都市生活

著名香港電影取景地點

前往港島、九龍及新界多個地點,重溫香港電影中令人難忘的時刻

本地影迷經常開玩笑說,香港本身就是一座巨型片場。這座城市雖然地少人多,卻擁有全球數一數二的蓬勃電影工業;1990年代香港電影產量之大,甚至贏得「東方荷李活」的美譽。因此,香港不少地方的風景都曾現身大銀幕,有些地方甚至不只一次成為外景地點。現在讓我們前往20個最著名的取景地點遊逛一回。

香港島

石塘咀山道

在1988年的經典電影《胭脂扣》裡,由粵語流行曲歌手梅艷芳飾演的名妓如花的鬼魂,在港島西北面一帶遊蕩,訪尋蹤影杳然的舊愛十二少(張國榮飾演)。她在山道一帶徘徊,這條街在一道高架天橋下,車輛可沿天橋從香港大學下山前往西區海底隧道。自從電影上映後,三十多年來這一帶出現很多改變,現在附近不遠處已有地鐵站;不過這道高架天橋依然十分觸目,每當經過這裡,就會想起如花與十二少的淒美故事。

上環粵海投資大廈

《無間道》內最著名的外景地點北角政府合署天台並不對外開放,影迷無法前往參觀,但卻可到位於上環的粵海投資大廈大起眼的大堂參觀。電影中一位要角從樓上墜下大廈前面一輛的士車頂,場面非常震憾。此外,電影緊張刺激的結局則在大廈的大堂內拍攝。

上環新紀元廣場

香港寸金尺土,空間非常珍貴;也許因為這個緣故,這個位於兩座多層辦公室大廈之間的小公園經常在香港電影中出現。在銀河影像多部電影中,以及《風暴》和不久前上映的賀歲片《如珠如寶》中,均可見到這座特色小花園。如過你經常捧香港電影的場,應該早就在銀幕上見過這個地方。

Getty Images/AWL Images RM

中環半山扶手電梯

這道全球最長的戶外有蓋電梯於1993年落成啟用,馬上成為香港的地標,同時也成為影迷心目中的地標。王家衛的《重慶森林》(片中梁朝偉住的單位就位於扶手電梯旁)、許鞍華的《得閒炒飯》以及多部香港電影均曾在這道著名的電梯取景。Christopher Nolan 在拍攝《蝙蝠俠:黑夜之神》一場Christian Bale與Morgan Freeman的對手戲時,更曾將電梯暫時關閉,以便進行拍攝。

中環昃臣道

香港電影史其中一場最有型有格的戲,就是《英雄本色》中周潤發首次亮場:他身穿乾濕褸,戴著太陽眼鏡(這身打扮成為當時一整代影迷模仿的對象),站在街中央,然後在小販攤檔上買一碟豬腸粉吃。這一場戲在中環的昃臣道取景,旁邊就是和平紀念碑及前立法會大樓。

AF archive / Alamy Stock Photo

灣仔街市

Paul McGuigan於2009年執導的超自然懸疑片《Push》由Chris Evans及Dakota Fanning主演,全片的背景及取景地點幾乎全部在香港,在荷李活製作中十分罕見。片中取景地點包括位於莊士敦道以南、鄰近港鐵站的灣仔街市。除了可在街市內選購新鮮蔬菜及肉類之外,附近的街上還有不少鮮花檔,以及出售幸運飾物及廉價玩具的攤檔,五光十色,非常熱鬧。

灣仔至筲箕灣線公共小巴

雖然這不算是電影外景地點,但是在香港乘搭小巴可說是獨特的體驗。爾冬陞於2003年執導的《忘不了》,講一名女子(張柏芝飾)在丈夫車禍死後,為了生活,加入競爭劇烈的小巴業,成為小巴司機,而她駕駛的路線,就是有不少乘客的灣仔至筲箕灣線。若想追隨她的駕駛路線,可於軒尼詩道、渣華道(只限東行線)或英皇道(只限西行線)上,登上紅頂小巴,就可一覽沿途的景色。

天后清風街天橋

這條有46年歷史的天橋由英皇道開始,穿過天后的中心通向維多利亞公園旁的繁忙道路。在方育平1983年執導的獨立經典《半邊人》裡,兩位主角的汽車在天橋上壞掉,他們就向橋邊一個住宅單位內的人借電話求救。在2005年的犯罪懸疑片《三岔口》中,郭富城與吳彥祖在一場緊張的追逐戲中從這條橋上一躍而下。不過各位讀者請留意,這條天橋只供汽車使用,所以請坐上的士,然後請司機帶你上橋一遊。

鰂魚涌海山樓

這座巨型的住宅屋苑由五座不同的大樓組成,由於規模巨大,有人將稱為「怪獸大廈」。屋苑的中庭曾在無數的音樂錄像、時裝照片以及近日的Instagram內現身。但海山樓及附近的街道在《變形金剛》電影系列第四集《變形金剛:殲滅世紀》中,成為最後一場大決戰的背景,從此為全球影迷認識。

香港仔珍寶海鮮舫

珍寶海鮮舫位於一隻停泊於香港仔岸邊的巨型畫舫內 ,可能是全球其中一家最廣為人識的餐廳。自從於1976年開幕以來,吸引不少電影前來取景,其中包括李小龍的名作《龍爭虎鬥》、南韓賣座電影《盜賊門》、周星馳的《食神》以及Steven Soderbergh的《世紀戰疫》等。在1995年的《哥斯拉之世紀必殺陣》內,這隻著名畫舫甚至被哥斯拉摧毀。

九龍

尖沙咀星光大道

星光大道由香港藝術術館一直伸延至尖東海旁,不單用來向香港電影人致敬,同時由於在那裡可以將維港對岸的港島風光一覽無遺,因此也經常成為電影的外景地點。本月機上放映的《大師兄》講述一名作風嚴厲但心地善良的中學教師(由動作巨星甄子丹飾演)為了幫助學生一圓當歌手的夢想,於是在星光大道安排了一場即興的演出。星光大道經過三年翻新工程後,於2019年2月重新開放。

尖沙咀廣東道

陳可辛導演的經典愛情片《甜蜜蜜》(本月於機上放映)有很多重要場面都在尖沙咀的街頭拍攝。男主角黎明讓女主角張曼玉坐在他的單車車尾上,一起在廣東道上兜圈,嘴裡一面哼著鄧麗君的流行曲〈甜蜜蜜〉,正好亦是本片的片名。

尖沙咀中間道

《甜蜜蜜》另一場令人難忘的戲也是以尖沙咀為背景,也同樣用了一首鄧麗君的歌。收音機內正在播放她的〈再見我的愛人〉,黎明與張曼玉飾演的角色此時已成舊情人,兩人在基督教青年會對面的路上停下來,彼此擁吻,緬懷舊情。

油麻地廟街

位於九龍油麻地的廟街有不少出名的事物:熱鬧的夜市、美味的煲仔飯與唱曲的小攤。爾冬陞的獲獎電影《新不了情》(本月於機上放映)以鄰近停車場大廈的一段廟街為背景,這裡的特色是每晚均有人在此演唱粵曲。故事講述一名落泊樂師結識了出身廟街的活潑女孩,兩人感情發展漸入佳境之際,女孩卻發現自己身患絕症。這部電影拍得催淚感人,同是也是對這個社區的一闕動人讚歌。

佐敦文華新村

巨型的住宅屋苑,香港島有海山樓,九龍則有位於佐敦與西九龍新落成的高鐵車站之間的文華新村。這個屋苑有八座住宅大樓,是香港其中一座最古老的私人屋苑,裡面有不少修理汽車的車房,以及多家出色的本地餐廳食肆。文華新村曾多次亮相銀幕:杜琪峯的《大事件》裡;大部分的故事就發生在這屋苑內;《忘不了》令人感動不已的結局,亦在這裡取景。文華新村甚至曾在荷李活科幻懸疑片《Ultraviolet》內亮相,本片由Milla Jovovich主演。

觀塘鴻圖道

杜琪峯及其製作公司銀河影像過去20年來拍過多部精采出色的香港電影,包括《黑社會》、《暗戰》、《PTU》、《鎗火》及《奪命金》(本月於機上放映)等。無論他的電影發生在香港哪一個地區,片中總會有一場戲是在觀塘,特別是鴻圖道以及附近一帶取景。原因很簡單:杜琪峯的電影公司就是位於鴻圖道。即使是《PTU》,整個故事應該是發生於尖沙咀的,但片中最少有一場重頭戲是在觀塘拍的。

新界:聚焦沙田

沙田區於1973年開始發展為新市鎮,是全港18區中人口最多的一區。該區有廣闊的戶外空間,與九龍及香港島高樓大廈林立的城市景色截然不同,香港電影中亦可見到不少沙田風光。

城門河

城門河上每年均會舉行龍舟競賽,是當區一項盛事。本地喜劇《逆流大叔》(本月機上放映)講述幾個中年男子參加龍舟競賽,片中的主要部分就在城門河取景。在本片的結尾,觀眾更可見到這群烏合之眾划著龍舟一直朝沙田大會堂駛去。

龍華酒店

龍華酒店以1950年代的裝潢與燒乳鴿而馳名,同時也是不少香港舊電影的外景場地,這裡甚至有一間錄音室供人使用。李小龍的《唐山大兄》曾在這裡拍攝,據說金庸就是在這家酒店內寫作他的第一本武俠小說《書劍恩仇錄》。自1985年起這座建築不再作酒店用途,但仍在近年多部香港電影中亮相,包括《買凶拍人》、《女士復仇》及《樹大招風》等。

第一城

第一城於1980年代初興建,至今仍然是沙田最大型的私人屋苑。 1980年代高踞票房榜首的賣座電影《最佳拍檔》講述由麥嘉飾演的偵探派人潛入一名珠寶竊賊(許冠傑飾)的家中,展開一場追逐戲。這場戲就是在第一城街道的半空中進行,十分緊張刺激。

Getty Images

沙燕橋

沙燕橋連接沙田市中心及沙田圍區,是沙田區內一條重要通道。這道橋的名稱來自區內一家中學的棒球隊「沙燕隊」,這支球隊也是香港首隊華人少年棒球隊。2016年的電影《點五步》就是以這支球隊的故事為題材,片中除了在沙燕橋取景外,還有不少沙田外景,包括禾輋邨、瀝源邨及現在已停用的多石街棒球場。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Iconic Hong Kong Movie Locations

Relive the most memorable big-screen moments in Hong Kong cinema by visiting these locations from Central to Tsim Tsa Tsui and beyond

Local film buffs often joke that Hong Kong itself is one giant film studio. The compact city is home to one of the most active film industries in the world – in the 1990s, it even earned the nickname of ‘Hollywood in the East.’ That means it’s hard to find a neighbourhood that hasn’t hosted a film crew (or several) at some point. Where to begin? We’ve zoomed in on 20 of the most iconic movie locations.

Hong Kong Island

Hill Road, Shek Tong Tsui

In the 1988 classic Rouge, the ghost of a courtesan (played by Cantopop star Anita Mui) wanders the northwestern edge of Hong Kong Island looking for her long-lost love (played by Leslie Cheung). She makes her way to Hill Road, which sits below the tall flyover that takes drivers from Hong Kong University down the hill to the Western Harbour Tunnel. A lot has changed in the neighbourhood over the three decades since the film was made (it’s now within walking distance of an MTR station, for one), but the bridge remains an impressive architectural feat.

Guangdong Investment Tower, Sheung Wan

The most famous location in Infernal Affairs – the rooftop of North Point Government Offices – is inaccessible to the public, but fans can visit another pivotal spot: the unassuming lobby of the Guangdong Investment Tower in Sheung Wan. It’s the location of the thriller’s biggest shock, when a major character falls from the sky onto a taxi, as well as its powerful ending.

Grand Millennium Plaza, Sheung Wan

Hong Kong Island is not exactly known for being spacious. Perhaps that’s why the park in the centre of this two-building complex is often seen in Hong Kong films, including multiple Milkyway Image films, Firestorm and the recent Chinese New Year comedy A Lifetime Treasure. If you’re a regular viewer of Hong Kong films, chances are that you’ve seen Grand Millennium Plaza onscreen.

Hong Kong On Camera
Getty Images/AWL Images RM

Central-Mid-Levels Escalator

The longest outdoor covered escalator system in the world became an instant Hong Kong landmark when it opened in 1993. It’s also become a landmark for film buffs, thanks to iconic scenes in Wong Kar-wai’s Chungking Express (the flat used in the second half of the film was located next to the escalator), Ann Hui’s All About Love and others. Christopher Nolan and his crew even shut it down temporarily for a scene between Christian Bale and Morgan Freeman in The Dark Knight.

Jackson Road, Central

One of the coolest scenes in Hong Kong cinema history is when actor Chow Yun-fat first appears as Mark in John Woo’s A Better Tomorrow. Wearing a trench coat and sunglasses (a look that would later be imitated by an entire generation of fans), Chow stands in the middle of the street before buying a plate of piping hot steamed rice rolls from a street vendor. The scene was shot on Jackson Road in Central, just next to the Cenotaph war memorial and near the old Legislative Council Building.

AF archive / Alamy Stock Photo

Wan Chai wet market

Paul McGuigan’s 2009 supernatural thriller Push, starring Chris Evans and Dakota Fanning, was a rarity among Hollywood productions in Hong Kong in that almost the entire film was set and filmed in the city. The many sights featured include Wan Chai’s wet market, just south of Johnston Road, near the MTR station. In addition to fresh produce, you can visit the street vendors nearby for flowers, lucky charms and cheap toys.

Wan Chai-Shau Kei Wan minibus

While it’s not exactly a filming location, a minibus ride through Hong Kong is a unique experience that figures in Derek Yee’s 2003 romantic drama Lost in Time. A woman (played by Cecilia Cheung) becomes a driver in the cutthroat minibus industry after losing her husband in a car crash, and the popular Wan Chai-Shau Kei Wan route is where she earns her living. To retrace her route, you can catch a red-top minibus along Hennessey Road, Java Road (eastbound only) or on King’s Road (westbound only).

Tsing Fung Street Flyover, Tin Hau

This 46-year-old bridge takes drivers from King’s Road through the centre of Tin Hau down to the busy roads by Victoria Park. In director Allen Fong’s 1983 indie masterpiece Ah Ying, the two protagonists find themselves borrowing a phone from a resident in a flat by the bridge when their car breaks down on the flyover. In 2005, Aaron Kwok and Daniel Wu jumped off the bridge during a tense foot chase in crime thriller Divergence. But visitors, remember: The bridge is for cars only – so hop in a cab and check it out.

Montane Mansion, Quarry Bay

This giant residential block consists of five different buildings – dubbed by some as ‘Monster Building’ for their sheer size – and its central courtyard has appeared in numerous music videos, fashion shoots and, more recently, Instagram feeds. But Montane Mansion got its biggest global exposure when Transformers: Age of Extinction (that’s the fourth one) featured the building and its surrounding streets in its climatic final battle.

Jumbo Floating Restaurant, Aberdeen

Situated on a giant boat parked off the coast of Aberdeen, Jumbo Floating Restaurant may be one of the most recognisable restaurants in the world. It’s also been a hugely popular filming location since it opened in 1976, featured in Bruce Lee classic Enter the Dragon, South Korean blockbuster The Thieves, Stephen Chow’s God of Cookery and Steven Soderbergh’s Contagion. It was even destroyed in 1995’s Godzilla vs Destoroyah.

Kowloon

Avenue of Stars, Tsim Sha Tsui

The Avenue of Stars – which runs from the Hong Kong Museum of Art to the Tsim Sha Tsui East Waterfront – is not only a tribute to Hong Kong’s film industry, it’s also regularly used as a filming location as the promenade offers a sweeping view of Hong Kong Island across Victoria Harbour. In Big Brother (onboard this month), a tough-but-kind secondary school teacher (played by action star Donnie Yen) gives his student a chance to fulfil his dream as a singer by helping him put on an impromptu performance on the Avenue of Stars – which reopened in February 2019 after an extensive three-year renovation.

Canton Road, Tsim Sha Tsui

Key moments in Peter Chan’s iconic romance, Comrades, Almost a Love Story (currently playing onboard), take place on the streets of Tsim Sha Tsui. It’s here that the two leads – played by Maggie Cheung and Leon Lai – share a bike ride down Canton Road, humming the Teresa Teng hit song that gave the film its Chinese title (Tian Mi Mi – ‘sweet as honey’).

Middle Road, Tsim Sha Tsui

Another memorable Tsim Sha Tsui-set scene in Comrades, Almost a Love Story also features a Teresa Teng song. As her ballad Goodbye My Love plays on the radio, Lai and Cheung’s characters – former lovers at this point in the story – stop and share a passionate, but melancholic kiss by the road just across from the YMCA building.

Temple Street, Yau Ma Tei

Hong Kong’s Temple Street is known for many things – a night market, claypot rice dishes and some quirky roadside karaoke enthusiasts. Derek Yee’s award-winning C’est La Vie, Mon Chéri (currently playing onboard), puts its focus on a very specific section of the street next to the Carpark Building where Cantonese opera singers perform nightly. This tearjerker, about a musician who falls for a terminally ill girl from the neighbourhood, is a moving ode to the community.

Man Wah Sun Chuen, Jordan

Hong Kong’s other famous giant apartment block is across Victoria Harbour, between the Jordan neighbourhood and the new high-speed rail station in West Kowloon. Made up of eight apartment blocks, Man Wah Sun Chuen is one of the city’s oldest private housing estates, complete with car mechanic shops and great local restaurants. It’s made multiple big-screen appearances: Man Wah Sun Chuen is where most of the action takes place in Johnnie To’s Breaking News, the location of the heartfelt finale in Lost in Time and even features in Hollywood futuristic sci-fi thriller, Ultraviolet, starring Milla Jovovich.

Hung To Road, Kwun Tong

Johnnie To and his Milkyway Image have produced some of the best Hong Kong films in the past 20 years, including Election, Running Out of Time, PTU, The Mission and Life Without Principle (onboard this month). No matter which Hong Kong neighbourhood his films are set in, there is always a scene that is shot in Kwun Tong – especially on Hung To Road – and the surrounding area. The reason is simple: To’s company is headquartered on Hung To Road. Even PTU, which is supposed to be set entirely in Tsim Sha Tsui, has at least one pivotal scene shot in Kwun Tong.

New Territories: spotlight on Shatin

Developed in 1973, Shatin has the highest population of all of Hong Kong’s 18 districts. Its vast open area creates a stark contrast to the claustrophobic cityscapes of densely packed high-rises in Kowloon and on Hong Kong Island. Here are some key locations that crop up in local films time and again.

Shing Mun River

The annual Dragon Boat Festival held on Shatin’s Shing Mum River is a major tournament and event. Naturally, a significant part of local comedy Men on the Dragon (onboard this month) – about a group of middle-aged men who take up dragon boat racing – was shot on location at the river. The ending even sees the film’s ragtag group of heroes row their dragon boat all the way down to Shatin Town Hall.

Lung Wah Hotel

Best known for the roasted pigeon served in its restaurant and its 1950s decor, Lung Wah Hotel was often used as a recording studio and a filming location in old Hong Kong films, including Bruce Lee’s The Big Boss. Late literary legend Louis Cha reportedly wrote his first novel, The Book and the Sword, in the hotel. The building hasn’t been used as a hotel since 1985, but it has appeared in a number of recent Hong Kong films, including You Shoot, I Shoot, Husband Killers and Trivisa.

City One

Built in the early 1980s, City One remains Shatin’s largest private housing estate. In Aces Go Places, one of the highest-grossing Hong Kong films of that decade, a private detective (played by Karl Maka) sends someone to infiltrate the home of a jewel thief (played by Sam Hui). The pursuit leads to a daring tightrope escape high above its streets.

City One Shatin, Hong Kong On Camera
Getty Images

Sand Martin Bridge

This important thoroughfare in Shatin – which connects Shatin city centre and the Shatin Wai area – was named after Hong Kong’s first Chinese youth baseball team, which was formed in a neighbourhood secondary school. The team’s story is dramatised in the 2016 film Weeds on Fire. In addition to the bridge, the film was shot on location all around Shatin, including Wo Che Estate, Lek Yuen Estate and the now-defunct baseball field on To Shek Street.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book