頂級酒店

2020年最令人引頸以待的新酒店

1月不僅標誌著2020年正式開始,亦開啟了21世紀第二個精采十年。我們預吿酒店業的最新趨勢,並精選今年最令人期待的新酒店

隨著2020年來臨,一系列值得期待的酒店亦將陸續落成啟用。東京奧運會舉行在即,這座城市正緊鑼密鼓準備迎接大批旅客,倫敦亦將於今年增加約8,000間酒店客房,致力提供個人化體驗及可持續發展的精品酒店The Guardsman是其中最令人夢寐以求的酒店之一。

今年值得關注的趨勢,包括將歷史建築活化成為酒店,以及本土獨立品牌進軍海外以擴充版圖,包括將在峇里開設一家現代化酒店的香港酒店集團Ovolo,以及首次落戶杜拜的西班牙酒店品牌ME by Meliá。

以下這些2020年開業的新酒店,每間各有特色,不妨於旅遊前儘早預訂,以免向隅。

2020年春季

曼谷湄南河四季酒店,泰國

Credit: Courtesy of Four Seasons Hotel Bangkok at Chao Phraya River

泰國首府將在新一年迎來新氣象,湄南河一帶更是星光熠熠。在這縱貫曼谷的河畔冒起的星級項目包括曼谷嘉佩樂酒店,共設101間客房和套房,每道窗均可飽覽河道古韻。在東岸附近,則有曼谷湄南河四季酒店強勢回歸,帶來佔地3.6公頃的龐大建築群,設有六間餐廳及299間客房和套房。由建築師Jean-Michel Gathy構思的設計,以偌大的庭院、園林和人工水景,呼應湄南河川流不息的美景。酒店附設BKK Social Club俱樂部,由名揚國際的調酒師Philip Bischoff坐鎮,為訪客親自調配雞尾酒。這個鬧市中的桃花源亦致力弘揚泰國手工藝,內設藝廊展示當代泰國藝術家的作品,彰顯石龍軍社區作為曼谷文化樞紐的崛起實力。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往曼谷的航班

Le Grand Contrôle酒店,法國

Credit: Shutterstock

由法王路易十四御用建築師Jules Hardouin-Mansart於1681年興建完成,位於凡爾賽宮的Le Grand Contrôle酒店以三座曾用作財政部的建築物改建而成。酒店於2020年春季落成啟用,屆時將可提供14間豪華瑰麗的宮廷客房,你終於有機會入住凡爾賽宮,體驗過去只能在腦海中幻想的豪華享受。除了獲得舉世無雙的住宿享受,從古典的四柱大床、修復的古董家具到珍貴的藝術品,住客還可以在導遊帶領下參觀太陽王宮殿,包括傳奇的鏡廳和小特里亞農宮。酒店附設Valmont水療中心和Alain Ducasse餐廳,帶來更多豪華奢侈的享受,品嚐難忘的法國傳統佳餚,同時欣賞長150米、種滿來自葡萄牙、西班牙及意大利植物的宮廷花園Orangerie。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往巴黎的航班

ME Dubai酒店,阿聯酋

杜拜最新落成的綜合大樓The Opus以兩座造型奇特、令人嘖嘖稱奇的主體組成,中間以一條離地71米的不對稱三層橋樑連接,是風格前衛大膽、線條流麗,有「曲線女王」之稱的已故著名建築師Zaha Hadid親自設計的又一曠世鉅作。進駐這座幾何建築底座六層的西班牙酒店品牌ME Dubai酒店,共設93間客房及套房和96間服務式公寓,全部的內部裝潢亦由這位已故建築大師設計。酒店提供國際化的餐飲選擇,包括Maine Land Brasserie的龍蝦卷及Roka的日本爐端燒。酒店於2020年2月開始營業。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往杜拜的航班

成都W酒店,中國

Credit: Courtesy of W Chengdu.

經濟發展政策少有帶動當地的生活品味,四川首府成都卻是一個特例。這個以熊貓和麻辣火鍋聞名的城市,受惠於西部大開發政策,在國家大舉將公共和私人投資引進中國西部的過程中沾到不少雨露。過去幾十年,成都市大興土木,大量國際豪華酒店品牌進駐。其中成都W酒店將於3月在高鑫區的黃金地段開幕,成為成都潮人網紅的新蒲點。酒店提供297間客房,隱隱約約地融入本地設計元素。酒店的公共空間最惹人注目,展出大量前衛新奇的藝術品,例如坐鎮新派東南亞餐館Zing的巨型四川花椒雕塑,高調而吸睛。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往成都的航班

Ace Hotel Kyoto酒店,日本

京都將在今年櫻花盛開的時節迎來一家非比尋常的Ace Hotel Kyoto酒店,以原為電話公司辦公大樓的紅磚建築改建而成,由負責2020年東京奧運主場館新國立競技場的日本著名建築師隈研吾設計。他為這間設有28間客房的酒店選用本地生產的天然建材,將大量自然光線納入室內,使酒店有如旅遊熱門城市中心地帶的世外桃源。室內設計公司Commune Design將來自東西方文化的靈感融於一爐,並與本地藝術家和工匠密切合作,創造出這所離京都皇宮舊址二條城僅幾步之遙的魅力休憩之所。酒店出自美國酒店品牌,大堂氣氛與品牌旗下酒店一樣洋溢朝氣活力。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往大阪的航班

Ovolo Bali酒店,印尼

香港這個彈丸之地向來充分體現「小即是美」。正值這個潮流席捲海外,香港酒店品牌將在未來十年展翅高飛,例如本地獨立款客集團Ovolo Hotels,他們的物業組合早已遍及香港和澳洲,2020年第一季更將足跡擴展至印尼。這個經常展現創新精神的精品酒店品牌,正忙於把位於峇里的酒店公寓Citadines Kuta Beach翻新為自家的Ovolo Bali酒店。新酒店貫徹品牌簡潔時尚的設計風格,落成後可提供194間客房,並引入其招牌共享工作空間,為住戶舉辦文化活動。酒店頂層天台景色怡人,設有無邊際泳池和氣氛悠閒的酒廊,是項目的焦點所在。

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往峇里的航班

Miraval Berkshires酒店,美國

1995年,美國亞利桑那州的Miraval Arizona首開養生度假村的風氣之先,其後於2019年在德州開設Miraval Austin,使旗下度假村增長至兩間。Miraval於2020年春季再下一城,在麻省Berkshires開設同類型的度假村Miraval Berkshires。這間最新成員備有102間以白底灰色為主調的客房,面積達150公頃的鄉村土地上,點綴了由紐約中央公園的景觀建築師Frederick Law Olmsted於鍍金時代設計的麻省萊諾克斯別墅,屈指算來,這些別墅均有過百年歷史。室內設有通道,確保住客一年四季都能輕鬆前往進行「正念療法」的地點,這個為時兩小時的課程,旨在「找出個人的溝通障礙,發展出新渠道以加強自我認知及更健康的人際關係。」有興趣嘗試戶外活動?試試Swing and a Prayer,將安全繩索綁在身體上,從10米高空落下,愛好者宣稱這項運動有助釋放情緒,可提高抒發感情的能力。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往波士頓的航班

Iniala Malta酒店,馬耳他

Credit: Iniala Malta; Shutterstock
2012年,商人Mark Weingard購入St Barbara城堡的地標式排屋,其地理位置優越,可眺望這個地中海島國馬耳他首都瓦萊塔的Grand Harbour碼頭。他原本計劃搬進這座排屋,但後來改變心意,決定將這個坐落在文化大熔爐的歷史老屋,改建為適合名流下榻的臨時居停。這位金融家兼慈善家買下鄰近的歷史建築,包括一間銀行和多間金庫。經過精心修復之後,Iniala Malta酒店將於5月正式開業,擁有23間套房,附設健身中心及水療中心。巴洛克式外牆後面是現代化的客房,由西班牙的A-Cero建築事務所、土耳其的家具品牌Autoban及馬耳他的室內設計公司DAAA Haus傾力完成。位於屋頂的餐廳可眺望Birgu、Senglea和Cospicua等鄰近的衛星城市。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往羅馬的航班

2020年夏季

The Guardsman酒店,英國

這家精品酒店將於2020年6月開業,其地點與白金漢宮僅咫尺之遙。充滿時尚感的牆身以黑白兩色瓷磚砌成,提供53間客房,建築設計出自英國建築公司Dexter Moren Associates手筆,倫敦著名的The Curtain酒店倫敦香格里拉大酒店亦是該公司的作品;色調柔和而精緻的室內設計則由倫敦的Tonik Associates負責。The Guardsman酒店洋溢了私人俱樂部的氣氛,如同許多新酒店一樣,嘗試重塑酒店住宿的概念,包括讓賓客於辦理入住登記時挑選房間、房內設備及盥洗用品等,此外,酒店百分之百使用可再生能源,藉此實現其環保意念。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往倫敦的航班

東京虎之門艾迪遜酒店,日本

Credit: Courtesy of The Tokyo Edition, Toranomon.

夏季奧運會將在7月24日於東京開幕,屆時一股奧運熱潮將隨氣溫颷升。這場全球性體育盛事預計吸引4,000萬人入場觀看。為應付大量過夜旅客,多間酒店將在未來數月於東京相繼落成。其中鄰近六本木一丁目地鐵站的東京虎之門艾迪遜酒店,位於樓高38層的簇新大樓上層,設有200間客房,是紐約酒店大亨Ian Schrager進軍日本的處女作。他對細節一絲不苟,奉行奢華但人性化的待客之道,與著重設計的日本發展商「森信託」的理念不謀而合(後者為了把一棵百年老樹遷到酒店範圍內,足足花了兩星期)。與此同時,令人期待的四季酒店亦將在鄰近的大手町商業區開幕,酒店由著名比利時建築師Jean-Michel Gathy設計,可提供193間客房。

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往東京的航班

1 Hotel Toronto酒店,加拿大

credit: 1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge

這個酒店新品牌誕生於北美,其特色為室內設計及餐飲合作項目均融入大自然元素。品牌目前在紐約市、邁阿密和洛杉磯共有四間酒店,全部採用再造及再生的本地物料,如木材、浮木和石灰石,首次進軍加拿大在多倫敦開設的1 Hotel Toronto酒店亦不例外,並於大堂樓層附設農產品市場,使環保形象更為鮮明。酒店採用有機棉質床墊、改良再造的床頭板及綠化的植物牆,並有計劃地與創意獨特、技藝出眾的本地藝術家、建築商和廚師合作,確保入住這間位於King Street West街及Toronto Marketplace市場的新酒店,能夠與本地社區建立起具有意義的連繫。萬豪國際酒店集團亦正緊鑼密鼓地將位於時尚Yorkville區的萬豪酒店改造成多倫多第一間W酒店,同樣預計在今年夏季開業。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往多倫多的航班

Xigera Safari Lodge度假村,博茨瓦納

當這家百分之百使用太陽能的度假村於2020年夏季開業時,將可提供12間水上套房,每一間各有不同的設計特色,並由105名精心挑選的工作人員照顧24位入住賓客,確保服務無微不至。度假村位於奧卡萬戈三角洲的Moremi野生動物保護區西邊,被樹林和泛濫平原環繞。所有套房都漂在水面上,讓野生動物不受打擾地四處走動,並且扮演「現實生活中的畫廊」,在套房內展示由開普敦的Southern Guild畫廊策展的南非藝術及設計作品,賓客將可近距離欣賞Adam Birch、Madoda Fani、Porky Hefer、Otto du Plessis及Stanislaw Trzebinski等非洲著名藝術家和工匠的作品。無論上午、下午或晚上都可以隨時安排司機駕車觀賞野生動物,亦可乘坐傳統獨木舟、玻璃底小船或電動快艇探索三角洲水道,順便趁黃昏時欣賞日落美景。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往開普敦的季節性航班(即日起至2020年2月28日)

2020年秋季

Chedi Kuda Villingili度假酒店,馬爾代夫

馬爾代夫政府積極拓展旅遊業,期望遊客人數至2023年增長至每年250萬名遊客(2018年的紀錄是140萬人次),吸引酒店業前往投資。去年已有多間國際知名的酒店品牌進駐,包括Baglioni Resort Maldives度假村馬爾代夫JW萬豪度假酒店馬爾代夫伊撻富士島華爾道夫酒店等。2020年新落成的度假設施則有Chedi Kuda Villingili度假酒店。這所度假酒店以設計風格取勝,設有海濱別墅及水上別墅,為住客提供不受打擾的私隱,同時享有充足的熱帶陽光及新鮮空氣。Chedi Kuda Villingili度假酒店,距機場僅30分鐘船程,亦可出售作為住宅。另外,值得一提的是2021年將有馬爾代夫嘉佩樂酒店。這間新酒店由多位享譽業界的建築師參與設計,包括日本的隈研吾、香港的傅厚民和黎巴嫩的Vladimir Djurovic等,堪稱建築界的夢幻團隊。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往馬累的航班

巴瓦拉堡六善酒店,印度

Credit: Courtesy of Six Senses Fort Barwara

今年,全球各地將有多間酒店進駐古蹟建築。在一眾經翻修的老房子當中,印度巴瓦拉堡六善酒店脫穎而出。這棟經泰國度假村品牌六善翻修的14世紀堡壘,位於印度拉賈斯坦邦,距離齋浦爾東南面約100公里。這間精品酒店共提供48間套房,預計於秋天開幕,正正對著喬托卡伯爾瓦拉寺,驅車前往倫塔波爾國家公園的野生老虎保護區亦非常便捷。為了妥善修復這座屹立700年的古堡,六善集團和當地王室特意諮詢建築保育專家,關注古蹟保育的旅客定必滿意。也別錯過寬敞的六善水療中心,其前身為妃嬪後宮;酒店的冥想室和六善招牌綜合睡眠養生療程亦是賣點所在。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往德里的航班

安縵紐約,美國

建於1921年的皇冠大廈位於曼克頓的中心地帶,矗立在第五大道和第57街的交界處,樓高26層,窗戶和露台與中央公園呈直線角度,以頂部高三米、外層鍍金的風向標而著稱。亞洲知名酒店品牌安縵首次落戶美國大都會,選址這座建築物確實合適不過。安縵紐約由Jean-Michel Gathy設計,除了83間客房及套房,還設有意式和日式餐廳、一間葡萄酒吧、位於地庫的爵士樂俱樂部,以及可欣賞公園美景的花園露台。佔據三個樓層的安縵水療中心面積24,700平方呎,附設一個20米長的室內游泳池,四周環繞火爐及日光浴床。22間安縵都市公館的住戶將享有使用所有酒店設施的禮遇。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往紐約的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Checking into the Hottest New Hotels of 2020

January heralds not only the kick-off to a new year, but also the dawn of a new decade. We predict what’s coming up for the hospitality industry and the hottest new hotels

With the arrival of 2020 comes a flurry of anticipated hotel openings. Tokyo will get a much-needed boost just in time for the Summer Olympics while London will welcome around 8,000 new hotel rooms this year, with some of the most coveted at the Guardsman, a boutique hotel that emphasises a personalised guest experience and sustainability.

Other industry trends to watch for this new year include the conversion of heritage spaces into hotels and the expansion of small homegrown brands such as the Hong Kong-headquartered Ovolo hotels group, which will open a sleek property in Bali; and Spain’s ME by Meliá, which debuts in Dubai.

Here’s a closer look at the hotel openings worthy of your precious travel time.

SPRING 2020

Four Seasons Hotel Bangkok, Thailand

Credit: Courtesy of Four Seasons Hotel Bangkok at Chao Phraya River

The Thai capital’s hotel scene will get a notable refresh in the new year, especially along the Chao Phraya river. The city’s central aquatic artery is set to welcome the Capella Bangkok, with all of its 101 rooms and suites angled over the historic waterway. Next door on the eastern riverbank, Four Seasons Hotel Bangkok returns to town with a sprawling 3.6-hectare complex featuring six food and beverage outlets and 299 rooms and suites. Belgian designer Jean-Michel Gathy has installed a bevy of gentle courtyards, landscaped terraces and water features here to mirror the river’s never-ending flow. Along with cocktails by international mixologist Philip Bischoff at the in-house BKK Social Club, this urban sanctuary shines a spotlight on Thai craftsmanship with an on-site gallery to showcase contemporary artists, reflective of the Charoen Krung neighbourhood’s growing reputation as Bangkok’s cultural hub. Together, they add to an already booming Bangkok hotel scene.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Bangkok 

Le Grand Contrôle, France

Credit: Shutterstock

Built by Louis XIV’s go-to architect Jules Hardouin-Mansart in 1681, Le Grand Contrôle at the Château de Versailles originally housed France’s war finance ministry and served as a military canteen. Fast forward to spring 2020, when it will open its doors as a 14-room hotel, something unthinkable at Versailles until now. Beyond the one-of-a-kind accommodations – arrayed with four-poster beds, restored period furniture and valuable art – guests enjoy behind-the-scenes access to the Sun King’s palace with its legendary Hall of Mirrors and Petit Trianon. The indulgent experience continues at the in-house Valmont spa and the Alain Ducasse restaurant reviving forgotten French traditional dishes in view of the Orangerie, a 150-metre-long gallery lined by trees from Portugal, Spain and Italy.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Paris

ME Dubai, UAE

The late, great Zaha Hadid – nicknamed ‘Queen of the Curve’ for her bold, fluid urban structures – personally designed this stunningly sculptural duo of towers conjoined by an asymmetric three-storey bridge 71 meters above ground. Inside this singular building named Opus, the pioneering architect also had a hand in creating the interiors of the 93 rooms and suites as well as 96 serviced apartments for ME Dubai, an outpost of the Spanish hotel brand which will occupy six lower floors of the geometric structure. Dining options here will span the globe, from lobster rolls at Maine Land Brasserie to Japanese robatayaki at Roka. It opens doors to guests in February 2020.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Dubai

W Chengdu, China

Credit: Courtesy of W Chengdu.

Economic development policies rarely make their way onto the lifestyle pages, but it’s a different story for Chengdu. Synonymous with pandas and spicy hot pot, the capital of Sichuan province is one of the major beneficiaries of the Great Western Development Campaign, which has steered public and private investment in the western part of China. Over the past few decades, Chengdu has seen major infrastructural upgrades, including a slew of luxury hotel openings from international brands. A new nexus for Chengdu’s influencers, W Chengdu opens in March 2020 at the heart of Gaoxin district, with 297 rooms subtly laced with local design elements. Expect the common areas to draw the most attention, with funky, locavore artworks including a gargantuan sculpture of a Sichuan peppercorn dominating the dining room of modern South East Asian bistro Zing.

Cathay Dragon flies from Hong Kong to Chengdu

Ace Hotel Kyoto, Japan

Along with the cherry blossoms, this spring will see Kyoto welcome an unconventional Ace hotel in a conversion of the red-brick former central telephone office tower. The mastermind behind this project is Kengo Kuma, the Japanese starchitect who also designed Tokyo’s Olympic Stadium for the 2020 Summer Games. He relied on natural light and indigenous natural materials throughout the 28-room property, conferring a true sense of sanctuary in the middle of this popular city. Interiors by Commune Design draw inspiration from both East and West while actively engaging local artists and craftsmen to collaborate on this stunner located a short walk from Nijo Castle on the former grounds of Kyoto’s imperial palace. As at the other hotels from this American-born brand, there’s likely to be a buzzing lobby scene.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Osaka

Ovolo Bali, Indonesia

Hong Kong has long made an artform of the ‘small is beautiful’ maxim thanks to its size constraints. As this trend has caught on overseas, we’ll be seeing Hong Kong hotel brands spread their wings in the new decade. With a portfolio spanning both its home base and Australia, Ovolo Hotels adds an Indonesian outpost in the first quarter of 2020. The boutique brand is hard at work giving a makeover to the Citadines Kuta Beach apartment hotel and transforming it into Ovolo Bali. The 194-room property will follow the brand’s sleek design schemes and incorporate its signature communal workspaces and cultural programming as part of its offering. All eyes should be trained on the photogenic rooftop, where an infinity swimming pool and laid-back lounge await.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly from Hong Kong to Bali 

Miraval Berkshires, US

Pioneering wellness retreat Miraval Arizona opened in 1995 and grew to two with the 2019 opening of Miraval Austin in Texas. By springtime 2020, we can expect Miraval Berkshires, comprised of 102 grey-on-white guestrooms among the Gilded Age mansions of Lenox, Massachusetts, on 150 bucolic hectares designed by Frederick Law Olmsted, the landscape architect behind New York’s Central Park. Indoor walkways will ensure easy year-round access to its mindfulness therapies like Common Ground, a two-hour session designed ‘to identify communication blocks and develop new paths to self-recognition and healthy relationships’. Seeking something more active? Swing and a Prayer involves strapping into a harness and dropping 10 metres – aficionados swear by the empowering sense of emotional release.

 Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Boston

Iniala Malta

Credit: Iniala Malta; Shutterstock

Back in 2012, businessman Mark Weingard purchased a landmark townhouse on St Barbara Bastions, overlooking the Grand Harbour of Valletta, the capital of the tiny Mediterranean island of Malta. Although he initially planned to move in, he changed tactics upon becoming convinced that the only obstacle keeping the well-heeled from visiting this historic melting pot has been a lack of suitable accommodations. The financier-turned-philanthropist bought up adjacent heritage buildings including a former bank and a string of vaults previously used to store dynamite. Painstakingly restored, these will soon serve as a gym and spa below the 23-suite Iniala Malta hotel, which will open its baroque doors in May 2020. Within are contemporary rooms designed by Spain’s A-Cero and Turkey’s Autoban studios, as well as Malta’s own DAAA Haus. Open to all will be the rooftop restaurant overlooking the fortified cities of Birgu, Senglea and Cospicua.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Rome

SUMMER 2020

The Guardsman, England

Steps from Buckingham Palace, this boutique address will open its doors come June 2020 with 53 guestrooms behind a funky black-and-white brick facade designed by Dexter Moren Associates (whose portfolio includes London hotspots such as The Curtain hotel and Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard) with refined interiors in muted hues by London’s Tonik Associates. Conferring a private members club vibe, The Guardsman looks set to achieve what many new developments promise: to reshape our notions of staying in a hotel. It plans to do so by inviting guests to choose their rooms on arrival, as well their in-room and bath amenities, and by operating consciously, on 100 per cent renewable energy.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to London

The Tokyo Edition, Japan

Credit: Courtesy of The Tokyo Edition, Toranomon.

Olympics fever will rise with the mercury as the Summer Games kick off in Tokyo on 24 July 2020. An estimated 40 million people are expected to attend the event, and a multitude of new hotels will spring up across the city in the coming months to help make room. Among them will be the 200-room The Tokyo Edition Toranomon atop a shiny new 38-storey tower near Roppongi-Itchome Station, which marks the Japanese debut of Ian Schrager’s personalised take on tried-and-tested luxury. The New York-based hotelier’s attention to detail has already met its match in the hotel’s developer, Japan’s design-driven Mori Trust, which spent two weeks meticulously moving a 100-year-old tree onto the property. Meanwhile in the nearby business district of Otemachi, Four Seasons is opening its much-anticipated 193-room property, designed by Jean-Michel Gathy.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly from Hong Kong to Tokyo

1 Hotel Toronto, Canada

credit: 1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge

This nascent North American brand seamlessly incorporates nature in its design and culinary collaborations. Consider that it uses repurposed reclaimed local materials like timber, driftwood and local limestone at each of its existing four properties in New York City, Miami and Los Angeles. For its first Canadian venture, 1 Hotel Toronto, the brand is upping the ante with a lobby-level farmers’ market. There will also be organic cotton mattresses, upcycled headboards and living green walls. Plans are in the works to tap the creativity and craftsmanship of local artists, builders and chefs to ensure meaningful ties with the community for guests of this soon-to-open address at King Street West and the Toronto Marketplace. Also in the works for summer is the remaking of a Marriott in the fashionable Yorkville neighbourhood into Toronto’s first W hotel.

 Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Toronto

Xigera Safari Lodge, Botswana

By summer 2020, 105 handpicked staff will be looking after 24 guests at this 100-per-cent solar-powered lodge with 12 suspended suites, all individually designed and surrounded by wizened trees and flood plains on the western side of the Moremi Game Reserve in the Okavango Delta. Each suite will float above the water, allowing wildlife to pass uninterruptedly beneath, and will act as a ‘living gallery’ showcasing Southern African art and design, curated by Cape Town’s Southern Guild gallery. Guests will come to know the works of compelling African artists and craftsmen including Adam Birch, Madoda Fani, Porky Hefer, Otto du Plessis, and Stanislaw Trzebinski. Morning, afternoon and evening game drives can be arranged at any hour. Or, explore the delta’s waterways by traditional canoe, glass-bottom mokoro or motorboat – complete with ‘feet-in-the-water’ sundowners.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Cape Town seasonally (through 28 Feb 2020) 

AUTUMN 2020

Chedi Kudavillingili, Maldives

The government of the Maldives has set a target of 2.5 million annual tourists by 2023 (it received 1.4 in 2018) – and the hotel industry has taken notice. Baglioni Resort MaldivesJW Marriott Maldives and Waldorf Astoria Maldives Ithaafushi were among last year’s notable debuts, and 2020 heralds the arrival of Chedi Kudavillingili. This high-design property includes beachside and overwater villas that confer privacy while allowing plenty of tropical sunlight and fresh air. Available for sale as residences, the Chedi occupies an island just a 30-minute boat ride from the airport. Also worth keeping on your radar for 2021 is the Capella Maldives, the handiwork of a dream team of architects: Japan’s Kengo Kuma, Hong Kong’s André Fu and Lebanon-based Vladimir Djurovic.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Malé 

Six Senses Fort Barwara, India

Credit: Courtesy of Six Senses Fort Barwara

This year will see a slew of new hotels opening within historic structures. A standout among these monumental overhauls, Six Senses Fort Barwara sees the Thai resort brand converting a 14th-century fortress in Rajasthan, about 100 kilometres southeast of Jaipur. Slated to open by autumn 2020, the 48-suite boutique property sits opposite Chauth ka Barwara Mandir temple and is a short drive from the protected tiger haven of Ranthambore National Park. Conservation-minded travellers will appreciate that Six Senses and the local royal family sought guidance from architectural preservation specialists to update the 700-year-old fort. Don’t miss the expansive Six Senses Spa in the original women’s palace, as well as meditation sessions and signature integrative and sleep-focused wellness offerings.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Delhi 

Aman New York, US

Built in 1921, the Crown Building presides over prime Manhattan real estate at the corner of Fifth Avenue and 57th Street, its 26 storeys of windows and terraces angled over Central Park and topped by a three-metre-tall gold-plated weathervane. The building is a fitting new home for an iconic Asian hotel brand’s first urban address in the Americas: Aman New York. Designed by Jean-Michel Gathy, the 83 guestrooms and suites will be joined by Italian and Japanese restaurants, a wine bar, a subterranean jazz club and a wraparound garden terrace proffering park views. The 24,700-square-foot Aman Spa will extend over three levels, with a 20-metre indoor swimming pool surrounded by fire pits and daybeds. Owners of the 22 private Aman Residences will enjoy unlimited access to all such hotel amenities.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to New York

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book