結伴同遊

與導演Tim Burton結伴踏上怪誕之旅

跟隨這位導演從美國市郊走到維多利亞時代的英國,感受奇幻而詭異的氛圍

要了解Tim Burton的思路,必須從異於常人的心態出發。這位頭髮蓬鬆的大導演在陽光明媚的加州柏本克市郊區成長,自小已跟他人格格不入。每逢周末早上,當其他小孩在收看卡通片之際,這個小孩卻沉醉在詭異的恐怖片和日本怪獸電影中。他愛往離家不遠的墓地上流連,獨自在那裡繪畫和沉思。更怪誕的是Burton的父母以磚頭將他房間的窗戶封起來,而他的母親則經營精品店,售賣以貓為主題的小玩意。

Credit: dpa picture alliance/Alamy Live News

由於Burton在如此奇怪的環境下成長,因此擅於在平淡的市郊小鎮生活中發掘超現實的元素。1984年,他在迪士尼製片廠任職,拍攝了一部名為《怪誕復活狗》的黑白短片,講述一個男孩把亡犬起死回生後,小狗卻變成怪物。故事改編自瑪麗雪萊筆下的科幻經典,背景卻改成美國夢所標榜的模範鄉鎮。可是,當時的迪士尼認為短片調子過於黑暗,不適合兒童觀看,於是束之高閣,上映無期,Burton亦被辭退。幸好,影片在接近30年後得以重見天日,Burton與迪士尼再度合作,將故事重新拍成定格動畫長片,上映後備受好評。

《幻海奇緣》講述一個男孩因擁有鋒利的剪刀手而飽受誤解和排擠,Burton於佛羅里達州Lutz鎮重演自己的童年回憶,把那裡搭建成光怪陸離的市郊。他把鎮上的草坪悉心修剪,並把灌木叢裁剪成動物造型,甚至徵得當地居民同意,把房屋外牆塗上美術總監Bo Welch形容為「海洋灰綠、牛油色、暗肉色、灰藍色」的色調。

Collection Christophel © Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

離開了市郊老家,Burton似乎更感賓至如歸。他在新英格蘭郊區人跡罕至的山上炮製出恐怖喜劇《嘩鬼家族》,電影雖以康涅狄格州為背景,但實際取景的地點是佛蒙特州。後來他前往真正的英格蘭拍片,現時更在當地居住。維多利亞時代的英倫,相信最能讓他感到如魚得水;不過,只要Burton揮舞他的魔法棒,任何暗黑奇情的故事都可以搬到現代上演。只要前來他位於倫敦Belsize Park區的工作室參觀,就能令你恍然大悟。一個世紀前,插畫師Arthur Rackham是這個地方的住客,他曾以奇幻暗黑的風格,為《愛麗絲夢遊仙境》繪畫插圖,而現任住客Burton亦剛巧於2010年將Lewis Carroll的原著小說拍成電影,而且風格同樣詭異。今天,工作室擺放了Burton無數令人瞠目結舌的畫作、電影海報,以及各式各樣的古怪紀念品。

Credit: TCD/Prod.DB/Alamy Stock Photo

Burton將Sondheim的音樂劇《魔街理髮師》改編,把嗜血理髮師的故事搬上大銀幕;故事發生於Fleet Street街,不妨前往一遊。若往北走,可順道到訪位於哈特福郡的都鐸式宏偉莊園Knebworth House。在Burton絕無僅有的哥德式超級英雄猛片《蝙蝠俠》中,這裡就是經常被黑夜或影子籠罩的韋恩莊園。此外,《無頭谷》及《小飛象》等多部由Burton執導的作品均於英格蘭取景。其中,最近上映的《小飛象》以迪士尼1941年的經典動畫為藍本。

Robert Harding/Alamy Stock Photo

不過,各位要有心理準備,Burton並非健談的旅伴,他素來擅長以影像溝通,所以不會侃侃而談。雖然與Burton相處,不必用嘴巴說話,卻可能在酒吧和餐廳吃喝後找不到紙巾抹嘴,因為他常常會信手拈起紙巾,將滿腦奇想畫下來。若因此無法抹掉嘴角沾上的芥末,請不必介意,因為紙巾上的古怪圖畫定會令你著迷。這些紙巾畫不少更獲書刊和展覽的讚譽,包括2009年於紐約現代藝術博物館舉辦的回顧展。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travels with

A Journey Through the Macabre with Tim Burton

A tour from suburban America to Victorian England with the director with a taste for magic and the macabre

To keep pace with Tim Burton, step inside the mind of an outsider. The frizzy-haired filmmaker was always a misfit, starting from when he was a child growing up in the sunny suburbs of Burbank, California. While other kids watched Saturday morning cartoons, a young Burton delighted in grisly horror flicks and Japanese monster movies. He loved to draw and to think alone among the gravestones of a cemetery near his home. If that wasn’t enough to make him the odd boy out, his parents bricked up his bedroom windows and his mother operated a cat-themed novelty shop.

Credit: dpa picture alliance/Alamy Live News

Amid this awkward upbringing, Burton became adept at finding the surreal in the suburban. In 1984, while working at The Walt Disney Studios, he directed black-and-white short Frankenweenie, about a young boy and his resurrected zombie-dog. It was Mary Shelley’s monster classic reimagined in the cookie-cutter communities that make up the American dream. Deemed too dark for children at the time, the short was shelved and its maker fired. Fortunately, Frankenweenie got a second chance at life; almost three decades later, it was remade as a full-length stop-motion animation by Burton and Disney and released to rave reviews.

In Edward Scissorhands, a story about a misunderstood social outcast with razor-sharp limbs, Burton found a replica of his own past in the small town of Lutz, Florida, where he created the film’s off-kilter suburban universe. He adorned its manicured lawns with animal-shaped topiary and, with permission from the residents, painted the houses in what the film’s production designer Bo Welch called a palette of ‘sea-foam green, butter, dirty flesh and dirty blue.’

Collection Christophel © Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

Burton seems most at home away from his original suburban upbringing. He concocted his ghoulish comedy Beetlejuice on a lonely hill in rural New England (the film’s set in Connecticut but was shot in Vermont). And then there’s actual England, where the auteur lives. The Victorian era would have been the ideal time period for him but it’s nothing that a touch of the Burtonesque – a whimsical mash-up of the magical and the macabre – can’t bring back to life in the modern age. You’d see what I mean if you visited his workplace in London’s Belsize Park. A century ago, it was occupied by Arthur Rackham, the illustrator known for his fantastical and sometimes sinister takes on tales like Alice in Wonderland (Burton released his own cinematic vision of Lewis Carroll’s tale in 2010). Today, it’s littered with Burton’s boggle-eyed drawings, as well as movie posters and odd paraphernalia.

Credit: TCD/Prod.DB/Alamy Stock Photo

You could also visit Fleet Street, the original setting of Sweeney Todd, the tale of the murderous barber Burton adapted from the Sondheim musical. Then head north to Hertfordshire. There you’ll find Knebworth House, the grand Tudor-style estate that appeared, always in shadow or darkness, as Wayne Manor in Burton’s unlikely gothic-superhero hit, Batman. Many of Burton’s other features, including Sleepy Hollow and his most recent, Dumbo – an update of the 1941 Disney classic – were also filmed in England.

Robert Harding/Alamy Stock Photo

Be warned – Burton is not a voluble travelling companion. He’s known to be more comfortable communicating visually than vocally. He also has a reputation for snatching up paper napkins at bars and restaurants to doodle on. But if you don’t mind being left with the occasional dab of mustard on your lips, you’ll be enchanted by drawings so weird and wonderful they’ve been celebrated in numerous books and exhibitions, including a 2009 retrospective at New York’s Museum of Modern Art.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book