日本

日本最後一片桃花源

從德島走進四國,親身體驗最純正的東瀛原始風光及文化

我在日落後抵達位於市郊的Hotel Ridge溫泉旅館,除了蟋蟀不間斷的鳴聲外,四周萬籟俱寂,而我亦在漆黑的夜幕中緩緩入睡,直至翌日早上,才真正欣賞到毗鄰德島的城市鳴門之風光。從旅館的花園眺望,海景隨即映入眼簾,遠處更有一道吊橋若隱若現。這片沐浴於陽光中的淨土依然靜謐安詳,恍如四國島天然秘境與沉靜節奏的縮影。

我一邊享用這家日本傳統高級旅館提供的豐富早餐,一邊跟酒店的服務部經理若原宏範閒聊,他表示:「2月份是最適合遊覽此地的時節,因為在清冷的空氣中,漫天星斗清晰可見,畢竟這裡位處郊區,所以特別容易看到天上繁星。此外,食品種類亦多不勝數,由於瀨戶內海近在咫尺,海流帶來大量魚群,因此新鮮海產供應源源不絕。這個田園地區亦不乏各式各樣優質蔬菜,空氣當然也格外清新。」

即使你是日本的旅遊常客,並不表示你曾踏足四國。日本有四大列島,最大的是東京及大阪所在地本州,其次是以寒冷氣候及原始純淨的國家公園聞名的北海道;第三大島是涵蓋福岡及鹿兒島的九州,而四國無論面積、人口,抑或遊客人數均位居榜末。雖然它並非最具人氣,卻意味著當地不但遠離繁囂,還得以妥善保存傳統文化。

德島是國泰港龍航空的新航點,這個前臨瀬戶內海的中型城市以擁有400年歷史、風格優雅的民俗舞,以及盛大的年度舞蹈慶典「阿波舞祭」而聞名。當地的郵筒上放有舞者銅像,就連當地的國際機場近日亦改名為「德島阿波舞機場」。每年8月,德島都會封路三天,「舞林中人」及觀眾會聯群結隊湧上街頭,以舞蹈狂歡盡興。

Tim Whitby / Alamy / Argusphoto

單車租賃公司Cycle Shikoku讓客人在四國不同城市取還單車,掌舵人Norman White稱:「大家普遍認為日本是個含蓄內斂的國家,但『阿波舞祭』一如國內其他祭典,可謂盡現日本人狂野作樂的一面,每逢節慶日子,他們便會玩得樂極忘形。」

遊客即使在祭典以外時間到訪德島,也可前往阿波舞會館觀看舞蹈表演,了解阿波舞的典故。台上的女舞者頭戴高帽,高舉雙臂向天擺動,姿態修長優美,而男舞者則屈膝俯身前進。然而,這種藝術形式歡樂輕快,表演者反覆高唱:「跳舞的傻瓜和看跳舞的傻瓜都是傻瓜,不一起跳舞太吃虧了。」這真是說得太對了。

旅客可從四國的東岸大城德島出發前往各地:南下為一眾優美海灘,往北則可前往多個港口城市,再轉乘小輪到直島、豊島及犬島三個著名的「藝術之島」;若往西行,便會到達蒼翠的祖谷溪谷,一路享受遠足樂,更可體驗激流漂筏;繼續朝西前進,最終可抵達位於四國西端的最大城市松山,而沿途還會經過無數村莊,當地瓦頂房屋及零星的工業區增添純樸情懷,原野風光一覽無遺。

Shikoku Tours旅行社創辦人Rod Walters表示:「四國適合那些已遊遍日本其他地方,但仍然覺得意猶未盡的遊客。他們到訪過日本十遍,便自然會想來四國旅遊。以往,四國的交通不如現在方便,所以這裡猶如日本最後的桃花源。現時島上有大橋落成,也有直達的新航班,變得四通八達。」

Credit: Irwin Wong

這個島嶼麻雀雖小五臟俱全,別具意義的文化地標隨處可見。舉例而言,現時日本全國尚存12座保留原貌的古城 遺跡,其中四個就位於四國,而前往四國八十八箇所參拜朝聖,更是佛教徒盛行的文化活動。信徒雖可沿朝聖路線駕駛或乘坐旅遊車,但最傳統的方法,還是徒步走畢1,200公里。雖然不少寺廟已有數百年歷史,當中更蘊藏國家認證的文化遺產,但這條流傳千年的路線才是旅程中最具歷史價值的一環,而旅客亦不難看到一些身穿傳統白色素衣、頭戴尖頂草帽和手握登山杖的禮佛人士。

Walters說:「來自世界各地的旅人來這裡朝聖是出於對佛教的興趣,除了追求靈性上的領悟,同時也想環繞路線攀山遠足,以獲得一份成就感。」

Left: John S Lander / LightRocket / Getty Images

四國內陸坐擁鬱鬱蔥蔥的山脈及湍急溪水,滲出一股靈秀之氣,而位置中央的祖谷溪谷更是探索其美麗天然奧秘的勝地。山麓下的蜿蜒峽谷成為激流漂筏的熱門地點,而古老的蔓橋更能讓人不需「美圖」也能拍出如畫美景。

在天氣較涼的月份,泡溫泉是最合適的活動。祖谷溪有多個溫泉,而為人熟悉的和之宿祖谷溫泉酒店則設有面對山谷的風呂。乘搭纜車前往位於谷底的溫泉,置身被大自然包圍的溫泉水之中,無論是在炎炎夏日細看茂密的叢林、在秋天醉看漫山遍野的紅葉,抑或在冬日欣賞樹梢覆蓋白雪的景色,均能體驗超凡脫俗之感。無論你泡過多少次日本溫泉,總會在這裡發現一些更正宗、更非同凡響的感受。

Antony Giblin / Getty Images

其實這個道理放諸四國也同樣貼切。Walters稱:「曾經有幾位80多歲來自夏威夷的旅客,他們雖然遊日經驗多達15次,但是當第16次選擇來到從未踏足的四國時,他們都異口同聲讚歎這趟是他們最精采的日本之旅。原因在於本地人熱情好客,而且一切未受俗世污染;對他們來說,這裡才是體驗日本真貌的地方。」

從2018年12月19日至2019年3月30日,國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往德島的航班,每周有兩班;國泰航空設有由香港飛往大阪的航班,每周有42班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Japan

Japan’s final frontier

Tokushima is a gateway to the island of Shikoku, an underexplored region of nature and culture that is pure Japan

I arrived at the onsen resort Hotel Ridge after sundown, and fell asleep to the complete darkness and silence of the countryside, save the insistent chirping of crickets. So it wasn’t until the next morning that Naruto, the next town over from Tokushima, revealed itself to me. The sight from the villa’s garden was a stretch of sea, with a streamlined suspension bridge in the distance. In the daylight, the place remained quiet and still – and was an indication of the natural wonders and serenity found across the island of Shikoku.

Hotel Iya Onsen, Tokushima, Japan

‘I think the best time to come here is in February, when the air is still cold and you can clearly see the sky filled with stars,’ says Hironori Wakahara, service manager at the hotel, as I enjoy an elaborate set breakfast befitting a high-end ryokan (traditional Japanese hotel). Hotel Ridge is part of The Ryokan Collection, a prestigious consortium that includes luxury accommodation across Japan. ‘We’re in the countryside, so the starry skies are outstanding. And there’s the food. Around here we have a lot of fresh seafood, as we’re right next to Setouchi Sea and the ocean currents bring fish right to us. In this rural area we also get lots of good vegetables and of course fresh air.’

Tokushima, Hotel Ridge

Even if you’ve been to Japan a few times, chances are it wasn’t to Shikoku. Japan has four main islands, with Honshu the largest and home to Tokyo and Osaka. Next is Hokkaido, known for cold weather and pristine national parks. Third-largest is Kyushu, encompassing Fukuoka and Kagoshima. Meanwhile, Shikoku, the smallest of the four, is the least populous – and the least visited by tourists. But this lack of attention has meant seclusion and well-preserved culture.

Tokushima, Cathay Dragon’s new destination, is a medium-sized city edged by the Seto Inland Sea. It overwhelmingly celebrates its 400-year-old, elegant folk dance and its massive, annual dance festival, the Awa Odori. Bronze dancing figurines adorn post boxes. Even the international airport was recently renamed Awaodori Airport. Every August, the streets are closed for three days and flooded by teams of dancers and spectators who revel in abandon.

Tokushima, Japan
Tim Whitby / Alamy / Argusphoto

‘People think of Japan as a reserved country, but the Awa Odori – like many festivals – is a time when you get to see Japanese people go completely insane,’ says Norman White, who runs Cycle Shikoku, a bicycle rental company that allows customers to pick up and return bikes in different cities across Shikoku. ‘During festival time, all bets are off.’

Visitors who arrive outside of the festival period can watch a stage show and learn about the dance at Awa Odori Hall. Women wear tall hats, with their arms reaching skywards, for an elongated effect, while men stay closer to the ground with bent posture. But the art form is lighthearted; dancers sing the refrain: ‘Dancers are fools. Onlookers are fools. Anyway, we are all fools. Thus, it’s better dancing.’ Can’t argue with that one.

Hotel Ridge, Tokushima

From Tokushima, which is the main city on the island’s east coast, travellers can go south to beaches or north to the port cities where ferries will take you on to the famed ‘art islands’ of Naoshima, Teshima and Inujima. Heading west leads to Iya Valley, a lush, mountainous area for hikes and whitewater rafting. And finally, keep going to Shikoku’s west coast, and you’ll reach Matsuyama, the island’s biggest city. All along the way, village after village shows off rural beauty and old, tile-roof homes, with few industrialised areas in between.

‘Shikoku is for people who have been to the rest of Japan and still want to see more,’ says Rod Walters, founder of Shikoku Tours. ‘They come to Shikoku after 10 visits to the rest of Japan. It hasn’t been easy to get to until recently, so it’s been like the last frontier of Japan. Now there are new bridges and new flights, so it’s become easier to access.’

Credit: Irwin Wong

Although small, Shikoku is packed with culturally significant landmarks. Of the 12 original-construction castles that remain in all of Japan, for instance, four of them are in Shikoku. A popular cultural activity is a Buddhist pilgrimage route that circles the island and covers 88 temples. Devotees could drive the route or take a tour bus, but the classic way is to cover the 1,200 kilometres on foot. While many of the temples are hundreds of years old, with nationally recognised treasures among them, it’s the 1,000-year-old route itself that’s the most historically revered part of this journey. Visitors to Shikoku are likely to run into pilgrims, recognisable in a traditional outfit of white shirt and conical straw hat, and often carrying a walking stick.

‘People from all over the world do the pilgrimage out of interest in Buddhism,’ says Walters. ‘There’s the spiritual aspect, but also the aspect of hiking and walking around a circular course, and feeling a sense of accomplishment.’

Left: John S Lander / LightRocket / Getty Images

With lush mountains and rushing rivers found inland, Shikoku carries a spiritual air. Iya Valley, at the centre of the island, is the place to experience its intense natural beauty. Gorges cut through the foothills, making this a popular area for whitewater rafting, while traditional bridges woven from vines make for great photo-ops.

But in the cooler months, don’t miss the hot springs. There are several onsen in Iya, and the famed Hotel Iya Onsen has a bath facing directly into the valley. You have to take a funicular cable car down the hill to reach the onsen. Whether surrounded by the lush greens of summer, fiery hues of autumn or snow-flecked trees of winter, the experience of steeping in the hot water and facing nature’s bounty is otherworldly. No matter how many times you’ve sat in an outdoor bath in Japan, there is something that’s just a little more authentic and astonishing about Iya Onsen.

Iya Valley, Shikoku, Japan, North-East Asia, Asia, tokushima
Antony Giblin / Getty Images

The same could be said about much of Shikoku. ‘I had customers from Hawaii in their 80s who had been to Japan 15 times, and on their 16th time they came to Shikoku for the first time and said it was the best trip they’d had,’ says Walters. The reasons? ‘People were so welcoming and everything seemed untouched. It still seemed like the real Japan to them.’

Cathay Dragon flies to Tokushima from Hong Kong twice a week from 19 December 2018 to 30 March 2019; Cathay Pacific flies to Osaka from Hong Kong 42 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book