餐飲美食

香港最佳素食餐廳

近年香港的素食餐廳不但愈開愈多,而些烹飪水準更上層樓,菜式亦趨向多元化,無論你是素食者,或只是想享用一頓健康、美味又不會令天然資源枯竭的植物性餐膳,這都是個好消息

香港有逾百萬人自認是佛教徒,加上還有許多人信奉受佛教影響的民間信仰,因此本地人對於「不殺生」的觀念並不陌生。這個觀念尊重一切生命,因此主張非暴力,於日常生活中實踐,就變成不食用肉類及各種與動物相關的產品。不過現在很多人改為採用多菜少肉的飲食方式,除了道德原因外,亦因為這種飲食方式對自己的健康及環境同樣有益。

香港愈來愈多傳統及現代素食美食已不再停留於常見的大豆製素肉,採用的食材更加變化多端,菜式更豐富多元。隨便舉幾個例子:以果仁及種子製造、經過多個星期發酵的美味芝士,黑松露扁意粉,青咖哩猴頭菇,以及不用魚類製作的鮮味壽司等,全都各具風味。除了這些菜式之外,以下精選的多家素食餐廳,還有更精采的素食佳餚等待你去品嚐。

悠蔬食

悠蔬食分別於銅鑼灣及尖沙咀這兩個繁華的購物區內開設分店,是瘋狂購物後輕鬆享受美食的好去處。這裡供應的是典型港式餐廳菜式,糅合多國風味並加以調整,更加適合本地的口味。泰式青咖啡套餐以猴頭菇入饌,這種菇類有助消化及滋補的食療作用,除了主菜外,套餐還有一道涼拌黑木耳作配菜;至於日式燒鰻魚飯採用中式素肉作材料。餐廳有多款菜式使用蛋及奶類製品烹調,但餐牌上清楚列明食材成份,方更客人參考選擇。

銅鑼灣渣甸街50號渣甸中心25+852 3565 6393

Veda

L: Credit: Arnaud Bardary; R: Credit: hermes-rivera, Unsplash

Veda這個名字源於梵文「vid」這個字,意思是知識。這家餐廳將東、西方風味共冶一爐,烹調出美味咖啡室素食,其中多款更是由食譜作者與時尚潮流達人Hetty McKinnon作創製。餐廳的菜式跨越國界,一如樓上奧華酒店的住客,例子有紅扁豆湯配希臘酸乳酪,熱粥上灑上甘藍脆片,而印度naan烤餅做成有如法式tartine麵包或多士開面三文治,可說千變萬化。餐廳大部分菜式都是蛋奶素,而純素菜式亦會在餐牌上清楚註明。

中環亞畢諾道2號中環奧華酒店,+852 3755 3067

素食微調

大坑一帶餐廳食肆密集,但是對素食人士來說,選擇不算多。素食微調可說一枝獨秀,這裡的特色是價錢實惠的午市套餐和融會全球風味的菜式。除了可以嚐到土耳其卷外,還有墨西哥薄餅和自家製玉米薄餅、黑松露扁意粉和炒飯等。這裡的食物簡單但新鮮,而且大部分都可作出調整,以便適合純素人士的要求。飲品則有各式鮮榨果汁,採用區內時令鮮果製成,例如番石榴、秋葵及火龍果等,此外還有芝士蛋糕風味的純素蛋糕供客人預訂。

大坑銅鑼灣道144號,+852 2802 6126

龍門樓 – 志蓮素齋

Credit: Chi Lin Nunnery

這家中式素食餐廳位於志蓮淨苑旁邊的南蓮園池內,餐廳有木造橫樑,佈置清雅,外面是氣氛寧靜的園林,吸引素食與非素食的客人前來品嚐美食和欣賞美景。這裡奉客的有蛋奶素菜式,以及按佛教清規不用「五葷」烹調的菜式,也就是不會使用洋蔥、青蔥、細香蔥、韭蔥及蒜這五種食材。午市除了有素點心供應外,亦有單點菜單。若你對著大量美食三心兩意,不知如何選擇的話,還有多款套餐供你挑選。白天前來的話,可選擇坐在大玻璃窗旁的桌子,品嚐美食之餘,還可盡情欣賞外面的美麗園景。

鑽石山鳳德道60號南蓮園池龍門樓地下及2樓,+852 3658 9388

居素屋日本野菜料理

大部分人一聽到「日本料理」時,首先就會想起壽司。居素屋日本野菜料理亦以壽司奉客,不過完全不用魚類。這家極具創意的日本素食餐廳只供應套餐,午市是簡便的湯麵及米飯配小菜的定食,晚餐則是懷石料理風味的多道菜盛宴。大廚以日本常見食材如豆腐、素麵及蒟蒻等,配上時令蔬菜烹調,做出天婦羅、關東煮、壽司及味噌燒等菜式。餐廳以風格簡約的白木家具佈置,氣氛寧靜怡人,是灣仔繁華鬧市中的一片淨土。

灣仔灣仔道839樓,+852 5500 8812

L: Credit: Arnaud Bardary; R: Credit: hermes-rivera Unsplash

同德素食

同德素食的餐牌看來跟一間普通的葷食中菜館沒有多大分別,冷盤有麻醬手撕雞,主菜有甜酸咕嚕肉和荷葉蒸雞等。這些菜式有部分是用傳統的中式大豆製素肉做成,而甜酸咕嚕肉用的則是猴頭菇。除了中菜外,這裡還有非常吸引的日式素菜,包括天婦羅和手卷等。含有蛋奶及味道辛辣的菜式均在餐牌上清楚註明。

尖沙咀寶勒巷101+852 2802 0882 

Veggie SF

Veggie SF的佈置散發1950年代美國的氣息,是香港最先出現的其中一家非中式素食餐廳。這裡現在已變身為純素餐廳,素漢堡一直是吸引顧客慕名而來的美食,有五種不同素餡料可供選擇。此外,餐牌上有大量亞洲風味美食,包括喇沙及拉麵,還有素海南雞飯及韓式拌飯等。而甜品則充滿美國風味,包括巨型雪糕新地,香蕉蛋糕和玉桂卷等,令人無法抗拒。

中環士丹利街1110+852 3902 3902

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Hong Kong’s Best Vegetarian Restaurants

Good news for those following a plant-based diet or seeking a healthy, sustainable meal: the array of vegetarian restaurants in Hong Kong is bigger and better than ever

More than a million Hongkongers identify as Buddhist, plus there are others who practise a Buddhism-influenced folk religion, so locals are largely familiar with the concept of ahimsa, the respect for all living things and non-violence, which often translates to abstaining from meat and animal products. But ethics aren’t the only reason to shift towards a more plant-heavy diet; it’s also proven to be good for your health and the environment.

Luckily, Hong Kong has a growing number of both traditional and contemporary plant-based options that go beyond the classic soybean-based mock meats. Think nut and seed cheeses fermented and aged over weeks, black truffle linguine, green curry with hedgehog mushroom and delightfully fish-free sushi. Such satisfying dishes and many more await at the following crop of vegetarian restaurants.

Nectar

Anyone curious about the future of plant-based food should make a beeline to vegan fine-diner Nectar, where the philosophy of sustainable consumption informs everything the restaurant does, be it sourcing almost exclusively from local, organic farms, upcycling timber from trees damaged in typhoons or diligently tracking the amount of waste coming out of the kitchen. Nectar began life as Grassroots Pantry, a bistro, but as chef Peggy Chan’s techniques became increasingly intricate – a “tuna” tartare, for instance, takes 16 hours to make, and nut and seed cheeses are fermented and aged over weeks – fine dining better reflected those efforts. Now tasting menus are offered at dinner, while sets are available at lunch along with, at weekends, a hearty brunch menu.

CentreStage, 108 Hollywood Road, Sheung Wan; +852 2873 3353

Leisurely Veggie

With branches in busy shopping districts Causeway Bay and Tsim Sha Tsui, Leisurely Veggie is a great place to relax after an intensive retail marathon. The menu is typical of a Hong Kong-style diner, with cross-cultural influences, but all made with the local palate in mind. A set meal of Thai-inspired green curry features hedgehog mushroom, a common ingredient in Chinese medicine, and comes with a Chinese black fungus salad; Japanese-style grilled eel on rice uses a Chinese-style mock meat as a substitute. Eggs and dairy are used in some of the dishes, which are clearly marked.

25/F, Jardine Centre, 50 Jardine’s Bazaar, Causeway Bay; +852 3565 6393

Veda

L: Credit: Arnaud Bardary; R: Credit: hermes-rivera, Unsplash

Named after ‘vid’, the Sanskrit word for knowledge, Veda fuses flavours from east and west to create a menu of plant-based cafe dishes, with some by vegetarian cookbook author and lifestyle influencer Hetty McKinnon. Red lentil dal meets Greek yogurt, while congee is topped with kale chips, and naans are made into ‘tartines’ or open toasted sandwiches – the menu knows no cultural bounds, just like the guests at the Ovolo hotel above. Most of the dishes are lacto-ovo vegetarian, although vegan dishes are clearly marked.

Ovolo Central, 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central; +852 3755 3067

Veggie Spinner

Tai Hang is known for its incredible concentration of restaurants, but there isn’t much choice for plant-based diners. Veggie Spinner is an exception, known for its reasonably priced set lunches and globally inspired dishes. Alongside lavashwraps, you’ll also find quesadillas with homemade tortillas, black truffle linguine and fried rice. Food here is simple and fresh, and most dishes can be adjusted for vegans. Wash it all down with fresh juices, which often feature seasonal, regional produce like guava, okra and dragon fruit. There are also cheesecake-style raw vegan cakes, which can be pre-ordered.

144 Tung Lo Wan Road, Causeway Bay; +852 2802 6126

Chi Lin Vegetarian

Credit: Chi Lin Nunnery

Plenty of visitors – vegetarian or not – make the pilgrimage to this restaurant in a traditional Chinese timber-beam house surrounded by the tranquil gardens of Chi Lin Nunnery. Its classic Chinese Buddhist dishes are lacto-ovo vegetarian but avoid the “five pungent spices” as per Buddhist guidelines – onions, spring onions, chives, leeks and garlic. At lunch, dim sum is offered on top of the regularà la carte menu, and for the indecisive there are also a number of set menus. During daylight hours, ask for a seat by the large windows for the best view of the gardens.

G/F-2/F, Nan Lian Garden, 60 Fung Tak Road, Diamond Hill; +852 3658 9388

Isoya Japanese Vegetarian

Sushi is the first thing that comes to mind when most people hear ‘Japanese food’, and Isoya does indeed have sushi, except there’s not a single slice of fish. This innovative Japanese vegetarian restaurant only does set meals: simple noodle and rice sets at lunch and more elaborate kaiseki-style feasts at dinner. Expect Japanese ingredients like tofu, somen and konnyaku alongside seasonal vegetables, served in familiar Japanese forms such as tempura, oden, sushi and miso-grilled. Filled with minimalist blond-wood furniture, the space is calm and meditative, a welcome respite from bustling Wan Chai below.

9/F, 83 Wan Chai Road, Wan Chai; +852 5500 8812

L: Credit: Arnaud Bardary; R: Credit: hermes-rivera Unsplash

Tong De Veggie

The menu at Tong De Veggie looks like what you’d find at a typical (omnivorous) Chinese restaurant: starters include shredded ‘chicken’ with sesame sauce and there are mains like sweet and sour ‘pork’ and ‘chicken’ steamed in lotus leaves. Some of these dishes use classic soybean-based Chinese mock meats, while others, such as the sweet and sour, use hedgehog mushrooms. Apart from a Chinese menu, there are also some intriguing Japanese-inspired dishes, from tempura to temaki (hand rolls). Egg and dairy use and spicy dishes are clearly marked on the menu.

1/F, 10 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2802 0882 

Veggie SF

Inspired by 1950s Americana, Veggie SF was one of the first non-Chinese vegetarian restaurants in Hong Kong. Now completely vegan, it continues to draw in the crowds today for its burgers – with five different patties to choose from. Asian flavours dominate the rest of the menu, from laksa and ramen to ‘chicken’ rice and bibimbap. However, in true American style, it has a range of indulgent desserts, including a giant ice-cream sundae, as well as baked goods like banana cake and cinnamon rolls.

10/F, 11 Stanley Street, Central; +852 3902 3902

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book