歐洲

到訪愛爾蘭的理由

她集古老與現代於一身,氣候異常潮濕,但酒吧氣氛異常溫馨。當地旅遊作家PÓL Ó CONGHAILE和畫家NICHOLAS HELY HUTCHINSON帶我們旋風式體驗愛爾蘭

斟滿一杯完美的一品脫啤酒需時119.5秒。健力士啤酒廠設於都柏林的Guinness Storehouse有專人詳細示範斟酒步驟,但我今次觀賞的地點並非酒廠。

我提早離開辦公室,希望在都柏林Glasnevin區的JohnKavanagh酒吧搶到前排座位。在這個星期五午後,調酒師尚算清閒,我斜倚著19世紀的吧檯,看著第一波顧客湧入酒吧,直至人潮最終散去,酒吧復歸平靜。這間酒吧又被稱作「掘墓人酒吧」,因它毗連GlasnevinCemetery墳場,從古至今在墳場工作的掘墓人都經常在這裡飲酒作樂。酒吧有其時髦的一面,亦供應近年流行的下酒菜。這裡最適合體會愛爾蘭新舊交融的現況,就像泡沫和酒液比例恰到好處的啤酒一樣。

Patrick Donald

愛爾蘭的魅力在於既有壯麗風光,亦可感受細膩的生活點滴。想要深入探索這個國泰航空的最新航點,你需要一星期時間,在都柏林遊逛一番後,再租輛車作自駕遊,探索風景絕佳的愛爾蘭勝地。

大多數愛爾蘭旅遊行程都由首都都柏林展開。遊客不是趕著到GuinnessStorehouse品嚐揚名國際的愛爾蘭啤酒,就是在聖三一學院古意盎然的Old Library圖書館,一睹九世紀泥金裝飾的聖經手抄本《Book of Kells》。可是,若要體驗這座城市的本質,你需要去鮮為人知的地方尋幽探秘,嘗試與當地人閒聊,從他們的對話看出一些端倪。都柏林經過多年經濟衰退後,現正逐步復甦,新落成的時髦辦公大樓和餐廳星羅棋佈。但掘墓人酒吧及其他恍似時光停頓的地方,依舊是都柏林的人氣景點。

從都柏林出發,沿M9高速公路駕車兩個半小時,便抵達愛爾蘭其中一座最古老的城市沃特福德。這座古城由維京人於公元914年左右建成,欲知箇中歷史可參觀幾間位於舊城區Viking Triangle的博物館,但我建議大家直奔單車租賃店。

Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

為什麼?當地新建了一條沿舊鐵路線而建的Waterford Greenway (visitwaterfordgreenway.com) ,這條單車和步行徑全長46公里,穿越綿延起伏的農地和河岸,一直通往迷人的海邊小鎮Dungarvan。我鍾情Ballyvoyle Viaduct高架橋,以及CopperCoast海岸一覽無遺的美景,後者曾是19世紀的銅礦場,現已成為聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園。但我亦喜愛位於Durrow鎮的糖果店兼酒吧O’Mahony’s,因為店主讓我感到賓至如歸。

從沃特福德經N25公路向西南駛至科克,你可在這座城市過夜,翌日沿全長2,500公里的Wild AtlanticWay公路(意為野性大西洋之路)自駕遊,從南部海岸的美食村Kinsale,一路駛至愛爾蘭北陲的馬林角(位於Donegal郡)。這條近年開發的旅遊路線,吸引了我們這些本地人重新探索西岸。

我坐上愛爾蘭唯一的纜車Dursey Island Cable Car(durseyisland.ie),它懸吊於壯麗崖邊,並非滑雪場那種登山纜車,亦絕不豪華。居住於美不勝收的Beara半島盡頭的少量農夫和本地人,都以這條纜車線當作日常的交通工具。大部分到訪這個地區的遊客,主要活動都是以Killarney鎮和Ring of Kerry環島公路為主,但如果你肯另闢蹊徑,將會發現自己恍如來到世界盡頭,等待這架迷你纜車載你橫渡德塞海峽驚濤駭浪的上空。愛爾蘭擁有大量值得在Instagram分享的風景,另一個絕美景色是本期封面:沿著蜿蜒道路通往最西南端的Mizen Head岬角。

Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

最近我前往西岸的County Limerick郡,下榻Limerick市的五星級酒店AdareManor(adaremanor.com)。 若旅費充裕,想盡情揮霍,這間酒店絕對能滿足需求。這座哥德復興式城堡最近經過精心修繕,幸而酒店深諳保育歷史的重要性,保存了19世紀建築師AugustusPugin設計的壁爐,以及綠油油而且平坦如桌球桌的高爾夫球場等。住客可在TheDrawing Room享用午膳、預約在新開張的CarriageHouse品嚐晚餐、或在著名的倫敦設計團隊DavidCollins Studio操刀的隱密酒窖內品酒。若你無暇在此住宿過夜,不妨預先向TheGallery訂座,坐在高聳的穹頂天花板下享用下午茶,體驗一下時間可追溯至Dunraven伯爵時代的英式傳統。

從Limerick向西北進發,進入County Clare郡後,可前往巴倫國家公園(burrennationalpark.ie)一睹怪石嶙峋的喀斯特地貌。每年5月至9月底,當地滿山遍野鮮花怒放。若碰不上花期,Burren Perfumery香水廠(burrenperfumery.com)、HazelMountain Chocolate朱古力工場(hazelmountainchocolate.com)和愛爾蘭首間憑美食奪得米芝蓮的Wild Honey Inn酒吧(wildhoneyinn.com)均長年歡迎遊客光臨。波光粼粼的Flaggy Shore海濱也不容錯過,途中可順道到小小的農場雪糕店Linnalla(linnallaicecream.ie)品嚐美味特色雪糕。

Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

眾所周知,愛爾蘭大詩人Seamus Heaney曾在他寫的詩篇《Postscript》中這樣描述過這個地區︰

駐足但求盡收美景

卻落得徒勞無功

熟悉和陌生的景物倏忽而過

宛如猛然撲向車窗的微風

心扉總是不經意被掀開

對了,還有天氣︰不要指望愛爾蘭陽光普照。防曬霜固然要帶,但輕便雨具、結實鞋子和應付惡劣天氣的外套更是缺一不可。我帶著以上所有裝備,跟隨Wild Atlantic Cultural Tours的Denis Quinn,前往Mayo郡的Ballina鎮附近展開覓食之旅。我倆在海岸線挖掘青口、蜆和螄蚶後,他從車尾箱拿出一個煮食爐,將所有海鮮倒進鍋子,加入半個檸檬和大量白酒烹煮,然後我們席地而坐,大快朵頤,想起來亦回味無窮。

Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

如時間充裕,可隨Mayo北部的環島線路前往愛爾蘭的東北區,經Sligo鎮和Donegal鎮南部轉入北愛爾蘭,或經CausewayCoast海岸折返都柏林,途經巨人堤道、卡里克吊橋及多個《權力遊戲》取景拍攝的地點。

我最愛鄰近Ballymoney鎮的DarkHedges徑,這條由山毛櫸樹夾道的幽深小路就是在《權力遊戲》出現過的King’s Road。18世紀,Stuart家族在小徑兩旁種下山毛櫸樹,經過數百年生長,樹枝彎曲交纏,形成一幅可怕又迷人的奇景,尤其是晨暮時分,樹枝更恍如嶙峋巨爪。

既然來到DarkHedges,在貝爾法斯特停留一晚亦合乎情理,亦可順道去參觀鐵達尼號紀念館的展覽(當地人常說:「她離開這裡時還好好的。」)或參加當地美食遊,嚐盡城中令人垂涎的熟食、嶄露頭角的餐廳和手工氈酒,再沿環島路線折返都柏林。這趟旅程彷彿一眨眼便過去了。

今年9月都柏林的Oriel Gallery畫廊展出更多Nicholas Hely Hutchinson的作品。 nicholashelyhutchinson.com

Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

都柏林社區

都柏林其實沒有明顯劃分成不同社區,這裡沒有蘇豪區,如果問人如何前往「市中心」,對方想必會滿臉困惑。因為這裡一切都非常集中,即使徒步前往亦很方便。

你一定對Temple Bar酒吧區略有所聞,這是指酒吧、餐廳及商店林立的River Liffey河南岸,這一帶是遊客聚集的旅遊熱點,但大多數都柏林人在周末都對此區退避三舍。

相反,若想體驗夜生活,不妨跟隨學生和嬉皮士,前往Aungier Street街和Wexford Street街,這裡有好幾家休閒餐館(如Dublin PizzaCompany薄餅店、Aungier Danger冬甩店和西班牙餐館Las Tapas de Lola),以及多間手工啤酒吧,如Against the Grain和現場音樂表演場地Whelan’s。

不遠的TheLiberties區(亦稱為Dublin8)是城中的新興地區,既有將貨物放在手推車上出售的街頭攤檔,亦有古董店、型格咖啡店及威士忌蒸餾廠Teeling Whiskey Distillery等人氣新貴進駐,令小區洋溢都會活力。

GrandCanalDock船塢不但是愛爾蘭樂隊U2自設錄音室的所在地,亦是科技人才的消遣熱點(至少白天確實如此),皆因Facebook、Airbnb和Google的歐洲總部均在舉步之遙,區內餐廳的水準更不斷提高。

最後,如果你的馬車變回了南瓜車,你還可以前往保持喬治時期風貌的Harcourt Street街,這條街道充斥像Krystle和CopperFace Jacks等低俗夜店,入夜後變身為熱鬧頹靡的夜生活集中地(可別說我們沒事先提醒你)。

國泰航空於6月2日推出每周四班由香港飛往都柏林的航班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Europe

Irish fantasy: From Dublin to the green beyond

It’s ancient. It’s modern. It can be awfully wet, but the pubs are super warm. Local travel writer PÓL Ó CONGHAILE and painter NICHOLAS HELY HUTCHINSON take us on a whirlwind tour of Ireland

It takes 119.5 seconds to pour the perfect pint. The ritual is described in detail at Dublin’s Guinness Storehouse, but that’s not where I’m watching it.

I’ve left the office early for a front row seat at John Kavanagh, a pub in the capital’s Glasnevin district. It’s Friday afternoon, the bartenders aren’t yet busy, and I lean on the 19th century bar, watching first surge move towards final settle. Known as ‘The Gravediggers’, due to its history as a watering hole for workers at Glasnevin Cemetery next door, the pub has its hip side, and a contemporary tapas menu in the lounge. It’s the perfect place to watch old and new Ireland merge, just like that pint.

Ireland drinking
Patrick Donald

Big sights; small moments. Ireland’s magic is a balance of both. To discover Cathay Pacific’s newest destination, you’ll need a week to explore – for wandering around Dublin, and then hiring a car to uncover its most sublime spots.

Most Irish itineraries start in the capital, Dublin. Visitors here dash between the Guinness Storehouse to taste Ireland’s most famous export and the Old Library of Trinity College to see the Book of Kells, a lustrous ninth century manuscript. To get under Dublin’s skin, however, you need to slip into sneakier spaces – to talk to locals and see where the conversations take you. Ireland’s capital is rebounding after years in recession, dotted with ritzy new office blocks and restaurants. But stolen moments like those at The Gravediggers are its dopamine hits.

From Dublin, it’s a 2.5-hour drive on the M9 motorway to Waterford, one of the country’s oldest cities, founded by Vikings around 914 AD. You can learn about that in several museums in Waterford’s ‘Viking Triangle’ heritage district, but I’d recommend making a beeline for a bike hire shop.

Ireland view
Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

Why? The new Waterford Greenway (visitwaterfordgreenway.com) – a 46-kilometre cycling and pedestrian laneway that traces an old railway line through rolling farmland and riverbanks to the coastal town of Dungarvan – is an addictive addition to the county. I love the Ballyvoyle Viaduct, and panoramic views of the Copper Coast – a Unesco Geopark named for its 19th century mines. But I also love how the owners of O’Mahony’s, a sweet shop and pub in the town of Durrow, greet me like family.

From Waterford, follow the N25 road southwest towards Cork. You could overnight here before joining the Wild Atlantic Way – a 2,500-kilometre touring route that runs from the foodie village of Kinsale on the southern coast to Ireland’s most northerly point at Malin Head, in County Donegal. It’s a new route, but has encouraged locals like me to explore the west coast.

Dangling on the end of the dramatic cliffs, I discover Ireland’s only cable car. Forget ski gondolas or fancy carriages, the Dursey Island Cable Car (durseyisland.ie) is a lifeline for a small clutch of farmers and locals at the end of the breathtaking Beara peninsula. Most visitors to this part of the country stick to the town of Killarney and the Ring of Kerry, a gorgeous circular driving route. Drop off the beaten track though, and you could find yourself at the ends of the Earth, waiting for this tiny gondola to ferry you over the mutinous Dursey Sound. Ireland is stuffed with Instagrammable moments. Another is on the cover: Mizen Head, a wiggly drive down to the extreme southwest.

Ireland trip
Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

My latest trip west took me to County Limerick. In the city of Limerick, I stayed at the five-star Adare Manor (adaremanor.com). If you’re going to splurge, this is the place to do it. The gothic revival-style mansion has recently finished a meticulous refurbishment – though thankfully with a keen eye towards preserving its heritage details, including a fireplace designed by architect Augustus Pugin and golf greens slick as snooker tables. Take lunch in The Drawing Room, book dinner at the just-opened Carriage House, or enjoy a tasting in a secret wine cellar designed by London’s David Collins Studio. If you can’t stay, book ahead for afternoon tea beneath the soaring, vaulted ceilings of The Gallery – a tradition stemming from the Earl of Dunraven’s day.

From Limerick, head northwest into County Clare, where the Burren National Park (burrennationalpark.ie) reveals its rocky, karstic moonscape. Wildflowers appear in May and vanish again by the end of September, but treats like the Burren Perfumery (burrenperfumery.com), Hazel Mountain Chocolate (hazelmountainchocolate.com) or the Wild Honey Inn (wildhoneyinn.com) – the first pub in Ireland to earn a Michelin star – are less fleeting. One point to aim for, with the little Linnalla farmhouse ice-cream shop (linnallaicecream.ie) as a bonus, is the silvery seascape of the Flaggy Shore.

Ireland building
Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

Famously, the area features in Seamus Heaney’s poem Postscript:

Useless to think you’ll park and capture it
More thoroughly. You are neither here nor there,
A hurry through which known and strange things pass
As big soft buffetings come at the car sideways
And catch the heart off guard and blow it open.

Ah yes, the weather. Don’t come to Ireland for sun. Bring sunscreen, but also light raingear, sturdy shoes and layers you can pull on when needed. I brought all of these things on a foraging trip near Ballina, in County Mayo, with Denis Quinn of Wild Atlantic Cultural Tours. After scouring the shoreline for mussels, clams and cockles, he pulled a stove from his car, chucked in the lot, added half a lemon and a glug of white wine, and we ate it there and then. Delicious.

Ireland trip
Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

From north Mayo, if time allows, your circuit should take you northeast – veering into Northern Ireland via Sligo and south Donegal. A trip back to Dublin via the Causeway Coast is doable, with stops at the Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede rope-bridge and several Game of Thrones locations.

My favourite is the Dark Hedges near Ballymoney, a brooding avenue of beech trees that briefly starred in the show as the King’s Road. The Stuart family planted the trees in the 18th century, and they’ve twisted and turned over the centuries to become a fascinating, frightening spectacle today. At dawn or dusk, the branches seem to unfurl like fingers.

From the Dark Hedges, it makes sense to break for Belfast to enjoy an overnight stay – maybe a visit to the Titanic Belfast exhibition (‘she was fine when she left here,’ as locals are fond of saying), or a local foodie tour – taking in the city’s mix of cracking delis, up-and-coming dining and craft gin – before completing the circle back to Dublin. You’ll wonder where the time went.

See more of Nicholas Hely Hutchinson’s artworks at Dublin’s Oriel Gallery in September. nicholashelyhutchinson.com

Ireland horse riding
Nicholas Hely Hutchinson

Dublin’s tribes

Dublin doesn’t really do neighbourhoods. You won’t find a Soho here, and anyone asking for directions to ‘downtown’ will draw looks of confusion as everything is central and easily walkable.

You’ll surely have heard of Temple Bar, a strip of restaurants, pubs and shops on the south bank of the River Liffey that’s Grand Central Station for tourists, but most locals give it a wide berth on weekends.

Instead, for nightlife, follow the students and hipsters towards Aungier Street and Wexford Street, where casual food joints (Dublin Pizza Company, Aungier Danger doughnut shop, Spanish restaurant Las Tapas de Lola) line up beside craft beer bars like Against the Grain and live music venue Whelan’s.

Nearby, The Liberties (also known as Dublin 8) is the city’s up-and-coming district, where street vendors selling from prams meet a young, urban set flitting between antique shops, hip cafes and transformative new arrivals like the Teeling Whiskey Distillery.

Grand Canal Dock is where U2 have their recording studio and the techies hang out (during the day, at least) – the European HQs of Facebook, Airbnb and Google are all nearby – and the food scene is improving all the time.

Finally, if your carriage turns into a pumpkin, head to Harcourt Street – a Georgian strip that flips into nightlife central after dark, thanks to cheesy clubs like Krystle and Copper Face Jacks (don’t say we didn’t warn you).

Cathay Pacific launches a four-times-weekly route to Dublin from Hong Kong on 2 June

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book