國泰航空

Ilse Crawford剖析全新的上海機場貴賓室設計

國泰航空於上海浦東機場的全新貴賓室成功延續設計典範

寧靜祥和盡在此中。或者更具體地說,在上海浦東國際機場的2號客運大樓內。經過D69號閘口,走進貴賓室素雅簡約的入口,立即就可以將客運大樓的繁忙與喧囂拋諸腦後。機場貴賓室的招牌香氛「Discover」的幽香撲鼻而來,此刻你已置身於一室的寧謐與和諧。這裡不但是國泰航空網絡當中最新推出的貴賓室,亦是這個繁忙機場內最頂級的貴賓室之一。 

全新推出的上海機場貴賓室,一如香港國際機場的玉衡堂,除了貫徹Studioilse設計事務所的風格典範,還將這家倫敦設計事務所的貴賓室概念首次帶進中國內地。

近年來,Studioilse已直接負責八個貴賓室的啟用及翻新設計工作,從2014年的東京羽田機場開始,以至香港的玉衡堂頭等及商務貴賓室,以及位於曼谷、吉隆坡、馬尼拉及溫哥華的貴賓室。

此外,國泰還推出多個全新貴賓室,包括香港的玲瓏堂及新加坡的貴賓室翻新設計,全部按照Studioilse早前定下的設計藍本進行,設計事務所本身並無直接參與。Studioilse的創辦人Ilse Crawford解釋:「我們於2013年開始著手玉衡堂的設計時,還需要設定一個設計『藍圖』,為國泰全球各地的貴賓室釐定各種主要設計元素。」

然而,這個藍圖並非一成不變的範本,而是靈活變化,可以將當地市場的文化元素融入其中,還可因應不同機場空間的面積及形狀等限制作出調整。

Crawford表示:「上海的機場貴賓室相當貼近設計藍本,但當然每個地方的設計都會有相應的改動。」從建築學的角度來說,貴賓室的設計必須將機場的弧度天花板融入其中,這是機場本身的原有特色,因而令浦東機場貴賓室的樓底看上去比其他貴賓室為高。饕客們亦隨即發現,「風味坊」供應的美食亦別具地方特色,這裡可以吃到上海麵和湯汁豐盈的小籠包。

國泰航空顧客機場體驗及設計總監李伊婷表示,為了讓「風味坊」保持「亞洲氣息」,團隊在該範圍內安裝了假天花,為設計錦上添花。她說:「我們乘勢加裝天花吊扇,除了為這裡增添亞洲的設計元素,亦為到訪者送上輕柔的涼風。」

此外,為了切合當地的美食文化,再加上上海機場貴賓室比一般貴賓室更為寬敞(可容納305位旅客),設計團隊還作出了其他改動。李伊婷說:「我們將上海機場貴賓室的用餐空間比例從現時的四至五成擴增到七成。這樣做的部分原因是為了配合亞洲文化,我們熱愛美食,用膳時間自然較長。」客人可能亦會留意到,照明設計由吊燈改為檯燈,以此突顯餐桌的長度。

新的設計亦融入了香港機場貴賓室的佈置方式。李伊婷解釋:「香港機場貴賓室內大部分餐桌均為四位設計,但我們留意到愈來愈多旅客獨自出遊,或者二人同行;加上有乘客曾反映因為餐桌數目不足而找不到位置用膳。為解決這個問題,上海機場貴賓室『風味坊』的餐桌佈置均改成兩個座位。」

國泰航空透過敏銳觀察和了解旅客的習慣與喜好後調整貴賓室的設計。談到家具的設計概念時,Crawford表示:「我們關注的要點之一,就是客人對座椅的要求。我們會量度客人看上去坐得非常舒適的座椅,亦會留意他們坐得不舒適的座椅,還發現他們喜歡斜靠在椅上,並喜歡選擇私隱度較高的轉椅,因此我們特別加裝更多這款座位。其他的變動還包括增設位置更加方便的插座,讓大家為裝置充電時不需要趴在地板上到處找插座。」

「當你了解用家的實際需求之後,就會學到很多東西,獲得極大的啟發。我們身為設計師,有責任將觀察到的事物轉化成符合客人需要的設計,提升他們的使用體驗。」

注重人體工學的設計固然能帶來舒適體驗,但平靜舒泰的感覺亦同樣重要,貴賓室提供的貼心照顧便為旅客帶來賓至如歸的感受。

Crawford補充:「這個說法或許有些老調重彈,但事實上旅客想要的是更加輕鬆寫意的舒適環境,公共空間應該令人有置身家中的感覺,而呆板冷漠的企業環境已經不合時宜。現今的機場貴賓室用家亦期望能體驗到最真摯的待客之道。」

而在熙來攘往的浦東機場內,旅客正在享受這種賓至如歸的體驗。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Designer Ilse Crawford on the New Shanghai Lounge

Cathay Pacific’s new lounge at Shanghai Pudong follows the blueprint of success

Serenity starts here. Or, more specifically, it starts in Terminal 2 at Shanghai Pudong International Airport. Pass through the discreetly guarded doors near Gate D69 and leave the hustle and bustle of the terminal behind. With a subtle waft of signature lounge fragrance Discover you have entered the tranquil surrounds of the newest lounge on the Cathay Pacific network – and one of the best lounges at this busy airport.

The new Shanghai lounge is based on the Studioilse blueprint, exemplified by The Pier at Hong Kong International Airport, and brings the London design company’s lounge concept to mainland China for the first time.

Studioilse has been directly responsible for designing eight of the new openings and refreshes in recent years, starting at Tokyo Haneda in 2014 and rolling out to both the First and Business Class facilities at The Pier in Hong Kong, and in Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Manila and Vancouver.

Other new openings, including The Deck at Hong Kong and the refreshed facility at Singapore, have continued to follow this design language without the agency’s direct involvement, as founder Ilse Crawford explains. ‘Starting in 2013 with The Pier lounges in Hong Kong, we were asked to define a design “blueprint” and pin down core feature elements for Cathay Pacific’s lounges worldwide.’

But the blueprint is not a cookie-cutter template; there is plenty of flexibility to incorporate cultural nuances from the local markets, as well as account for the physical size and shape limitations at various airports.

Shanghai, as Crawford explains, ‘is pretty close to the design blueprint, but obviously there are things that change at each place.’ In architectural terms, the lounge has had to take in the sweep of the airport’s roof, which is a feature in its own right, and so appears higher than at other lounges. Meanwhile those led by their stomachs will quickly notice individual flourishes such as the Noodle Bar serving Shanghai noodles and xiaolongbao soup-filled dumplings.

Elaine Lee, Cathay Pacific’s Head of Customer Experience and Design, Ground Product, explains that to keep the ‘Asian atmosphere’ of the Noodle Bar the team installed a false ceiling in that area, which in turn led to its own small design flourish. ‘We installed ceiling fans,’ she says. ‘They add an Asian design feature and provide a bit of a breeze.’

Another change has been triggered by reacting to cultural preferences as well as the physical reality of the Shanghai lounge having a larger-than-normal capacity of 305 travellers. ‘We have increased the dining space from the usual 40-50 per cent to 70 per cent at Shanghai,’ says Lee. ‘Part of that is to do with Asian culture. We like food and we will probably stay longer to eat.’ Patrons will also notice a change from pendant lighting to table lamps that illuminate the length of the dining tables.

Patterns observed at the Hong Kong lounges were also incorporated into the new designs. ‘At our Hong Kong lounges, most dining tables seat four’, explains Lee, ‘but we noticed that more customers travel alone or in pairs, and people were telling us that they couldn’t find a table because there weren’t enough seats. At the Shanghai Lounge Noodle Bar, all the tables are in pairs.’

It is these astute observations that have underpinned the lounge design from the outset. Crawford says of the furniture design for the concept: ‘One of the things we were interested in was how people sat. We took measurements of chairs where people were obviously comfortable – and noted when they weren’t. We spotted that people liked sitting diagonally and that they really liked swivel chairs to give them privacy – so we added those. We’ve also added a lovely interface so they can charge devices without crawling around the floor.’

‘You learn a lot by understanding what’s going on. It gives you tremendous insights, and then as a designer you have to translate it into something that enhances and accentuates the experience.’Ergonomics are part of that experience, but the other critical ingredients are wellbeing and serenity, which is derived from a sense of being looked after and feeling at home.

Crawford adds: ‘It’s a cliché but it’s true that the boundaries between the domestic and the public are blurred and people want this warmer, more informal environment. The institutional, soulless, corporate environments of old are just not relevant. Many lounge users today expect hospitality in the real sense of the word.’

And now, in the middle of the exceptionally busy Pudong airport, that’s exactly what people can expect.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book