都市生活

香港人應對颱風演變獨有文化

經歷前所未見的超級颱風「山竹」後,香港人從此對颱風別有體會

當大廈亦被強風吹至搖晃之際,各類影片也開始透過手機瘋傳:海浪捲起幾層樓高;辦公室的窗戶被強風吹破,文件飄旋空中;地盤天秤也未能倖免,險些擊中附近的一棟住宅。

去年9月,超強颱風「山竹」襲港,並成為1946年首次紀錄以來的最強颱風。最高級別的十號風球(達颶風程度的最高級別!)懸掛了整整十小時,足證「山竹」威力驚人。雖然沒有重大人命事故,但仍然有400人受傷,事後到處滿目瘡痍。

颱風在香港是常客,風季由5月持續至11月,卻鮮有如此激烈。先有2017年於澳門不幸造成12人死亡的十號颶風「天鴿」,後有「山竹」,颱風令香港人惶恐不安。有人將此歸咎於全球氣候變化,唯恐風雲不測。

全靠穩固的基建,香港近年未因天災遭難,實乃不幸中之大幸。經過數十年的「訓練」,香港形成一套熱鬧的颱風文化:全民殷切追蹤颱風路徑;新聞時刻發佈颱風消息;超級市場的物品被搶購一空;市民趕避颱風回家而致交通癱瘓;在窗戶貼上「大交叉」膠紙;以至為滲水而準備毛巾。這股颱風文化多年來也大同小異。

當颱風接近本港,民眾首先擔心會否懸掛八號或以上的風暴信號,密切留意學生及上班族能否藉此休息一天。繼而,市民著緊颱風於何時吹襲,他們要知道的竟然是一個確定的時間!

不知從何開始,香港市民開始流傳一個近乎不可思議的都市傳說:強烈風暴只會在深夜或周末發生,民眾不用指望放颱風假。這怪異現象被戲稱為「李氏力場」,旨在調侃香港首富李嘉誠,認為他以超自然力量替香港消災解難,以防止他的「帝國」業務暫停運作。

當外面颳起狂風暴雨,民眾大多留在室內,以防被塌下的招牌及漫天飛舞的雜物所傷。仍留守於外的通常有兩類人,一是被颱風吹得顛三倒四的倒霉記者初哥,二是衝浪發燒友。政府認為他們不止罔顧自己安全,還可能會連累救援人員,衝浪者則回應這才是最佳的滑浪時機。

香港人已然有多一重擔憂,不再如以往般期待打風。過去兩年的超級颱風喚醒了民眾的戒備之心,甚至開始對「李氏力場」的防禦威力寄予厚望。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

It’s Cultural: How Hong Kong Handles Typhoons

Typhoon Mangkhut, a record-breaking storm, has left Hong Kong with a new perspective on typhoons

The winds whistled through swaying apartments while the videos rolled in by phone: waves whipping several storeys high; office windows blown out and documents whirling through the air; a construction crane spinning to the earth, just missing a nearby housing block.

Last September’s Typhoon Mangkhut was the most intense storm to hit Hong Kong since records began in 1946, with the number 10 signal – the highest possible, signifying hurricane-speed winds – hoisted for a gruelling 10 hours. The city escaped without fatalities, although 400 were injured and damage was widespread.

Hong Kong has always had typhoons. But typhoon season, which runs from May to November, has rarely been this intense. Mangkhut, as well as 2017’s Typhoon Hato – another signal 10 storm, which sadly caused 12 deaths in neighbouring Macao – managed to strike new fear into Hongkongers. Some say climate change is to blame, which doesn’t bode well.

Hong Kong has got off light of late. The city’s solid infrastructure has shielded it from most catastrophes. And over the decades, residents of the city have developed a robust typhoon culture: a collective frenzy surrounding storm paths, news alerts, supermarkets swept clean, rammed transportation in the rush to get home, taping big Xs to windows, preparing towels in case of leaks – little has changed over the years.

When a storm approaches, the most pressing concern is whether it will hit as a signal eight or above – meaning no school or work. The second greatest concern is when it will hit.

Any resident of the city will tell you that Hong Kong has a near-supernatural tendency for big storms only to occur overnight or at weekends – in other words, no free holiday. This phenomenon is dubbed ‘Li’s Field’ in reference to Li Ka-shing, Hong Kong’s longtime richest man. The joke is that he has magical powers able to ward off anything that could possibly harm his conglomerates.

When the wind and rain pick up, almost everyone stays indoors; one of the main dangers is simply falling signage and flying objects. Those who remain outside tend to fall into two groups: hapless cub reporters comically being blown about – and surfers. The government says the surfers are endangering themselves and rescue personnel. The surfers say that this is when the waves are best.

While in the past Hongkongers may have looked forward to storm season, after the last two years of outsized typhoons they’re warier of the dangers. Many are now hoping for a reprieve, wishing that Li’s Field will kick in once again.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book