雅加達

在雅加達偷得浮生半日閒

雅加達確實是個人口稠密、繁忙熱鬧的城市,但只要你肯花點時間和心思,就會發現,在這裡也可以享受寧靜悠閒的時光

我永遠都不會忘記初嚐榴槤的滋味。那是我踏足雅加達的第二天,有人給我一個冬甩── 對一心想品嚐當地美食的旅客而言,這未免太平平無奇了。我咬了一口,以為餡料必定是朱古力或果醬之類,結果卻始料不及。許多人將這種氣味濃烈的土產水果視為上天賜予人間的美食,但我對榴槤的第一印象,卻是帶有煤氣和腐肉氣味的流心奶黃醬。

雅加達就如榴槤一樣,為你的感官帶來刺激;無論對這個地方是愛是恨,感覺同樣強烈。我至今已在雅加達住了六年,眼見這裡的確到處雜亂無章:街上霓虹處處,三輪車左穿右插;既有型格潮服店、播放當地流行音樂dangdut的酒吧,亦有恬靜的殖民地遺址和愈起愈高的摩天大廈,令我更加肯定這個地方並非人見人愛。

Christopher Alexander

不過,在林立的大廈與紛擾的鬧市裡,其實也可找到某種與這一切格格不入的寧靜。沒錯,是寧靜。

白天乘飛機前來雅加達,從機艙的窗口往外望,是一片密密麻麻的紅陶瓦頂,有如巨型的俄羅斯方塊遊戲。若在晚上抵埗,就會見到這個城市從漆黑一片的爪哇海上突然冒起,有如一群磷光閃閃的生物,在月光下從海中深處游出來產卵。

隨便在街上走十分鐘以上,定會路經雅加達比比皆是的kampung,即是村莊。市內有1,000萬人口,大部分居於這些縱橫交錯的街巷內,但這裡的生活步伐卻別有一番鄉村風味。屋簷上懸掛著精美的木鳥籠,籠內小鳥在鳴囀高歌;孩子在橋上放紙風箏,而在烈日下晾曬的蠟染布料旁邊,躺著昏昏欲睡的貓咪。在錯綜而密集的巷弄中,隨時會有意想不到的奇遇,也有無盡的驚喜等待你發掘:想去參觀婚禮嗎?在MV中出鏡亮相如何?只要你點頭說好就行了。要吃冬甩嗎?這個……暫時不必了。

Muhammad Fadli

若你嚮往「離地」的生活,市內隨處可見的摩天大廈,以及不時見到的吊臂起重機,定能令你感到滿足。這一切見證了數十年來的投資和發展,將雅加達塑造成為亞洲增長速度最快的城市之一。在黃昏登上BCA Tower大樓的56樓,就來到Skye,這裡白天是餐廳,晚上則化身型格的酒廊,你可在寬敞的露台上將城中景致盡收眼底。這是城中富裕階層的熱門聚腳點,你可以在這裡與他們一起一面欣賞金光璀燦的雅加達夕陽美景,一面享用冰凍啤酒、精美點心和雞尾酒。

在雲端過了飄飄然的一晚之後,星期日早上是悠閒地重回地面,再次「腳踏實地」的時候。從蘇迪曼街以至坦林大道一帶的路段,每逢星期日早上6時至11時,會禁止車輛通行,空曠的大街上可見到有人在跑步,也有人帶著狗一起散步,還有一家大小出來享受天倫之樂。沒有汽車的星期日,有如一場輕鬆隨意的馬拉松,讓人體驗城市的另一面。這亦是光顧無處不在的kakilima熟食小販的大好機會:他們的熟食小攤檔像個流動廚房,穿街過巷,售賣各款雅加達街頭小食,包括美味雞粥、香甜黑咖啡、蛋炒飯、沙嗲、香辣豆腐及叫做 siomay的印尼魚肉燒賣。這些小攤檔看上去像寄居蟹一樣,被一團蒸氣和丁香煙的煙霧包圍著。

Muhammad Fadli

沿路走去,就來到雅加達充滿殖民時代色彩的舊區KotaTua,這裡昔日是荷蘭殖民地,也是荷蘭東印度公司的大本營。無數船隊從這裡出發,展開探索、貿易及征服之旅,從印尼群島多個偏遠的島嶼帶回各種香料。當時雅加達名為巴達維亞,壟斷了肉豆蔻、胡椒和肉豆蔻皮的貿易。這是調味珍品,從土耳其伊斯坦堡以至英國倫敦的人均對這些香料趨之若鶩,為雅加達帶來豐厚利潤。香料貿易令這個寧靜的港口變身為全球商貿帝國的樞紐,儼如東方的阿姆斯特丹。

時至今日,這個由香料建設的王朝仍在各處留下遺跡:外牆爬滿藤蔓的殖民時代店屋,旁邊是荒廢的村舍;市政府樓房漠然地矗立運河岸旁,水上映照出日益破蔽的外貌。要緬懷昔日的光輝歲月,不妨到Cafe Batavia餐廳去。這是市內其中一座歷史最悠久的建築,藏於Fatahillah Square廣場一隅,俯瞰舊荷蘭市政廳。

Cafe Batavia餐廳建於1830年代初,經歷過幾許變遷:曾是一位荷蘭總督的辦事處、一家藝廊,以及19世紀時人們乘蒸汽船前往麥加朝聖的出發地點。現在這座建築物變身餐廳,地下還設有一間酒廊。你若在這裡碰到Indiana Jones向頭戴土耳其氈帽的男子購買猴子,亦不會感到意外。你可步上爪哇柚木樓梯,欣賞掛在牆上的名人照片,其中有影星Humphrey Bogart與蘇卡諾、爵士樂泰斗Louis Armstrong與Bogart愛妻Lauren Bacall等,然後走進主餐廳Grand Salon及旁邊的長廊餐廳,亦可到曾獲《Newsweek》雜誌評為全球最佳酒吧的Churchill Bar小酌。

Muhammad Fadli

你也可以到城外去,享受更寧靜的時光。艷陽下的白沙海灘和吊床,或許與大部分人心目中的雅加達有所出入。然而,從雅加達北岸的港口Ancol乘快艇出發,只需半小時,眼前就會出現風光如畫的Pulau Seribu,意思就是「千島」。這一連串島嶼位於毗鄰雅加達的萬丹省以北,共計約有350個,從雅加達灣至爪哇海綿延45公里,既有漁村風光,亦有椰林樹影,海裡更有珊瑚礁,洋溢一片熱帶風情。

Pulau Macan(老虎島)是個細小島嶼,島上只有一個生態度假村,村內的開放式小木屋以貝殼及浮木為飾,面臨恬靜的湖泊,有如豪華版的《魯賓遜漂流記》。這裡距離市區不到一個小時,卻有如來到另一個世界。

Christopher Alexander

自從我來到有大榴槤之稱的雅加達之後,學會了接受出乎意料的事物,隨時準備面對「驚喜」。就像果王榴槤一樣,人們對雅加達的印象亦各走極端,同時亦無定論:街上小食檔冒出的油煙和香氣;時裝展內絲質蠟染布料因摩擦而發出窸窣之聲;在摩天大廈的頂樓有雞尾酒;路邊攤檔的咖啡,以及滴在指縫、黏答答的沙嗲醬,這一切在城中共冶一爐,帶來令人目不暇給的體驗,只要放慢節奏深入探索,總會有收穫。不過別期望初次就會一見鍾情。

也有熱鬧的時候……

雅加達五大出人意表之處

Muhammad Fadli

蒸汽龐克風格的電單車

雅加達的龐克搖滾樂迷喜歡將電單車改裝得別具型格,彷如在熱帶叢林同時上演《霹靂神探怒掃飛車黨》與《崩裂》,是當地的次文化

溫德爾-溫德爾巨型木偶

兩米高的大鬍子印尼神偶與樂隊一起在街上巡遊,載歌載舞,通宵達旦。這種巴達維亞人的傳統為雅加達獨有

Christopher Alexander

雌雄同體

印尼語waria解作易服者,有自己的歷史和傳統,帶點神秘色彩。雅加達有一個由waria歌手組成的樂團,帶著手提卡拉OK器材到各地表演,亦經常在婚宴喜慶場合上獻唱

人力車與法拉利

雅加達的交通擠塞舉世知名,同時充分體現馬路上人人地位平等,因為由小販的手推車以至最名貴的房車,都一起擠在繁忙的路面上,無分彼此,寸步難行

婆婆也瘋狂

在雅加達,派對無分年齡。清晨時分,村莊裡的銀髮婦女會伴隨節拍輕快的流行曲,一起大跳熱情的Zumba舞

國泰航空設有由香港飛往雅加達的航班,每周有25班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Jakarta’s Tranquil Side

Jakarta is as chaotic and clustered as you’ve heard. But it’s also a place of peaceful moments – if you know where to look

I will never forget my first taste of durian. It was my second day in Jakarta and someone offered me a doughnut – not the most exotic introduction to local cuisine, perhaps. I took a bite, expecting a chocolate filling or maybe jam. I was very much mistaken. For many, this pungent local delicacy is a taste of heaven – my first impression of durian was of an oozing, eggy custard, smelling of cooking gas and carrion.

Like the durian, Jakarta is an assault on the senses, and divides opinion just as strongly. I’ve been here for six years now and can confirm it’s not to everyone’s taste. Sure, it’s delirious, unfettered madness; a blur of neon and pedicabs. There are chic boutiques, shuttered-up dangdut (local pop music) bars, dreamy colonial ruins and ever higher high-rises.

Jakarta, tranquil
Christopher Alexander

Yet if you look beyond the concrete and the chaos, you’ll also find an odd sort of calm. That’s right: calm.

Flying in by day, Jakarta’s patchwork of terracotta rooftops rears up in the window frame like a vast game of Tetris. Arriving at night, the city appears suddenly from the blackness of the Java Sea, a twinkling bloom of phosphorescent creatures risen from the deep to spawn in the moonlight.

At street level, walk in any direction for more than 10 minutes and you’ll soon find yourself in one of Jakarta’s many kampung (villages). These labyrinthine backstreets are home to the vast majority of the city’s 10 million souls, but the pace of life has a distinctly rural feel. Songbirds warble from ornate wooden cages hanging in the eaves of houses, children fly paper kites from bridges and batik fabrics dry alongside sleepy cats in the sun. In this tangled warren, unlikely encounters lurk around every corner and infinite adventures are waiting to unfold, so long as you’re willing to say ‘yes’. Come in and join this wedding? Yes. Star in a music video? Yes! Care for a doughnut? Um… maybe next time?

Jakarta, tranquil
Muhammad Fadli

If the high life is more to your liking, look no further than the many skyscrapers and their entourage of attendant cranes, testament to decades of investment and development that have sculpted Jakarta into one of Asia’s fastest-growing cities. Ascend to the 56th floor of BCA Tower in the late afternoon and you’ll find Skye, a bistro by day and stylish lounge bar by night that opens out onto a wide veranda overlooking the city. From up here, you can enjoy panoramic views of the city, painted gold at sunset and accompanied by cold beers, canapés and cocktails alongside the Jakarta jet set.

After an evening with your head in the clouds, Sunday mornings are a leisurely saunter back to Earth. This is when the roads are closed to traffic from Sudirman to Thamrin, inviting joggers, dog walkers and families to stroll the empty streets. Like the world’s most unhurried, meandering marathon, car-free day – every Sunday from 6-11am – is a way to see the city from a new perspective. It’s also a good excuse to sample Jakarta’s street food – chicken porridge, sweet black coffee, egg fried rice, satay, spicy tofu and siomay (fish dumplings), served by the ubiquitous kaki lima – wandering herds of food hawkers carrying their mobile kitchens like hermit crabs in a puff of steam and fragrant kretek (clove cigarette) smoke.

Jakarta, tranquil
Muhammad Fadli

Just up the road, the city’s old colonial district – known as Kota Tua – used to be the epicentre of operations for the Dutch East India Company in what was then a Dutch colony. From here, countless voyages of discovery, trade and conquest sailed out to distant corners of the archipelago, then came home crammed with spices. At that time, Jakarta (or Batavia as it was known) held a lucrative monopoly on nutmeg, pepper and mace: highly prized commodities in kitchens from Istanbul to London. Spice made the capital rich, transforming this sleepy port into the lynchpin of a global merchant empire, built in the image of Amsterdam.

Today, remnants of this dynasty built on spice are peppered all around: colonial shophouses wrapped in vines lean on mildewed cottages and municipal buildings, standing aloof and crumbling slowly into the canals. For a step back in time to their glory days, drop in to Cafe Batavia, one of Jakarta’s oldest buildings, tucked away in a corner of Fatahillah Square overlooking the old Dutch City Hall building.

Built in the early 1830s, Cafe Batavia has lived many different lives: as a Dutch governor’s office, an art gallery and a point of departure for 19th century pilgrimages to Mecca by steamship. Its latest incarnation is a restaurant, including a lounge bar on the ground floor where you wouldn’t be surprised to glimpse Indiana Jones buying a monkey from a man in a fez. Climb the Javanese teak staircase past photographs of Bogart and Sukarno, Satchmo and Bacall, to the Grand Salon and dining gallery. You can also stop for a tipple in the Churchill Bar, once named the world’s best by Newsweek.

Jakarta, tranquil
Muhammad Fadli

You can peek outside the city for quieter moments, too. White sandy beaches and hammocks swinging in the tropical sun are probably not what most people would associate with Jakarta. However, a 30-minute speedboat ride from the port of Ancol on the city’s northern shore brings the regency of Pulau Seribu (meaning ‘thousand islands’) floating into view. This string of islands (actually numbering about 350) stretches 45 kilometres from Jakarta Bay into the Java Sea, north of neighbouring Banten province, and is home to fishing villages, coral reefs and coconut groves.

Pulau Macan (Tiger Island) is a tiny island that supports an exclusive eco-resort, where open-fronted cabins decked in shells and driftwood face out onto a tranquil lagoon. This is Robinson Crusoe meets Rockefeller; less than an hour from the city, but also a world away.

Jakarta, tranquil
Christopher Alexander

Ever since I first took a bite out of the Big Durian, I’ve learned to expect the unexpected and be prepared for surprises. Like the king of fruits, Jakarta is a city that divides opinion and defies definition: it’s the smoke and spice of street vendors and the swish of silken batik on catwalks; it’s cocktails on skyscrapers, grit in roadside coffee and the sticky gum of satay between the fingers. In a city of a million different flavours, it always pays to slow the pace and dig a little deeper. Just don’t expect to get chocolate on your first try.

Maybe not so quiet after all…

Five of Jakarta’s wildest sights

Jakarta, tranquil
Muhammad Fadli

Steampunk Vespas

Jakarta’s subculture of punk rockers on custom motorcycles – Mad Max meets Quadrophenia in the tropics

Ondel-Ondel

Two-metre-tall moustachioed puppets with accompanying marching bands dancing through the streets late into the night. This Betawi tradition is unique to Jakarta

Jakarta, tranquil
Christopher Alexander

Waria

A wandering band of cross-dressing singers carrying portable karaoke sets, the waria have a mystic heritage and a proud history of blessing weddings and special occasions with their presence

Jakarta, tranquil

Rickshaws and Ferraris

Jakarta’s world famous traffic is also the great leveller – in this bustling herd you will find everything from lowly peddlers to the highest rollers

Raving grandmas

Even Jakarta’s pensioners know how to party. In the early morning, you’ll find motley crews of older citizens dancing Zumba en masse to happy hardcore music in the kampung

Cathay Pacific flies to Jakarta from Hong Kong 25 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book