購物

香港購物:深水埗最新的設計和時尚體驗

深水埗是香港的勞動階層腹地,現在跳蚤市場、畫廊、酒吧和精品店陸續進駐毗鄰而立,把這裡塑造成最具活力的地區

深水埗舊街坊Liam Fitzpatrick雖然只在深水埗警署住了數年,但那段短短的時光,已足夠令他對香港留下永不磨滅的印象。

他說:「當年我爸是駐館督察,獨自駐守於深水埗這個犯罪率極高的貧民區。警署大樓是1924年建成的古老建築,那時我們就住在警署頂層。那裡的確極為貧困,人們生活艱苦,不過我卻從中看到繽紛熱鬧的廣東生活色彩。店舖門口、街市、麵檔、小販全都充滿庶民的活力,荷李活B級電影常見的唐人街根本沒法和這裡相比。深水埗可以稱得上是我的心靈故鄉,而這裡亦孕育出今日的我。」

閱讀更多香港旅遊文章:

Bound by Hillywood in Sham Shui Po
Stehanie Teng

45年後的今天,深水埗已徹底改變。這裡成為多元文化的熔爐,匯聚了中國內地、南亞和非洲的移民,更迎來了不少時尚咖啡店和設計師精品店。Fitzpatrick說:「現在這裡乾淨整齊得多了。」不過昔日的傳統街市尚在,大街小巷仍然熱鬧擠擁,一如他所形容:「結集了九龍舊區的活力、懷舊氛圍和繽紛色彩。」這種古老結合創新的氣氛,令深水埗成為全港最迷人、也最具香港特色的地區之一。

Stehanie Teng

「深水埗」意即「深水碼頭」,起初由數個維多利亞港沿岸的小漁村組成。新界在1898年租借給英國之後,深水埗漸漸發展為工貿中心,政府逐步開拓街道,手作工場、工廠、公寓林立。第二次世界大戰後,大批內地難民湧到香港,為工業發展帶來了大量勞動力,同時也對區內的房屋供應帶來沉重壓力。當時,山邊全都是徙置區,像苔蘚般蔓延至整個山頭,一間小屋內動輒住上數十人。Fitzpatrick至今仍然記得不少 人舉家在街上露宿的景象。

與此同時,區內林林總總的商舖吸引不少外人到訪。無論是電器、二手貨、布料、鈕扣、皮革,還是玩具,深水埗都不會讓你失望而回。這個特色一直延續至今,每天這裡的大街小巷各個市場均擠滿購物的人潮,探頭到處尋找精密的電路板、便宜的鞋履,或是色彩繽紛的布匹。

YHA Mei Ho House youth Hostel, Sham Shui Po
Stehanie Teng

近年深水埗還增添了不少創意商舖和小店,而這股新勢力其實源於十年前石硤尾一棟工廠大廈的活化工程。當時在深水埗之上的石硤尾以往也是徙置區,而該棟舊式工廈改建成為今日的賽馬會創意藝術中心,匯聚多間藝術工作室和藝廊,更設有劇院、餃子店和咖啡室。2010年,薩凡納藝術設計大學也在該區開設香港分校,並以1960年興建、現已復修的北九龍裁判法院舊址為校舍。

平民的草根力量也對深水埗區發展貢獻良多。蔡珮兒的外祖父在深水埗當裁縫,其後用積蓄買下荔枝角道一棟唐樓的大部分單位。外祖父辭世後,她接管樓宇,命名為Wontonmeen(雲吞麵的英文譯音),並將空置單位改裝成藝文空間。樓上是多間租金相宜的工作室,地面則是精品咖啡店和公共空間,擺放了各種代表老香港的懷舊展品,還經常舉辦講座、電影欣賞會和現場音樂表演。

Stehanie Teng

在Wontonmeen以外的數條街,也可以看到深水埗區的演變。商舖鐵閘和大樓外牆上,仍然可以看到2016年HKwalls街頭藝術節的巨型彩色圖畫;西班牙街頭藝術家Okuda則把大南街一棟11層高的灰色大廈繪上七彩的幾何小熊圖畫,繽紛悅目。

正是這股嶄新活力,吸引了旅遊記者陳凱慈及其丈夫鄧文斌的注意。陳凱慈表示:「以前很少遊客會到這裡觀光。」不過深水埗古舊的時裝批發區較其北面的旺角購物區寧靜舒適,再加上隱世的氣氛,令他們決定在此開設地舖工作室,成為Midway精品店。Midway既是商店,也是共享工作間,售賣她旅遊時精心挑選的手作精品,當中大部分來自日本,不過也有大量本土產品,例如由香港插畫家及陶藝師大頭手繪的瓷碟。

Gallery in Sham Shui Po
Stehanie Teng

深水埗多家批發商以往為中國製造商扮演中介代理角色,但近年內地製造業徹底改變,令深水埗的批發業務式微,區內數十家批發商舖空置,但同時吸引不少 如合舍等新商戶進駐。訪客可以在店內悠然看書、欣賞藝術展覽、參與手作或設計工作坊,或乾脆坐下來享受一杯咖啡。

僅相距幾分鐘路程有Bound by Hillywood,它是一間裝潢以粉色系為主的咖啡店連酒吧,提供多種本地手工啤酒,四處放滿霓虹燈裝飾,而香港的小型嬉哈音樂群體更會在店內舉辦即興饒舌比賽。入夜後,香港一支獨立樂隊的成員開著小貨車前來,逕自走進店內暢飲閒聊。

Stehanie Teng

這亦正是本地漫畫家李旨舜近期愈來愈喜愛到深水埗蹓躂的原因之一。他來深水埗只有兩個理由,若不是為了其漫畫新書《馬山村九一五號》借用這區工作室的打印機製作木刻版畫,就是到Bound by Hillywood咖啡店和酒吧欣賞音樂表演。

他說:「深水埗現在發展得非常不錯。」在瞬息萬變的香港,沒有人能肯定這個美好的狀態還可以維持多久,不過最少在當下,他非常樂在其中。 ‬

Stehanie Teng
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Hong Kong’s best shopping: The Sham Shui Po experience

With flea markets sitting alongside galleries, bars and boutiques, Hong Kong’s working-class heartland may be the most dynamic spot in the city right now. Words by CHRISTOPHER DEWOLF, photos by STEPHANIE TENG

Liam Fitzpatrick only lived in the Sham Shui Po police station for a couple of years, but it was a time that forever shaped his feelings about Hong Kong.

‘My father was the resident police inspector, flying the lone flag in a seething quarter of crime and poverty, so we occupied the top floor of the station, which was built in 1924,’ he says. ‘There was obviously a lot of poverty and struggle, but what I saw was riotous Cantonese colour: the shop fronts, the street markets, the noodle stalls and the hawkers. The Chinatowns in Hollywood B movies come nowhere near to being this good. Sham Shui Po is my spiritual home, in a way. It made me.’

Sham Shui Po

Things have changed in the 45 years since then. Sham Shui Po has become a multicultural mosaic home to recent immigrants from mainland China, South Asia and Africa. There are trendy cafes and designer boutiques. ‘It’s cleaned up enormously,’ says Fitzpatrick. But the markets are still there, along with the ebullient street life – ‘all the energy and shabbiness and colour of old Kowloon’, as he puts it. And that combination of the old-fashioned and the avant-garde makes it one of the most alluring – and quintessential – neighbourhoods in Hong Kong.

Sham Shui Po

Sham Shui Po, which means Deep Water Pier in Cantonese, originally comprised a few fishing villages on the shores of Victoria Harbour. It became an industrial and trading hub after the UK leased the New Territories in 1898, and a grid of streets was laid out to accommodate the growing number of workshops, factories and tenements. After World War II, a surge of refugees from mainland China fuelled the industrial growth, but it also put a strain on the area’s housing stock. Shantytown spread like moss over the nearby hillsides and dozens of people squeezed into single apartments. Fitzpatrick remembers entire families living on the streets.

At the same time, the neighbourhood’s shops drew people from far and wide. Electronics, antiques, fabric, buttons, leather, toys – you could find it all in Sham Shui Po. And you still can. Every day, the neighbourhood’s market streets heave with people looking for the perfect circuit board, an affordable pair of shoes or a yard of colourful fabric.

YHA Mei Ho House youth Hostel, sham shui Po

Lately, they’ve been joined by a new wave of creative institutions and businesses. The trend started a decade ago, when a factory building in Shek Kip Mei – one of the former shantytowns above Sham Shui Po – was converted into the Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre, a cluster of art studios and galleries, with a theatre, dumpling house and coffee shop. In 2010, the Savannah College of Art and Design opened a Hong Kong branch in the restored North Kowloon Magistracy, a handsome courthouse built in 1960.

There have been more grassroots efforts, too. Patricia Choi’s grandfather was a Sham Shui Po tailor who eventually bought most of the units in a Lai Chi Kok Road building. When he passed away, she took over its management and began converting empty spaces into a cultural venue called Wontonmeen. There are affordable studio spaces upstairs, a speciality coffee shop on the ground floor and a space filled with vintage Hong Kong memorabilia that often plays hosts to talks, movies and live music.

A few blocks away, street art has brought new life to building facades. Huge, colourful murals from the 2016 HKwalls festival still adorn shop shutters. On Tai Nan Street, Spanish street artist Okuda has transformed a grey 11-storey building into a riotously colourful geometric bear.

It’s that new energy that drew travel journalist Rita Chan and her partner, Pan Tang, to the neighbourhood. ‘It used to be really weird to come here if you’re a tourist,’ she says. But the out-of-the-way feel of Sham Shui Po’s old wholesale district – much quieter than the market district to the north – appealed to them, so they decided to open a ground-floor studio. The result is Midway, which doubles as a shop as well as a workspace. Chan has curated a selection of handmade products she sourced during her travels. Many items come from Japan, but there are plenty of homegrown products, too, like illustrated plates handmade by Hong Kong painter and ceramicist Tat Tau.

Sham Shui Po

In recent years, changes in China’s manufacturing sector have eliminated the need for many of Sham Shui Po’s middleman wholesalers, creating dozens of vacant spaces around the neighbourhood. That has drawn new enterprises like Form Society, where you can browse through books, catch an art exhibition, attend a craft or design workshop or simply have a coffee.

A few minutes away at Bound by Hillywood, a pastel-hued cafe and bar well stocked with local craft beer and decorated with neon signs, members of Hong Kong’s small hip-hop community stage an impromptu rap battle in the back room. A few hours later, members of a local indie band pull up in a van and head inside for a drink.

Bound is one of the reasons local illustrator Jason Li finds himself going to Sham Shui Po more and more these days. When he isn’t making woodcut prints in the workshops for his new graphic novel, The House on Horse Mountain, he is watching the scene at Bound.

‘It seems like Sham Shui Po is in a good spot right now,’ he says. Given how quickly Hong Kong changes, it’s hard to say how long that will last. But for now, he’s enjoying it.‭ ‬

Sham Shui Po

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book