清邁

清邁:泰國的咖啡之都

新一代咖啡師在洋溢傳統泰國風情的清邁締造時尚潮流。撰文:STEVE THOMAS,圖片:TAYLOR WEIDMAN

清邁歷史悠久的寺院林立,更一直被視為泰國的文化之都,處處洋溢著慢悠悠的生活節奏以及傳統氛圍。但過去10年間,這個古意盎然的城市逐漸綻放出大都會的鋒芒,高速公路及現代建築應運而生,吸引不少創意事業和年輕創業家進駐。現在清邁除了充斥著型格藝廊及餐廳外,咖啡文化更是特別受歡迎;泰國北部可謂終於踏上了潮流之路。

數年前,一位年輕的咖啡師兼世界級咖啡拉花大師留意到清邁的發展潛力,於是抓住了這難得的機會。Arnon Thitiprasert的別名叫「Tong」,他一邊品嚐著埃塞俄比亞特濃咖啡,一邊回憶當日為何會毅然決定離開他在悉尼親手創辦的精品咖啡店,將咖啡文化帶回家鄉清邁:「我非常鍾情咖啡,而當年我可選擇在悉尼多留幾年多賺些錢,但我想趁還年輕的時候放手一搏,萬一咖啡文化及生意在清邁做不起來,我還有時間重新來過 。」

他於2011年在Nimmanhemin路開設Ristr8to咖啡店。當時精品咖啡剛引入清邁,主要客層是當地海外僑民和旅客,不過泰國人漸漸發現到這種享用早餐飲品的新方法。Tong表示︰「泰國人對西方人和外國文化深感興趣,對我們的咖啡亦感到好奇,於是便想要品嚐並進一步了解咖啡。」

經過一番努力,他亦獲得了回報。位於舊城區西面數條街外的Nimmanhemin路,現在已成為清邁的咖啡中心,據說更是全泰國咖啡店數量最密集的地方。這個型格社區有點偏離遊客主要觀光路線,卻吸引當地學生、外國僑民及路過的咖啡迷,不少人更是專程前來Ristr8to品嚐這間名店的美味咖啡。

在當地,將煉奶和大量砂糖拌入以冰水沖泡的即溶咖啡是普遍的作法。雖然這種咖啡於區內的食肆仍是主流,但現在於巷弄中也總能在一般食肆之間找到一、兩間專業咖啡店。

國際連鎖咖啡店於早年已進駐當地,但一直未成氣候,當地的手工咖啡店僅在六、七年前開始出現,卻迅速紮根。這種現象很大程度要歸功於數位當地手工咖啡師,Tong也是其中之一。他們多於國際咖啡名城學師,然後將技術帶回家鄉,為同胞送上美味咖啡。Tong說︰「我為了研究咖啡而走遍全球,但最後我只想將這種技術帶回家鄉,在這裡開創咖啡文化。」

Ristr8to的咖啡豆來自全球各個著名咖啡豆產區,不過也有使用泰國咖啡豆。Tong說外國人通常都不介意嘗試當地出產的咖啡豆,但當地人卻小看本地出產。由於進口咖啡豆必須付97%關稅,再加上其他成本,令定價遠較本土咖啡昂貴,於是在「便宜無好貨,好貨不便宜」觀念的影響下,當地人自然擁戴外國咖啡豆。不過Tong的咖啡烘焙工場Ristr8to Lab就在咖啡店旁的另一條街,這裡經常會舉辦咖啡課程,教導顧客欣賞不同產地的咖啡豆。

他表示︰「現在大家已明白只要沖泡得宜,泰國本地的咖啡豆也可以沖泡出香濃美味的咖啡。一杯優質的咖啡除了講究栽培方法及烘培過程外,同時亦需要出色的咖啡師,每一個環節都同樣重要,缺一不可。」

從Nimmanhemin路的咖啡巷向北走數分鐘,可找到一間名為Akha Ama Cafe的小型咖啡店。其店面設計並不搶眼,與Ristr8to的時尚氣氛相映成趣。咖啡店的店東Ayu Cheupa(大家都叫他「Lee」)與家鄉Akha村的咖啡農合作,提供合乎道德採購原則和可持續方式種植的咖啡豆,成功在清邁的咖啡版圖上佔上重要一席,而其公司的經營模式更可確保所有村民都能夠從中受惠。

Lee表示︰「我看到有很多原居民的村落都很貧困,而我們的村子亦然,因此我便立志用自己的經驗幫助村民改善生活。咖啡是全球第二大的貿易商品(第一位是原油),而我們村裡一向有種植咖啡豆,因此發展咖啡事業可謂理所當然的事。」

清邁北部山區地帶早在數十年前已開始種植咖啡豆,主要由山區的原住民農戶打理。1983年,泰國王室大力鼓勵泰北的村落放棄種植鴉片,改種咖啡脫貧。政府不但為村民提供阿拉比卡咖啡樹苗,更教導村民如何栽種。Akha村是首個視咖啡發展為新財源的小鎮,現在更成為泰國本地咖啡豆生產業的龍頭。

Lee雖是這個偏遠村落有史以來的首位大學畢業生,但他原本對咖啡可謂一無所知,更遑論要將咖啡發展為一門生意。他說︰「我曾到訪一間本地咖啡店喝咖啡,為的就是看看這到底是什麼玩意。店內的餐牌看得我眼花繚亂,最後我隨意點了餐單上的第一項︰意大利濃縮咖啡。」

意大利濃縮咖啡口味濃嗆,分量雖小但味道苦澀,很有可能會嚇怕初嚐咖啡的人。不過Lee在嚐過這杯咖啡後,繼續到店內品嚐其他口味,最後他更開始研究世界各地沖泡咖啡的方法,包括美國及倫敦。

為了達到「公平交易」原則,Akha Ama咖啡店不經咖啡商購買咖啡豆。Lee說︰「我們是直接向咖啡農購買咖啡豆,而烘焙及發售則全程由我們親自管理,所以他們獲得的利潤,比起與烘焙公司簽約的農場更高。我們堅持咖啡農必須使用合乎環境道德的方法栽種咖啡豆,並定時休田輪種,這樣才不致於破壞土地,也不必像外面很多咖啡農一樣,無法維持傳統的耕作及生活方式。這種經營方式有時也會遇到困難,去年的結霜就將我們四成收成化為烏有,但長遠計,這種方式整體來說仍是最好的。」

公司成立八年至今,村民的生活質素情況大致理想,而村落的自來水和電力供應亦較以前穩定,同時愈來愈多年輕村民能夠接受較高等的教育。Lee補充︰「我們公司還改變了大眾對山區原住民的固有想法和偏見呢!」

那麼這裡的咖啡味道又如何?Akha Ama的咖啡可謂一點也不令人失望,而且所種的咖啡豆更曾經兩度入圍世界咖啡杯測大賽總決賽,因而躍升為世界頂級咖啡。

無論大家鍾情怎樣的咖啡,於清邁的橫街窄巷都能夠找到無比豐富的選擇,加上有Lee及Tong這班如此有天份的咖啡愛好者,泰國締造世上最豐富及多元化咖啡文化可謂指日可待。

港龍航空設有由香港飛往清邁的航班,每周有七班

Chiang Mai

How Chiang Mai became Thailand’s coffee capital

Young coffee entrepreneurs are giving richly traditional Chiang Mai a caffeinated, cosmopolitan edge. Words by STEVE THOMAS, photography by TAYLOR WEIDMAN

The historic, temple-dotted city of Chiang Mai has long been known as Thailand’s cultural capital, offering a slow vibe and a sense of tradition. But surrounding its old-world centre, a city of superhighways and modern construction has emerged in the past decade, attracting creative businesses and young entrepreneurs. Galleries are thriving, the food scene is on the rise and, most of all, cafe culture has thoroughly taken off. A cosmopolitan air has arrived in Northern Thailand.

Several years ago, a young barista and world-class latte artist eyed the changes of his hometown and saw opportunity. Over a cup of Ethiopian ristretto, Arnon Thitiprasert, known as Tong, is thinking back on his decision to leave the speciality coffee shop he started in Sydney and bring coffee culture back home. ‘Coffee is my passion. I could have waited a few years and made some more money,’ says Tong, ‘but I wanted to see if I could make it work while I was still young, so that if the scene and business did not happen in Chiang Mai, I had time to make a new career doing something else.’

chiang mai coffee

In 2011, he opened Ristr8to on Nimmanhemin Road. At that time the city was only just awakening to speciality coffee, and that was mostly fuelled by the local expat community and tourists. But steadily, Thais began to discover this new way of enjoying their morning drink. ‘Thai people find Westerners and their culture fascinating, so they became curious to try our coffee and learn about it,’ says Tong.

And the risk paid off: Nimmanhemin Road, a few blocks west from the old walled city, is now Chiang Mai’s caffeinated centre and is believed to have the highest density of coffee shops in Thailand. The trendy area is slightly off the main tourist trail and it attracts local students, expats and passing coffee connoisseurs, many of whom come here specifically to sample the delights of Ristr8to, which has made a name for itself.

Instant coffee stirred with ice water, doused in condensed milk and laced with copious amounts of sugar – that’s how coffee has traditionally been served in this region. This blend can still be found on just about every street corner, although now the chances are that you’ll find at least one barista coffee shop slotted between them.

The international coffee chains have long had a flimsy foothold here, but the arrival of local artisan coffee only started in earnest about six or seven years ago, and rapidly flourished. This is largely thanks to a handful of local baristas like Tong, who learned their craft in the major coffee cities of the world, and then returned home with their skills to set the grinders in motion. ‘I’ve travelled and studied coffee all over the world, but I wanted to come back home with my skills and make it work here,’ he says.

Ristr8to’s beans come from many famed coffee regions around the world as well as from Thailand, which Tong says foreigners are generally open to trying; it is his Thai customers who tend to look down on local beans. Part of the reason is imported coffee is much more expensive – 97 per cent duties and other costs add up – and price tags influence perceptions. But his roasting location just a block from the shop, called Ristr8to Lab, has helped to educate customers through classes and give them an appreciation for beans of all origins.

‘People have realised that the local beans are very good, as long as they are processed well,’ he says. ‘It’s not just the cultivation or roasting or even the barista that makes for a good coffee – it’s every single part of the process.’

Coffee farm that grow beans for Akha Ama Cafe

Just a few minutes north of the Nimman­hemin coffee strip is a small, non­descript coffee shop called Akha Ama Cafe, which presents a contrast to the hip vibe of Ristr8to. It’s run by Ayu Cheupa, known simply as Lee, who has made his own mark on Chiang Mai’s coffee scene by working with coffee growers from his village, Akha, to offer ethically sourced, sustainably grown beans. The company operates in a way that ensures villagers reap the rewards.

‘I’d seen so much suffering around tribal communities, and great hardship in our village, and I just saw it as my duty to use my experience to help improve conditions,’ says Lee. ‘Coffee is the second most traded commodity in the world (after crude oil), and we were already growing it, so it seemed a logical way to go.’

Coffee has been grown in the mountains to the north of Chiang Mai for decades, mostly by hill tribe farmers. In 1983 a royal initiative was implemented to help dissuade these impoverished communities from growing opium. Arabica coffee plants were given to the villagers along with instruction on growing and cultivating coffee. The Akha people were the first to seriously embrace coffee as a viable crop and now lead the way in local production.

Coffee farm that grow beans for Akha Ama Cafe

But Lee, who was the first person in his remote mountain village to graduate from university, knew nothing about coffee – let alone starting a business. ‘I went to a local coffee shop to try a cup to see what it was all about. The menu was bewildering to me, so I tried the first thing on it – an espresso,’ he says.

The harsh kick of an espresso, small and bitter, can be a rude way to discover coffee. After this initial sampling, he continued to go back to try more. Eventually he studied coffee processes around the world, including in the United States and London.

To achieve a fair-trade approach, Akha Ama cuts out the middlemen. ‘Our coffee comes from the farmers straight to us for roasting and we retail everything ourselves, so they get much more than those who contract farms for roasters,’ Lee says. ‘We insist that our farmers work ethically and rotate crops so as not to destroy the land and their traditional lifestyle in the way many others have been forced to. It can be tough at times; last year frost ruined 40 per cent of our harvest, but overall it still works out best in the long term.’

In the eight years since the company formed, the community has fared well, with the village getting some running water and electricity, and more young people receiving higher education. ‘And our business has made an impact on people’s preconceptions and prejudices towards hill tribe people,’ Lee adds.

The coffee’s pretty good, too. Akha Ama’s beans are so good they have been selected twice to be used in the finals of the World Cup Tasters Championship.

Whatever your brew, you’ll find it in profusion on the streets of Chiang Mai. And with the talent and passion of people like Lee and Tong, it’s quickly becoming one of the richest and most diverse coffee cultures in the world.

Dragonair flies to Chiang Mai from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book