藝術和文化

顏色如何影響我們的旅途回憶

從昔日的油畫以至Instagram濾鏡功能,顏色如何影響我們的旅遊方式和我們對目的地的回憶

試想像,你置身於河上的一葉扁舟,夾岸是橘子色的樹,頭頂是橙黃色的天空。以上可不是我向讀者諸君作的呼籲,而是John Lennon寫於1967年的披頭四樂隊金曲〈Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds〉的歌詞。他寫這首歌時,不僅滿腦子是作家Lewis Carroll筆下的仙境,更因嗑得太多迷幻藥而處於「夢遊」狀態。但今時今日,想體驗如此迷人意境,只需打開手機應用程式便一蹴而得。

具體來說,是開啟Instagram程式;更具體點,是程式內的Beautiful Destinations帳號。這個至今已有超過1,200萬網民追隨的帳號,宗旨是鼓勵大眾「遨遊四海,體驗風土人情,為世界帶來積極正面的影響」。

Credit: JP Klovstad/Getty

我下筆當天,帳號上載的貼圖是魁北克的天空,那超凡脫俗的色彩,恍若木星的大氣層。再來是意大利的溫泉,一朵朵藍綠色和焦糖色的漩渦,教人恨不得一口吞下。還有普羅旺斯的小鎮Forcalquier,明亮的陶土瓦片屋頂映襯著山巒的松濤,斜陽的餘暉輕吻遠方的山脈……此情此景,猶似一齣盪氣迴腸的愛情巨獻場面。

帳號上還散見紫色的田野、粉紅色的樹林、琥珀色的夕照和翠綠色的碧海,如果你仔細找尋,想必會看到橘子色的大樹和橙黃色的天空。

Left: John rodenn castillo/unsplash; Right: Daniel Kordan

Tom Jauncey是Beautiful Destinations的聯合版主,他對有意在此貼圖的攝影達人提供多項拍攝心得,但都離不開職業旅行攝影師的老生常談,例如在大清早和日落前拍攝。他亦推介SnapseedLightroomColor FX等編輯圖片程式,它們能令你的照片擁有「鮮明濃艷的色彩效果」,肯定讓你的點讚數目多如花田上的蜜蜂。說起花田,在Beautiful Destinations中出現的花田,相信一定是桃紅柳綠,姹紫嫣紅。

問題來了。在Instagram上看到的世界的確教人目眩神迷,但若把它跟披頭四的〈Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds〉音樂錄像中五彩繽紛的奇幻卡通世界比較,並不顯得份外真實。

Credit: John W Banagan/Lonely Planet Images/Getty Images

顏色是一門跨界學問,包括物理上的光線折射和散射,生理學上人類等哺乳類動物的視網膜對光線的反應,以及心理學上我們對顏色的感覺及色彩如何改變情緒。前兩者受自然定律主宰,但顏色對心理的影響就沒有既定法則可循。我們對顏色的觀感,會受文化、科技甚至造詣高超的藝術家左右。世上確實有不少人會影響我們的世界觀,Beautiful Destinations的特約攝影師只不過是當中的生力軍罷了。

Credit: Lars Ruecker / Gettyimages

風景畫踏入黃金年代之際,正值現代旅遊業方興未艾之時,相信並非出於偶然。在此之前,風景在西方繪畫只屬陪襯,是聖經故事場景中的背景,或是在人物肖像後方的點綴。名畫《蒙娜麗莎》的背景有湖泊、森林和流水,但迷惑眾生的是女主角的微笑。在中國,特別是盛宋朝代,藝術技法和素材遠較西方先進,讓藝術家可以從主觀角度演繹湖光山色:中國山水畫從不講求逼真,而是透過氣韻生動的筆觸明心見性。

風景畫最初以描繪城市景觀為主,維梅爾的《台夫特風景》和卡納萊托畫筆下的威尼斯、羅馬和倫敦開風氣之先,透過繪畫表達市民對所居城市的自豪感,分別吸引富裕的訪客前來和藝術收藏家的垂青。大自然是畫作中的調色師和燈光師,落力拱照畫中主角的偉大建築。我在Beautiful Destinations的城市景貌照片中,看到卡納萊托的影子:工整的構圖、寂靜的氛圍,以至沐浴在和煦光線下的景致,完全如出一轍。別忘記,一切都關乎顏色心理學。這些作品讓你衍生出永恆無涯之感,遠離現實世界裡的都市煩囂,彷彿升華到一種崇高的情懷。

Credit: Sasin TIPCHAI/Getty Images

且讓我將之與另一類截然不同的都市攝影作品比較。我曾到訪已故攝影師Michael Wolf位於柴灣的工作室,當日天色灰濛,藍天白雲休息一天。我對他表達同情之意,因為這種光線對攝影師來說猶如噩夢。誰料他說「才不呢」,並愛死這種天色。在Wolf鏡頭下為人津津樂道的香港風景,正正是在暗黑的環境中,凸顯牆壁、窗戶和山坡的面貌。對他來說,這才是最忠實捕捉色彩和形態的方法。

但Michael的作品應該不會得到Beautiful Destinations的追隨者讚好。

他亦毫不理會Tom Jauncey的提點,堅持將人和景物同時攝入鏡頭。Jauncey在一篇刊載於攝影網站Adorama的訪問中明言:「如果在廣袤的優勝美地國家公園內,讓一個人站在細小的岩石上,就可以透過對比,清楚展現建築物或那片風景的大小。」他還建議拍攝的人物穿上紅色衣服,因為「紅色在任何時候都能突出效果。」

Credit: Michael Wolf

繼卡納萊托和維梅爾之後的一代風景畫家,跟Jauncey可謂英雄所見略同。他們四出尋找最遼闊、最巍峨的山野景色,再在蒼茫的天地間融入渺渺人影。這些浪漫主義信徒,汲汲於表達人類在大自然面前的渺小。但這種迷戀是形而上的執迷,以拜倫式的浪漫苦苦追尋萬物存在的意義;反觀那位被女朋友牽著手到各地名勝取景的哥兒,彼此可說活在平行宇宙。

這個浪漫主義時代的代表作品,最赫赫有名的要算是Caspar David Friedrich的《霧海上的旅人》。畫中的年輕人身穿墨綠色大衣(可惜1818年還未有紅色防水風衣),佇立山巔,凝視眼前一片霧海繚繞,遠山茫茫之境。

Left: Joshua earle/unsplash; Right: DeAgostini/Getty Images

藝評家對這幅畫的主題眾說紛紜,有些認為是表達人類征服大自然的氣勢,也有人堅持是反映人類的渺小。我比較感興趣的是Friedrich自己的解說:「畫家不應該只囿於面前的景物,也應該觀照自己的內心」。他的所言甚是,他正是放眼把不同地方的景物融入到這幀作品中。

這亦吻合中國水墨畫大師們的世界觀。他們認為所有事物,包括顏色在內,都是主觀情感的投射,而回憶則是由地方、質感和色彩構成。

18世紀至19世紀初的水彩和油彩風景畫可說催生了旅遊業。昔日歐洲貴族子弟長途旅行增廣見聞的「壯遊」傳統逐漸褪色,代之而起的是中產旅人聯袂出遊,親身體驗風光壯麗的名山大川。

Credit: DeAgostini/Getty Images

但真正開拓色彩與旅遊的新天地,當數印象派畫家。

1874年,莫奈展出一幅描繪其家鄉勒阿弗爾港的畫作,名為《印象.日出》。這幀作品是否真的如此石破天驚?畢竟英國藝術家透納早就以更飄渺夢幻的筆觸描繪日出海面的景致,展現了更朦朧的光影色彩和氤氳混沌的海天效果。但莫奈和其他印象派畫家身懷一個任務。

首先,他們走出畫室,幕天席地作畫;其次,他們摒棄了崇山峻嶺、伊甸桃源和歷史戰地等宏大構想,轉而繪畫河畔、草地、椅子、酒吧、午餐和園遊(有時衣履整齊,有時衣不蔽體)等尋常風景,每幅畫作也色彩明亮、絢爛繽紛而光影流動。

率先受惠於這種風潮的是法國普羅旺斯區,而且影響至今。莫奈展出《印象.日出》的同年,巴黎至馬賽的鐵路開通,大批藝術家攜著畫架、苦艾酒和情人奔向南方。自此,旅客絡繹於途,隨著他們走訪法國南部,追尋梵高畫筆下的向日葵花田、雷諾亞的農舍、杜菲的陽台,以及那閃亮誘人的光線和色彩。

Credit: Fine Art Images/Heritage Images/Getty Images

所謂「印象」固然並非寫實,是將景物觸發的心理效果宣諸於畫布上,以梵高為例,這種手法往往無從捉摸,卻是向日漸流行的攝影作出反擊。但時間證明,攝影更樂於捕捉新聞和人物而非風景,而且在色彩方面大為遜色。史上最偉大的風景攝影師Ansel Adams曾表示,以彩色菲林拍照猶如以走調的鋼琴演奏。

但慢慢地,我們開始以新的色彩觀看和紀錄世界,景物紛紛染上淡淡然的柔和色調,色彩模糊黯然。柯達菲林在1948年面世,此後50年,我們把玩著黑色的光卷菲林,耐心等候沖曬公司將照片送來。每當我探望父母時,我總愛花上幾小時翻看相簿,回看那似乎是隔著髒襪子拍攝的威爾斯城堡,以及母親在法國村莊留影時,在照片上似是而非的日蝕。在我回憶中那沒有數碼影像的童年,那個擺滿棕色家具的舊居、那架橙褐色的汽車、那片稻草色的田野,又是否呈現出真實的色彩?抑或一切回憶的色彩,只是童年舊照的殘像?

我的電腦現在儲存了16,603張相片,相比起舊居中一大堆童年舊照,屏幕上每一張相片都色彩亮麗,影像鮮明。但我還是禁不住猜想,今天以先進的美圖技術修飾得鮮艷奪目的Instagram圖片,在將來回看又會是什麼景象。我記得自己曾到過米蘭,但那片天空是否真的呈橙黃色?

Left: Eric Meola/Getty Images; Right: Max rovensky/unsplash
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

How Colour Influences Our Travel Memories

From oil paints to Instagram filters, colour has shaped how we travel and how we remember destinations

Picture yourself in a boat on a river with tangerine trees and marmalade skies. That’s not me putting in a request, but John Lennon writing Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds for The Beatles in 1967. Lennon was dosed up on Lewis Carroll and LSD: today, he’d just need to click on an app.

Specifically, Instagram and even more specifically, a feed called Beautiful Destinations. BD has upwards of 12 million followers and inspires people ‘to travel, to connect and to have a positive impact on the world’.

Credit: JP Klovstad/Getty

Here on today’s feed is the sky above Quebec: it’s otherworldly, the colour of Jupiter’s atmosphere. Then Italian hot springs: swirls of turquoises and caramels, good enough to eat. Forcalquier, a village in Provence: bright terracotta roofs set against pine-clad hills, the last of the sun kissing the mountains behind, a scene seemingly lifted straight from a big-budget romantic epic.

Elsewhere there are purple fields, pink trees, amber sunsets and emerald seas and, no doubt if you look hard enough, tangerine trees and marmalade skies.

Left: John rodenn castillo/unsplash; Right: Daniel Kordan

BD co-founder Tom Jauncey has some good advice for prospective posters. He passes on what pro travel photographers have known forever: shoot early in the morning and just before sunset. He also recommends tools: Snapseed, Lightroom, Color FX – they help you to get the ‘bold colours and saturation’ that attract the Likes like bees to fields of clover… clover, were it a BD picture, that would doubtless be fluorescent green and scorching hot pink.

So here’s the question. It’s an amazing world we see on Instagram: but is it any more real than the phantasmagorical world of the cartoon The Beatles made for Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds?

Credit: John W Banagan/Lonely Planet Images/Getty Images

Colour belongs in the realm of physics (the way light refracts and diffuses), physiology (the way the retinas of mammals such as humans react to light) and psychology – how colour makes us feel and how it changes our moods. The first two obey unchanging laws of nature. The last one is far less reliable. The way we perceive colour can be moulded and reshaped by cultures, technology and skilful artists. The Beautiful Destinations contributors are only the latest in a long line of people who have literally (for once that word is spot-on) changed the way we see the world.

Credit: Lars Ruecker / Gettyimages

It’s probably not a coincidence that the golden age of landscape painting (landschap, from the Dutch) coincided with the beginnings of modern tourism. Before then, in the West, landscape was scenery: a backdrop to a biblical scene or a dramatic touch for a portrait. There are lakes, forests and streams in the Mona Lisa: but it’s the smile that captivates us. In China, especially during the golden era of the Song dynasty, techniques and materials that were far in advance of anything in the West allowed artists to capture landscapes that were subjective: spiritual and emphatically not intended to represent what was ‘really’ there.

Landscapes began as cityscapes: artists such as Vermeer (the View of Delft) and Canaletto (his many scenes of Venice, Rome and London) created a vogue that expressed civic pride and attracted wealthy visitors and collectors. In these works, nature is a sympathetic colourist and lighting expert: mankind’s achievements are the focal points. I look at the Beautiful Destinations cityscapes today and see echoes of Canaletto: the formal composition, the stillness, the baths of warm light. This is colour psychology, remember. You’re suffused with a sense of timelessness, permanence, distance from the real chaotic business of a metropolis. You feel sort of… noble.

Credit: Sasin TIPCHAI/Getty Images

Compare that with a very different kind of urban photography. I once visited the late Michael Wolf in his Chai Wan studio. It was one of those flat, blank Hong Kong days where sun and cloud have both taken the day off. I sympathised with Michael: terrible light for a photographer. Quite the opposite, he said. He loved days like this. And in Wolf’s celebrated Hong Kong cityscapes, the lack of light effects means his walls and windows and hillsides can’t hide. For him, this was the most truthful way of capturing colour and form.

But Michael’s work wouldn’t have done well on Beautiful Destinations.

He’d also have ignored Tom Jauncey’s advice: put people in landscape shots. In an interview with photography site Adorama, Jauncey says: ‘If you’ve got a massive view of Yosemite and you put someone on a little rock, and you see them in comparison to the monument or landscape, then you can really show scale’. (He also advises them to wear a red jacket: ‘red always pops’.)

Credit: Michael Wolf

That’s precisely what the next generation of landscape painters after Canaletto and Vermeer did. They went out into the country, the wilder and more mountainous the better, and put little people in the frame. Because these Romantics were also obsessed with the scale of human beings set against the awe of nature. Only that was a metaphysical obsession: the anguished, Byronic search for meaning in the universe. This is a bit different to, say, that bloke who shoots his girlfriends taking him by the hand in various picturesque locales.

The all-time viral Romantic painting from this era is Caspar David Friedrich’s Wanderer above the Sea of Fog, in which a young man in a green overcoat – if only they’d had red Gore-Tex in 1818 – stands on a mountaintop and surveys a whirling, pearlescent sea of cloud and crags.

Left: Joshua earle/unsplash; Right: DeAgostini/Getty Images

Critics are divided whether the scene depicts man’s mastery over nature or his insignificance in its presence. I’m more interested in what Friedrich himself said about it: ‘The artist should paint not only what he has in front of him but also what he sees inside himself’. That’s just as well, as he chucked all sorts of different locations into that single painting.

But that is exactly how the great masters of Chinese ink saw the world. Everything – colour included – is subjective. Memory is a composite of places, textures and colours.

The watercolour and oil landscapes of the 18th and early 19th centuries created a tourism industry. The Grand Tour – the preserve of rich young aristocrats – faded away and groups of more middle-class travellers began seeking their own slice of the sublime in the Alps or the Black Forest.

Credit: DeAgostini/Getty Images

But it was the Impressionists who really opened up a new world of colour and tourism.

In 1874, Claude Monet exhibited a painting of his hometown port of Le Havre called Impression: Sunrise. Was it that revolutionary? After all, the English artist JMW Turner has captured seascapes and sunrises that were even more dreamlike, with borders between light, colour, water and air that were even more permeable. But Monet and the Impressionists had a mission. First, they would get out of the studio and paint en plein air. Second, they’d avoid those grandiose scenes of mountains, Arcadia and battlefields. They’d paint riversides, meadows, chairs, bars, people having lunch and walking through gardens (sometimes with clothes on, sometimes not): and they’d make every scene luminescent, full of colour and lustre.

The immediate beneficiary – and it’s still benefitting to this day – is the French region of Provence. In the same year that Monet showed Impression: Sunrise, the railway opened between Paris and Marseilles. Off south went the artists with their easels, absinthe and mistresses: and we’ve been following them ever since, in search of Van Gogh’s sunflower fields, Renoir’s farmhouses, Raoul Dufy’s balconies – and above all, that shimmering, seductive light and colour.

‘Impression’, painting the psychological effect a scene has on you – a sometimes unbearable effect in Van Gogh’s case – rather than what’s strictly there, was a riposte to the spread of photography. Yet for decades and decades, photography was more interested in news and portraits than landscape; and pretty much stumped by colour. The greatest landscape photographer of all time, Ansel Adams, said shooting on colour film was like playing an out-of-tune piano.

Credit: Fine Art Images/Heritage Images/Getty Images

But slowly, we began to see and record the world in new colours: often bleached out, sometimes muddy and indistinct – but colour nonetheless. Kodachrome film was launched in 1948 and for 50 years we fiddled with shiny black rolls of film, waiting weeks for an envelope of prints to come back. When I visit my parents’ home, I spend hours sifting through albums and folders of the things: Welsh castles seemingly photographed through a dark sock, my mother in a French village during what appears to be, but which can’t have been, a solar eclipse. And if I think of my pre-digital childhood, a place of brown furniture, burnt-orange cars, fields the colour of straw, am I remembering those colours – or seeing the colours in the photographs they took at the time?

Any single one of the 16,603 photographs currently on my computer is a masterclass in colour, vividness and sharpness compared to those drawerfuls of prints in my childhood home. But you can’t help wondering how today’s state-of-the art filtered, saturated and enhanced Instagram shots will serve us in the future. I remember going to Milan – but was it really under marmalade skies?

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book