國泰航空

愛爾蘭與香港較想像更息息相通

愛爾蘭駐港總領事David Costello深思國泰航空直航都柏林帶來的裨益,以及兩者在歷史上的聯繫

香港與愛爾蘭的根源有多深厚?

我初來港時,看見路牌上的愛爾蘭名稱,都是和香港政府有關︰港督、布政司、法官和警務人員。首任港督砵甸乍是愛爾蘭人,而另外尚有九位殖民地港督都是愛爾蘭公民。匯豐銀行的其中一位創辦人昃臣,也是在Leitrim郡的Carrigallen市出生。

甚至香港的區旗也和愛爾蘭有關。洋紫荊的拉丁學名「Bauhinia blakeana」,是為了紀念19世紀末的港督卜力及夫人而命名。由於卜力伉儷均熱愛研究植物,並經常到訪中環的香港動植物公園,因此當時的植物及林務部決定以他們的名字為洋紫荊取名。

Credit: Ben Marans

國泰航空2018年開通都柏林直航服務有什麼重大意義?

過去並沒有直航服務往來愛爾蘭和亞洲,國泰是首間開辦直航服務的航空公司,每週四班以A350提供服務,加強了兩地之間早於19世紀初就建立的聯繫。那時候,由愛爾蘭來港需要好幾個月時間,但今天旅程只需十數小時。

香港不但是經商重地,很多人也視香港為前往中國內地和亞洲的門戶,是到這些地區發展業務的落腳點,而愛爾蘭亦肩負同樣的角色,特別在目前英國會否脫歐的局勢下,愛爾蘭是前往歐洲的門戶。除了這項共通點,香港和愛爾蘭都實行自由競爭的開放經濟制度,方便營商。

The Dublin riverfront. Credit: Mike Pickles

直航服務為商務帶來什麼裨益?

我們有四大重心,分別是食品、金融、藥品和資訊科技。我們出口的食品屬於世界級,而我認為,愛爾蘭牛肉是世界首屈一指的美食。國泰提供的服務,特別為一些重要產品開拓了市場,除牛肉、羊肉之外,還有蠔、龍蝦、蟶子和黃道蟹等海鮮。

有趣的是,這些海鮮從來都不是愛爾蘭飲食文化的一部分,我們是以農業為主。大約15至20年前,漁民捕獲這些海產時還不知道它們是什麼,之後也只會扔回海中。但有賴直航服務,鮮活海鮮實際上已發展成為一大市場。

我們推出的食品品牌是Origin Green,講求高品質和可持續性。愛爾蘭牛是草飼的,一年中至少有十個月在愛爾蘭放牧,自由自在地吃草。

愛爾蘭是全球第六大藥品出口國,國內有多達75間製藥公司,當中包括世界排名十大藥廠。藥物是我們的重要出口之一,屬跨國的巨大投資。當中很多是歐洲和美國公司,但對於未來的發展,相信會是來自亞洲的海外投資。

資訊科技在過去40多年發展蓬勃,孕育成為全面的產業。由此亦衍生出舉足輕重的金融科技公司,正如香港一樣,這是兩地之間的另一共通之處。

直航服務為休閒旅客帶來什麼良機?

直航服務促進了兩地之間的了解,更造就旅遊業。中國內地是帶有豐富歷史底蘊的古老文化,並以自己的一套獨特方式持續發展,愛爾蘭的情況亦不遑多讓。

前往愛爾蘭的香港遊客和來自中國內地大灣區的華人,他們可參觀愛爾蘭東部古老的Newgrange墓,這個古墓比巨石陣和吉薩金字塔的歷史還要久遠,還有另一景點是世上最長的海岸線之一野性大西洋之路。到訪香港的愛爾蘭旅客也會在本港發掘到許多深厚的愛爾蘭文化。

你只要在香港乘搭午夜航班,就能在翌日早上7時到達都柏林,徹底改變了我們互動的方式。對那些初次踏足這座城市的人來說,當中有很多他們從未接觸、探索過的潛力,從中並能得到啟發。

愛爾蘭領事館的工作是在政府層面建立聯繫,並為企業間的往來創造商機。這是一個雙向過程,我們致力在亞洲區推廣愛爾蘭的出口,並宣傳愛爾蘭是學習英語的好去處,是大學生選擇學府的理想目的地,他們會看到愛爾蘭豐富多姿的歷史價值。

閱覽更多:

Cathay Pacific

Why Ireland and Hong Kong Have More in Common Than You Realise

David Costello, Ireland’s Consul General to Hong Kong, reflects on the benefits of Cathay Pacific’s direct flight to Dublin and how it builds on historic connections

How deep are Hong Kong’s Irish roots?

When I arrived here, I noticed all the Irish names on the street signs from their connections to Hong Kong’s colonial administration – governors, secretaries, judges and police officers. Henry Pottinger, the first governor, was Irish and I think nine of the colonial governors could lay claim to Irish citizenship. One of the founding fathers of HSBC was Thomas Jackson, who was born in Carrigallen in County Leitrim.

There is even a link in the Hong Kong flag as the bauhinia flower is named after an Irishman. The Latin name is Bauhinia blakeana, after Henry Blake – and his wife, Lady Edith Blake – who was the governor of Hong Kong in the late 1800s. The Botanical and Afforestation Department gave it that name as Blake and his wife were keen botanists and supporters of the Zoological and Botanical Gardens in Central.

David Costello
Credit: Ben Marans

How significant was the 2018 launch of the direct service to Dublin?

Previously, we didn’t have direct flights to this part of the world, so Cathay Pacific has the distinct honour of being the first to connect Ireland directly to Asia – with four-times weekly service on the A350. And in doing so, it reinforced a connection that was established in the early 1800s. (Back in those days, of course, it took a couple of months to get from Ireland to here; now it’s a matter of hours.)

As well as a strong place to do business in its own right, Hong Kong is also seen by many as a gateway into mainland China and Asia, and it offers a landing base for people to do business in the region. Ireland is perceived that way too. In the current climate around Brexit, in particular, Ireland is an increasingly strategic gateway into Europe. But that’s not the only parallel; we’re both very open and competitive economies known for our ease of doing business.

Dublin
The Dublin riverfront. Credit: Mike Pickles

What are the flight’s benefits from a business perspective?

There are four areas we focus on: food, finance, pharma and IT. We have world-class food exports; Irish beef, I would argue, is the best in the world. There are some key products for which Cathay Pacific has particularly opened up the market – beef, lamb, but also seafood, especially oysters, lobster, razor clams and brown crab.

Interestingly, this seafood was never a major part of the Irish food culture – we were more agrarian. Fifteen to 20 years ago, fishermen were hauling this stuff in not knowing what it was, and throwing it back into the sea. But live seafood really has developed as a market as a consequence of the direct flight.

Our food is branded Origin Green, and this is a standard for high-quality food as well as sustainability. Our cattle are grass-fed. They’re outdoors at least 10 months of the year, so they’re on Irish pastures eating grass the way nature intended.

Ireland is the sixth-largest exporter of pharmaceuticals in the world and home to 75 pharmaceutical companies – including the top 10 in the world. Pharma is a huge part of our export suite, with major multinational investment. A lot of it is European and American, but I think the next evolution of that will be Asian investment overseas.

Our IT sector has become really strong over the past 40 years, which in turn has spurred a whole entrepreneurial scene. A new wave of fintech companies is evolving which is very important – as it is here in Hong Kong – so there’s another modern link between us.

What opportunities has the flight opened up for leisure travellers?

The connectivity is increasing understanding between the two regions, starting with increased tourism. Mainland China sees itself as an ancient culture with a rich history, and one that continues to evolve in its own unique way. Ireland has that as well.

Visitors from Hong Kong and the Greater Bay Area will find diverse experiences ranging from Ireland’s ancient east – Newgrange’s passage tomb is older than Stonehenge and the Pyramids of Giza – to the Wild Atlantic Way, one of the world’s longest defined coastal routes. Irish visitors to Hong Kong will discover a place with deep Irish connections.

Being able to hop on a flight at midnight in Hong Kong and get off the plane in Dublin at 7am changes the way we engage. There’s so much potential that’s untapped and unknown, and that just comes from people landing in a new city and getting inspired by what they see.

Our role at the consulate is to build connectivity at the government level, and that creates opportunities for business-to-business connections. And it’s a two-way process as well – we’re working to promote Ireland exports for this region. We’ll also promote Ireland as a destination to learn English, and as a destination for university students, who in turn, will see the value of the rich and layered history that Ireland offers.

Related Stories:

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book