名人

香港的成功故事:專訪盧靖珊

一通非常情急的電話,讓盧靖姍趕赴《戰狼II》的拍攝場地。沒有人預料到,該片會成為亞洲史上最賣座的電影,更徹底改變了這位香港演員的星途。撰文李詩才

如果要追溯盧靖姍的事業,甚至深入探索她的人生,最好是從其父親在影壇的重大突破從頭說起。

1977年,美國功夫演員Roy Horan獲電影製作人吳思遠邀請來港,為一齣Horan客串的台灣電影進行「死亡格鬥」宣傳活動。結果是,沒有人能鬥過你死我活,因為活動最終在警方介入下取消。吳導改為邀請Horan在成龍主演的功夫大片《蛇形刁手》演出,Horan後來更結識了香港人Christina Hui。兩人其後共諧連理,1985
年,他們的女兒盧靖姍呱呱墮地。

Imaginechina
Ken Yeung

虎父無犬女,藝名Celina Jade的盧靖
姍同樣醉心演藝事業,更步父親後塵踏上動作影星之路。2007年,武打男星吳京相中懂格鬥的盧靖姍,挑選她成為他首齣自導自演的電影《狼牙》的女主角。這是盧靖姍的首部電影,當時她不過是一名初出茅廬的演員,她憶述:「十年前,吳京憑其個人直覺游說我嘗試從演。他當時對我投下信心一票,而我靠著這份信心開展了演藝事業。」

多年來,兩人仍然保持友好關係。盧靖姍去年前往意大利旅行時,便購買茄汁贈予吳京幽他一默,呼應兩人在拍攝《狼牙》時,開玩笑地建議吳京應為常餐番茄炒雞蛋使用意大利茄汁的回憶。之後,當時居於香港的盧靖姍收到吳京的電話。她回想道:「吳京告訴我他亟需一位可信任的女主角,並在當天晚上參與拍攝。我在機上閱讀劇本,抵埗後隨即趕往片場拍攝我的第一幕。我們完全沒有談及片酬待遇,而我只帶著一個行李箱和六罐有機茄汁便出發了。我壓根兒沒想過它會成為中國史上最賣座的電影;我這個倉促決定的回報可謂非常可觀呢!」

Imaginechina

該齣由吳京自導自演的動作驚悚片正是全球票房大收8.7億美元(67.9億港元)的《戰狼II》,並榮登亞洲歷來票房之冠。電影講述吳京飾演的前解放軍軍官的英勇事跡。他單人匹馬遠赴一個內戰和傳染病肆虐的不知名非洲國家,拯救當地的中國商人。盧靖姍在戲中飾演一位人道救援醫生,而其星途亦因這電影一片光明。

事實上,吳京在籌備拍攝首齣《戰狼》電影時,已打算向盧靖姍招手,可惜當時她正拍攝美國電視劇《箭神》,整整三年飾演弓箭手莎朵,因而分身不暇。縱使她飾演過不少剛強的格鬥家,她卻極力避免被角色定型。她指出:「荷李活對亞裔女角抱有許多刻板印象,例如認為所有亞洲女性都擅長格鬥。我經常戲稱我出生時自行踢出娘胎,但並非人人都能理解背後的自嘲。或許可能因為我是混血兒吧,我融合了不同文化和種族血脈,因此我並不認同能單憑別人的出身而把他們分門別類。」

VCG

盧靖姍來自多元文化背景,精通廣東話、國語和英語,為她在香港、中國內地和美國帶來許多機遇。她因參與演出《戰狼II》而重返亞洲,更令其母親欣喜若狂。她表示:「我的母親當時罹患癌症,而我參與演出該片的消息對她而言可謂一枝強心針。她告訴我她會努力打敗癌魔,因為她要在《戰狼II》上畫時去戲院觀賞,並且出席我的首映禮。」

「母親還對我說:『切記飲水思源。妳由中國人撫養成人,在中文學校唸書,而且具備華夏美德。不要只顧在荷李活工作;要適時回饋國家,不要忘本。』即使她最終未能參加首映禮,我知道她仍在天上祝福我,而且對其擁有一半中國血統的女兒被視為中國人而深感自豪。」

Courtesy of Echelon Talent

與盧靖姍交談,不難感受其父親對她的影響。她不但自孩提時代已由父親指導功夫,更遺傳了他的冒險精神,她表示:「他是我的超級英雄。他在20餘歲曾到北極探險,其後便深受亞洲哲學所吸引。母親離世後,他決定以67歲高齡,再次到極地重新思考生命。」她本人亦周遊列國,最喜愛的旅遊地點包括里斯本、斯里蘭卡的錫吉里耶、杭州、美國加州的大蘇爾、克羅地亞赫瓦爾島、意大利卡布里島,以及泰國布吉。

拍攝《戰狼II》也讓盧靖姍得以到訪南非和中國最風光明媚的勝地。她表示:「開普敦是我現時最喜愛的城市之一。拍攝電影期間,我們能夠以極近的距離接觸野生動物,這是一般遊客無法體驗的。至於南非德班的Port Edward則是一個美麗的海邊小鎮,我亦趁機遊覽當地多個峽谷。天漠是一個位於中國張家口的沙漠,景色美不勝收,與南非的風光不相伯仲。我在休假時經常前往該處,在草原上隨意閒逛。」

盧靖姍始終視香港為引以為傲的家,畢竟這裡是她的成長地,然而工作往往令她馬不停蹄,常常要在飛機上數算日暮晨昏。憑藉《戰狼II》而聲名大噪後,工作更是排山倒海湧至,令她能夠留在家中的日子屈指可數。為保持謙卑的心,盧靖姍尋求冥想之道:「數年前,一位印度教僧人好友送我一張卡,上面寫著『心安即是家』。現在每當我思鄉時,就會專注呼吸,觀照自己的內心,這跟《綠野仙蹤》裡的桃樂絲輕踏她的紅色高跟鞋有異曲同工之妙。」

現在你可在機上觀賞《戰狼II》

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Celebrity

Interview with Celina Jade: Hong Kong success story

A desperate phone call whisked Celina Jade to the set of Wolf Warrior II. No one knew it would become the biggest Asian movie in history – and change the trajectory of the Hong Kong native’s career. By MAGGIE LEE

To trace Celina Jade’s career, indeed her life, a good place to start is her father’s big break in film.

In 1977, American martial artist Roy Horan was invited to Hong Kong by film producer Ng See-yuen to fight in what was billed as a ‘death match’, as a publicity stunt for a Taiwanese film that Horan had a small part in. No one died: the duel was called off by police. But instead, Ng offered Horan a role in Snake in the Eagle’s Shadow, a kung-fu masterpiece starring Jackie Chan. He met and married Hongkonger Christina Hui. In 1985, Celina was born.

Celina Jade actress Hong Kong
Imaginechina
Celina Jade actress Hong Kong
Ken Yeung

Like her dad, Jade (a stage name) has caught the acting bug, and she’s followed in his footsteps with action roles. In 2007, martial arts actor Wu Jing cast her as the lead in his directorial debut, Legendary Assassin, because she had fighting skills. It was Jade’s first film, and she was a novice actor. ‘Ten years ago, Wu Jing convinced me to attempt acting on the basis of his intuition,’ she says. ‘He believed in me back then, and it was his belief that gave me my career in acting.’

The two stayed friends over the years. On a trip to Italy last year, Jade bought him tomato sauce in reference to a joke they shared on the set of Legendary Assassin: she had suggested he use the real Italian ingredient in his dish of eggs and tomatoes. Then Jade, living in Hong Kong, got a call from Wu. ‘He said he needed a lead actress he could trust and he needed one that night,’ she recounts. ‘I read the script on the plane and went to shoot my first scene as soon as I landed. Jing and I didn’t talk terms. I just went with a suitcase and my six cans of organic tomato sauce. I never would’ve thought this would become the biggest film in the history of China. Talk about a good return on investment.’

Celina Jade actress Hong Kong
Imaginechina

That film was Wolf Warrior II, an action thriller that has earned US$870 million (HK$6.79 billion) worldwide, becoming the highest grossing Asian film ever. Directed by and starring Wu, it follows the heroic exploits of a former People’s Liberation Army officer who singlehandedly rescues a Chinese business enclave in an unnamed African country torn by civil war and epidemic. Jade, who plays a humanitarian doctor in the film, has seen her career catapulted to new heights.

In fact, Wu already had Jade in mind when he prepped for the original Wolf Warrior, but she was still shooting US television series Arrow, in which she played the archer Shado over three years. Although many of her roles have been tough fighters, Jade has tried to avoid being typecast. ‘There are a lot of stereotypes of Asian female characters in Hollywood. For example, there’s the idea that all Asian women fight. I like to joke that I kicked my way out of my mum’s womb, but my sarcasm is lost on some,’ she says. ‘I guess because I am a mixture of cultures and ethnicities, I don’t believe in the separation of people through their background.’

Celina Jade actress Hong Kong
VCG

Her multicultural background and language abilities – she is fluent in Cantonese, Mandarin and English – have opened doors for her in Hong Kong, mainland China and the US. But her role in Wolf Warrior II, which brought her back to this side of the Pacific, particularly pleased her mother: ‘My mother was very sick with cancer, and the news of the role gave her so much hope. She said she had a reason to battle cancer now: to watch Wolf Warrior II when it came out and join me at the premiere.

‘She said to me, “Don’t ever forget your roots. You were raised by a Chinese. I sent you to Chinese school and you have Chinese virtues. Don’t just work in Hollywood. You have to contribute back to your country someday. Don’t be an export.” Even though she didn’t make the premiere, I know she is showering down her blessings and proud that her half-Chinese daughter is now recognised as one of their own in China.’

Celina Jade in Ganeshpuri , Indiacredit: Courtesy of Echelon Talent
Courtesy of Echelon Talent

Anyone who talks to Jade will notice her father’s influence in her life, too. Not only did he train her in martial arts at an early age, but his life also infused an adventurous spirit in her. ‘He’s my superhero. He was drawn to Asian philosophy and thinking after his arctic explorations in his 20s. He decided to re-explore life in the arctic after my mum passed, at the age of 67!’ Jade is well travelled, counting among her favourite destinations Lisbon, Sri Lanka’s Sigiriya, Hangzhou, Big Sur in California, Croatia’s Hvar, Capri in Italy and Phuket.

Filming Wolf Warrior II broadened her horizons further, taking her to numerous scenic places in South Africa and China. ‘Cape Town is one of my favourite places in the world now,’ she says. ‘During filming we had such close encounters with safari animals, and it’s not something a regular tourist would be able to experience. Port Edward in Durban was a beautiful seaside place, and I explored many canyons around there. Tianmo desert in Zhangjiakou had absolutely breathtaking views that did not fall short of those I saw in South Africa. I spent many of my off days getting lost in the grasslands.’

Jade is proud to call Hong Kong home; it’s where she grew up. But work has often meant living out of a suitcase and catching sleep on red-eye flights, making home an elusive place – and work has poured in since the success of Wolf Warrior II. To stay grounded, Jade turns to meditation. ‘A few years ago, a dear friend and swami (an Indian monk) gave me a card in which he had written, “Home is where the heart is”. So now, whenever I get homesick, I focus on my breath and let it take me inwards – a little like Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz clicking her red heels.’ 

Watch Wolf Warrior II, showing onboard now

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book