旅遊攝影

亞洲各地景點踏上網紅之路

拿著手機隨走隨拍,不只扭轉了出遊模式,也影響我們選擇哪一個目的地

位於港島北面的西陲海濱,有一條狹長的木橋延伸出海。在搖搖晃晃的橋上一直走,可以聽到浪濤沖刷岩石的聲響。隨大海的呼嘯步往橋頭,你將感受到置身海中央的浩瀚無崖。這動人的一幕,蘊含了香港的一種文化。

到底是什麼文化?排隊文化是也。畫面中確實只有你和海天一色的景致,其實背後還有輪候拍照等著在社交網站Instagram「打卡」的人龍。

這座橋連同背後看似搖搖欲墜的梯架,便是突然聲名大噪的西環泳棚,它早於上世紀60年代由政府建成,讓市民能出海暢泳,迄今仍有一群忠實泳客,到此早泳的人尤其多。當泳客散去,海濱即迎來一群年輕的拍攝族群。他們大概對修復後的港島小碼頭無動於衷,來此無非想在社交平台上湊熱鬧。

Sai Wan Swimming Shed - Credit: Brayden Law/Unsplash, Jin Chu Ferrer/Getty Images, Richard Lee/Unsplash. Instagram Pier - P. Celada, Virginia Phan

由香港的橋頭這一端以至世界不同角落,都可見到為拍照上載社交網站而產生的人龍效應。不論美或不美,總有一些地點會被發掘而成「打卡」勝地,有些是公認的美景,有些是乘著社交媒體的推波助瀾,有些則因時來運到而人氣急升。眾人就此爭相走訪,一探究竟,千山萬水,有時可能只為拍一張惹人讚好的照片。

論香港最受歡迎的拍照對象,莫過於中環蘇豪區的一面牆。有藝術家在鬧市中心地段的嘉咸街創作壁畫,繪上密密麻麻的唐樓,外牆呈鮮橙色、檸檬黃和青草綠色,點綴熙來攘往的嘉咸街街口,在蔚藍的天空下,壁畫顯得格外繽紛,它與旁邊的「住好啲」家品店一同散發新舊並存的時代氣息,常教人駐足拍照。

Credit: Linda Kennard/Alamy Stock Photo/Argus Photo

「我創作這幅壁畫時,還未註冊Instagram帳號。」香港藝術家Alex Croft如此說。Croft在2012年獲「住好啲」邀請在店旁的牆壁上繪畫,當時並沒有打算作長期展覽用途,但在社交平台上走紅後,隨即變成全港必遊熱點之一,先有韓國遊客慕名前來,後有中國內地旅客接踵而至,現在幾乎無人不曉。

Croft還說︰「這個地方受到世界各地的人關注,實在不可思議,也許這個街角風水好得很吧?」

不過,這道「打卡」牆常令行人道和馬路擠得水洩不通,遊人自得其樂、在繁忙的街角等候或拍攝時,也給上上落落的居民帶來不便。而西環泳棚附近的卸貨碼頭亦同樣飽受知名度之苦,人群紛紛擁至這個有「Instagram碼頭」美譽的岸邊舉機拍照,同時亦阻礙了船隻卸貨的工作。

為了拍得更多令人讚好的照片,一眾攝友更深入民居,跑到公共屋村搜索心儀地標。位於九龍黃大仙區的彩虹村,是超過1.8萬人口的安身之所,不知從何時開始,這裡成為旅客的拍照勝地,人數之多可能足以與居民數目匹敵。

彩虹村於1960年代落成,建築外牆是整齊歸一的橫直線條格局,並抹上天虹七色,設計與村名天衣無縫。如果把七色樓房和下方的籃球場攝入鏡頭,你就會得出一幅猶如英國畫家David Hockney斑駁絢麗的作品,因而獲得攝友垂青。

The reality of engineering an Insta-worthy shot at the Monster Building - Credit: Isaac Lawrence/AFP/Getty Images

面對魚貫而入的遊人,居民普遍又愛又恨。有人受惠於人流增長,創立生意迎合需求;有人只想和隊友好好地打一場球賽,而不用跟大擺甫士的網紅周旋。

維港對岸的「怪獸大廈」在社交平台上亦炙手可熱。位於鰂魚涌的益昌大廈、益發大廈和海山樓等相連而形成「M」字形的鼎足氣勢,開闢出一個深邃神秘的異域,如同新派黑色電影中的場景。只要在晚上選對時間,站在平台一座低矮石躉上從正確的角度取景,你就能拍出一張被一座座連綿不絕的大廈重重包圍的懾人照片。密密麻麻的鋁窗窗框、參差不齊的冷氣機裝置、長短不一的掛晾衣物、不同顏色的碰撞和射出炫目光芒的熒光燈管,令人歎為觀止。該石躉被無數人踏來踏去當攝影凳之後,大廈管理員終究要張貼大型告示,禁止外人爬上石躉上拍照。

今時今日,我們都會先在Instagram上搜索一輪標籤主題,才決定往哪裡去度假;即使搜索出現一格接一格幾近千篇一律的照片,我們還是樂此不疲,想親自拍攝一模一樣的作品。

舉例說,到峇里島盪鞦韆可謂一時無兩的玩意。過去兩年,在Instagram上最常出現的旅遊照片,就是一身無瑕嫩肌、身穿涼爽花裙的妙齡女子,面朝烏布的水稻梯田,在半空中盪鞦韆。這正是2018/19年度盛吹的熱帶田園風,與峇里的和煦陽光與茂密樹林完美結合。你只要付上35美元(包酒店接送)就能一嘗所願,成為照片中的主角。現在峇里島上隨處都掛上鞦韆,簡直成行成市,為遊人築起回歸田園的拍照佈景。

The rope swings of Bali - Credit: ljuba photo/Getty Images, Oleh Slobodeniuk/istock photo, jared rice/unsplash

島上另一端的Pura Lempuyang神廟也有另一番成就。這廟原本寂寂無聞,最近卻憑「天堂之門」打響名堂,成攝友的新發現,引來一批網絡朝聖者膜拜。神廟裡這道一分為二的閘門,把阿貢火山的風景夾在正中。在這樣宏偉壯闊的背景下,最適合擺出瑜伽的拱橋姿勢,或者雙手合十作誠心感謝狀。可別忘了用#namaste標籤。

號稱全球首座數碼藝術博物館的東京TeamLab無界,可說是為了讓人拍照「打卡」而設計的。在10,000平方米的展覽空間內,奇幻絢麗的影像成為數以十萬計智能手機感應器的獵物,我可以肯定,這裡每個像素都有網上記錄。

Tokyo's TeamLab Borderless is an Instagrammer's dream Credit: TeamLab

在新加坡,許多地方都值得大影特影,但濱海灣金沙酒店一定獨佔鰲頭,酒店自開幕八年多以來,酒店入住率就高達98%,而位於頂樓的無邊際泳池就只開放予住客使用,因此吸引不少人特地入住酒店(還有拍照)。

我們都太愛拍照了,我也非超然物外。我試過在越南乘火車,趁火車駛經險要的海雲關時,半身伸出洗手間的窗外,險象橫生地捕捉蜿蜒的火車軌和山峽間水清沙幼的海灣。曾幾何時,我在澳洲大洋路上為了拍十二門徒石的日落風光,冷得手指也發麻。在西班牙,我駕著七人房車駛進泥濘道上,為的是從一個低角度拍攝震撼的隆達山城。許多時候,辛苦經營得來的照片,也許無異於別人所獲。

Three of Adam White's photos where the journey beat the shot

不要緊,我不是要當網紅,即使我穿上比堅尼,也沒什麼看頭。但我們不妨思考一下,這股拍照風氣對我們有何益處,除了照片之外,還有什麼得著。如果遊客並非為了拍得網上熱照而來香港旅行,也許根本不會踏足本地的公共屋村,更不用說會留意街頭藝術或嘗嘗西環海風吹送的滋味。我希望這些會成為他們旅途的美好回憶,因為點讚的人數早晚也會停止。

相片總能勾起我的旅遊回憶:我記得越南鐵路工人慢慢踱步回到訊號站去;我記得在澳洲維多利亞省那十多座石灰岩柱被海浪沖擊,泛起橘黃、澄黃和寶藍的美麗顏色;我記得有位西班牙司機在我面前急轉彎,使我驚惶失措,後來見他倒車,我才鬆一口氣。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travel photography

How These Asian Destinations Became Instagram Famous

The camera phone has changed how we travel – and where we travel to

At the western end of the north face of Hong Kong island, a rickety wooden structure juts out into the harbour. The waves slap against the rocks beneath. Standing at the far end of the pier, you’re thrust out into the ocean. Just you and the water: the very essence of Hong Kong. 

Well – just you, the water, and the line of people behind you also waiting for the perfect Instagram shot.

The pier, together with the equally rickety structure behind it, is known as the Sai Wan Swimming Shed. It’s the last of its kind, built by the government in the ’60s to allow the populace to take the waters. A small core of die-hards still swims at Sai Wan, particularly at sunrise. But as they leave, a younger crowd arrives. A crowd enticed not by the restorative effects of Hong Kong’s harbour – but by this pier’s social media juice.

Sai Wan Swimming Shed - Credit: Brayden Law/Unsplash, Jin Chu Ferrer/Getty Images, Richard Lee/Unsplash. Instagram Pier - P. Celada, Virginia Phan

Across Hong Kong and elsewhere in the world, the queues are forming. By mutual assent, by the power of social media to pluck a random place out of obscurity, or by sheer luck – these destinations are becoming must-grams, for better or worse. With that comes a willingness to travel further, to see more – even if it’s just for the sake of the shot.

Hong Kong’s most-photographed wall runs along one side of Graham Street in SoHo, right in the middle of town. A mural alongside the G.O.D lifestyle store depicts densely packed traditional tong lau houses crammed along the street, a mix of oranges and yellows and greens against a perfect blue sky.

Credit: Linda Kennard/Alamy Stock Photo/Argus Photo

‘I painted that wall before I used Instagram,’ says Hong Kong artist Alex Croft, who was commissioned by G.O.D to paint it in 2012. It was never meant to be a permanent fixture, but social success that propelled it to the top of Hong Kong must-see lists, first for the Koreans, then for mainland Chinese visitors, and now everyone else.

‘It’s amazing that it has become a place that is now talked about around the world,‘ says Croft. ‘Maybe there is some strange feng shui in that little crossing there. Who knows?’

It’s not all good vibes, though. The wall’s popularity has attracted its share of detractors. This is a busy corner of Hong Kong, and the pavements and roads are almost always blocked by tourists waiting for their shot. Not far from the Sai Wan Swimming Shed, a freight dock has become known as Instagram Pier, with snappers flocking for the on-the-waterfront vibes. The only issue: the ships trying to unload their cargo.

Increasingly, Insta-visitors are journeying farther afield in search of their likes. The Choi Hung Estate in northeastern Kowloon is home to more than 18,000 Hongkongers – and some days, it feels like there are just as many camera-toting tourists as well.

Built in the ’60s, the residential complex is a modernist utopia of straight lines, offset by a spectrum of pastel highlights (choi hung means rainbow). But those tones, and the basketball court beneath, have transformed this estate into a destination for snappers seeking a Hockney-hued slice of life.

The reality of engineering an Insta-worthy shot at the Monster Building - Credit: Isaac Lawrence/AFP/Getty Images

Local residents, on the whole, have mixed feelings about the influx. Some have started businesses selling to the visitors, but others just want to be able to play a pick-up ball game without having to weave around yet another languidly posed influencer.

Similarly, the triumvirate of the Yik Cheong Building, Yick Fat Building and Montane Mansion in Quarry Bay – known to most as the ‘Monster Building’ – has pulled in the snappers thanks to its grimy, neon-noir vibes. Shot from just the right angle and at the right time of night, an unbroken wall of buildings hems you in from all sides: a density of aluminium window frames, AC units, dangling laundry, shocks of colour and an ever-present fluorescent glow. Achieving that particular angle, ironically, involves posing atop a low structure adorned with a large sign forbidding visitors from taking photos.

Nowadays, when we research holidays, we scroll through Instagram tags. And even if what shows up is grid after grid of identical photos, we still feel the need to go – to collect that photo for ourselves.

Take the rope swings of Bali. In the last two years, shots of the flawless-of-skin in flowing summer dresses suspended high over the rice terraces of Ubud have crept into every Instagram feed. They’re the perfect expression of the 2018/19 bucolic-tropical look, that mix of warm sunshine and dense tropical green. And it can be yours for US$35 including hotel transfer: Balinese swing setups are now everywhere on the island, a neatly manufactured industry to create the impression of rural idyll.

The rope swings of Bali - Credit: ljuba photo/Getty Images, Oleh Slobodeniuk/istock photo, jared rice/unsplash

Also on Bali, the Pura Lempuyang temple has discovered a whole new body of worshippers: those who profess their faith at the altar of social media. Once a relatively undervisited temple, the ‘Gates of Heaven’ have changed all that. These split gates at the temple perfectly frame the volcanic Mount Agung in the background. What better backdrop for the yoga backbend and a mindful pray-hands #namaste?

Then there’s TeamLab Borderless in Tokyo. It bills itself as the world’s first digital art museum – but that also makes it the world’s first museum designed with Instagram at priority number one. Each pixel of this 10,000-square-metre space has been documented online, its iridescent overload captured on a hundred thousand smartphone sensors. And while Singapore has plenty of Instagrammable sights, perhaps nowhere is this more the case than the Marina Bay Sands. Partly thanks to its rooftop infinity pool, which is exclusive to hotel guests, occupancy at the property hovers resolutely around 98 per cent some eight years after opening.

Tokyo's TeamLab Borderless is an Instagrammer's dream Credit: TeamLab

We are photo-obsessed. I count myself as guilty.  I’ve dangled from the bathroom window of a train rattling along Vietnam’s Hai Van Pass to snap perfect crescents of curving railway and sandy bay beneath. I’ve lost the feeling in my fingers to nail that sunset at the Twelve Apostles on Australia’s Great Ocean Road. I’ve driven down (and almost off) dirt tracks in a seven-seater just to score a low-angle landscape in Ronda, Spain. And more often than not I’ve been rewarded with photos that are… just like everyone else’s.

And that’s fine. I’m no Insta-influencer. I don’t look particularly impressive in a bikini. But think about what’s gained, what more than the photo itself. An Insta-tourist to Hong Kong might not ever otherwise set foot in a Hong Kong housing estate, look twice at the city’s street art, or touch the salt spray of the western harbour. I hope they’ll remember it long after the likes stop trickling in.

Three of Adam White's photos where the journey beat the shot

What I remember is everything around the shot. I remember the Vietnamese railway worker sauntering back to his signal hut. I remember the orange-on-yellow-on-blue as the waves broke against the limestone towers of Victoria. I remember the panic as a Spanish driver rounded the tight bend in front of me…  and the relief when he started to back up.

Life, say those irritating Insta-inspiration posts, is about the journey; not the destination. But in one way, at least, it holds true. If you did it for the gram – at least you did it, man.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book