美國

美國大文豪Henry Miller的大蘇爾點滴

追隨美國大文豪兼存在主義信徒Henry Miller的足跡,走過加州蜿蜒的海岸線和大蘇爾,尋訪他的心靈歸宿,了解他如何影響「垮掉的一代」的詩人

數十年來,大蘇爾一直朝聖者眾。這片延綿140公里的土地雖有依海而建的一號公路貫通(因加州山火和豪雨等天災頻生而關閉則另作別論),但依然遺世獨立,籠罩著神秘色彩。有道「大蘇爾好比人的心境」,此話可非虛無縹緲的陳腔濫調,而是對這個地區的精闢見解。

這片教人目眩神往的淨土,長久以來一直吸引不甘平凡、追求藝術的波希米亞人、樂天派、隱世之士、存在主義者、夜遊人、各種真偽潮人,還有為數最多的旅客慕名前來,以求撥開迷霧。

Credit: Andrew Charney/Unsplash

大蘇爾除了崎嶇陡峭的懸崖、於炎熱上空盤旋的禿鷹、波光粼粼的寶石藍海灣和紅杉密佈的峽谷,都是引人入勝的大自然風景,至於人工建成的殿堂勝地,同樣值得朝聖。

其中,Henry Miller Memorial Library紀念圖書館更是非去不可,書香固然是其一大賣點,但這裡亦是藝術展覽和表演的場地,又是路途上的歇息好去處,溫馨窩心的氛圍無負這位藝術家的冠名,以及四周優美醉人的景致。

Credit: Lisa Corson

於紐約土生土長的Henry Miller,曾遷居巴黎近十年,再小居希臘,後於1944年轉抵大蘇爾落地生根,並在這趟人生旅途中步上作家、畫家和演說家之路,一生積極頌揚生命之燦爛、高舉藝術自由,同時亦是個花花公子。他的早期著作因為露骨的性描寫,多年來被美國列為禁書,幸得地下途徑偷運,讓Jack Kerouac、Allen Ginsberg及Lawrence Ferlinghetti等「垮掉的一代」的代表人物得以拜讀其大作,他們均讚揚這位大師行雲流水的文筆和澎湃激情,對其自身的作品影響深遠。其中,Kerouac更把筆下一部小說命名為《Big Sur》,而Ferlinghetti 亦在大蘇爾置了一家小屋。

Miller的作品啟蒙了「垮掉的一代」,而啟迪他本人的,正是大蘇爾。這位藝術家定居當地後,寫下了「殉色三部曲」(Rosy Crucifixion trilogy)和《Big Sur and the Oranges of Hieronymus Bosch》等多部著作,後者是他對這個地方的壯麗美景、知己好友和眾多傾情事物的一闕讚歌。

Credit: Lisa Corson

Henry Miller這樣寫道:「蔚藍晴空與層層薄霧不著痕跡地穿過峽谷遠去,山頭於隆冬滿身蒼翠,到了炎夏則換上金衣⋯⋯森林裡頭的靜寂深不可測,太平洋沿岸的天氣酷熱無比,白晝烈日當空,夜晚則繁星密佈。」

Credit: Lisa Corson

Miller於大蘇爾長居18年後,在1963年離開此地,南遷至富裕住宅區Pacific Palisades,度過他的燦爛餘生,但其好友卻依然惦記他留在大蘇爾的美好時光。這位大文豪於1980年與世長辭後,畫家Emil White決定把自己的物業改建為Miller的紀念館。White的小屋連同整幅土地均於1989年他離世後捐贈予Big Sur Land Trust信託基金,從此成為集非牟利書店、資料庫、藝術中心和表演場地於一身的Henry Miller Memorial Library紀念圖書館。

圖書館前臨大蘇爾一貫的紅杉和綠茵景致,背靠一片參天樹林和小橋流水。建築物周遭放滿可堪玩味的雕塑和其他藝術品,內裡亦同樣如是。大蘇爾讓人感到這裡比其他地方更無拘無束。Miller亦有這樣的體會,並盡情率性而行。

Credit: Tom Bentley

圖書館的行政總裁Magnus Toren稱,館內一直努力保存這種感覺。「這裡沒有太多改變,因為我們想維持其原有的精神面貌。雖然書籍的數量隨年月而漸多,而典藏內容更有深度,但此地的風景和討人喜愛的氣質,卻始終如一。」

Credit: Tom Bentley

館內的氛圍就像大蘇爾的縮影。Toren表示:「圖書館向訪客展示出大蘇爾的個性,這裡的自然風景和氣派令人讚歎,亦讓人體會到無論家在何方,也需悉心看顧。希望這個意義永垂不朽。」

Credit: Robson Hatsukami Morgan/Unsplash

事實上,大蘇爾正需要大家守護,區內近年天災頻仍,加州山火便是其一。雖然天賜的自然風光飽歷災害,但它和圖書館依然屹立不倒。若果圖書館真如其格言所稱「平安無事之地」,那麼,如此淡然的處世態度背後,所蘊藏的深意足以耐人尋味。

Credit: Thomas Ciszewski/Unsplash

行程建議

如何前往

Credit: Paul Quayle/Alamy Stock Photo

Henry Miller Memorial Library紀念圖書館位於加州一號公路,如從三藩市國際機場向南驅車,需時兩個半小時。圖書館的開放時間為逢星期二至星期日,上午11時至下午6時。

Nepenthe餐廳

Credit: Don Douglas/Alamy Stock Photo

餐廳由建於1925年的小木屋改裝而成,飽覽大蘇爾美不勝收的絕色風光。餐廳於1949年開幕之前,Miller曾在這裡居住過,而且與老闆結為好友。據說這位大作家愛在廣闊的陽台上與人切磋乒乓,因此這裡至今仍設有乒乓球桌和其他遊戲。至於位處下層的Café Kevah咖啡室,坐擁的景致同樣絢麗迷人。

Partington Cove海灣

Credit: Blaine Harrington III/Alamy Stock Photo

Miller的故居高踞於Partington Cove海灣上的Partington Ridge山脊,交通不便,遊客難以造訪。壯麗的海灣則易於前往,通往此地的步行徑保養得宜,雖然略為陡斜,但路程不遠,而且沿途風景處處,包括一條古色古香的隧道,以及許久以前用於把樹皮(以及非法走私的美酒)運上船隻的升降台。此海灣步行徑的起點距離Nepenthe餐廳以南約十公里。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

USA

In Search of Henry Miller’s Bohemian Legacy in Big Sur

A pilgrimage to the rugged California coastline and Big Sur, the spiritual home of Henry Miller, the great American author and existentialist who inspired the Beat Generation

People have been making pilgrimages to Big Sur for decades. Despite the coastal Highway 1 which runs through the whole of its 140-kilometre territory – when it’s not closed by the successive disasters of Californian fire and rain – the place retains a sense of remoteness and mystique. It’s a region where an utterance like ‘Big Sur is a state of mind’ doesn’t seem like a limp cliche but an astute perception.

The dazzling Big Sur landscape has long accommodated and welcomed the bohemians, the starry-eyed, the hermits, the existentialists, the moon-howlers, the wannabe hippies, the actual hippies – and for the most part, the tourists, too.

Credit: Andrew Charney/Unsplash

And amid the ratcheting cliffs, with their thermal-climbing condors, the sparkling sapphire coves and the deep redwood canyons that draw visitors’ awe, there are manmade touchpoints that are quintessential Big Sur: places worthy of the pilgrimage.

Places like the Henry Miller Memorial Library. Part bookshop, part arts centre, part performance venue, part roadside retreat, the library is a warm reflection of the artist it’s named for – and of the beauty that surrounds it.

Credit: Lisa Corson

Henry Miller: the writer, painter, raconteur, libertine, life-enthusiast and staunch defender of artistic freedom made his way from New York roots to nearly a decade in Paris, a stint in Greece and then on to Big Sur in 1944. Though his earlier books had been banned in the US for their sexual frankness, and remained so for years after, an enterprising smuggling network put them in the hands of Beat Generation figures like Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and Lawrence Ferlinghetti, who praised their free-flowing language and zest as influences on their own work. (Kerouac wrote a besotted novel titled Big Sur and Ferlinghetti had a cabin there.)

But before he influenced the Beats, Big Sur influenced Henry Miller. The artist’s work from the period he lived there includes the Rosy Crucifixion trilogy and Big Sur and the Oranges of Hieronymus Bosch, his paean to the area’s landscape, his friends and his many fancies.

Credit: Lisa Corson

‘Skies of pure azure and walls of fog moving in and out of the canyons with invisible feet, hills in winter of emerald green and in summer mountain upon mountain of pure gold,’ Miller wrote. ‘There was ever the unfathomable silence of the forest, the blazing immensity of the Pacific, days drenched with sun and nights spangled with stars.’

Credit: Lisa Corson

Miller left Big Sur in 1963 after 18 years, moving down south to Pacific Palisades, where he spent the rest of his lively life. But his friends remembered his time there. After the writer’s death in 1980, the painter Emil White dedicated his own property as a memorial to Miller. That cabin and land were donated after White’s death in 1989 to the Big Sur Land Trust, becoming the home of the Henry Miller Memorial Library: a nonprofit bookshop, archive, arts centre and performance venue.

The library’s grounds are cloaked in Big Sur’s daily cape of redwoods and greenery. Just out the back door is a little creek with a footbridge below the towering trees. Wander around the property and you’ll discover intriguing sculptures and artworks – it’s the same inside, as well. It’s easy to get the feeling that life here is more wide-open than in many places. Miller sensed that and moved with it.

Credit: Tom Bentley

Magnus Toren, executive director of the library, says it has always retained this feeling. ‘It has changed little, which is part of its virtue. Books have increased in number and the depth of archival material has increased, but the essential place that most people see and love has remained much the same.’

Credit: Tom Bentley

The atmosphere seems a microcosm of Big Sur itself. ‘The library serves as a reminder for visitors that Big Sur is, and hopefully always will be, a place that engenders a sense of awe in the face of natural beauty and grandeur, as well as a sense of needing to care for one’s home, wherever it is’, Toren says.

Credit: Robson Hatsukami Morgan/Unsplash

And with natural disasters like the Californian wildfires, Big Sur has certainly needed that – its remarkable topography both a blessing and a curse. But the place abides. And so does the library. If the Henry Miller Memorial Library is, as its motto states, ‘a place where nothing happens,’ it’s the most flavourful serving of nothing you’ll ever taste.

Credit: Thomas Ciszewski/Unsplash

If You Go

Getting There

Credit: Paul Quayle/Alamy Stock Photo

The Henry Miller Memorial Library is located on California’s Highway 1, a 2.5-hour drive south from San Francisco International Airport. It is open Tuesday-Sunday from 11am-6pm.

Nepenthe Restaurant

Credit: Don Douglas/Alamy Stock Photo

Built around a 1925 cabin, and hosting one of Big Sur’s incomparable views, Miller lived here before the restaurant opened in 1949, and he remained close pals with the owners. He was known to enjoy ping-pong matches on its expansive deck, which still hosts a table and other games. Café Kevah down below is no slouch for the views either.

Partington Cove

Credit: Blaine Harrington III/Alamy Stock Photo

Miller lived high above the cove on Partington Ridge, in a cabin not accessible to tourists – but the beautiful cove beneath is well within reach. Partington Cove is a well-maintained trail that’s somewhat steep but not long, and there’s plenty to see, including a handsome old tunnel and a landing where tree bark was unloaded onto ships long ago – and booze smuggled in. The Cove trail starts about 10 kilometres south of Nepenthe.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book