運動

向香港最佳足球員致敬

香港一代足球名將李惠堂辭世40周年,Paul McComish憶述這位球壇名宿昔日的輝煌成就

目前,存世的李惠堂照片和影像寥寥可數。他自1922年起開始踏足球壇,由於年代久遠,關於他的球技如何精湛的說法,大多言過其實。不過有一點無可否認,李惠堂當時是世上公認最優秀的足球名將之一。

李惠堂擔任前鋒位置,腳法神速,攻門精準無誤,左腳有如火箭般勁道十足,因此而贏得「鐵腳」美譽。

據說他射門如此精準,是得力於用橙來苦練球技,因為當年皮製的足球不易得到。至於能射穿龍門網之說,則源於他在無橙可用時,勉強以半滿的沙包來頂替,因而無意中鍛鍊出這股過人的力量。

以上這些佳話只屬傳言,並不能信以為真,但某程度上的確解釋了他的超凡實力和成就從何而來。

中國隊於1936年奧運與英國隊對壘。圖片: Sportbild Schirner/ullstein bild via Getty Images

李惠堂25年的球員生涯均於中港兩地作賽,創下總入球數逾1,000球的神話,戰績彪炳。他17歲於球場首露鋒芒,隨即加入香港南華足球隊,並於1924年為球會摘下首個聯賽冠軍,其後更七次帶領球隊奪冠。這個小伙子年僅18歲,便已入選中國足球隊,在1923年的遠東運動會與日本對陣,在短短五分鐘時間內施展「帽子戲法」,從此聲名大噪。

除了在球場上屢創紀錄,李惠堂在球場外亦有不少受人敬仰的事跡。

關於這些事跡有不少說法,其中一個故事是他於1936年為中國爭取破天荒參與奧運會的機會。當時中國政局動盪,政府只能提供少量經費,根本不足以應付球隊前往柏林作賽的支出。

於是,身為隊長的李惠堂為籌措參賽經費,率領球員前往亞洲各地進行表演賽,賺取門票收入。在奧運會開幕前的60日,球隊進行了約27場比賽,吸引大批球迷到場一睹這位前鋒的球技。比賽之旅過程艱苦,但球隊未嘗一敗,以23勝4和完成,為球隊籌得足夠經費前往德國。

李惠堂與阿仙奴隊長Alex James合照。圖片: J. A. Hampton/Topical Press Agency/Getty Images

中國隊於奧運會首場比賽僅以二比零敗給英國,不少人認為中國隊落敗的原因,是由於之前在巡迴賽中虛耗大量體力所致。香港劇作家陳敢權將這段故事搬上舞台,寫成獲獎音樂劇《頂頭鎚》,令這段傳奇歷史流傳後世。

第二次世界大戰時,日軍攻陷香港,李惠堂逃到內地參軍。抗戰期間,他一直積極投身足球表演賽,除了籌募軍費,亦把部分金錢捐助予受戰事影響的民眾。他這種做法,令他成為備受敬重的國寶級人物。

戰後李惠堂重返香港,繼續在球場上衝鋒陷陣。香港的球迷即使未被他強勁的實力、堅定不移的決心和善行義舉所打動,亦會欣賞他對足球的一腔熱血,因為這份忠誠最是難得。 由於這位球王的超群球技廣受稱頌,因此曾獲阿仙奴及巴黎紅星等多家歐洲頂級球會招手,但他始終不為所動,直至1948年掛靴,他依然從一而終,效力香港南華足球隊。

由於這位球王的超群球技廣受稱頌,因此曾獲阿仙奴及巴黎紅星等多家歐洲頂級球會招手,但他始終不為所動,直至1948年掛靴,他依然從一而終,效力香港南華足球隊。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Sports

Paying Tribute to Hong Kong’s Finest Footballer

On the 40th anniversary of his death, Paul McComish remembers Hong Kong footballer Lee Wai-tong for his achievements on and off the pitch

There is little surviving footage of Lee Wai-tong. He began playing in 1922, and so stories of his prowess are prone to exaggeration. But one thing has always been acknowledged: for a period, Lee was one of the world’s finest footballers.

A whippet-fast striker, Lee had an unerring eye for goal and a left foot like a bazooka, which earned him the nickname ‘Iron Foot.’

It’s said that he developed his accuracy through the necessity of having to practise shooting using oranges, with real leather footballs being hard to come by. And his net-busting power? A side-effect of being forced to resort to partially filled sandbags once the oranges were gone.

There’s more than a hint of the apocryphal to those reports, but they could go some way to explaining his extraordinary abilities and achievements.

China playing Great Britain at the 1936 Olympics. Credit: Sportbild Schirner/ullstein bild via Getty Images

Lee’s record is incredible. He notched more than 1,000 goals during a 25-year career, which was spent entirely in Hong Kong and mainland China. After making his debut at 17, he led Hong Kong club side South China to its first league title in 1924. He would go on to drive the team to a further seven championships. He also represented the China national team from the age of just 18, and rose to national fame after scoring a five-minute hat-trick against Japan at the 1923 Far Eastern Games.

But his footballing achievements only account for part of his incredible story: Lee was just as revered for his deeds off the pitch.

There are many tales, but Lee’s efforts to ensure China was able to compete at its first-ever Olympic Games in 1936 have gone down in Chinese lore. With the country riven by political turmoil, the Chinese government was only able to provide a fraction of the funding needed to cover the cost of sending a team to compete in Berlin.

So captain Lee organised an exhibition tour in order to raise the cash. Over 60 days leading up to the Olympics, Lee and his teammates played some 27 matches across Asia as fans flocked to see the striker in action. China didn’t lose a single match during the arduous tour, winning 23 games and drawing four – raising enough money for the squad to travel to Germany.

Lee Wai-tong and Arsenal captain Alex James. Credit: J. A. Hampton/Topical Press Agency/Getty Images

At the Olympics, China were narrowly beaten 2-0 in their opening game against Great Britain. It was widely suggested that the China side was suffering from extreme fatigue after their exhausting build-up. That story has since been immortalised in Field of Dreams, an award-winning play by Hong Kong playwright Anthony Chan.

Lee’s image as a national treasure was cemented during the Second World War. When Japanese forces invaded Hong Kong, Lee escaped to the mainland and joined the Chinese army. He spent the war arranging exhibition football matches to raise funds for the war effort and those affected by the fighting.

After the war, Lee returned to Hong Kong and resumed playing. And if his ability, determination and philanthropic spirit weren’t enough to endear him to football supporters in Hong Kong, he was also that rarest of things: a loyal footballer.

As word spread of Lee’s prowess, he was offered the chance to sign for a number of top European clubs, including Arsenal and Parisian side Red Star. But Lee refused to move, preferring instead to end his playing career in 1948 with his very first love – Hong Kong league side South China.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book