講飲講食

果醬封存的旅途回憶

果醬這種簡單食材的背後,其實蘊藏了無窮的創意靈感、旅遊印記,甚至跟朋友分甘同味的期待之情

在大銅鍋裡燉煮的水果漸漸融化成濃稠潤澤的凝漿,一縷縷馥郁的甜酸香氣徐徐飄出。這種把新鮮水果「鍊」成蜜餞的魔法,一直教我心馳神往。

我初次跟果醬相遇的情景,至今依然印象清晰。那年我才八歲,在茶餐廳看著店員把晶瑩的杏桃醬塗在剛出爐的牛油多士,我急不及待地把它一口咬下,頓時齒頰留香,甜美的味道久久不散。

後來我在加國留學,一個陰冷的冬日,我在茶水間找到一瓶自家製的蜜桃果醬,我「卜」一聲旋開了瓶蓋,瓶內瓊漿乍現眼前:雲呢拿糖漿浸滿一片片煮過的蜜桃。我舀了一羹送進口,又禁不住再多舀一羹,細味那只應於夏日出現的暖心滋味。從此以後,我便沉醉於果醬的精製藝術,不能自拔。

往後,我在飲食傳媒工作了十年,對做果醬的熱情只有與日俱增。我遇到來自世界各地的廚師、食品製造商和餐廳東主,他們的創造力往往為我帶來啟發,讓我發掘出果醬的新口味。我曾先後為了Melba (雲呢拿雪糕伴蜜桃和紅桑子醬) 和Belle Helene (糖漬梨子伴朱古力醬) 兩款甜品,探索蜜桃、紅桑子、梨子與朱古力各種味道的可能,亦曾把特濃咖啡、楓糖漿、煙肉和洋蔥混在一起,製成濃郁的薄餅醬。

製作果醬,更讓我留住美好的旅途回憶,例如苦澀甘香的塞維亞柑橘、清爽的日本柚子、香甜的阿馬爾菲檸檬和芳香撲鼻的卡拉布里亞佛手柑,把它們製成果醬後,這些味道得以保存,變成我的旅遊紀念品。當中,我最喜歡的是別具異國風情的榲桲,這種味道酸澀的果實是蘋果和梨子的近親,只要加入檸檬汁慢火燉煮,其堅硬的金黃果肉便會軟化,變成橘紅色,並傳出淡淡花香,吃下去還有蜂蜜甜味,教我無從抗拒。

每年,我都會遠赴他鄉,採購優質榲桲,然後把它們製成足夠全年享用的果醬,最重要的,是留一些贈予摯友,因為大夥兒共晉下午茶,在鬆餅抹上果醬和柑橘醬,便是最美味的吃法。

看著好友吃著我製作的果醬津津有味的樣子,也許是我的最大樂趣。這令我領略到,當中可貴之處不在自家製果醬本身,而是為了追尋人生的小確幸所投入的時間和心血。而果醬,不僅凝住了時令的美味,更是回憶、遠方的風味和良朋樂事的結晶。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

The Culture of Food

Jam Making: How to Preserve Your Travel Memories

The simplicity of jam belies its complex ingredients: inspiration, fruits from past travels and the anticipation of sharing it with friends

A tangy plume of sweet, acidic steam rises from a large copper pan as the simmering fruits gradually boil down to a glossy, sticky puddle. The alchemy of turning fresh fruits into preserve never ceases to amaze or inspire me.

I vividly remember my first jam encounter: eight years old, apricot jam in a cha chaan teng. I watched as the glistening jelly was spread across freshly buttered toast; eagerly sinking my teeth into the crust and feeling the sweet fruit dribble down my chin. 

Fast-forward to my college years. During a bleak Canadian winter, I came across a jar of homemade peach preserve in the pantry. The seal broke with a crisp ‘pop’, revealing a beautiful peach compote inside: hearty morsels of cooked peach drenched in vanilla syrup. I took a spoonful, then another; savouring the warm taste of summer. It was that moment, with that peach jam, that sparked a lifelong passion for the art of preserving.

Working in food media for a decade has only fuelled this fire. Crossing paths with chefs, food producers and restaurateurs from around the world constantly inspires me to recreate flavours – a tribute to their creativity. I’ve experimented with dessert flavour profiles from peach and raspberry for Melba, to pear and chocolate for Belle Helene. I’ve mixed espresso, maple syrup, bacon and onion to create a rich bacon jam to spread on pizza.

My passion for preserves has given me long-lasting mementos of my travels: the bitterness of Seville oranges and zesty Japanese yuzu; sweet Amalfi lemons and Calabria’s aromatic bergamots. Though for me, nothing matches the exotic allure of quince: an acerbic fruit closely related to apples and pears. With a twist of lemon, gentle heat, and time, the hard yellow flesh magically yields into soft, crimson wedges with a floral aroma and honeyed flavours I can never say no to.

I go out of my way to source quality quinces every year, canning enough to last the next 12 months – but more importantly, to have enough to gift to friends: jams and marmalades are at their best when shared over scones and tea.

Watching friends enjoy the fruits of my passion is perhaps the most satisfying process of all. I watch and understand that it isn’t always about the exclusivity of the product – but the time and effort put into the simple pleasures in life. I believe jam not only preserves the season’s best: it also preserves memories, flavours of distant lands, and the joy of friendship.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book