命名的酒店和度假村,設計充滿巧思。奢華風格是Bensley的拿手好戲,而且更可說是其一貫作風。

Bensley的招牌特色在度假村無處不在。15座帳篷散佈在延綿1.5公里的河畔,極具規模;帳篷小屋內的鮮艷圖案和儲物皮箱,散發著強烈的叢林個性;在雨林中高懸的紗網吊床,更突顯他大膽的創意。

不過,這裡跟其他Bensley設計的度假村也有不同之處,那就是「野外」,背後有這樣的一段故事:數十年來,柬埔寨西南面這片土地一直飽受過度砍伐的問題困擾。約十年前,Bensley獲悉當地拍賣伐木特許權,於是買下這片達350公頃的雨林,同時把壯麗瀑布、河流和豐富的物種納入懷中。其後,他著手研究如何保護這片大自然瑰寶,以免其未來發展遭危害。

Shinta Mani Wild度假村總經理Sanjay Choegyal表示:「酒店位處東南亞面積最大和完好的熱帶雨林中。Bill認為在地球這個受過度砍伐的一隅建設度假村,是向全世界宣揚反偷獵、反採礦及保育的好機會。」

雖然旅客在滑過飛索後即可入住奢華帳篷小屋,並享用上等美酒,然而保護生態環境才是度假村存在的真正理由。

雨林自2016年納入豆蔻山脈國家公園版圖以來,便受到環保條例的保護,但伐木和偷獵仍禁之不絕。有見及此,度假村便與柬埔寨的國際保育非政府組織Wildlife Alliance攜手合作,共同保護這個國家公園南部一帶的生態環境,而酒店亦斥資興建園林護理站,站內有八名園林管理員負責巡邏酒店以至附近範圍,賓客可隨行親身體驗實況。

一天早上,我跟隨Wildlife Alliance組織的巡邏隊出發,前往鄰近的野外探索。我們騎上越野電單車,穿越崎嶇不平的山路,來到茂密的叢林,再徒步走過狹窄的小徑,深入葉林。兩名荷槍實彈、手執拘捕大權的巡邏員先行開路,過程絕不兒戲。與我們一起巡邏的酒店代表Bong Yi稱:「如果他們發現有人疑似在砍樹,有權把疑人拘捕和關押。涉及動物權益的罪行,更可處以大額罰款。」

雖然區內的猴子、貓和松鼠等小動物經常成為獵物,但有跡象顯示,大象亦會在此出沒,因此同樣面臨被捕獵的風險,但Yi表示:「獵人眼前的頭號目標是麝貓,因為牠們可生產貓屎咖啡,帶來可觀利潤,巡邏隊亦曾捉拿一名攜著一頭懶猴的偷獵者。我第一次跟他們來到此地時,看到這裡設下了不少陷阱,於是我們即場將它們破壞,只是直到現時我們仍發現有陷阱存在,可見都是新近放置的。」巡邏期間,團隊成員便發現了多個捕獵器,於是將其一一砸爛,當中兩個更是簇新的,提醒我們巡邏工作永不能鬆懈。

儘管如此,Yi可以肯定這裡的保育工作已略有成果,當中教育可記一功。他說:「小時候,我常在森林裡捕捉動物,但當時我們管不得那麼多,只知是為了生計。現在,我明白到我們的工作是教化村民和保護環境。我認為本地村民已漸漸了解保育的價值。」他們亦開始使用相機陷阱(利用感應器捕捉動物動態自動拍攝),評估當地的野生生態發展,有助奠定國家公園的地位。

Shinta Mani Wild度假村舉辦的其他行程亦不離開大自然,讓住客了解亞洲這片並不廣為人知的雨林。各式各樣的野外活動視乎季節而定,包括在森林撿拾當天晚餐的食材(例如野生無花果、山竹及多種馬鈴薯)、划獨木舟穿越狹窄的河流和堤岸、騎單車登上豆蔻山、在河中飛蠅釣魚,以及在附近的石澗暢泳。

無論如何,這裡所有活動皆為推廣保育信息,而Bensley及Choegyal均希望能引起賓客的共鳴。Choegyal表示:「長遠而言,我們有望籌得足夠善款,支持保育工作繼續進行。園林護理站一年的營運費用約需10萬美元,因此我們鼓勵賓客一起共襄善舉,積極參與環保工作。雖然現在坊間對保育的態度已有極大轉變,但這些項目並不能一蹴而就,需要按部就班才能成事。我們只寄望度假村能帶來改變,為環保出一分力。」

與其他聲稱探奇但其實活動平平無奇的度假村相比,Shinta Mani Wild度假村的體驗才稱得上是真正的歷奇。由於柬埔寨長年酷熱潮濕,有些旅程的確較為艱辛。所以若你真的想到此一遊,我有一個小小的忠告:切記要穿上探險裝束!

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往金邊的航班,每周有14班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Jungle sanctuary in Cambodia

In the rainforests of Cambodia lies the country’s most spectacular new hotel. But it’s not just about luxury – it’s even more about conservation

I had forgotten about the email that said ‘dress for adventure’. I look across at the team in military gear around me and rue my skinny jeans and shirt combination – Bear Grylls I am clearly not. But as I take hold of the zip line that will take me into the resort, I conclude it’ll just have to do.

At Shinta Mani Wild, located in Cambodia’s southern Cardamom National Park, a couple of hours southwest of the country’s capital Phnom Penh, the ‘wild’ is very much operative. At the property’s edge, the authentic jeeps from the Vietnam War that greet me set the tone, but it’s the zip line that highlights its adventurous philosophy. From here, the 353-metre-long line flings you high across a valley, over trees, rock pools, streams, waterfalls and bridges, before spitting you out at the property’s Landing Zone Bar. Then comes the juxtaposition: cocktails and cold towels await at the end.

Cambodia

It must be one of the world’s most extravagant entrances to a hotel – but not altogether unexpected. Shinta Mani Wild is the brainchild of Bill Bensley, the hot-at-the-moment American architect whose designs are found in high-profile hotels across Southeast Asia and who, in conjunction with Shinta Mani, now has his own collection of uber-design hotels and resorts in Cambodia. Extravagance is something Bensley does well and, perhaps, naturally.

Bensley’s trademark touches appear across Shinta Mani Wild. There’s the sprawl, with 15 tents spread along a 1.5-kilometre stretch of river; there’s the strong jungle theme, with kitschy patterns and storage trunks found in the guest tents; and there’s the bold design ideas, such as net hammocks suspended high above the rainforest.

Cambodia

But there’s something in this property that makes it different from Bensley’s others. That’s the ‘wild’. And that comes with a backstory.

Over decades, this part of southwestern Cambodia has been subjected to extensive logging. Almost a decade ago, Bensley got a tip that logging concessions were being put up for auction, and he managed to purchase this 350-hectare piece of Cambodian nature, complete with its dramatic waterfalls, waterways, and abundant flora and fauna. He then set about working out how to protect it from some of the practices that threatened its future.

‘This property is part of the largest unbroken rainforest in Southeast Asia,’ says Sangjay Choegyal, general manager of Shinta Mani Wild. ‘By building this property, Bill saw an opportunity to tell the world about anti-poaching, anti-mining and conservation in the context of what is happening in this part of the world.’

There might be luxury tents and cocktails awaiting after a zip line, but the conservation message is the resort’s raison d’etre.

With its designation as part of Cardamom National Park in 2016, the area received environmental protections. But that didn’t stop attempts at logging and poaching. In response, Shinta Mani Wild founded a partnership with Wildlife Alliance, an international, conservation-focused NGO based in Cambodia, to help protect the southern area of the national park. It funds a ranger station, housing eight rangers to patrol the property and the wider area. Guests are welcome to accompany these expeditions.

One morning, I join a Wildlife Alliance patrol into the surrounding wilderness. We take dirt bikes into the mountains on gravelly paths, arriving in a dense forest with narrow tracks leading further into the foliage. It’s serious business, led by two alliance patrolmen armed with AK-47s and  the authority to arrest. ‘If they find anyone doing anything related to logging, they can arrest them and the people could go to jail,’ says Bong Yi, a hotel representative joining us on the patrol. ‘For animal-related offences, there are big fines.’

Cambodia

Small animals such as monkeys, cats and squirrels are the most common targets in this area, but tracks suggest that elephants also roam these parts. But the most prized of all? ‘The civet cats are especially sought after at the moment. They can fetch a lot of money because of civet coffee,’ says Yi. ‘They’ve caught a poacher with a slow loris before. The first time I went on a patrol of this area, we saw a lot of traps. We destroyed them. Some of them were still set, so they were placed recently.’ On our patrol, the team finds several traps and destroys them. Two are new – a reminder that this is an ongoing process.

Yet progress has been made, and a lot of that has come through education, as Yi testifies. ‘When I was young, I used to try and catch things in the forest, because it was just about survival. We didn’t know any better. But now I understand our job is to educate and protect. I think people – the local villagers – are starting to understand that there is value to protecting this stuff.’ They’ve started camera trapping (photographing animals remotely with motion sensors), too, to determine the extent of the wildlife, which also helps to justify the area’s national park designation.

Shinta Mani Wild’s other expeditions all bring you closer to the wilderness, giving you a better understanding of this largely unknown part of Asia’s rainforest. Outings include foraging in the wilderness for ingredients for the night’s meal (wild figs, mangosteens and various potatoes end up on the menu), navigating kayaks through narrow rivers and embankments, biking high into the Cardamom Mountains, fly-fishing in the river and swimming in nearby rock pools, all subject to the whims of the seasons.

But everything that happens here relates to the broader conservation message, which Bensley and Choegyal hope will resonate with guests. ‘In the long run, we can hopefully generate donations to keep this thing going. A ranger station costs about US$100,000 a year to operate, so hopefully guests will also become inspired to support this initiative and get involved in a bigger way,’ says Choegyal. ‘There has already been a huge shift in the community. But these projects are never an overnight fix – it’s a long-term project with a slow burn. All we can hope for is that it has an impact.’

Compared with some properties professing an outdoor experience while being relatively tame, Shinta Mani Wild’s activities should not be taken lightly; some are intensive, especially with Cambodia’s year-round humidity and heat. So if there’s one bit of advice that I would pass on should you visit: make sure you come dressed for adventure.

Cathay Dragon flies to Phnom Penh from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book