海灘

假如亞洲有一座烏托邦島國⋯⋯

下一站有請前來虛構的「蓬萊新島」——一個集合亞洲區島嶼各式優點的理想國度

有賴劇烈的地殼板塊移動,令亞洲冒起無數小島,當中超過17,000個位於印尼,日本則有接近7,000個,甚至香港也有263個。你可曾想過還有另外一個能夠集合亞洲所有優點、令人異常嚮往著迷的小島?就像日本在「國土起源神話」稱淡路島為最早誕生的「特別之島」,我們也來為這座島命名,姑且把它命名為「蓬萊新島」吧,寓意這是一片仙境樂土。島上有居民、當地貨幣和方言,還有一點點泰國人稱為輕鬆自在和樂也融融的愜意感覺。

蓬萊新島主要建基於幻想,不必執著於其地理位置。住在這裡的人不會像我們一樣要追趕死線,凡事漫不經心,天性熱情好客。這裡氣候宜人,蔚藍的天空澄澈無雲,沿岸水域亦波平如鏡,美不勝收。每天的日子都是如此恬靜閒適,電台報道天氣預報時,唯有偶爾轉換一下背景音樂,以免一成不變。

初來到訪這個理想國,當然會先關心住宿問題,讓疲憊的身心得以安頓。建於1920年代的私人小島Taprobane Island坐落於斯里蘭卡加勒古城以南,島主是品味獨特的貴族,故是理想的家居藍圖。蓬萊新島便借用了這個小島的名字和其破格的設計,再加入眾多只此一家的特色:抵達後,你可立即脫掉鞋履,當這裡是你舒適的家便可以了;每天的餐膳都以當天早上菜市場最新鮮的食材炮製;娛樂方面,島上沒有電視機,但藏書多得擠滿整個圖書館。
你需要掌握這個概念:蓬萊新島不是孤立的島嶼,而是風光如畫的群島中面積最大的一個;四周多不勝數的小島,可媲美緬甸西南岸一帶的丹老群島。島上的旅客諮詢櫃位自經理移民時不小心帶走鑰匙後一直關閉至今,窗上貼有一幅海報,宣傳長尾船海上遊的精采行程。船的結構參考泰國喀比島著名的造船工藝,你坐著它乘風出海,便可與大群蘇眉、海龜、吞拿魚、藍鰭鰺及其他海洋生物一同暢泳。

蓬萊新島的主要海港不單是運輸港口,更是約會聚首的老地方。蜿蜒的海濱大道樹影婆娑,夾道是百載老榕樹,令人聯想起蘇拉威西島北陲的美娜多海濱,美妙的氛圍有如意國著名藝術家Giorgio de Chirico的畫作《The Enigma of the Arrival and the Afternoon》。居民在日落餘暉中碰頭,一邊享受黃昏的清風,一邊閒話家常,淺嚐一兩件糕點小食。路邊攤販售賣的沙嗲雞肉串是蓬萊新島的特產,水準比印尼或馬來半島各國任何同行都要出色;這裡亦有售島上著名甜品「蓬萊布丁」,這款以新鮮水果炮製的冰凍甜品,與菲律賓的Halo Halo雪糕雜果冰沙和日本的雜果啫喱相若。

Illustration: Remko Heemskerk

再往島中心走便是市集美利樓。大樓從香港的海濱勝地赤柱轉移到島上,外牆是厚重的花崗岩,寬闊的走廊裝飾著希臘古典風格的大圓柱,其中有商販擺滿琳琅滿目的貨品,如印尼的傳統木雕、緬甸圖案華麗的男、女裝籠基,還有朝鮮青瓷。買賣雙方都志不在交易,只在乎互動交流。商販先奉上一小杯以老撾咖啡豆沖泡的免費咖啡,然後彼此客氣地開始討價還價,其實大家都心裡有數,最終的成交價不外乎是標價四分之三的簡單數學題。

市集附近還設有大型熟食市場,是檳城關仔角美食街的翻版,但食品滋味有過之而無不及;兩旁暢通無阻,海風輕拂,讓你可正對著開揚的優美景致佐餐。這裡每位廚師也大有來頭,各自以獨家秘方炮製印度香料抓飯、越南河粉、韓國泡菜及印尼炒飯等不同風味的名菜。一大清早,長餐桌已坐滿食客,大家毫不客氣地狼吞虎嚥,還邊吃邊談,代替鳥兒的歌聲而成為此地獨有的黎明協奏曲。

位於城內的住宅區由連綿低矮的平房組成,部分以茅草搭建,有些則仿照馬爾代夫首都馬累的有趣傳統,以鳥類或魚類命名。大多數民居的歷史已橫跨三代,社區氣氛和諧友善,居民慷慨餵飼街頭巷尾的混種小狗,懶得理會主人誰屬。街頭理髮師和拿著竹籃兜售各式日用品的小販亦在街上到處閒蕩,招攬生意。

島上有大量人力車可供代步,車伕會不時建議乘客停下來休息和閒聊一會,才繼續漫長的旅程。走了數化郎後(島民認為公制這個單位太霸道而改用化郎),眼前的景色由民房轉為稻田和果園,然後地勢沿著平緩而樹木茂密的山丘變得陡斜,猶如香港新界的地形。當地人如知道有外國登山客遠足了一整天,有感這樣像苦行修練般辛勞,當他們回程時便會報以貼心的慰問。

Illustration: Remko Heemskerk

此外,蓬萊新島並不遵從一天三餐的進餐規律,島民只要想吃就吃,而且十分愛吃。熟食市場絕對不是唯一的選擇,如Ali Joe’s Banana Leaf Restaurant,這間複製馬來西亞亞庇享負盛譽的同名餐廳,保留了原店的輕鬆隨意氣氛,你可一嚐以鋅鐵餐盤盛載的米飯和咖喱魚的獨特風味。其實陶瓷碗碟或筷子在這裡根本是多此一舉,以手進食是島民信奉的美味要訣。餐廳的價錢跟島上的物價一樣十分廉宜,切記別給小費,否則便被視作冒犯。

島上有位咖啡室東主,在1980年代末引進了昂貴的音響設備,當地人至今仍背地裡稱他為「卡拉OK殿下」。現時,島上最主要的娛樂是跳舞:單身女士會組隊跳柬埔寨的古典宮廷舞蹈,男士則揚言比馬拉人更早懂得跳馬來的傳統舞蹈,而且技巧更純熟。曾經有一位受島民尊敬的傳教士在當地落地生根,他非常熱愛社區大合唱,之後更迎娶了島上的21歲姑娘。他離開後,這股合唱風氣留存下來,受島民熱烈追捧,成為聖誕節、穆斯林開齋節及印度色彩節等許多節日的餘興節目。

蓬萊新島島民都會說英語,或至少懂得基本的手語。島民借用印度詞namaste打招呼和告別,意指「我向你的靈魂鞠躬致意」,但無需雙手合十;泰文pop gun mai(意即稍後見)和日語kawaii(意即可愛)都是年輕人的流行用語。島上也有自創的詞彙,讓人了解蓬萊新島的文化底蘊。如結合fastfood兩字的Fassfud帶有讚同或懷疑之意,通常用以責備「屁孩」,也常夾雜在酒吧的嬉笑聲中;若在盛怒時使用,就成為島上唯一的粗言穢語,足見蓬萊新島島民的和平、親切和豐富想像力。

好一個完美的小島,而它正正是孕育自完美的亞洲。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Beaches

Imagining the Perfect Asian Island of Kuniumi

Come along to the dreamed-up destination of Kuniumi, an imaginary isle that combines the best features of islands in Asia

Thanks in part to the tectonic plate tango, there’s a plethora of islands in Asia. More than 17,000 in Indonesia, nearly 7,000 in Japan – even Hong Kong counts some 263. But what if there was just one more? One that combined the best what the continent has to offer… and a bit more. Call it Kuniumi, named for the creation myth behind the islands of Japan. Let the term encompass the inhabitants, the local currency and patois, and the sense of fun and relaxation that Thais call sabai and sanuk.

Kuniumi was conjured up more with regard to fantasy than geography, imbued with a relaxed attitude to the foreign concept of deadlines and a natural inclination to hospitality. The balmy climate and crystal-clear skies barely do justice to the calm waters offshore, and weather forecasters on Radio Kuniumi sometimes resort to playing their favourite tunes for a bit of variation.

To start: any weary traveller needs a bed for the night, and Taprobane Island – built in the 1920s by an eccentric aristocrat, perched on its own islet south of Galle, Sri Lanka – provides the template. Kuniumi’s version borrows the name and the unconventional setting and adds its own garnish: guests are relieved of their shoes on arrival; menus are dictated by whatever is freshest in the morning market; television is an unknown quantity and the library is full to bursting.

Kuniumi isn’t a single island, mind you, but the largest of a bonsai archipelago; the others (nobody has bothered to do an exact count) bear comparison with Mergui, which dots the southwest coast of Myanmar. A poster in the window of Kuniumi’s tourism information kiosk (closed since the manager emigrated, absent-mindedly taking the keys) sings the glories of engaging a long-tail boat – inspired by Krabi’s signature craft – and diving through academies of Napoleon wrasse, turtles, tuna, blue-fin trevally and myriad other sea life.

Kuniumi’s main harbour is not so much a port as a rendez-vous, anchored by a sinuous boulevard, shaded by centuries-old banyans – not unlike the corniche at Manado, on the northern tip of Sulawesi, with the sort of other-worldly ambience echoed by Giorgio de Chirico’s painting The Enigma of the Arrival and the Afternoon. Residents gravitate here just before dusk, revelling in the cool of the evening, trading a little gossip and picking up a snack or two. Kuniumi’s famed chicken satay hawkers pride themselves on out-grilling any of their counterparts in Indonesia or the Malay Peninsula, while vendors also serve up Kuniumi Pud, a fruity frozen dessert similar to the Filipino halo-halo and Japanese mitsumame.

Illustration: Remko Heemskerk

Set a little further inland, Murray House – teleported from its seaside home in Hong Kong’s Stanley – does duty as Kuniumi’s market. Its heavy granite walls and Doric and Ionic columns are graced by broad verandahs where traders lay out their merchandise. Whether it’s an Indonesian-style wood carving, the sort of gaily patterned longyi that adorns both sexes in Myanmar or celadon pottery from Korea, buy-and-sell is an entertaining ritual rather than a chore. A small cup of coffee brewed from beans grown in Laos is served automatically, and the two parties then settle down to a courteously adumbrated bargaining session. It’s a purely academic exercise, as buyer and seller both know they’ll settle on roughly three-quarters of the initial suggested price.

The market abuts the main hawker centre. A carbon (but even tastier) copy of the one on Gurney Drive, Penang, its sides are wide open to marine breezes and panoramas. Every chef is a celebrity here, conjuring up his or her take on Indian biryani, Vietnamese pho, Korean kimchi and Indonesian nasi goreng. Most seats at the long communal tables are taken not long after sunrise, with diners gabbling and gulping – talking with your mouth full raises no eyebrows – in their own version of the dawn chorus.

Inland, the town stretches away in a tumble of low-rise houses: some thatched, some fancifully named after birds or fish following the custom in the Maldivian capital of Malé. Most are home to at least three generations, who lavish food on the amiable posse of multicultural dogs that run about the shady streets and lanes – patrolled by itinerant barbers and hawkers bearing bamboo baskets and various household knick-knacks – without bothering with the complications of ownership.

There’s a fleet of cycle rickshaws for getting about, although their pilots have a tendency to suggest stopping for a rest and a natter to punctuate longer journeys. After a few furlongs (the islands consider the metric system overly bossy), houses give way to paddy fields and orchards, and then the terrain rises into the sort of gentle wooded hills that bestride much of the New Territories in Hong Kong. Foreign visitors who set out on day-long hikes are assumed to be performing a penance of some sort, and are treated to gentle commiserations on their return.

Illustration: Remko Heemskerk

The concept of three square meals a day is anathema to Kuniumis, who tend to eat when the mood takes them, which is frequently. The hawker centre is by no means the only choice. At Ali Joe’s Banana Leaf Restaurant – or the culinary clone of the eponymous restaurant that used to be in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia – patrons are greeted with the same cheery nonchalance that characterised the original, and served rice and explosive fish curries from galvanised buckets. There’s nothing so superfluous as china plates or chopsticks: it tastes better when eaten with the fingers. And like everywhere here, the bill only comes to a handful of Kuniumis. Tipping is regarded as a risible faux pas.

The cafe owner who imported some expensive hi-fi equipment in the late 1980s is still called His Royal Karaokeness, though not to his face. Popular entertainment includes troupes of single women dancing the Cambodian robam neary chea chuor, while chaps claim they were dancing the rodat long before anyone in Malaysia got hold of it, and more skilfully, too. A much-revered missionary, who not only went native but did so with alacrity and a gorgeous 21-year-old, left behind a passion for community singing which is indulged in at Christmas, Eid, Holi and many other festivals whose secular side has been enthusiastically adopted by Kuniumis.

Most people here speak English, or are at least reasonably fluent in sign language. Kuniumis greet and farewell each other with a loan word from Hindi – namaste: that is, ‘I bow to the spirit within you’, but without pressing their palms together. Pop gun mai – ‘see you later’ in Thai – is popular with the younger generation, as is the term kawaii – ‘cute’ in Japanese. There are local inventions, too, which offer an insight into the Kuniumian soul. Fassfud, a conflation of fast food, is a universal term of approbation or disbelief, employed to upbraid mischievous children and frequently heard in bar room banter. Used in anger, it’s the single curse known to peaceful, lovable, fanciful Kuniumi. A perfect island, inspired by a perfect continent. 

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book