名人

《白色女孩》導演杜可風訪問

馬樂民與杜可風暢談跟香港導演王家衛多年的合作關係,以及這位著名攝影師導演的新作《白色女孩》

三十年來,導演王家衛將對愛情的渴慕和追求化為藝術。機智風趣的內心獨白,從各種角度來剖析寂寞孤單的感受,加上別具一格的視覺風格,令王家衛的電影不斷啟發後來者,去年奧斯卡最佳電影《月亮喜歡藍》的導演Barry Jenkins就曾表示,他深受王家衛電影的影響。

本月國泰航空及國泰港龍航空機上首次選映一系列這位電影藝術大師的電影。

王家衛的首作是黑幫電影《旺角卡門》, 鮮明亮麗的色彩、減速攝影的動作場面(以較慢的幀率拍攝,製造場面混亂的效果),初試啼聲已經展示出獨特的風格。

不過他的第二部電影《阿飛正傳》才是奠定他朝藝術電影方向發展的代表作,片中以細膩而略帶憂鬱的手法,表達了愛情雖不可得卻值得渴望的看法;這種風格在他日後的電影中一再出現。

澳洲電影攝影師杜可風與王家衛緊密合作了一段非常長的時間,王家衛的十部電影中,杜可風是其中七部的攝影師,他亦因此在電影界打響名堂。杜可風在接受《Discovery》訪問時表示,他跟王家衛的關係有如婚姻。他說:「為何你要花時間跟一個無法補充你不足之處的人在一起?王家衛尋找的,是一些他無法獨自表達的東西,而我們在一起就可以將那些東西表達出來」他將王家衛形容為「中國影壇的成吉思汗」。

Featureflash Photo Agency / Shutterstock.com; Mike Pickles

杜可風又說:「王家衛對我說過一句極其重要的話,就是:『你已經盡力了嗎?』這句話令你從各方面反省,是否已經竭盡所能。十次有九次你會說:『我已經盡了力。』但偶爾有一次你可以做得更好,而這偶爾的一次就十分重要。」

除了擔任王家衛的攝影師之外,杜可風亦嘗使執導電影。與白海聯合導演的《白色女孩》是他的第四部導演作品,以虛構的「香港最後一條漁村」為背景,講述一個對陽光敏感的女孩(袁澧林飾)與來自日本的謎樣男孩(小田切讓飾)之間撲朔迷離的愛情故事。

杜可風對《Discovery》表示,電影讓觀眾從一個新鮮的角度來看香港。他說:「本片藉著一個愛情故事來展現你從未見過的香港,表達對這個地方的欣賞和讚美。」杜可風與白海在片中呈現的大澳(位於大嶼山西部)風貌,流露一片深情。大澳在香港最少有三百年的歷史,昔日不少移民從中國南部前來,在大澳這個小海灣建造棚屋,從此安居樂業。杜可風說:「我認為大澳象徵了香港人不屈不撓的精神。」

《白色女孩》是一部不落俗套的電影,充滿寓意,以影像及氣氛取勝,並不十分著重敘事; 與杜可風以往執導的電影相比,本片更加平易近人。雖然兩位導演都說這是一部愛情片,但也同時觸及香港目前一些嚴肅的社會及政治議題。

雖然杜可風與白海在片中對他們熱愛的城市發出語重心長的訊息,不過《白色女孩》也有一些出人意表的獨特幽默感與樂觀思維,為全片帶來平衡。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Celebrity

Interview with Christopher Doyle, The White Girl director

KEVIN MA speaks to Christopher Doyle about his collaborations with Hong Kong auteur Wong Kar-wai and his latest film, The White Girl

For the past three decades, Wong Kar-wai has turned romantic yearning into an art form. His witty internal dialogue, his examination of emotional loneliness and his distinctive visual style continue to inspire aspiring directors today; Barry Jenkins, the director of last year’s Best Picture Oscar winner, Moonlight, cites Wong as one of his biggest influences.

This month, Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon are featuring a collection of films by Hong Kong’s premier arthouse auteur for the first time.

Wong made his debut with As Tears Go By, a gangland drama that shows his style coming into shape with the use of vibrant colours, undercranked action scenes (shot at a lower frame rate to create a more chaotic effect) and music choices that set the mood.

But it was his second film, Days of Being Wild, that marked the start of his move into arthouse. Days and subsequent works solidified Wong as a meticulous and melancholic stylist who views love as unattainable but always worth yearning for.

One of Wong’s closest collaborators was Christopher Doyle, an Australian who built his reputation working on seven of Wong’s 10 films. Speaking to Discovery, Doyle says his relationship with Wong is similar to a marriage. ‘Why would you spend some time with anybody who wasn’t giving you something you didn’t have yourself? Wong Kar-wai was looking for something he can’t articulate alone, and then we found a voice,’ says Doyle, who calls Wong the ‘Genghis Khan of Chinese cinema’.

‘I think the most important thing that Wong has ever said to me is, “Is that all you can do, Chris?” It’s a mantra. It’s a way to address who you are in any aspect. Ninety per cent of the time you say, “That’s all I can do,” but occasionally you’ll do better. And that occasional is what matters.’

Featureflash Photo Agency / Shutterstock.com; Mike Pickles

Since working with Wong, Doyle has also made forays into directing. Co-directed by Jenny Suen, The White Girl is his fourth directorial effort. Set in a fictional place dubbed ‘the last fishing village of Hong Kong’, the film is a whimsical love story between a young woman who is allergic to sunlight (Angela Yuen) and a mysterious visitor from Japan (Joe Odagiri).

Doyle tells Discovery that the film offers a fresh view of Hong Kong. ‘It’s a beautiful love story that celebrates this place in a way that you haven’t seen before,’ he says. That love is clear in the way Doyle and Suen capture fishing village Tai O (in the western corner of Lantau Island), which has been around for at least three centuries. ‘I think [Tai O] is the first symbol of Hong Kong people’s tenacity,’ says Doyle. It was the place many immigrants crossed over to from southern China, settling down in stilt homes clustered over the Tai O creek.

More accessible than Doyle’s previous directorial efforts, The White Girl is an offbeat and allegorical film, in which mood and metaphor matter more than narrative. Even though the directors call the film a love story, it also references serious social and political issues in Hong Kong today.

But The White Girl also features unexpected bits of quirky humour and optimism, offering a counterbalance to its sober messages about the future of the city that Doyle and Suen love so much.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book