藝術和文化

啟發印度人出國旅遊的波李活電影

多得瑞士的啟發,現在世界各國的旅遊局爭相吸引波李活電影前往當地取景

許多印度人從小到大都將瑞士視為圓夢之地。他們之所以有這種想法,原因只有一個,就是波李活。已故導演Yash Chopra多年前拍出《Chandni》、《Darr》、《Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge》等賣座愛情電影,從此在觀眾心目中留下一個深刻的印象,就是只有在白雪蓋頂的阿爾卑斯山間,才能覓得幸福圓滿的愛情;然後必須身穿薄如蟬翼的雪紡紗麗載歌載舞,盡情慶祝,即使氣溫在零度以下亦不管。

今天,瑞士中部城鎮因特拉肯的Kursaal Gardens花園內,矗立著一座Chopra的銅像。儘管這個地方與波李活電影重鎮孟買相距7,000公里,波李活電影在這裡卻有舉足輕重的地位。

過去八年,導遊Erwin Fässler於瑞士開設旅行社,專為波李活影迷精心安排別具特色的電影之旅。根據他的經驗,這些影迷佔瑞士入境旅客一個相當大的百分比;而Fässler亦因工作需要而成了波李活電影專家。他會仔細觀看這些電影,每當畫面上出現瑞士的景物,他就會馬上截圖,然後設法找出那個地點的位置。6月18日,Fässler的公司為慶祝印度於瑞士拍攝電影55周年紀念,特別舉辦導賞團,帶領旅客暢遊導演Raj Kapoor於1964年執導的電影《Sangam》內多個取景地點。這部愛情片是印度其中一部最早於國外多個地點取景的印地語電影。

Left: TCD/Prod.DB/Alamy Stock Photo; Middle: ©Eros International/Everett Collection; Right: Collection Christophel©Aditya Chopra/AFP

印地語電影的魅力無遠弗屆,我們印度人的言談、打扮、夢想,甚至旅行地點,無一不受其影響。有時一部電影會驅使我們前往新國家探索,或者加深我們對本國的認識。就以印度中部中央邦小鎮錢德里為例,雖然它在歷史上佔一重要地位,又是以紗麗及手搖紡織聞名的重鎮,但卻一直未獲人注意;直至去年社會寫實喜劇《Sui Dhaaga》及恐怖喜劇《Stree》兩部以此地為背景的大片上映後,這裡才開始備受注目。波李活皇牌巨星在當地逛街購物的照片,是錢德里紡織工人手藝的最佳廣告宣傳。

導演Zoya Akhtar於2011年執導的《巴打旅痕團》,講述三名在求學時期已相識的好朋友,在其中一人成婚前相約到西班牙舉行瘋狂單身派對。結果,這部電影成為效力空前宏大的西班牙旅遊廣告。Buñol鎮的風光、潘普洛納的San Fermín奔牛節盛況,以及布拉瓦海岸的海灘美景首次出現於波李活電影之中,讓觀眾大開眼界。

西班牙旅遊局駐孟買辦事處媒體經理Apeksha Dhingra表示:「《巴打旅痕團》展示出西班牙友善親切的一面,為遊客提供多姿多采的體驗;直至目前為止,已有7,000萬觀眾看過這部電影,而這個數字仍在增加,他們受電影啟發而到當地旅遊。西班牙成為印度所有旅遊人士嚮往的目的地,他們夢想與片中主角一樣,到當地進行水肺潛水,並在奔牛節與牛狂奔。」

三年後,Akhtar開拍了另一齣電影《Dil Dhadakne Do》,劇情講述一個關係欠佳的家庭在展開地中海豪華遊輪之旅後重修舊好。散場後,觀眾一離開電影院就已急不及待籌劃海上度假旅程。

Eduard Vilo Perea/Alamy Stock Photo

SOTC Travel旅行社總裁兼國家分區主管Daniel D’Souza指出:「許多景點在熱門電影內亮相後,我們就會接獲大量查詢,預訂旅行團的人數亦隨即大幅增加。在《Dil Dhadakne Do》上映後,郵輪之旅便大受歡迎,令這方面的業務有相當增長。」

由於電影對印度旅客有相當大的影響,全球各地的旅遊局自然盡力遊說印度的製片公司前往當地拍片。他們各出奇謀,例如提供住宿優惠,准許攝製隊在公眾地方拍攝,以及協助製作組尋找合適的拍攝場地等,而吸引的對象更從印度的電影界擴展至電視業界。

澳洲旅遊局印度及海灣地區國家分區經理Nishant Kashikar亦證實此言非虛,他表示:「我們過去與多間大型製作公司合作無間,在特約電視節目中以不著痕跡的方式將各處景點與故事融為一體,效果顯著。我們協助Balaji Telefilms拍攝於澳洲、倫敦及布達佩斯三地取景的電視連續劇《Yeh Hai Mohabbatein》,劇集播出後,印度網上旅行社MakeMyTrip的生意額上升了八成半。」

英、美、澳等地過去數十年經常在波李活電影中出現。事實上,這些地方不單是片中漂亮的背景,更與劇情緊扣,跟整個故事息息相關。近年,印度愈來愈多製片人喜歡到未曾登上當地大銀幕的全新地點取景。由Imtiaz Ali執導的作品《Tamasha》於法國科西嘉取景,講述兩名陌生人共墮愛河的故事;至於Kabir Khan執導、由超級巨星Salman Khan主演的間諜驚慄片《Ek Tha Tiger》,則讓觀眾飽覽愛爾蘭及古巴的風光;Rohit Shetty導演、由Shah Rukh Khan及Kajol主演的《Dilwale》,更為了拍攝片中一首浪漫情歌,不惜遠赴冰島取景。

現在各國不只藉著波李活電影來吸引遊客,更借助波李活明星及其社交媒體上數目龐大的粉絲群來廣收宣傳之效。最近,獲封為「澳洲之友」的女星Parineeti Chopra,就把自己的澳洲之旅巨細無遺地張貼於社交媒體上。

Kashikar說:「是次合作讓我們有機會接觸3,400萬名Parineeti Chopra的粉絲及追隨者。有Chopra亮相的影片錄得超過1,200萬次點擊率。我們亦將她的影片用於 『UnDiscover Australia』宣傳活動。在這些宣傳帶動下,2018年訪澳印度旅客的人數及消費金額分別上升18%及21%。」

2016年12月,Shah Rukh Khan獲邀成為杜拜宣傳計劃「#BeMyGuest」的主角,在最近的六集宣傳片中,踏上尋寶之旅,展現當地的風景與特色。影片配合其它廣告,在社交媒體上發動鋪天蓋地的攻勢,其中包括Khan多達3,800萬人追隨的Twitter帳戶。這就是電影的吸引力:當魅力四射的Khan凝望鏡頭,情深款款地邀請你與他同遊杜拜時,你就會立即去找一襲薄如蟬翼的雪紡紗麗。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

How Bollywood Inspired Indians to Travel the World

Nations across the world are falling over each other to attract Bollywood films to their shores – and it’s all thanks to Switzerland

The average Indian grows up believing that Switzerland is where dreams come true. Why? In a word: Bollywood. It began with the late filmmaker Yash Chopra’s sweeping romances like Chandni, Darr and Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge. They drilled into us that it’s only in the foothills of the snow-capped Alps that you can hope to find the happily-ever-after kind of love. And when you do, you must celebrate by dancing without a care in a flimsy chiffon sari. Sub-zero temperatures be damned.

Today, a bronze statue of Chopra stands in the Kursaal Gardens, in the central Swiss town of Interlaken. Bollywood is big business here, despite being 7,000 kilometres from Mumbai, the epicentre of the Bollywood film industry.

For the past eight years, tour guide Erwin Fässler has been running a travel company in Switzerland curating tours exclusively for Bollywood fans. In his experience, these fans constitute a sizeable percentage of the tourists that visit his country. Thanks to the demands of his job, Fässler has become somewhat of an expert on Bollywood films. He watches them keenly – and when he finds a scene that’s shot in Switzerland, he immediately screenshots it and sets off to hunt down the location. On 18 June, Fässler’s company celebrated 55 years of Indian filmmaking in Switzerland with a special guided tour of the locations featured in filmmaker Raj Kapoor’s 1964 romance Sangam, one of the earliest Hindi films to be shot across foreign locales.

Left: TCD/Prod.DB/Alamy Stock Photo; Middle: ©Eros International/Everett Collection; Right: Collection Christophel©Aditya Chopra/AFP

The power and magic of Hindi cinema knows no bounds. It dictates the way we speak, the way we dress, the way we dream – and also the way we travel. A movie can push us to explore a new country – or in some cases, help us know our own country better. Take the small town of Chanderi in central India’s Madhya Pradesh. While known for its historical significance as well as a hub for sari makers and handloom weavers, it wasn’t really considered to be much of anything until last year, when two major films – social comedy Sui Dhaaga and horror-comedy Stree – were based here. Photos of top Bollywood stars shopping in the area were the best endorsement the weavers of Chanderi could have asked for.

In 2011, filmmaker Zoya Akhtar made Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (ZNMD), a film about three school friends who live it up in Spain on a bachelor party. The movie ended up being the most effective commercial for Spanish tourism imaginable. For the first time in a Bollywood film, we got glimpses of the town of Buñol, Pamplona’s San Fermín bull running festival and the beaches of Costa Brava.

ZNMD showcased Spain as a friendly and experiential destination’, says Apeksha Dhingra, media manager for the Tourism Office of Spain in Mumbai. ’Around 70 million people and counting have watched this movie. They’ve been influenced to travel to Spain. It’s a dream for every Indian traveller to visit and experience scuba diving and running with the bulls, like the actors of the film did.’

Three years later, Akhtar made another film, Dil Dhadakne Do – this time about a dysfunctional family who mend their fractured relationships on a stunning Mediterranean cruise. As soon as people left the theatre they promptly started looking up cruise packages.

Eduard Vilo Perea/Alamy Stock Photo

‘We have witnessed a substantial increase in enquiries as well as holidays booked for various destinations after they were promoted in popular movies’, says Daniel D’Souza, president and country head – leisure at travel company SOTC Travel. ‘Cruise tours were in demand post Dil Dhadakne Do and the industry has seen considerable growth following this phenomenon.’

Given the undeniable impact of movies on the Indian traveller, it makes perfect sense for global tourism boards to persuade Indian producers to come and shoot in their country. In exchange, they help with benefits like cheaper stays, permission to shoot in public spaces and assistance with finding the right locations. In fact, it’s not just movies but also Indian TV shows that are being lured in.

Nishant Kashikar, country manager, India and Gulf for Tourism Australia, attests to this: ‘In the past, we’ve successfully collaborated with the leading production houses to seamlessly integrate destinations within the story of appointment-viewed television shows – and these initiatives have seen some outstanding results. Our collaboration with Balaji Telefilms for their show Yeh Hai Mohabbatein [filmed in Australia, London and Budapest] resulted in an 85 per cent increase in bookings for Indian online travel company MakeMyTrip,’ he says.

The UK, US and Australia have been regularly featured in Bollywood movies for decades now. In fact, they’ve often been written into the narrative as characters rather than just acting as scenic backdrops. But Indian viewers are increasingly being introduced to new and untapped locations. In his film Tamasha, director Imtiaz Ali uses Corsica as the setting for two strangers to fall in love. Filmmaker Kabir Khan’s spy thriller Ek Tha Tiger, starring superstar Salman Khan, showed us Ireland and Cuba. Rohit Shetty’s Dilwale, starring Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol, went all the way to Iceland to shoot a romantic ballad.

Today, countries aren’t just leveraging Bollywood movies to drive tourism, but also Bollywood stars and their colossal social media followings. Actor Parineeti Chopra, who was recently deemed a ‘Friend of Australia’, posted a blow-by-blow account of her trip to the country on social media.

‘Our collaboration with Parineeti Chopra reached out to her 34 million fans and followers. The video content featuring Chopra has received over 12 million views. We have also leveraged her video assets for our campaign UnDiscover Australia. As a result of these campaigns, arrivals and spend by Indian tourists in Australia for 2018 have grown by 18 per cent and 21 per cent respectively,’ says Kashikar.

In December 2016, Shah Rukh Khan was recruited to be the face of Dubai’s #BeMyGuest campaign. In the latest six-episode campaign, we see Khan – the biggest movie star in India – embark on a treasure hunt around Dubai, showcasing the sights and sounds of the emirate. The videos were accompanied by ads splashed all over social media, including on Khan’s Twitter account with its staggering 38 million followers. That’s the power of cinema. When Khan looks into the camera and seductively instructs you to be his guest in Dubai – you go hunting for that flimsy chiffon sari.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book