日本

盤點日本本州滑雪度假勝地

除了熱門滑雪目的地北海道新雪谷,日本本州亦有不少滑雪勝地,在那裡可以參加雪祭、觀賞「雪怪」奇景,以及在世界級滑雪場馳聘。

北海道的冬天可長達五個月或以上,降雪量亦多,因此贏得雪地運動愛好者的歡心。其實在新潟及本州內陸各縣,亦不乏優秀的滑雪度假村,儘管它們的知名度稍遜,卻相當值得各類雪地運動的新知和老將一試身手,喜愛雪地遠足的人士或鍾情冬日樂園的觀光客,也定能各得其所。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

妙高高原

妙高高原位於新潟縣南部,早於1930年代便設有國際滑雪度假村,是日本歷史最悠久的滑雪度假村之一。該區後來發展成熱門滑雪勝地,更獲日本皇室成員青睞到此度假,直至1998年鄰近的長野縣主辦冬季奧運會後,妙高才逐漸被世人遺忘。不過部分情有獨鍾的雪迷仍然每年重返這裡,欣賞九個相連滑雪區白雪紛飛的景致。在2018至2019年的冬季,妙高的山坡共錄得超過17米的降雪量。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

有賴多個新穎的世界級度假村相繼落成,吸引雪地運動愛好者回歸妙高。當地的樂天新井度假村就獲Ski Asia網站的讀者票選為本年度最佳綜合滑雪度假村。而當地另一個冬日勝地妙高杉之原滑雪場,則坐擁全長8.5公里的滑雪道,據稱是日本最長的人工雪道。曾獲獎的妙高雪地運動學校為男女老幼舉辦以日語或英語授課的課程,更為截肢、半身不遂及視障者等傷健人士提供特別設計的課堂,讓他們也能享受雪地運動的樂趣。

妙高同時是雪地遠足的好去處,旅客需穿上特製的雪鞋,利用鞋底較大的面積分散身體重量,因此在雪地上行走時不會陷進雪中,自然行動自如。2020年的世界雪鞋遠足大賽將於下年2月15及16日在妙高舉行。期間,業餘雪地遠足愛好者可順道遊覽各個醉人景點,包括高55米的苗名瀑布。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

湯澤

新潟縣湯澤位於日本阿爾卑斯山脈,當地人稱之為「雪國」。多個世紀以來,湯澤的居民皆居住在冰封雪鎖的村落中,由於降雪量十分驚人,當地許多房子都在上層另闢入口,供居民在冬天出入。

湯澤共有12個各具特色的滑雪度假村,迎合初學者以至滑雪高手的需求,同時讓旅客一嘗雪地電單車、雪艇及滑雪胎等刺激好玩的活動。海拔較高的區域,譬如高1,800米的神樂,擁有最優質的粉雪,當地的滑雪場一般由11月中開放至5月中。

湯澤另一引人入勝的魅力,是區內多個與雪有關的慶典。越後湯澤溫泉雪祭於每年3月的第一個星期六晚上舉行,由當地居民和遊客一起抬著神輿巡遊,沿途響徹誦經聲,手執火炬的滑雪者從布場區的山坡滑下,之後更有璀璨的雪地煙花匯演。每年2月,鄰近的小出町會舉辦奇趣的國際擲雪球比賽,各參賽隊伍扮鬼扮馬,或穿上華麗的服飾,參加既激烈又歡樂的雪球大戰。大戰過後,參賽者和觀眾齊齊在雪屋中一同品嚐燒鱒魚和清酒。

志賀高原

志賀高原位於長野縣,不單是本州的熱門冬日景點,更是廣袤的滑雪勝地,共有19個相連的滑雪區域和全長超過80公里的雪道。只需購買一張滑雪通行證,便可盡情乘搭場中的纜車和吊車,沿著1998年奧運高山迴轉滑雪選手締造歷史佳績的賽道,俯衝而下。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

日本北阿爾卑斯山的嶙峋山峰高聳入雲,將志賀高原抱入懷中。聯合國教科文組織於1980年將該區域列為生態圈保護區,確保其天然景色及生態特性獲妥善保存。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

地獄谷野猿公園是日本唯一有日本獼猴浸浴的溫泉區,離志賀高原不遠,如從妙高前往亦很方便。幼猴四處蹦跳玩水,成年猴子則喜歡懶洋洋地泡溫泉,神態跟疲累但滿足的滑雪者如出一轍。公園於早上8時半便已開放,如想避開人潮,請盡早到訪。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

藏王溫泉

位於山形縣的藏王溫泉,是少數可見到自然形成的「雪怪」之地。層層冰雪蓋著冷杉樹,凜凜北風將冰封的植物雕琢成奇形怪狀,恍如外星生物,種種奇觀構成一趟教人畢生難忘的滑雪體驗。

在這片瑰麗的雪山中遠足絕非易事。當遠足人士越過了林木線(樹木能夠生長的高度界線),溫度便遠遠跌破冰點以下,刺骨的寒風刮起雪霰連天。朦朧中只見一條山徑若隱若現,通往火山口的冰湖,以及一座鋪滿冰雪的山中神社。

入夜後,旅客便會紛紛投進藏王溫泉的懷抱,放鬆身心,溫泉鄉四周瀰漫著泉水氤氳的蒸汽,形成一道充滿硫磺氣味的迷霧。只需跟隨著這股獨特氣味,就能找到多間讓人驅走寒意的公共澡堂。

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

八甲田山

本州北部青森縣的八甲田山一向備受滑雪高手擁戴。這道山脈共有16座包括活火山在內的山峰,由於地理位置偏北,遊客較為稀少,而降雪量則甚豐。

當地設有適合新手及中級程度滑雪者的人工雪道,但熱愛日本粉雪的滑雪迷通常偏愛其天然雪道,並享受悠閒的山岳滑雪和雪鞋遠足體驗。若想一試道外滑雪的滋味,建議僱用嚮導同行。1902年,曾有近200名在當地進行攀山集訓的士兵於暴風雪中迷路,最終凍死山頭。此外,在人跡罕至的雪地滑雪,亦可能會接觸到有毒的火山氣體。雖然凶險萬分,但不少狂迷為了享受絕色美景和樂趣,仍然選擇踏足這些險峻的路線。

八甲田纜車於冬天及夏天分別運載滑雪手和登山人士上山。附近的酸湯溫泉旅館以簡約的日本傳統客房招待客人,其天然檜木大浴池於300多年前建造,素以寬敞聞名,可供男女混浴。而流淌的溫泉水亦享譽四方,它蘊含豐富礦物質,在雪山盡興過後浸泡其中,舒暢無比。

國泰航空和國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往日本本州的東京、大阪、名古屋和新潟的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Japan

Beyond Niseko: Honshu Ski Resorts That Should Be on Your Radar

There’s more to the Japanese ski scene than the crowded slopes of Hokkaido's Niseko. We find festivals, snow monsters and world-class ski resorts on the island of Honshu

Hokkaido earned its name among snow sport enthusiasts for its rich snowfall and winter conditions that can last five months or more. But less renowned ski resorts in Niigata and other prefectures on the main island of Honshu deserve the attention of everyone from skiers and snowboarders of all levels, to snow-hikers and those simply in search of a wintery wonderland.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

Myoko Kogen

In the south of Niigata Prefecture lies Myoko Kogen (kogen means ‘highlands’), where one of Japan’s first international ski resorts opened in the 1930s. The ski area flourished and went on to become a winter retreat for Japan’s imperial family, remaining popular until 1998 when the Winter Olympic Games were held in neighbouring Nagano Prefecture and much of the world forgot about Myoko. Except the powder addicts. They return every year for the over-the-head snowfall that blankets the nine interconnected ski areas. In the 2018-2019 season, more than 17 metres of snow graced the slopes of Myoko.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

Innovative world-class offerings are drawing snow sports enthusiasts back to Myoko. Readers of Ski Asia ranked Myoko’s well-appointed Lotte Arai Resort as Asia’s Best Overall Ski Resort this year, while Myoko Suginohara Ski Resort boasts an eight-and-a-half kilometre piste, which lays claim to being Japan’s longest groomed run. The award-winning Myoko Snowsports school offers lessons in Japanese and English for all ages, and provides adapted programmes for people with a wide range of disabilities, including amputees, paraplegics and the visually impaired.

Myoko is also an exceptional place for snowshoeing – hiking with special shoes designed to displace weight over a wider area. The 2020 World Snowshoe Championships will be held here on 15 and 16 February 2020. Meanwhile amateur snow hikers can enjoy tours to stunning locations, such as the 55-metre Naena Falls.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

Yuzawa

Located in the Japanese Alps, Yuzawa in Niigata Prefecture is known to locals as yukiguni, which means ‘snow country’. For centuries, Yuzawa residents have lived in snow-enclosed villages where, due to heavy snowfall, many homes have winter entrances on upper floors.

Yuzawa has 12 distinct ski resorts, suited to skiers and snowboarders ranging from beginner to expert, as well as offering a playground for snowmobiles, snowrafting and snowtubing. High-elevation areas, such as Kagura at 1,800 metres, offer the best powder and are usually open from mid-November through to mid-May.

Yuzawa’s charms include festivals dedicated to the joy of snow. The Echigo Yuzawa Onsen Snow Festival takes place on the evening of the first Saturday in March, with townspeople and tourists alike parading with portable Shinto shrines and chanting. Dozens of skiers descend Nunoba’s slopes with flickering torches, followed by a fireworks display.

In February, the nearby town of Koide hosts the quirky International Snowball Fight. Teams don cosplay costumes and other fancy-dress outfits and engage in ferocious yet comical snowball fights, after which participants and attendees gather in snow huts to eat grilled trout and drink sake.

Shiga Kogen

Shiga Kogen is a key winter hotspot in Honshu. Located in Nagano Prefecture, it is a large, sprawling ski destination, offering 19 different interconnected areas and more than 80 kilometres of trails. Purchase one ski pass to ride all the gondolas and lifts, and race down the very slopes where Olympic alpine slalom athletes made history during the 1998 Winter Olympic Games.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

The rugged summits of Japan’s Northern Alps stand high in all directions around Shiga Kogen. Unesco designated the area a Biosphere Reserve in 1980, ensuring it retains its natural beauty and biological significance.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

The only place where Japanese macaques soak in hot springs is Jigokudani Monkey Park, which is a short trip from Shiga Kogen (and also easily accessible from Myoko). Monkey infants jump and splash, while older primates recline in the warm waters, their expressions redolent of exhausted yet blissed-out skiers. To avoid the crowds, visit as early in the day as possible – the park opens at 8.30am.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography
Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

Zao Onsen

Zao Onsen in Yamagata Prefecture is one of few places where nature births snow monsters. Layer upon layer of ice and snow encase fir trees and winds carve the frozen flora into bizarre shapes resembling otherworldly creatures. Skiing among thousands of these strange forms is unforgettable.

Snow hikers discover challenging adventures amid alpine beauty, too. Above tree level, temperatures plunge far below freezing, winds are fierce and whiteouts frequent. A barely discernable path leads to a frozen lake deep in a crater and a mountain shrine encrusted with ice and buried in snow.

Come evening time, the focus turns to Zao Onsen’s relaxing hot springs. Steam billows from the multiple streams and pools of hot water, creating a sulphur-scented fog. Follow your nose to the wealth of community bath houses to chase the cold away.

Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography
Credit: Grant Gunderson Photography

Hakkoda

Hardcore skiers love the Hakkoda Mountains of Aomori Prefecture in the north of Honshu. The range is comprised of 16 mountains including active volcanoes and, due to its relatively remote northerly location, receives few foreign tourists but plenty of snowfall.

Groomed runs for beginners and intermediate skiers are available, but ‘Japow’ – Japanese Powder – fanatics revel in the long, ungroomed slopes and the relaxed attitude towards backcountry skiing and snowshoeing. However, hiring a guide for such off-piste adventure is advisable – almost 200 Japanese soldiers froze to death in 1902 during a climbing exercise when they became lost during a blizzard, and away from the frequented runs, skiers can come into contact with poisonous volcanic gases. Yet, despite the risks, diehards reap the many rewards of embarking on the lesser-travelled trails of these magnificent mo untains.

Hakkoda Ropeway transports skiers – and in summer, hikers – up into the mountains. The closest hotel is Sukayu Onsen Ryokan with its simple, Japanese-style rooms and large natural baths that were built more than 300 years ago. The cypress-wood, mixed-sex baths are famous for their size and the curative powers of the mineral-rich waters that are perfect for post-mountain-sport soaking.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Tokyo, Osaka, Nagoya and Niigata on Honshu island

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book