都市生活

啟發創意的香港遊樂場

香港的遊樂場原本只是照顧街童問題的對策,物換星移,它已發展成培育孩子心智發展和創意的快樂場所

遊樂場內滑梯下的含羞草,「氹氹轉」上的攻防戰,還有在乾涸水池和假山中的捉迷藏,是不少香港人的集體童年回憶。到遊樂場玩樂,可能是小孩人生中第一次旅行,離開熟悉的家,進入快樂新世界,體驗見識各種設施,沿途結識不同「旅伴」一起嬉戲,獲取最原始的人生經驗。

香港藝術家兼「MaD」的策展人樊樂怡早前研究本地遊樂場的發展,她表示1920年代的香港並不富裕,父母大部分時間在外謀生,沒有時間看顧子女,導致街童問題叢生。於1920年代隨父母從英國移居香港的Barbara Anslow在回憶錄中如此描述當時的香港:「無人看管的孩子無處可去而且無所事事,就隨處流連。」

Credit: HKSAR Government

街童問題促使政府於1933年成立遊樂場協會,研究如何為街童提供玩樂的地方,並物色空地建設遊樂設施,設有簡單秋千和滑梯的公共遊樂場便應運而生。

踏入活躍時髦的1960年代,各地的遊樂場開始興起抽象的設施,認為它能刺激孩子遊玩方式的創意。1969年,一個「抽象遊戲地景」遊樂場在新界石籬公共屋邨落成,塗上不同顏色的山坡;恍若隨意放置的巨型水泥筒;還有沙地上奇形怪狀的滑梯,設計大膽奪目。此後,這類依地景而建、有沙池也有水池的遊樂場,對當時的香港小孩來說,已是熟悉的遊樂好去處。

不過,到了1980至1990年代,市民日漸注意遊樂場的安全管理風險,政府因此引進了一體式遊樂設施方便管理,沙池與水池在公共遊樂場近乎絕跡,受制於一體式設計,遊玩的方式變成固定模式。樊樂怡補充:「後來興起的遊樂場猶如倒模,無論去到哪裡分別都不大。」

Credit: HKSAR Government

單一的遊玩方式和安全至上的保守設計,始終經不起時間的考驗。香港日漸重視孩子的遊戲權,並意識到遊樂亦是兒童成長發展的重要過程。公共遊樂場的設計亦改為著眼於如何啟發兒童的心智發展。不少人開始促請有關當局改善單調的遊樂設施,著手興建趣味和刺激並重的遊樂環境。為拓展小孩的想像空間,近年的遊樂場更多以主題式設計,以不同場景誘發孩子的無窮想像。

香港人煙稠密,家居環境普遍狹窄,玩樂的空間不多,而遊樂場為小孩闢出的宇宙,是香港人童年回憶的依歸。其實遊樂場那怕大或小,簡樸還是華麗,只要在這裡快樂過,都是孩子的天堂。

四個令小孩樂而忘返的遊樂場

 

屯門公園轄下的屯門共融遊樂場

Credit: Moses Ng

這個大型遊樂場於2018年12月啟用,設有七個遊玩主題區,而「失傳」的水池和沙池更再度重臨。除此之外,還有多個轉盤、彈床、巨型樂器、新穎的攀爬塔和繩網、觸感牆及其他設施。

黃大仙東匯邨遊樂場

Credit: Moses Ng

這裡並沒有「倒模式」滑梯與攀架,而是透過不規則的攀爬組件和斜路、考驗平衡力的傾斜轉盤等,讓小朋友自行摸索設施的玩樂方式,以「非規則玩法」鼓勵他們多角度思考。

油麻地京士柏遊樂場

Credit: Moses Ng

以太空為主題,模仿太空佈局,例如一幅模擬月球表面的斜坡,上面有多個坑洞,而休憩涼亭也特意以太空船為造型。

牛頭角坪石遊樂場

Credit: Moses Ng

有「香港侏羅紀公園」之稱,仿恐龍骨和化石佈滿整個遊樂場,還有一支支令人想起舊石器時代的圖騰柱。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Hong Kong Playgrounds That Inspire Creativity

Once a sanctuary for rogue street kids, Hong Kong playgrounds have evolved to become centres for creative development

Spinning too fast on the roundabout, tickling shy grass under the slides, playing hide-and-seek amid curious concrete structures: the childhood memories of Hongkongers are dominated by our playgrounds. They were the first places we ventured into the outside world and met our peers. But it wasn’t always so.

Fan Lok-yi, artist and curator of collaborative platform Make a Difference, has studied the evolution of Hong Kong’s playgrounds. She explains that back when the city was still an economic backwater, many working parents had to leave children unattended, which led to large numbers of kids roaming the street with nothing to do. In her memoirs of 1920s Hong Kong, Barbara Anslow recalls how ‘children belonged nowhere in particular and ranged about everywhere’.

Credit: HKSAR Government

This is why, in 1933, the Hong Kong Playground Association was established to address the social and recreational needs of Hong Kong’s young, introducing the first urban playgrounds with basic swings and slides.

In the swinging ’60s, people started favouring abstract objects in playgrounds, believing this could foster creativity. In 1969, Hong Kong unveiled its first adventure playground in the Shek Lei Estate, an innovative environment with colourful concrete sculptures. Soon enough, features such as tunnel mazes, sand pits and water pools began cropping up in playgrounds throughout the territory.

Sadly for children of the ’80s and ’90s, things took a drab turn as red tape and health and safety fears took over. ‘Ironically, Hong Kong playgrounds got less innovative in later decades, relying more on equipment that offered a prescribed way to play’, explains Fan.

Credit: HKSAR Government

But children (or rather their parents) have revolted. Bored with uninspiring play areas and conservative views, there have been calls for city planners to spice things up with more stimulating environments.

Those calls are increasingly being answered, with new themed playgrounds that tap into children’s creativity and imagination.

Living in such a densely populated city, it’s little wonder that playgrounds dominate our childhood memories. And while the focus may have shifted – from tackling the issue of vagrant street kids, to developing the minds of future generations – as long as there is laughter, a playground will always be a childhood paradise. 

Four Playgrounds for Curious Young Minds

Tuen Mun Park, Tuen Mun

Credit: Moses Ng

This sprawling new playground opened in December 2018 with seven separate zones featuring water and sand pits, spinning plates, trampolines, giant musical instruments, innovative climbing frames, sensory walls and more.

Tung Wui Estate Playground, Wong Tai Sin

Credit: Moses Ng

Instead of cookie-cutter slides and frames, here you’ll find bizarre climbing facilities, ramps and balance plates for kids to invent their own ways of playing.

King’s Park Recreation Ground, Yau Ma Tei

Credit: Moses Ng

This playful space-age landscape has a slope dotted with pits like lunar craters and a spaceship-inspired pavilion.

Ping Shek Playground, Ngau Tau Kok

Credit: Moses Ng

Dubbed ‘Hong Kong’s Jurassic Park’, this dinosaur-themed playground takes children on a prehistoric adventure of life-like bones, fossils and decorative totem poles.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book