餐飲美食

香港的熱門餐廳

一嚐香港熱門食肆佳餚,感受本地活力

要火速訂座的香港美味小館子。

2017年11月

臥龍正宗成都麻辣火鍋

Wo Long Sichuan Hotpot restaurant hong kong
Mike Pickles

大熱指數:9/10

天氣轉冷,最好吃麻辣火鍋暖暖身,而這家位於銅鑼灣的火鍋店氣氛上佳。火鍋的手把以龍頭為設計,而店內的紅木色枱櫈更充滿著濃烈的傳統中國風。最大賣點得數外貌如麻將的麻辣湯磚,融化後成為濃郁湯底,與手切牛肉配合得天衣無縫。

Paper Moon

Paper Moon restaurant hong kong

大熱指數:8/10

這家來自米蘭的餐廳落戶尖沙咀海港城,成為大中華區首家海外分店。餐廳跟本店如出一徹,同樣以薄餅為招徠,而餐廳更自米蘭運來重達1.4噸的Ambrogi薄餅烤爐,製作色香味俱全的正宗意大利薄餅。賓客更可盡享270度維港景致,邊品嚐美酒佳餚,邊欣賞日落晚霞,相得益彰。 papermoonrestaurants.com

Golden Monkey

Golden Monkey restaurant hong kong

大熱指數:8/10

潮流人士又有全新聚腳地了!Golden Monkey在時尚地帶黃竹坑開業,並主打東南亞新派美食。餐廳不但提供與越南河粉專門店Pho Bar合作炮製的美食外,亮麗的室內設計糅合了東南亞及香港色彩,其中餐廳所用的木材裝潢均來自回收升級的舢舨木,可謂極具特色。

facebook.com/goldenmonkey.hk

2017年11月

New Punjab Club

New Punjab Club November WATF

大熱指數:9/10

位於中環的New Punjab Club主打旁遮普食式的餐廳。旁遮普是一個位於北印度、與巴基斯坦接壤的邦州。一如當地的飲食文化,這裡主打香辣羊肉配牛奶薄餅等美食。餐廳的設計靈感來自當地殖民解放時期,令整個用餐體驗更加物有所值。

newpunjabclub.com

塚田農場

Tsukada Nojo November WATF

大熱指數:8/10

入冬絕對是享用火鍋的最好時機,而為了順應一眾著重美顏理念的食客,這家位於海港城的居酒屋推出滋補的招牌美人鍋,湯頭用上大量雞骨精心熬製八小時以上,富含養顏骨膠原。此外,餐廳跟位於九州宮崎的本店同樣以柔和木色為主調,同時坐擁維港美景,可謂相得益彰。

facebook.com/tsukada.nojo.hongkong

皇后小聚

Queens Dining November WATF

大熱指數:7/10

拿不定主意該享受泰、越或粵菜?你可以一次過在這家於尖沙咀新開幕的瑞生嘉威酒店餐廳品嚐。皇后小聚糅合三種料理的精髓,主打招牌菜則有瑤柱雞及櫻花蝦炒飯等菜式。此外,餐廳還以三幅配戴頭飾的巨型女性人像畫作點綴,為餐廳倍添格調。

queensdining.com.hk

2017年10月

Haku

Haku Hokkaido Uni Eggplant Brioche

大熱指數:9/10

剛於尖沙咀海港城開幕的Haku以割烹料理(傳統高級日本料理)作招徠。雖然餐廳設計小巧簡潔,但呈奉名貴高級的招牌菜:在吞拿魚腩他他拌Polmard熟成牛肉做成的肉餅鋪上Kristal魚子醬,再佐以鬆化米餅。

facebook.com/hakuhongkong 

度小月

Du Xiao Yue

大熱指數:7/10

任何曾經到訪台灣的旅客,都會對這家百年老字號的擔仔麵店非常熟悉。現在它終於落戶尖沙咀海港城,而擔仔麵所用的肉燥、蝦湯粉、貢丸,以及金萱綠茶更全由台灣空運到港。此外,偌大的餐廳能夠容納100名賓客,氣氛相當熱鬧。

noodle1895.com.hk 

The Old Man

The Old Man

大熱指數:7/10

這家位於蘇豪鴨巴甸街的低調酒吧,不但以裝飾藝術風格作室內裝潢,更懸掛了一幅抽象的海明威肖像,向這位愛酒的作家致敬。著名調酒師Agung Prabowo以海明威的人生為靈感,特別炮製多款雞尾酒,其中Green Hills of Africa以皮斯科可烈酒、薑黃與羅望子甜酒及柑橘調製,美味無窮。

theoldmanhk.com 

2017年9月

Sushi Tsuboni

Sushi Tsubomi

大熱指數:9/10

在位於銅鑼灣的鮨蕾,你可享用由廚師決定的菜式。那裡的海產每天由東京築地市場新鮮送到,讓客人可嚐到最肥美可口的吞拿魚。不妨品嚐「櫻」套餐感受頂級餐膳滋味,吞拿魚魚腩伴魚子醬是精妙所在。餐廳設有兩座奪目的圓形壽司吧檯,加上坐擁維港美景,難怪它成為城中的潮流食府。

facebook.com/sushitsubomi 

Wolfgang’s Steakhouse

Wolfgang Steakhouse, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

大熱指數:8/10

紐約知名扒房Wolfgang’s Steakhouse進駐香港中環,主打28天乾式熟成美國頂級牛肉及重1.4公斤的龍蝦。此外,餐廳裝潢亦盡力模仿紐約旗艦店隆重但不失活潑的氛圍,採用白色的桌布和深色的木材,最適合進行商務聚會。

wolfgangssteakhouse.hk

Gough’s on Gough

Gough on Gough, Hong Kong

大熱指數:7/10

崇尚英倫風的老饕絕對會鍾情這間由家具品牌Timothy Oulton首次管理及營運的餐廳。樓高兩層的餐廳獻上精緻的創新菜式,例如綴上海膽的蒸蛋和韃靼牛扒伴酸辣醃菜。餐廳的裝潢更令人歎為觀止,飾上漂亮花紋的地板、奪目的旋轉樓梯、滿目閃亮璀璨的裝飾細節,處處展現出設計師的美學功架。這可是客人好好打扮用餐的絕佳藉口。

goughsongough.com

2017年8月

Employees Only

Employee Only.
圖片:Emilie Baltz

大熱指數:9/10

獲獎無數的Employees Only一直於紐約酒吧界中獨占鰲頭,第四間分店越洋選址香港蘭桂坊,讓香港時尚達人也能夠享受酒吧馳名的親密氛圍及特色雞尾酒。流線型吧台倍添舒適,EO Gimlet和Daily Daisy等雞尾酒更是值得一試。

facebook.com/employeesonlyhkg

Chic by The Oyster House

Chic chino

大熱指數:8/10

The Oyster House位於灣仔的本店大受歡迎,再下一城於尖沙咀開設全新餐廳Chic,主理意大利超慢煮美食。餐廳除了供應由外地空運抵港的新鮮生蠔外,還有其他菜式如松露芝士厚切豬鞍,令人垂涎三尺,定能叫食客心滿意足。

facebook.com/chicbytheoysterhouse

Fang Fang

Fang Fang

大熱指數:7/10

Hakkasan餐廳孟買及邁阿密分店瘋魔不少食客,其行政總廚Kent Lee現轉投這家位於蘭桂坊的摩登中菜館,並在這裡創出北京烤鴨配魚子醬及茉莉花茶熏肋骨等招牌美食。至於調酒師Gagan
Gurung則曾於Zuma工作,現為酒吧炮製以亞洲食材為主、大膽創新的雞尾酒。

facebook.com/fangfangasian

2017年7月

倫敦頂級威士忌吧Black Rock登陸Foxglove餐廳

大熱指數:9/10

威士忌迷有福了,由7月22日至8月15日,倫敦首屈一指的Black Rock酒吧將以期間限定方式現身香港中環的Foxglove餐廳。除了威士忌之外,為了讓眾多劉伶盡情體驗這家英倫酒吧的特色,特別將重七噸的橡木吧枱移師香港。吧枱的橡木採自英格蘭北部(當然是來自可持續發展的樹林),別具特色,它的中央有兩條酒槽,有如流動的美酒之河:一邊是以法國利穆贊橡木桶盛載的雞尾酒,以Bulleit波本、Morello車厘子及香料混合調製;另一邊是美國橡木桶盛載著以多種麥芽威士忌調配而成的混合佳釀,旨在讓人品嚐橡木為威士忌帶來的獨特風味。至於下酒小食有脆炸釀羊肚配梳打麵包及帶煙燻味的牛油,令你完美地體驗蘇格蘭風味。

foxglovehk.com

LE PAN

LE PAN restaurant Hong Kong

大熱指數:9/10

這間新派法國餐廳室內環境有如夢境中的童話故事般,充滿未來主義色彩;而整間店子採用白色為主調,卻令氛圍略帶陰冷氣息。當食物奉上時,就是主廚施展過人天賦的時候。如果你能夠阻止自己鯨吞美味的自家製麵包和牛油,主廚Edward Voon充滿創意的想像力,在你品嚐主菜前,已經計劃下次要再度光臨。Edward的拿手菜是將海鮮炮製出各類特色美饌,弄得出神入化的甜品更令人回味不已,絕對為一頓豐富佳餚劃上令人難忘的完美句號。

lepan.com.hk/

Tsuta

大熱指數:10/10

雖然香港人排隊吃拉麵已見怪不怪,但為蔦耐心等候絕對物有所值,因為其東京本店是全球首家榮獲米芝蓮一星的拉麵店。大家不妨於銅鑼灣分店選擇自家製黑松露油的醬油湯麵或鹽味拉麵。現時餐廳只日供400碗,大家做好心理準備排隊吧。

facebook.com/tsutahongkong

Thai Brasserie by Blue Elephant

泰式什錦沙爹 Thai Style Mix Satay

大熱指數:9/10

這家遊曼谷必去的「皇家御廚」餐廳現於尖沙咀港威商場開設全球第12家分店,而招牌大蝦冬蔭公湯更是值得大家再三造訪,它採用了泰國新鮮運抵的原材料熬煮湯底,湯面放上一隻美味帝王蝦,更以陶瓷盛器奉上,色香味俱全。

facebook.com/blue.elephant.hk

Rech by Alain Ducasse

大熱指數:8/10

巴黎著名海鮮餐廳Rech於1925年開業,自2007年名廚Alain Ducasse坐鎮後,餐廳的地位可謂更上一層樓。餐廳首家法國以外的分店坐落香港洲際酒店,其中必試佳餚有海鮮拼盤及新鮮美味的法國生蠔。此外,餐廳的葡萄酒選擇也多不勝數,配上名廚手藝更為相得益彰。

intercontinental.com/hongkong

2017年6月

Happy Paradise

happy paradise

大熱指數:9/10

得獎女廚師周思薇繼Little Bao及Second Draft之後,再於Soho開設這間霓虹燈佈置的新店,利用本地新鮮食材,重新演繹傳統粵菜。別錯過她的拿手菜蝦子柚皮:先將柚皮浸24小時,再加入紹興酒雞湯燜煮,最後淋上黑芝麻泡沫、蝦子和蝦油。

facebook.com/happyparadisehk

TokyoLima

TokyoLima

大熱指數:8/10

TokyoLima位於中環,糅合日本及秘魯菜的精髓,為美食家提供全球大熱的Nikkei菜系,更以日式居酒屋氣氛作招徠。餐廳設計則以復古家具及舒適的布幕為主,讓客人在舒適的環境與氣氛中,享受餐廳的各道招牌菜,例如以鱸魚炮製的酸柑汁醃魚生。

tokyolima.hk

十下

suppa

大熱指數:7/10

這家位於銅鑼灣的火鍋餐廳,無論室內設計及擺設均令人回想起1980年代的香港舊屋邨裝潢,讓人重拾昔日一家人圍桌吃飯的感覺。首選湯底是花膠魚肚雞湯,配上新鮮肉類及海鮮。大夥兒圍在圓桌子,把舊有的人情味再次凝聚起來,是近年香港火鍋店的誠意之作。

facebook.com/suppahk

2017年5月

Carnival

大熱指數:9/10

酒吧的擲飛鏢遊戲或許已能吸引足夠客人上門光顧,不過位於尖沙嘴的Carnival則將酒吧遊戲提升至另一層次,當中更不乏投杯球及賭博電玩遊戲等。酒吧嘉年華主題集華美設計與佳餚於一身,而以清酒、草莓利口酒及西柚汁調製的雞尾酒「My Little Pony」更是鎮店之寶,值得一試。

facebook.com/Carnivalbartst

Moi Moi by Luke Nguyen

大熱指數: 8/10

大家應該不會於這家位處中環的越南餐廳點選越式河粉吧。澳洲籍越南裔星級電視大廚Luke Nguyen為了與眾不同,創製出高級新穎的越南菜餚,其中綠茶煙燻鴨胸米紙卷及焦糖黑豚豬腩肉配溏心蛋更是餐廳招牌菜式,令人垂涎三呎。

moimoi.hk

Dodam Chicken

大熱指數: 7/10

韓式炸雞熱潮依然風行!香港食客現在可於這家位處銅鑼灣利舞臺的餐廳,品嚐來自南韓的知名炸雞品牌Dodam脆雞。大家不妨點選經典的香脆炸雞,或是試試塗上厚厚的辣醬和芝士的烘烤雞,兩者皆是近期最火紅的韓式美食。

facebook.com/dodamchickenHK

2017年4月

Bar De Luxe at Attire House

大熱指數:9/10

位於中環心臟地帶的Attire House齊集了瀟灑紳士時尚生活的出門三件事:西裝訂造專門店、理髮店和一家品酒減壓的酒吧Bar De Luxe。酒吧不但提供多款精心調製的雞尾酒,大家亦可於此處欣賞香港優美的城市景致。這裡更是東京Bar High Five酒吧知名調酒師上野秀嗣首間登陸香港的酒吧。

attire-house.com

中華館

大熱指數: 8/10

大廚周卓雲憑藉30年下廚經驗,以現代元素重新演繹中國各地傳統美饌,菜式包括名貴的鹿兒島茶美豚叉燒和花雕醉乳鴿等,為中環區食客帶來驚喜十足的高級中式餐飲體驗。

thechinshk.com

Uma Nota

大熱指數: 7/10

這家時尚的巴西酒吧呈奉聖保羅最滋味的巴西日式街頭美食。當大家品嚐以下香辣紅鯛魚、鮮蝦和檸汁醃魷魚,或者份量十足的秋葵伴雞塊後,定會愛上這種結合不同文化的美食佳餚,而店內節拍強勁的巴西音樂令氣氛更加澎湃。

uma-nota.com

2017年3月

Dim Sum Library

大熱指數:7/10

這家由Aqua Group掌舵的新派點心餐廳正式落戶金鐘太古廣場,全天候提供點心饗客。餐廳的精選點心有黑松露蝦餃和擔擔湯包,而裝潢則兼具華麗中國風及1920年代裝飾藝術的特色,令人賞心悅目,不過個人認為位於餐廳後方的麻將房亦很可觀。

 dimsumlibrary.com.hk

12,000 Francs

大熱指數:8/10

這家位於Soho、主打環球美饌的歐洲餐廳之所以引起城中的美食家注意,全因大廚Conor Beach馳名於世的原創菜式。菜單按季節而定,並從世界各地的佳餚擷取靈感,餐廳更與位於屯門的有機農莊合作種植所用的食材,以期推動城中有機飲食文化。

12000francs.com.hk

Cassio

大熱指數:9/10

型人聚首熱點Dragon-i一直是香港的潮流指標,因此當旗下集團再次推出新餐廳Cassio,可謂備受注視,而它亦不負眾望。它位於中環LKF Tower,並與倫敦知名的西班牙小吃酒吧Barrafina合作推出美饌,另創製了兩款全新口味的雞尾酒,最適合在寬敞流麗的露台品嚐。

2017年2月

龍麵館

大熱指數:9/10

新春時節最好就是跟家人迎新,嘗試新餐廳正是最佳節目。位於中環的龍麵館以中國武館為設計主題,現場更有師傅即席手打拉麵,讓大家能夠欣賞廚師的功架。別錯過餐廳提供的招牌菜式:在三款龍蝦配料中選其一,放進每日新鮮炮製、以慢火熬煮逾五小時的老火湯底中,滋味無窮。

dragon-noodles.com

大熱指數:8/10

菜式全由廚師決定的日本菜近年於香港大行其道,而位處銅鑼灣的「紫」更是城中最新的熱點。這裡的佳餚富法國特色,其中法國藍龍蝦北海道粟米忌廉湯可謂餐廳的鎮店佳餚之一。此外餐廳更為素食者推出「素食料理套餐」,將素菜創作料理提升至更高境界,加上坐擁維港美景,絕對是老饕好去處。

diningatmurasaki.com.hk

鄧記

大熱指數:7/10

假如寒冷天氣令大家希望吃點辣暖暖身,不妨到這家位於灣仔的全新四川小酒館。多款耳熟能詳的四川菜式皆能於此品嚐
得到,不過鄧記特別之處在於為佳餚配上不同中國白酒,其中特別創造的白酒雞尾酒如Baijiu Colada等經典更是眾人至愛,值得一試。

elite-concepts.com/dng

JANUARY 2017

Frantzén’s Kitchen

大熱指數:9/10

榮獲米芝蓮兩星的瑞典名廚Björn Frantzén,繼斯德哥爾摩的Restaurant Frantzén之後,將新鮮及富創意的北歐菜帶到香港。位於上環的新餐廳糅合亞洲風格,烤北海道帶子配上以薑油、雲杉及指橘製成的北歐高湯,令人一試難忘。

frantzenkitchen.com

Bib n Hops

大熱指數:7/10

米芝蓮三星餐廳Bo Innovation的總廚梁經倫在香港開創分子料理先河,現在他再次顛覆傳統韓國菜的定律。這家位於灣仔船街的型格餐廳,重新演繹各國美饌,炮製出令人驚喜的美味佳餚,如招牌菜秘魯五香五花肉及新加坡川辣雞肉韓式拌飯,皆是令人垂涎三尺的絕佳選擇。餐廳還提供一系列頂級燒酒,肯定會成為香港新潮點。

bibnhops.hk

Apinara

大熱指數:8/10

這家泰國殿堂級餐廳多年來一直名列無數「泰國最佳食府」名單。如今饕客能於其全新香港分店品嚐一系列傳統泰式佳餚,包括一道健康版泰式金邊粉,亦即以木瓜切成麵條狀取代金邊粉的大蝦炒木瓜絲。此外,餐廳還提供一系列雞尾酒選擇,其中多款更加入辣椒及香茅‭調配而成。

narahk.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Hong Kong’s hottest
restaurants & bars

Hong Kong’s hotspots of the moment

Great restaurants in Hong Kong worth booking as soon as you can.

NOVEMBER 2017

New Punjab Club

New Punjab Club November WATF

Hype meter: 9/10

Located in Central, this spot specialises in the cuisine of Punjab, the northern Indian state bordering Pakistan. Try the signature keema pau (spiced mutton on milk buns). The stylish decor, inspired by the liberated era of post-colonial Punjab, makes a visit extra worthwhile.

newpunjabclub.com

Tsukada Nojo

Tsukada Nojo November WATF

Hype meter: 8/10

Hotpot is always a treat in winter. For the beauty conscious, this izakaya (gastropub) in Harbour City mall features its signature beauty hotpot, which has a collagen-rich soup base made with chicken bones boiled for over eight hours. The casual, wood-panelled interior mimics the restaurant’s original shop in Miyazaki, with panoramic views of Victoria Harbour as a bonus.

facebook.com/tsukada.nojo.hongkong

Queen’s Dining

Queens Dining November WATF

Hype meter: 7/10

Can’t decide between Thai, Vietnamese and Cantonese? Have them all at this restaurant in Tsim Sha Tsui’s new Soravit on Granville boutique hotel. Dishes incorporate influences from all three food traditions, with signatures like conpoy chicken and sakura shrimp fried rice. The funky space with giant portraits of women in headdresses elevates a fun meal.

queensdining.com.hk

OCTOBER 2017

Haku

Haku Hokkaido Uni-Eggplant Brioche

Hype meter: 9/10

Just opened in Tsim Sha Tsui’s Harbour City mall, Haku features kappo cuisine –traditional Japanese fine dining – in a pared-down, small space. The decadence here can be gleaned from its signature dish: a cake of toro tartare mixed with raw Polmard beef, loaded with Kristal caviar and served with an airy rice cracker.

facebook.com/hakuhongkong

Du Hsiao Yueh Restaurant

Du Xiao Yueh

Hype meter: 7/10

If you’ve been to Taiwan, you probably know this restaurant chain, famous for its danzai noodles. It’s finally arrived in Hong Kong at Harbour City, serving the noodle dish of minced pork sauce, shrimp soup base, pork balls and Jin Xuan green tea, all flown in from Taiwan. The restaurant seats 100, so you’ll get a lively atmosphere, too.

noodle1895.com.hk

The Old Man

The Old Man

Hype meter: 7/10

This speakeasy, hidden on Soho’s Aberdeen Street, pays homage to Ernest Hemingway, with an art deco interior and an abstract portrait of the author, who was serious about his drinks. Celebrated mixologist Agung Prabowo interprets Hemingway’s life with cocktails like Green Hills of Africa, which combines Pisco, a turmeric and tamarind cordial, and citrus.

theoldmanhk.com

SEPTEMBER 2017

Sushi Tsuboni

Sushi Tsubomi

Hype meter: 9/10

The omakase (‘chef’s choice’ sets) trend continues at Sushi Tsubomi, which brings the umami of fatty tuna from Tokyo’s Tsukiji Market to Causeway Bay. For the finest dining experience, go for the Sakura set; its highlight is toro with caviar. Two striking circular sushi bars also help to make this harbour-side restaurant one of the hottest spots in town.

facebook.com/sushitsubomi

Wolfgang’s Steakhouse

Wolfgang Steakhouse, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

Hype meter: 8/10

The Hong Kong outpost of this venerable New York steakhouse chain specialises in US prime beef that’s been dry-aged for an average of 28 days, and lobsters that weigh in at three pounds (1.4 kilograms). Located in Central, the restaurant has that lively yet formal steakhouse ambience – white tablecloths, dark wood – that’s great for work meetings.

wolfgangssteakhouse.hk

Gough’s on Gough

Gough on Gough, Hong Kong

Hype meter: 7/10

British design meets sophisticated cuisine at the first restaurant run by furniture brand Timothy Oulton. The menu is impressively inventive, with dishes like dashi custard topped with sea urchin and steak tartar with piccalilli. But it’s the interior that really stands out: a graphically patterned floor, a dramatic winding staircase, shiny details everywhere – a magnificent showcase of the designer’s aesthetic.

goughsongough.com

AUGUST 2017

Employees Only

Employee Only.
Credit: Emilie Baltz

Hype meter: 9/10

Award-winning speakeasy Employees Only has long sat at the pinnacle of New York’s bar scene. Hong Kong hipsters can now enjoy its intimate atmosphere and speciality cocktails right here, thanks to the opening of its fourth branch, in Lan Kwai Fong. Get comfy at the curved bar and try the EO Gimlet and the Daily Daisy.
facebook.com/employeesonlyhkg

Chic by The Oyster House

Chicno CHIC

Hype meter: 8/10

Following its successful opening in Wan Chai, The Oyster House spreads its reach to Tsim Sha Tsui with Chic, featuring Italian sous vide (super slow cooked) dishes, with signatures including the pork chop melt with truffle cheese. Of course, an extensive selection of jet fresh oysters is also on the menu, sure to satisfy your seafood cravings.

facebook.com/chicbytheoysterhouse

Fang Fang

Fang Fang

Hype meter: 7/10

At this modern Chinese restaurant in Lan Kwai Fong, Peking duck with caviar and jasmine tea-smoked ribs are some of the signatures created by chef Kent Lee, who once headed foodie favourite Hakkasan in Mumbai and Miami. Mixologist Gagan Gurung was previously at Zuma, and he shows off his skills with liberal use of Asian ingredients.

facebook.com/fangfangasian

JULY 2017

Black Rock at Foxglove

Black Rock at Foxglove whisky bar

Hype meter: 9/10

Whisky and trees collide, literally, for two weeks (July 22 to August 5) at this short-lived pop-up of one of London’s best bars. The seven-tonne slab of oak you see above was harvested in northern England (sustainably, of course) and transported to Hong Kong to create the two-rivers tasting system at the bar. On one side, French Limousin oak holds an infused cocktail of Bulleit bourbon, Morello cherries and spices, and on the other side in American oak rests a blend of various malts to showcase the impact of oak on a whisky. Snacks such as haggis balls and soda bread with peat butter give the experience a proper Scottish finish.

foxglovehk.com

LE PAN

LE PAN restaurant Hong Kong

Hype meter: 9/10

There’s a dream-like, futuristic fairy-tale quality to this modern French restaurant, a heavy emphasis on the colour white creating a slightly bleak ambience. But then the food comes, and with it, the flair. If you can stop yourself from devouring too much of the delicious homemade bread and butter, chef Edward Voon’s imaginative creations will have you planning a return visit before the main course. Seafood is his specialty, and clever desserts make for a memorable finale.

lepan.com.hk

Tsuta

Tsuta

Hype meter: 10/10

It’s typical of Hongkongers to queue for ramen, but Tsuta certainly has the cred to make the wait seem worthwhile: its Tokyo shop is the world’s first ramen restaurant to earn a Michelin star. Choose between the soy-based and salt-based soups, which are made with homemade truffle oil. The restaurant, located in Causeway Bay, serves only 400 bowls each day. Get ready to queue.

facebook.com/tsutahongkong

Thai Brasserie by Blue Elephant

泰式什錦沙爹 Thai Style Mix Satay

Hype meter: 9/10

A must-hit restaurant for royal Thai cuisine in Bangkok, Thai Brasserie by Blue Elephant is now at The Gateway in Tsim Sha Tsui, its 12th branch worldwide. The signature tom yum soup alone makes a visit worthwhile: it’s a richly flavourful dish made with spices imported from Thailand and served beautifully in a ceramic pot with a king prawn on top.

facebook.com/blue.elephant.hk

Rech by Alain Ducasse

Rech by Ducasse

Hype meter: 8/10

Rech, a celebrated seafood restaurant in Paris dating back to 1925, got a reboot from star chef Alain Ducasse when he took over in 2007. Its first outpost outside France has arrived at the InterContinental Hong Kong, bringing with it the fresh seafood platters and French oysters the restaurant is known for. Good food calls for good wine, and the drinks menu doesn’t disappoint.

intercontinental.com/hongkong

JUNE 2017

Happy Paradise

happy paradise

Hype meter: 9/10

Following the success of Little Bao and Second Draft, May Chow continues to reimagine Cantonese cuisine with fresh local ingredients in her new neon-drenched restaurant in Soho. Be sure to try her signature braised pomelo pith: the spongy part of the fruit’s rind is soaked for 24 hours, braised in Shaoxing chicken broth and topped with black sesame foam, dried shrimp roe and prawn oil.

facebook.com/happyparadisehk

TokyoLima

TokyoLima - Bar

Hype meter: 8/10

Located in Central, TokyoLima is the latest spot to serve Nikkei cuisine, the fusion of Japanese and Peruvian food that has become one of the hottest trends around the world. Its izakaya-style interiors, incorporating retro furniture and cosy fabric screens, create an intimate setting to enjoy signature dishes like the seabass-based ceviche clasico.

tokyolima.hk

Suppa

suppa

Hype meter: 7/10

This hotpot restaurant in Causeway Bay inspires nostalgia for 1980s Hong Kong life, with everything from furnishings to decor details designed to recreate a stereotypical old-style public housing estate. Try the fish maw chicken soup base, cook up the freshest meats and seafood, and feel transported back to simpler times.

facebook.com/suppahk  

MAY 2017

Carnival

Carnival restaurant Hong Kong

Hype meter: 9/10

A dartboard can be enough for bars to draw customers, but Carnival in Tsim Sha Tsui district takes pub games to the next level, filling its space with stations for beer pong, video casino tables and more. Big-top stripes and addictive bites complete the theme, while cocktails like My Little Pony – sake, strawberry liqueur and grapefruit juice – are a delicious bonus.

facebook.com/Carnivalbartst

Moi Moi by Luke Nguyen

Moi Moi by Luke Nguyen Hong Kong

Hype meter: 8/10

You probably won’t be ordering pho at this Vietnamese restaurant in Central district. Australia-born Vietnamese TV chef Luke Nguyen had something else in mind: upscale, creative Vietnamese dining, with signatures like green-tea-smoked duck breast in rice paper rolls and caramelised Kurobuta pork belly topped with a soft-boiled egg.

moimoi.hk

Dodam Chicken

Dodam Chicken Hong Kong

Hype meter: 7/10

The Korean fried chicken trend is still going strong, and now Hongkongers can get their fix at the popular South Korean Dodam chicken brand’s outpost in Causeway Bay’s Lee Theatre Plaza. Go for the classic crunchy deep-fried chicken or try the baked version smothered in spicy sauce and cheese.

facebook.com/dodamchickenHK

APRIL 2017

Bar De Luxe at Attire House

Attire bar Hong Kong

Hype meter: 9/10

Attire House in the heart of Central district encompasses a dapper gent’s lifestyle trinity: bespoke tailoring, a barbershop and a stress-reducing drinking spot, Bar De Luxe. Offering carefully crafted cocktails and a view of the city’s skyline, the bar is the first Hong Kong outpost headed by revered mixologist Ueno Hidetsugu of Tokyo’s Bar High Five.

attire-house.com

The Chin’s

Chin's restuarant Hong Kong

Hype meter: 8/10

Chef Ringo Chow uses his 30 years of culinary experience to offer diners classic dishes from all across China but with modern twists. Cases in point: the indulgent char siu dish that uses Kagoshima Chami pork and the pigeon marinated with huadiao wine. It’s an upscale Chinese dining experience in Central district that’s full of surprises.

thechinshk.com

Uma Nota

Uma Nota Hong Kong

Hype meter: 7/10

This modern boteca in Soho offers a taste of São Paulo’s Brazilian-Japanese street food scene. Try the zesty red snapper, prawn and calamari ceviche or the hearty chicken and okra, and you’ll be hooked on this combination of culinary cultures. Brazilian beats add to the atmosphere.

uma-nota.com

MARCH 2017

Dim Sum Library

Hype meter: 7/10

Serving all-day dim sum, this spot in Pacific Place mall puts a contemporary, decadent twist on the Hong Kong staple cuisine. Amid lush chinoiserie and 1920s art deco, diners feast on black truffle shrimp dumplings and ‘dan dan’ xiaolongbao (soup dumplings). The mahjong parlour in the back is an impressive place to host a few rounds with friends.

dimsumlibrary.com.hk

12,000 Francs

Hype meter: 8/10

This Soho restaurant has been on foodies’ radars thanks to chef Conor Beach’s reputation for originality. The seasonal menu is modern European, with fire-roasted suckling pig among its signatures. Many of the restaurant’s ingredients come from an organic farm in Hong Kong’s Tuen Mun district, championing local produce.

12000francs.com.hk

Cassio

Hype meter: 9/10

Clubbing and dining hotspot Dragon-i has become an institution, so there was much anticipation for Cassio, opened by the same team – and it hasn’t disappointed. Located in Central’s LKF Tower, it serves dishes created in partnership with popular London tapas bar Barrafina. Cocktails are best enjoyed on the roomy, glamorous terrace.

FEBRUARY 2017

Dragon Noodles Academy

Hype meter: 9/10

Keep the Lunar New Year holidays fun by taking your loved ones to a new dining spot, like this kung fu academy-themed restaurant in Central, where customers can watch as chefs in the kitchen make fresh noodles out of stretchy dough. Don’t miss the lobster cooked three ways and served in a broth that’s been simmering for five hours.

dragon-noodles.com

Murasaki

murasaki

Hype meter: 8/10

Japanese omakase, or tasting menus, is on the rise. Murasaki is the latest entrant to Causeway Bay’s omakase scene, incorporating a strong French influence in its dishes such as the signature Hokkaido corn cream soup with French blue lobster. Vegetarians will be gratified to know the restaurant offers an all-veggie omakase set. And to go with all this innovation: a sweeping view of Victoria Habour.

diningatmurasaki.com.hk

Deng G

Deng G

Hype meter: 7/10

If winter has you craving hot and spicy foods, head to this new Sichuan restaurant in Wan Chai. You’ll find all your favourite Sichuan fare here, but what makes this spot really stand out is the wide variety of baijiu. The Chinese liquor is incorporated into cocktails like the baijiu colada, which has become an instant hit.

elite-concepts.com/dng

JANUARY 2017

Frantzén’s Kitchen

Frantzén’s Kitchen Hong Kong

Hype meter: 9/10

Swedish chef Björn Frantzén, the man behind two-Michelin-starred Restaurant Frantzén in Stockholm, has brought the freshness and creativity of Nordic cuisine to Sheung Wan. The new spot adds an Asian influence, exemplified by dishes like roasted Hokkaido scallops in a Nordic-style dashi soup with ginger oil, spruce and fingerlime.

frantzenkitchen.com

Bib n Hops

Bib n Hops Hong Kong

Hype meter: 7/10

Chef Alvin Leung of three-Michelin-starred Bo Innovation, a Hong Kong pioneer in molecular gastronomy, is now offering a subversive take on Korean fare. Located on Ship Street in Wan Chai, this sleek outlet blends cuisines in surprising ways, with signature dishes like Peruvian spiced pork belly and Singaporean spicy chicken bibimbap. A wide variety of soju completes this hip dining experience.

bibnhops.hk

Apinara

Apinara Hong Kong

Hype meter: 8/10

This household name in Thailand consistently tops the country’s best-restaurants lists. Diners can find a wide variety of Thai classics at its new Hong Kong branch, including a healthier version of pad Thai made with shredded papaya instead of noodles. Another highlight is the list of cocktails, many of which use Thai herbs such as chillies and lemongrass.

narahk.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book