國泰航空

航空公司如何應付惡劣天氣

即使有最精密的飛行計劃,亦會因亞洲的颱風與惡劣天氣而受阻。Phil Heard告訴你航空公司的應對之策

位於亞熱帶的西太平洋淺水域海水溫暖,陽光普照,令度假人士趨之若鶩,不過這個地區同時也具備了製造夏季強烈颱風的基本元素。只要將炎熱的氣溫加上亞熱帶的濕度,再配合氣流對流,然後以地球自轉作助力,現在萬事俱備,一個熱帶風暴就這樣誕生了。在正常的情況下,這些熱帶氣旋向亞洲西進時,力量與速度會逐漸增強,最後形成颱風。

對於國泰航空來說,在亞洲地區飛行,就必須有應付惡劣天氣的準備。當你飛越風雲變幻的亞洲高空時,經常會聽到機艙服務員呼籲乘客返回座位並扣上安全帶的廣播。這種情況雖然會為乘客帶來少許不便,例如碰到氣流時,機艙內不能供應茶或咖啡等熱飲,但對航空公司訓練有素的機師及地勤人員而言,最重要的是注意安全。

國泰航空的總機師(訓練)Peter Clemmow機長說:「我們的機師全部經過長時間嚴格訓練,有助我們妥善應付香港變化多端的氣候環境。」

超級颱風的覆蓋面積可能高達數百平方哩,但對本地造成的影響卻會有極大的差異。航務總經理Mark Hoey說:「有時颱風期間,我們仍可維持接近正常的服務;但是在普通的夏季暴風雨時,卻因為閃電而必須停飛,對航班造成嚴重影響。」

香港於暴風雨時出現的閃電,任何親眼見過的人都知道,那種頻密程度有如令人歎為觀止的燈光匯演,不過那也可能對安全構成威脅。Hoey說:「發出紅色閃電警告時,所有地勤人員都必須進入室內。」這表示即使天氣看起來平靜,所有服務航機的人,包括負責裝卸行李、運送餐車和注入燃油的人員都必須離開工作崗位。

他繼續說:「這表示入境航機沒有地方可以停泊,因為停機坪泊滿了尚未完成起飛程序、不能起飛的飛機。但此時上空可能是晴空萬里,對於坐在飛機上卻無法降落的人來說,這種狀況的確難以理解。」

當入境航班暫停降落時,各種操作及飛行時間表就會出現滯後。Hoey說:「這時就會出現骨牌效應。」他的團隊會竭盡全力不讓延遲抵港的情況惡化。例如,在鄰近地區的班機可以在出境機場停留,延遲起飛,但是對於前一天已起飛的長途航班,這樣做卻很困難。他說:「問題是國泰航空有許多超長途的班機,所以我們可能會安排這些班機在鄰近的日本或南韓機場降落。乘客會滯留在當地,因為機組人員超過了工作時間,所以他們可能會滯留一整天。我們會盡全力照顧他們,但總離不開安全第一,他們也絕不希望航班由疲憊不堪的機組人員來執勤。」

當然,在雷電交加的暴風雨中,機艙是最安全的地方之一。航線業務經理Jim Ashby表示:「飛機就像一個法拉第籠,閃電會通過飛機的機身,然後安全地釋放到大氣層中,不會影響到機上的乘客。從香港起飛的班機,可能比其他不常在熱帶地區飛行的航空公司更容易受到雷擊。如果你的飛機被閃電擊中,你可能會看到一道閃光,聽到一聲爆炸聲,甚至聞到輕微的燃燒氣味,但其實絕對安全。」

被閃電擊中的情況往往在較低空發生,例如飛機起飛或降落,或是停在地面的時候。飛機航行時,精密的氣象雷達和機師訓練有素的雙眼,可以確保飛機在最惡劣的天氣下平穩前進。

「作為機師,我們致力於為乘客提供最安全最舒適的旅程。」Ashby 說:「我們使用雷達系統來找出潛在的天氣問題,並攜帶額外的燃料,以便我們遇到惡劣天氣時可以改道,或盤旋至情況改善才降落,我們會盡可能保持飛行航程暢順。」

無論作出任何決定,航空公司總會以安全為首要的考慮。如果機場附近的天氣過於惡劣,不利飛機降落,Hoey的團隊和機師就會對情況進行評估,決定飛機是否應該等待最壞的情況過去,還是轉往其他地方降落。Hoey的團隊會與鄰近的機場(如深圳或廣州)聯絡,以確保當地有足夠停機位供改道的班機降落。他說:「這樣我們就可以降落、補充燃料和其他用品,以及照顧我們的乘客,然後才飛返香港。但是,如果碰到嚴重的惡劣天氣,我們就得飛往較遠的機場,因為鄰近的機場亦可能受到同一個風暴影響。」

就算在惡劣天氣下安全降落,地面還有其他問題需要注意。Hoey說:「其中一樣主要問題就是被風吹起的物品,我們稱之為『外來物』,例如樹枝或像是行李車及錐形交通路標等沒有綁牢的物品;此外,傾盆大雨亦有可能導致跑道或滑行道上出現局部水浸。」

飛機在空中以每小時600哩的速度飛行,機身足以承受強風吹襲,但卻可能會被隨風吹至的物體擊中而受損。Hoey指出:「在某些情況下,我們會在停放的飛機內載入額外燃料,以增加機身的重量。如果我們擔心外來物造成損壞,下一步就是盡可能將飛機全都送往飛機庫內。」

在最壞的情況下,甚至可能需要將機隊撤離。Hoey說:「幾年前我們曾經這樣做過,那次我們將飛機庫容納不下的飛機駛到菲律賓克拉克國際機場。這是重大決定,多年來只發生過一次。」

顯然,當行程被徹底打亂之後,乘客、航機和機組人員都被迫改往其他地方,無法前往原定目的地,而重新安排行程,令航班回復運作是一件十分複雜的事情,不過那是另一個故事了。

香港的熱帶氣旋警告信號

T1 – 有熱帶氣旋集結於香港約800公里範圍內,可能影響香港

T3 – 香港現正或預料會吹強風

T8 – 現正或預料會遭受烈風或暴風吹襲。市民應盡快回到家中,並且將容易被風吹起的物件綁緊。公共交通工具將會於信號懸掛後兩小時內停駛

T9 – 烈風或暴風的風力現正增強

T10 – 風力現正或預料會達到颶風程度。颱風眼可能接近或正面掠過香港

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

How airlines plan for weather problems

In Asia, typhoons and bad weather can derail even the most meticulous of flight plans. PHIL HEARD finds out how the airline plans for weather disruptions

The warm, shallow waters of the sub-tropical West Pacific might be a draw for holidaymakers, but they’re also the base ingredients for a high-energy summer cocktail. Just add heat, sub-tropical humidity, a bit of convection and stir it up with drag of the Earth’s rotation and bang: a tropical storm. In the right circumstances, these can gain power and momentum as they track west towards Asia to create a typhoon.

For Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon, these weather events are part of the business of flying around Asia. The not uncommon instruction to return to your seats and buckle up are often a result of traversing Asia’s sometimes lively skies. A moderate inconvenience if you want a cup of tea or coffee (which can’t be served during turbulence), but everyday to the airlines’ highly trained pilots for whom – as with staff on the ground – safety is the first priority.

‘Our pilots go through a huge amount of training and this helps us handle the wide range of weather conditions that we can get around Hong Kong,’ says Captain Peter Clemmow, Cathay Pacific’s chief pilot (training).

A super-typhoon can cover many hundreds of square miles, but the effects locally can vary substantially. General manager of operations Mark Hoey says: ‘Sometimes we can operate a near-normal service in a typhoon but have to shut down in an ordinary summer storm because of the lightning – that alone can cause quite significant disruption.’

As anyone who has witnessed them can testify, Hong Kong storms offer a spectacular light show. But that’s also a safety concern. ‘When there is a red lightning warning, all ground staff have to go indoors,’ says Hoey. That means that all the people who service the plane, including loading, catering and fuelling, have to leave their posts – even if the weather looks calm.

He adds: ‘It means that incoming planes will have nowhere to go when they land because the bays are occupied with aircraft that can’t leave because they aren’t being serviced for departure. Yet it can be clear overhead. That can be difficult for people on planes that can’t get to a gate – quite reasonably – to understand.’

Once these suspensions start, the flying programme starts to back up. ‘It’s a domino effect,’ says Hoey. His team will already be working on not worsening the backlog of arrivals. Regional aircraft could be held at their departure airports, for instance, but that’s harder for long-haul services a day’s flying away. ‘The problem is that a lot of Cathay Pacific flights are ultra-long-haul, so we may have to land those aircraft short in Japan or South Korea,’ says Hoey. ‘Those passengers will face disruption because the crew will be out of hours, so they could be stuck for a day, but we do everything we can to look after them, but safety first – they wouldn’t appreciate being flown by exhausted crew.’

One of the safest places to be in an electrical storm is inside an aeroplane. Jim Ashby, manager of line operations at Cathay Dragon, says: ‘An aircraft acts like a Faraday cage, where the lightning passes through the aircraft structure then discharges safely into the atmosphere without affecting the occupants. Flying from Hong Kong, we can be more exposed to the possibility of lightning strikes than other carriers that don’t routinely operate in tropical regions. If your aircraft gets hit by lightning, you may see a flash, hear a bang or even detect a slight burning smell, but it’s perfectly safe.’

Lightning strikes tend to happen at lower altitudes when aircraft are taking off or landing, or while on the ground. When cruising, sophisticated weather radar and the trained eyes of pilots ensure that aircraft plot their way around the worst of the weather.

‘As pilots, we are committed to providing the safest and most comfortable travel experience for our passengers,’ says Ashby. ‘We use radar systems to identify potential weather issues, and carry extra fuel to allow us to divert around weather or hold until it has passed to give the smoothest flight possible.’

Safety is central to the decision making process. If the weather around the airport is too bad for aircraft to land, Hoey’s team and pilots will assess whether aircraft should wait for the worst of the conditions to pass or press on elsewhere. Hoey’s team will liaise with local airports – such as Shenzhen or Guangzhou – to ensure that parking bays are available for possible diversions. ‘It means we can land, refuel, restock and look after our passengers and then come back,’ he says. ‘But with some big weather events we will have to go further afield because these local airports could be affected by the same storm.’

Back on the ground in worsening conditions there are other issues to consider. ‘One of the big ones is “FOD” (foreign object debris),’ says Hoey. ‘These are items picked up and blown about by the wind – anything from tree branches or unsecured items from baggage bins to traffic cones, while really heavy rain can cause localised flooding on runways or taxiways.’

Aircraft themselves are used to strong winds – they fly at 600 miles per hour through the air – but they can be damaged by windborne objects. Hoey says: ‘In some cases we will load parked aircraft with extra fuel to help weigh them down. If we’re worried by damage from FOD, the next stage would be to secure as many aircraft as we can in hangars.’

In the very worst of circumstances, the decision may be taken to evacuate the fleet. ‘A few years ago, we had to do this and we flew all the aircraft we couldn’t fit into hangars to Clark in the Philippines,’ says Hoey. ‘It’s not a decision we take lightly and we’ve only come close to it once since.’

Obviously, after the schedule has been disrupted, there are passengers, planes and crew in the wrong place and not going to where they want to be, and it’s complex to rebuild the operation – but that’s another story. 

Hong Kong’s typhoon flags

T1 – A tropical cyclone is within 800 kilometres of Hong Kong

T3 – Strong winds are expected or active in Hong Kong

T8 – Gale- or storm-force winds are expected or blowing. People are advised to make their way home and secure loose items. Public transport will stop within two hours of the flag being hoisted

T9 – Gale- or storm-force winds are increasing

T10 – Hurricane-force winds expected or blowing. Eye of typhoon may pass very close or directly over Hong Kong

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book