藝術和文化

印度街頭藝術綻放城市魅力

印度多處出現多幅啟發人心的壁畫,為新德里、孟買和海德拉巴的舊社區重注創意活力,亦改變了當地居民對藝術的看法

故事從2015年說起。一位叫Tanya Munjal的年輕人跟祖父居住在新德里中南部的Lodhi Colony平民住宅區,他們步出家門時驀地目睹一片新景象:一幢橫跨整條街的殖民地時期建築的外牆,竟多了一幅生動傳神的彩色壁畫,在此井井有條的寧靜社區前所未見,也叫他們興奮莫名。原來壁畫頌揚印度獨立運動的傳奇人物「詹西女王」,由日本街頭藝術家Lady Aiko所創作。壁畫用色大膽,最重要是,它公然歌頌一位反抗強權的戰士(而且更是女性),在這個保守的小區實屬不速之客。其後的短短幾個月間,區內陸續湧現更多壁畫,令Lodhi Colony變成印度首個公共藝術社區。

當時,以德里為基地的都市藝術組織St+art India Foundation正策劃一項計劃,並在孟買跨國油漆產品公司Asian Paints的支持下,將藝術帶入國內多個公共空間,故於當時委託Lady Aiko創作壁畫。身兼St+art內容總監和五位創辦人之一的Akshat Nauriyal表示︰「我們希望令藝術更能與人接軌,跳出博物館的框框,讓民眾直接欣賞藝術。」

Credit: Akshat Nauriyal

2014年時,他們在德里南部正中心兩個毗連的時尚富裕社區Shahpur Jat和Hauz Khas舉辦小型街頭藝術節,St+art遂應運而生並迅速獲得知名度,2015年先帶來前文所說的Lodhi壁畫,繼而進軍海德拉巴的Maqtha社區策劃項目,隨後更將街頭藝術帶到孟買的Mahim East、Dharavi及Sassoon Docks社區。至2017年,Lodhi社區已有多達29幅壁畫,當中不乏國際街頭藝術大師之作。

Credit: Akshat Nauriyal

傳統的藝術形式一向在印度影響深遠,St+art打破陳規,義無反顧地擁抱當代藝術甚至劍走偏鋒。Nauriyal解釋道︰「我們的使命是以藝文氣息活化乏味的空間,突出各個社區獨有的故事和歷史,而不是將它們粉飾為中產社區。」

對於在受藝術洗禮的社區生活和工作的人而言,種種改變有翻天覆地的影響力,例如本文開首提到的Munjal。這位剛修畢時裝設計的21歲女生表示︰「Lodhi的居民大多是流動人口,沒人置業定居,因此風氣普遍較冷漠和疏離。」

Credit: Akash Shukia

當St+art團隊初次踏足Lodhi社區以發掘居民的興趣所在,小區便悄悄地引起變革。Munjal續說︰「大家開始對自己所在的空間和鄰舍產生興趣,慢慢形成一個有凝聚力的社區。即使他們不喜歡某幅壁畫,仍會熱烈地談論,對項目充滿好奇心。」

現時打理家族皮革工作室的她憶述童年時說︰「藝術自小給我的印象都是高高在上,去博物館參觀必須衣著得體、保持安靜,禁止觸碰任何東西。現在,我們卻見證一家大小不受限制地欣賞、談論和觸摸藝術品,令我真的很想成為St+art一分子。」故此Munjal參與成為St+art的義工,主導社區聯繫項目的監製工作。

Credit: Tanmay Mayekar

Munjal不乏同路人。16歲的Deepak Singh在郊區長大,過往沒機會接觸遊客和藝術家,遑論觀賞藝術。這陣子,Singh夥同弟妹和朋友當起導遊來,辦理不定期的Lodhi壁畫導賞團。

位於孟買的Mahim East和毗鄰社區Dharavi,兩者都是亞洲其中一個人口最稠密的貧民窟,相繼發生類似的故事。今年24歲的青年Sumeet Singh便在Dharavi土生土長,為養家而放棄入讀高中,在非法皮革廠和不獲市政府認可的洗衣場打零工。

Credit: Guido van Helten

Dharavi本來只吸引前來貧民窟獵奇探訪的遊人,現在卻有不少旅客和當地人慕名而來,一睹諷刺時弊的街頭藝術。Sumeet Singh便擔任St+art的製作助理,負責為到訪的藝術家打點素材。他高興地說︰「大家對藝術家的造訪感到興奮無比。人人都想為他們做飯,跟他們搭訕。居民豁然開朗,Dharavi的市容也改善了。」

Credit: Pranav Gohil

St+art共同創辦人兼首席策展人Giulia Ambrogi表明︰「有賴藝術家與社區攜手合作,才可構想出切合社區精神和美態的作品。Lodhi的居民擁有較廣博的環球意識,所以壁畫的信息和風格更層出不窮。」相反,Mahim East區髒亂而壓迫的氛圍,吸引風格更大膽的作品進駐,譬如澳洲藝術家Guido van Helten以街舞團The SlumGods為題的超現實仿攝影風格壁畫,它橫跨四幢樓高數層的大廈,宏偉的高樓下是一條條骯髒的街道,效果盪魂攝魄。曾投身街舞行列的Singh愛煞了Van Helten的作品︰「我最愛這幅壁畫,住在附近令我感到自豪。」

Credit: Pranav Gohil

船塢碼頭Sassoon Docks曾是推動孟買由漁港轉型成金融和娛樂樞紐的跳板。但Nauriyal卻表示︰「這段歷史鮮為人知,對一般人來說,Sassoon碼頭只不過是豪不顯眼的偏遠之地。」如雨後春筍般冒起的裝置藝術,為該區的工業碼頭增添色彩,包括法國藝術家二人組Ella & Pitr的朱紅色油桶畫作。

Credit: Pranav Gohil

2019年1月,St+art回歸Lodhi,再次委託藝術家創作23幅壁畫,並為居民協辦藝術、升級再造和街頭表演工作坊。在孟買從事視覺藝術的Sajid Wajid Shaikh,以擅長的普普藝術風格創作了《Shakti》向女權致敬。Shaikh表示︰「我們自小被灌輸齊家治國是男人天職的觀念,但其實培育和支撐我們的是印度教女神shakti(印度文力量之意)。」

Credit: Akshat Nauriyal

Shaikh跟大部分印度藝術家一樣,對St+art的影響力大為嘆服。他表示︰「普羅大眾為口奔馳,哪有閒情走入博物館欣賞藝術。但有位士司機曾跟我說,他愛看(Lodhi的)壁畫調劑生活。這便是藝術的意義。它予人喘息的空間,提供另一種視野。」

現在,Tanya Munjal和祖父在日常散步時依然會駐足觀賞壁畫。「當初St+art出現時,大家都問『為何要浪費顏料?』但現在,人人都想為自己的樓房塗上壁畫!」她這一番話,是這篇文章最有力的總結。

尋找印度街頭藝蹤

新德里︰Lodhi 藝術區

Lodhi是最後一個於英殖時期規劃的住宅區,亦是印度首個正式的公共藝術區。訪客於寬闊的林蔭大道漫步,可欣賞到遍佈整條街的大型震撼壁畫,細味渲染寫實、表現主義、抽象派以至普普藝術等風格。

Credit: Marta Przysiecka

孟買︰Mahim East

當地有十多幅壁畫,包括Mahim火車站的著名甘地肖像畫,以及意大利藝術家Francesco Camillo‘Millo’Giorgino向當地雨季表達愛意的巨型作品,令Mahim重拾昔日的光輝。

Credit: Snehal Pailkar

海德拉巴︰Maqtha

St+art將Maqtha的樓房外牆變成畫布,傳達饒富趣味、發人深省的意象。以色彩分類的作品,將迷宮般的巷弄導引至當下的世代。

St+art India位於德里、孟買及海德拉巴的藝術社區免費開放予公眾參觀。訪客可於此下載地圖和自由行指南,亦可預約私人導賞服務。

Credit: Pranav Gohil

國泰航空設有每周由香港飛往德里,孟買和海德拉巴的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

The Transformative Power of India’s Street Art

Inspirational murals are transforming once dowdy neighbourhoods in New Delhi, Mumbai and Hyderabad – and the opinions of those who live there

One morning in 2015, Tanya Munjal and her grandfather emerged from their front door in Lodhi Colony – a quiet, decorous residential neighbourhood in south-central New Delhi – and encountered the unexpected. A dramatic, colourful mural painted across one of the colony’s block-long buildings. Painted by Japanese street artist Lady Aiko, the mural celebrates the charisma and bravado of Rani Lakshmi Bai, a legendary Indian freedom fighter. Munjal and her grandfather were surprised – and excited. The bold colours and the flagrant broadcasting of a subversive warrior – a woman, no less – were unprecedented in their conservative district. Within a few months, several more murals had appeared. And just like that, Lodhi Colony’s transformation into India’s first public arts district was underway.

The mural had been commissioned by the Delhi-based St+art India Foundation, an initiative bringing art into public spaces with the support of Asian Paints, a multinational firm from Mumbai. ‘We want to make art more democratic, to bring it out of museums and take it directly to people,’ says Akshat Nauriyal, St+art’s head of content and one its co-founders.

Credit: Akshat Nauriyal

Beginning organically in 2014 with small street art festivals in Shahpur Jat and Hauz Khas – neighbouring urban villages in the middle of posh South Delhi – St+art picked up momentum fast. In 2015, projects were launched in Delhi’s Lodhi and Maqtha in Hyderabad, along with debuts in Mumbai’s Mahim East, Dharavi and Sassoon Docks districts. By 2017, Lodhi boasted 29 murals featuring top names in the global street art milieu.

Credit: Akshat Nauriyal

In a country perpetually associated with classical artforms, St+art’s headlong plunge into the contemporary, edgy art world was revolutionary. ‘Our mission is to activate spaces not known for art and culture. Not to gentrify them, but to bring attention to their unique stories and experiences’, explains Nauriyal. 

For folks like Munjal – now a 21-year-old fashion graduate – who live and work in the newly art-infused districts, the changes have been profound. ‘In Lodhi, no one owns their own place, and it’s largely a transient community, so people generally keep to themselves’, Munjal tells me. 

Credit: Akash Shukia

But when St+art organisers first showed up in Lodhi to scope out community interest, everything changed. ‘People started taking interest in their spaces and in each other. It’s brought us together as a community. Even if they don’t like a mural, people are talking, and they are curious’, says Munjal.

‘Growing up, art meant dressing up, going to a museum, having to be quiet and not touching anything’, she recalls. ‘Now, we see children, parents, grandparents looking, talking and touching art without barriers.’ 

Credit: Tanmay Mayekar

Nowadays, Munjal does double duty at her family’s leather studio and volunteers as a production lead for St+art engagements in the community. ‘I really wanted to be part of St+art’, she says. And she’s not alone. Sixteen-year-old Deepak Singh also grew up in the burb and had no opportunity to meet tourists and artists, much less to view art. These days, Singh, his younger siblings and friends lead ad-hoc tours around Lodhi. 

A similar scenario transpired in Mumbai’s Mahim East and adjacent Dharavi, considered one of Asia’s most densely populated slums. Sumeet Singh, 24, was born and raised here, foregoing high school to support his family by finding odd jobs in unregulated tanneries and laundries that service a city with few municipal facilities. 

Credit: Guido van Helten

Dharavi is typically only visited by outsiders on ‘slum tours’, which allow visitors to see impoverished areas of developing cities, but now tourists and locals head here to see provocative street art. Sumeet Singh began working with St+art as a production assistant, helping procure materials for visiting artists. ‘Everyone is so excited to have the artists here. They all want to cook for them and talk to them’, Singh exclaims. ‘People are happy, and Dharavi looks better.’

Credit: Pranav Gohil

‘It was crucial for artists and communities to work together to conceptualise the pieces and respect the aesthetics of each community’, explains St+art co-founder and chief curator Giulia Ambrogi. ‘Lodhi’s residents have broader global awareness, so the murals are more expressive and diverse in style.’ Meanwhile, Mahim East’s gritty, inner-city vibe invited more daring projects, like Australian artist Guido van Helten’s surreal, photorealistic rendering of the breakdancing troupe The SlumGods. The work is staggered across four multistorey buildings and looms impressively above the grimy streets. Singh, a former B-boy dancer, loves Van Helten’s work. ‘It’s my favourite and makes me feel proud to live here’, he says.

Credit: Pranav Gohil

Mumbai’s Sassoon Docks was the springboard for the city’s transformation from fishing port to glitzy financial and entertainment hub, but nowadays, people seem to think it is just an obscure stop on the bus route. An influx of art, including a vibrant vermillion oil drum mural by French duo Ella & Pitr, has added colour to the area’s industrial quays. 

Credit: Pranav Gohil

Last January, St+art returned to Lodhi, commissioning an additional 23 murals and coordinating art, upcycling and street performance workshops for residents. Mumbai-based visual artist Sajid Wajid Shaikh pitched in with Shakti, a tribute to the power of women painted in his signature pop art style. ‘We are taught that men carry the weight of the world,’ says Shaikh, ‘but it’s really the women whose shakti, or strength, nurtures and powers our lives.’  

Credit: Akshat Nauriyal

Shaikh, like most Indian artists, is astounded by St+art’s impact. ‘Most people are worried about putting food on the table. Going to a museum isn’t even on their radar,’ he says. ‘But the other day, a taxi driver told me he goes to see the murals [in Lodhi] to unwind. And, that’s what art is: it gives people a break and another perspective.’

On their daily walks, Tanya Munjal and her grandfather still stop to admire the art. ‘When St+art first came here, people would ask, “Why are you wasting paint?”,’ she recalls. ‘Now, everyone wants a mural on their block!’

Where to Find India’s Artsy Neighbourhoods

New Delhi: Lodhi Art District

The last residential colony built by the British Raj, Lodhi is India’s first official public arts district. Stroll through its wide, leafy boulevards to view staggering, block-long murals painted in styles ranging from photorealism and expressionism to abstraction and pop art.

Credit: Marta Przysiecka

Mumbai: Mahim East

More than a dozen murals, from the portrait of Gandhi at the Mahim Railway Station to Italian Francesco Camillo ‘Millo’ Giorgino’s outsize love letter to the monsoon have helped Mahim reinstate its past glory.

Credit: Snehal Pailkar

Hyderabad: Maqtha

St+art’s interventions turned Maqtha’s walls into playful, provocative canvases, while colour-coded artwork helped guide its labyrinthine alleys into the present.

St+art India’s art districts in Delhi, Mumbai and Hyderabad are free and open to the public. Downloadable maps and DIY walking-guides are available online. Private tours can be arranged with advance notice.

Credit: Pranav Gohil

Cathay Pacific flies to Delhi, Mumbai and Hyderabad from Hong Kong every week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book