自然與戶外

香港七大廣袤的野外景點

世人都認為這是個佈滿華麗高樓、人口密集的大都市,可是這種想法,也許是時候改變一下了。同時。請換過適宜遠足的鞋子,與我們的作家前往香港的郊野公園,了解其歷史 ,並在其中七條行山徑上欣賞令人歎為觀止的風景

以往飛機抵達香港啟德機場時,由於機場與民居的距離近在咫尺,乘客通常會見到九龍城一帶樓宇的天台、晾衣竹和街道,偶爾甚至還可以窺見住宅裡的電視熒幕。1998年,香港人在大嶼山移山填海,興建了巨型的赤鱲角機場,此後這種情景再不復見了。從此,旅客抵埗時見到的是另一番風景,但同樣極具香港風情──在大嶼山這個區內最大的島嶼上,群山蒼翠,起伏延綿,最後隱沒於白雲深處,有如一幅中國水墨畫。

細心察看,你會發現,這些山巒之間有好些互相交錯的細線,有的沿山勢爬行,蜿蜒曲折,有的穿過平地,若隱若現。這些其實是供人遠足行山的路徑,每逢周末,這些遠足徑上就會出現絡繹於途的各種遠足客:有一臉堅定的獨行越野跑手,也會不時見到三五成群喋喋不休的長者,還有一面看GPS一面喃喃自語的遊客,此外還有登山單車手,以及偶爾可見吊在顏色鮮艷的滑翔傘下,搖搖晃晃地從天際掠過的滑翔傘飛行者。

香港共有24個郊野公園,每個都極受本地人及遊客歡迎。根據紀錄,去年錄得1,300萬人次前往郊野公園一遊,港府亦撥款6.6億港元作為管理和自然保育之用。《Hong Kong Country Parks》作者Stella Thrower在書中指出,香港郊野公園得以成立,必須歸功「寥寥可數的有識之士獨具慧眼,在人情冷漠與既得利益者充斥的環境之下」提出建議。1960至70年代,這群有識之士已經覺察到,在經濟發展的影響及南下避難人潮湧入城市的情況下,民眾顯然需要一些休憩空間,作為紓解壓力的出口。同時,隨著市區之爪逐漸向郊區延伸,他們也覺察到保育香港野生動物的迫切需要,郊野公園內有不少令人意想不到的動物,例如眼鏡王蛇、蟒蛇、豪豬和野豬等,加上香港亦是無數候鳥每年遷徙的必經之地。

相較之下,早期保育植物的理由並沒有那麼清高。由於不可能從太遙遠的地方輸送清水前來,要確保水源供應源源不斷,維持土地植被是保護香港集水區的重要關鍵。近日有人提出在受保護的郊野公園邊陲地帶興建房屋,引起各方熱烈討論。

姑且不論香港的郊野公園有何存在價值,這些地方不僅風光明媚,在許多方面更屬世界一流的級數。仲夏午後,趁著雨過天青之際登上八仙嶺郊野公園的黃嶺,眼前是一片碧空如洗的美景。黃嶺以東依序坐落的八座山峰,就是傳說中的「八仙」,俯瞰著恬靜雅致的船灣淡水湖;遙望北方,夕陽餘暉灑落深圳的摩天大樓,映照一抹橙紅綺色;蜿蜒西進,連綿不絕的青翠山峰和蔚林山谷,夾雜荒廢稻田和無人村落。這是百變香港的其中一個面貌,百聞不如一見,何妨坐言起行,親自前往一探究竟。

1. 西貢東郊野公園,蚺蛇尖

Credit: CP Lau

西貢兩個郊野公園內的山峰均在500米以下,但高度468米的蚺蛇尖卻陡峭險要,而且路徑滿佈碎石,令行人容易滑倒,因此要步步為營。然而,當你歷盡千辛萬苦終於登上山頂時(本圖)你會覺得一切努力都是值得的。全港最迷人的大環海灘就在腳下,向南眺望即可欣賞到西貢疏落有致的山峰和小島。

如何前往:從西貢墟乘坐巴士或小巴至北潭凹,下車後沿麥理浩徑往東行

2. 西貢東郊野公園,萬宜水庫

Credit: Luiz Antonio de Souza

這個水庫建於1970年代,設有多條與西貢陸地接壤的堤壩。環繞水庫一周可消磨上大半天。

如何前往:從北潭涌徒步而至,亦可從該處或西貢墟乘坐的士至東壩

3. 下白泥

Credit: CP Lau

許多業餘攝影愛好者喜歡來這個新界西北的區域拍攝夕陽勝景,這裡並非郊野公園,而是一個位於元朗的紅樹林濕地,也是許多野生動物──尤其是候鳥的重要棲息地。毗鄰米埔自然保護區。

如何前往:從元朗乘坐33號小巴

4. 大帽山郊野公園,大帽山

Credit: CP Lau

這個香港第一高峰海拔957米,上面裝設了許多天線和一座高爾夫球形狀的雷達發射站。峰頂除了荒廢的茶水亭外,貫通新界東西、綿延100公里的麥理浩徑亦經過此處。鄰近的梧桐寨瀑布優美壯觀,是香港數一數二的自然景色。

如何前往:從荃灣港鐵站乘坐51號巴士,然後沿麥理浩徑登山

5. 城門郊野公園,城門水塘

Credit: Marco Wong/Moment RF/Getty Images

這個大型水庫位於密林山谷,是大群獼猴的棲息地。牠們總是覬覦登山者的野餐食物,伺機搶奪。至於手中沒有食物的遊人,牠們就不會理會。除了這一點需要注意之外,全程約八公里的環繞水塘之旅,倒不失為令人心曠神怡的路徑。

如何前往:從荃灣乘坐82號小巴

6. 地質公園,果洲群島

Credit: Luiz Antonio de Souza

果洲群島位於清水灣以東四公里,地處香港水域邊界。群島由六角柱狀凝灰岩(亦即由火山灰凝固而成的岩石)組成,是香港聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園的一部分。凝灰岩形成疊石、石柱、石拱和洞穴等地形,各具特色,蔚為奇觀。

如何前往:登入地質公園網頁查閱專船導賞團的資料

7. 西貢東郊野公園,浪茄灣

Credit: Luiz Antonio de Souza

浪茄灣雖然是西貢區內其中一個偏遠海灘,但交通相對較為便利,並設有露營營地,坐擁水清沙幼的天然特色,風景迷人。

如何前往:從西貢墟或北潭涌乘坐的士至萬宜水庫東壩,再徒步前往

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Hong Kong’s 7 wildest outdoor spots

To the world it’s a byword for urban density and high-rise glitz. But the world needs to change its point of view – and its footwear. NICK GOODYER describes how the country parks were founded and how you can find seven of their most awe-inspiring spots

Passengers flying into Hong Kong’s old Kai Tak airport used to see the roofs, washing lines and streets of eastern Kowloon (and often, TV screens inside flats – that’s how close to the city the landing was). That changed in 1998 when reclaimed land off Lantau Island became mega airport Chek Lap Kok (see page 65 for more). Then, arriving passengers landed to a different view, but one that’s no less Hong Kong: grass-covered hills of the territory’s largest island fading into the distance like those in a Chinese ink painting.

On closer scrutiny, these hills reveal they’re crisscrossed with fine lines – trails that follow ridges, contours and other folds in the land. On any weekend, they’re populated by hikers of all levels – lone, grim-faced trail-runners, groups of garrulous elderly people and tourists muttering over their GPS. Adding to their number are mountain bikers, with the occasional paraglider, dangling precariously from a day-glow sail, overhead.

Hong Kong’s country parks – all 24 of them – are popular. Last year, there were 13 million visits. The government has dedicated HK$660 million to their management and nature conservation. Yet the fact they exist at all is down to the efforts of what Stella Thrower called, in her book Hong Kong Country Parks, a ‘few clear-sighted men against a background of apathy and vested interest’. Those few men, in the 1960s and ’70s, saw a clear need for a recreational pressure valve to ease the tensions of those crammed into a city expanding with its rising economic clout and swollen with refugees from the north.

They also identified a pressing need to conserve Hong Kong’s wildlife – some of it endemic – as urban areas encroached upon the countryside. Wildlife within the parks counts some surprising members – including king cobras, pythons, porcupines and wild boar – and the territory is crucial to the hundreds of thousands of migratory waterbirds travelling through each year.

Earlier reasons for preserving the vegetation hadn’t always been so high-minded: maintaining tree cover was seen as crucial for the protection of Hong Kong’s water catchment areas, vital for guaranteeing abundant supplies in case pumping water across long distances was not feasible. More recently, proposals for building new housing on the fringes of the country parks have provoked some heated discussion.

Whatever the reasons for the existence of Hong Kong’s country parks, they are glorious, and in many respects, world class. Take a late afternoon in mid-summer atop Wong Leng in Pat Sing Leng Country Park, when rainstorms have washed the skies, the light brilliant and crisp. To the east, the eight peaks (or fairies, as legend has it) of the Pat Sing Leng range descend to the still waters of Plover Cove Reservoir; to the distant north Shenzhen’s skyscrapers burn orange with the dying sun; to the west lie countless grass-covered hills and wooded valleys, punctuated by abandoned paddy fields and ghost villages. This isn’t unusual: this is what Hong Kong looks like. Go and see for yourself.

1. Sharp Peak, Sai Kung East Country Park

Sharp Peak, Hong Kong
Credit: CP Lau

There are no peaks above 500 metres in either of Sai Kung’s country parks, but Sharp Peak, at 468 metres, is a tough climb with plenty of loose rock to make it a slippery undertaking. The views when you get there (pictured), though, make it all worthwhile. Hong Kong’s loveliest beach, Tai Wan, is below, while to the south are the scattered hills and islets of Sai Kung.

How to get there: Bus or minibus from Sai Kung town to Pak Tam Au, then head east on the MacLehose Trail

2. High Island Reservoir, Sai Kung East Country Park

High Island Reservoir, Hong Kong
Credit: Luiz Antonio de Souza

This body of water was created in the 1970s when High Island was joined to the Sai Kung Peninsula by a series of dams – it takes the best part of a day to circumnavigate the reservoir.

How to get there: Walk in from Pak Tam Chung, or get a taxi from there or Sai Kung town to the East Dam

3. Ha Pak Nai

Ha Pak Nai, Hong Kong
Credit: CP Lau

Popular with amateur photographers for sunset shots, this spot, though not in a country park, is a mangrove wetland area in Yuen Long, in the northwest New Territories, and is important for wildlife, particularly migrating birds. Nearby is Mai Po Nature Reserve.

How to get there: Minibus 33 from Yuen Long

4. Tai Mo Shan, Tai Mo Shan Country Park

Tai Mo Shan, Hong Kong
Credit: CP Lau

Hong Kong’s highest peak, at 957 metres, is topped by a collection of antenna and golf-ball radar stations. Abandoned tea terraces surround the peak, while the MacLehose Trail, which runs 100 kilometres east to west across the New Territories, passes by the summit. Nearby are the Ng Tung Chai Waterfalls – some of the most spectacular in Hong Kong.

How to get there: Bus 51 from Tsuen Wan MTR station, then walk up the MacLehose Trail

5. Shing Mun Reservoir, Shing Mun Country Park

Shing Mun Reservoir, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Credit: Marco Wong/Moment RF/Getty Images

This large reservoir set in a wooded valley is home to a substantial number of macaques: happy to relieve hikers of their picnics, but generally standoffish. The otherwise pleasant walk around it is some eight kilometres.

How to get there: Minibus 82 from Tsuen Wan

6. Ninepin Islands, Geopark

Nine Pin, Hong Kong
Credit: Luiz Antonio de Souza

The Ninepin group of islands lie four kilometres to the east of Clearwater Bay, on Hong Kong’s marine boundary. Formed from columnar-jointed tuff (solidified volcanic ash to you and me), the area is part of the Hong Kong Unesco Global Geopark. The tuff forms an otherworldly collection of stacks, columns, arches and caves.

How to get there: Check the Geopark website for boat tours

7. Long Ke Wan, Sai Kung East Country Park

Long Ke Beach, Hong Kong
Credit: Luiz Antonio de Souza

One of many remote beaches in this area, Long Ke Wan is more easily reached than many, and has a campsite. Its clear waters and white sands are typical of this part of Hong Kong.

How to get there: Taxi from Sai Kung town or Pak Tam Chung to the East Dam of High Island Reservoir, then walk

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book